218707 User submitted reviews online!!
Mackinaw City / Mackinac Island KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 44 user reviews. Phone: (231) 436-5643
CGID5349

Mackinaw City / Mackinac Island KOA

Camp Information
Sites
91
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   6   9   8   9   7   8   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$42
We liked this park, and its access to the bike trail that ran into town. We're happy to report there were no bug problems during our stay the first week of August. We liked the layout of the bathrooms, which linked the men's and women's restrooms into a common area with locking rooms for the showers - there was privacy and the showers had good pressure and hooks/benches. Interior roads were gravel, as were the sites, which were fairly level. The 50-amp power was strong, but water pressure was around 30 PSI, too low for our motorhome and we had to boost it with our water pump. Site spacing was reasonable, and our pull-through site was long enough to easily accommodate our car. The Verizon access was strong, and we did not try the park's Wi-Fi, so we cannot report on that. There was some traffic noise during the day from the road that bordered the park, and even though there were a lot of folks driving around it was fairly quiet. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$34
We had a relatively level spot with water, electricity and cable. The staff was very helpful and friendly. They have a pool and game room for the kids. Most of the sites are shaded. They have firewood for sale. Though we do not regret staying here, we should clarify one thing. The campground advertises that they provide a shuttle to the Mackinac Island Ferry. In truth, the ferry has a shuttle system to all of the campgrounds and motels. The campground will provide you with a ferry schedule, then about a 1/2 hour before the ferry you go to the office and they call the shuttle for you. The KOA also gives you a $5 discount coupon per ferry ticket. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$34
First, I don’t like to be forced to pay a reservation fee. At least 2 campgrounds in this area do this. The one-time non-returnable reservation fee is $3.00. Minus 1 point. The receipt that was given to me is very difficult to understand. It took several minutes to see exactly what I paid, but there are no dates on the receipt other than arrival & departure dates. Minus 1 point. Free Wi-Fi? Not really. You get one coupon with a Tengo Internet code per 24 hr. period, but the catch is that you can only use that code on one device. My wife and I each have a PC and each have a phone. So I was given the option to purchase more coupons at $2.00 per device per 24 hr. period. So for the 4 nights we stayed, I paid $8.00 for “free” internet access. But I must admit, on a Friday evening, the internet was running smoothly, but I still must subtract one more point! There is only one place to dump trash in this very large campground. I suppose the reason is to keep down any wildlife issues. However, with that said, the campground itself was run well. It has hundreds of sites, some big, some small. It’s location is on Lake Huron. There’s a pool, free mini-golf and a nice large camp store with arcade/game room. Our site was large with a very nice fire ring. The utilities were spread far apart. I had to use a second hose to get to the water outlet; the electric and sewer lines barely reached their respective outlets after I moved trailer to accommodate my 25 ft. electric cord. Sadly minus another point. If you go in June, beware of the billions of flying insects that apparently arrive for about 2 weeks. At first I thought they were mosquitos, but were they’re not. They don’t bite, but they are VERY annoying and get all over everything! We may or may not stay here again, only because of the limited choices in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$44
Nice, relatively level sites in trees which are not in the way of getting in and out. Camp workers police sites as people check out. Workers in store are friendly and helpful. Wifi worked very well the whole week we were there. Easy access to all tourist attractions. Enjoyed stay and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$46
Nice park with large, treed sites and a kid friendly environment. This is a good camp to use when visiting Mackinac Island. The nature trail hooks up with the city bike path which is a very nice paved path, which goes for many miles. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
We stayed at this KOA during a trip to Mackinac Island, and the location is great. This KOA is a short drive to all the area attractions, and even offers a free shuttle to the Mackinac Island ferry. The bathrooms, showers and pool were clean, and they had a good camp store with some local souvenirs. We had a full hookup site which was relatively level, my only complaint is the firepits built into the ground very close to neighboring campsites. Another complaint, and it's minor, was the very expensive laundry facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$43
This is a tough place to rate. I liked it because it was close to Mackinaw City, it was super quiet, we had a nice shaded lot, water/electric/cable/Wi-Fi all worked, bathroom and showers were clean and the pool was okay. I had no problem with the staff and the lady at the front desk was very helpful. Saying that, this place needs TLC and could really be better. The playground is horrible - my kids are older and don't need it, but if I had younger kids, I would be very disappointed. Pool was nice, but it could have been cleaner. The public use grounds were a mess and things were falling apart. I would come here again because the things I need are in place and work for me. This place has a lot of potential. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
We liked everything about this campground except the Wi-Fi was poor at best. We stayed here to walk the bridge and was happy to find out they had set up a shuttle to take us to the start and pickup after the walk for the same $6 fee they charged to wait in line for a school bus. Staff was super at this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$55
Staff is friendly. Hookups are strange, depending on the site the sewer is extremely close, while the power is very far away. In fact we had a 30 amp site and needed to put two cords together to reach power. The campground does not supply the shuttle to the ferry, they call the ferry and they send their shuttle out to pick you up. The site had enough room for slide outs grass is really worn away from over use. Location is good to all tourist areas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
Clean bathrooms and showers. Great laundry facilities. Swimming pool water was warm but refreshing and greatly appreciated. The kids enjoyed the playground. Our site easily accommodated our slide-out, fire-pit and picnic table. We didn't feel crowded at all. Our camp site was on the perimeter so we did not have cable TV access. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
This is a great campground. Although the sites were grassy we had no problem leveling the motorhome. We would stay here again if we are in the area. Nice pool and helpful, friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
Very tourist friendly. Free shuttle to the island ferries. They also recommend a dog kennel 1/4 mile from them for day boarding. We used that and it was great. Laundry was very clean, but as others have stated probably a little pricey. Sites were level with plenty of room between sites. Wi-Fi was strong. Owners and other workers were very friendly and helpful. Rate reflects KOA discount We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
Park owners were extremely helpful, friendly and accommodating. Sites were roomy and park was clean. Definitely would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$31
Quiet, shaded park with pleasant staff. Clean laundry and bath house. Sites are gravel/dirt and fairly level. Nice woodland path walk to outskirts of town. Convenient to town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$38
This is a typical KOA, but it is clean and well maintained. The sites are very close together, but the campground was only half full when we were there so it wasn't too bad. The location is close to Mackinaw City, and the campground offers free shuttle service to Sheplers Ferry for going to the Island. There is a nice paved bicycle trail very nearby that goes all the way into town. You could ride to the ferry if desired. There is also a nice hiking trail out of the park. We used the laundry facilities while here and while they're fairly nice machines the price is a bit high at $2. per load each for wash and dry. We would probably try out a different campground if ever in this area again mostly due to the high cost for the little you get here for the price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
Price reflects VK discount. This is a nice older KOA with shade trees, dog area and nice walking trail. Sites were mostly level gravel with grass between. We just stayed one night but would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$34
We liked this very quiet and heavily treed park, and would have stayed longer (to linger) if we'd had the time. Nice staff, very rustic setting, good Wi-Fi, good (if small) laundry room. Beware the directions in Trailer Life Directory - they make reference to taking highway M-108. The state has taken down the signs. Look for Nicolet Street instead. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$34
This is a lovely campground with wide, easily accessible, mostly shady sites. Very friendly staff. Free shuttle to the ferries, and they call for you. Kind of pricey washer & dryers at $2.00 EACH, but it is A TOURISTY area. Wonderful, paved, shady bike path, a mile and a half, to town. Lots to do in town...I think a must stay for the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$52
Very nice campground. We took advantage of the shuttle to the ferry from the campground on the advice of the front desk and were very pleased. Almost every site is shaded and the laundry facilities are very nice. We had problems with the Wi-Fi the first night, but it was corrected the next morning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$38
The first thing I was aware of was the friendliness of staff. They worked very hard to have the perfect space for our 45 foot motor home. They were able to make changes at the last minute and still get us in. The park is shaded with big spots. Wi-Fi worked great and they supplied us with all the information to see the local highlights. We hated to leave as we felt like part of the family. I loved the path I could walk into town, shady and beautiful. Perfect location to explore Mackinack City. I would definitely stay here again if we were in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$38
The rating depends on time of year, also over 100 spots now. We were here after school started and at "the beginning of the end" of the tourist season; late August. In the park's NEW big rig, 80 footer row: it was quiet and level, with great 50 amp power and hook ups, and wide spaces. This park is VERY crowded during the season and a kid haven at that time, so reserve way ahead. Check in is weird. You stand outside and talk through a window like when you buy tickets at a movie. So you will need an umbrella if it is raining at check in. Roads are CUT through the woods and wind around with no particular pattern, true nature trail stuff; however our 45' bus had no problem and was very happy here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
We stayed here 2 nights (Sun. and Mon.) and had a FHU pull-through with 30 channel cable TV and WI-FI. The cable is new this year and the WI-FI would drop every once in a while - annoying if you need to be on for half an hour to accomplish your goals. Maybe 35 of the sites are pull-through with FHU and only 10 of those are 50 Amp. The park is heavily treed so satellite reception is doubtful for most sites. Nice pool and playground. Lots of families here during the peak season. Best thing about this park is that you can walk or bike to the heart of Mackinaw City on a mile and a half path from just west of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
We stayed here three nights while exploring the area. Paid $34/night for a full hook-up, pull through. A good sized site but could use a little more grass or gravel. Wi-Fi worked well. Cable TV is fairly new and has excellent reception. Restrooms and shower facility are in very good condition and very clean. I believe this is the best choice RV Park in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
The purpose of our two-night stay was to visit the island. So, this spot gave us great access for that. We rode bikes to town and the ferry, so we wouldn’t have had to unhook our Jeep. But, we did because our pull-through wasn’t long enough for both. Sites were tight, but ours was level. Wi-Fi was strong and power was good. Because of the convenient location, we would probably stay here again if we plan another trip to the island. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
Spent 3 nights here. Typical KOA. Dirt, sand sites. Ours was a back in which was unlevel, but was able to get the trailer level. Had to dig down in the sand to get the jacks down. Lots of families camping, so there are a lot of smoldering campfires as the evenings go on. Staff was accommodating. Really nice boarding kennel for your pet nearby. Close to town, with shuttle for Mackinaw Island ferry. Showers were individual rooms which got really steamy and warm. Would probably stay here again if in area, but nothing special. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
The KOA is located 2 minutes off I-75. It is close to town and you can ride your bike the 1.5 miles to the downtown area. The sites are gravel and close together. There is very little grass between the sites. The fire ring next to us was approximately 8 - 10 feet from our bedroom window. Luckily our neighbor did not use the fire ring but, they did smoke, so on the cool nights, we had to use the a/c to keep our coach from filling up with the smoke. The area is heavily wooded so we could not use the satellite. The staff was very friendly and helpful and someone came around every night to make sure everything was okay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
Small campground, the playground is dated. Sites are small. You have to drive to Mackinaw City only a mile or two, but have to cross I-75. Showers were clean but are very old. Staff was nice. WiFi worked well. They have a free shuttle to the boat docks to go to Mackinaw Island. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
Very nice little family friendly park! We camped here for two days and wish we could have stayed longer. We were in a pull through site which was pretty small and close to neighbors, but they all left the day after we arrived so we then had lots of room! Staff was very helpful and friendly. Free Shepler shuttle was fast and convenient. Bathrooms, showers, and laundry room was clean. Pool looked clean however we did not have time to use it. Definitely would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$48
Park is very clean and the staff is friendly. We had site #48. Sites are very close together!! All are gravel with a little grass in between. Lots of trees so there is no satellite reception. But we got a few channels with the antenna. Campground also offers free WiFi! Bathhouse was clean as well as the laundry facilities. Pool was nice and they had baggo and ladder golf set up all for the kids. Store was well stocked. Campground also offers a free shuttle to the Island Ferry. Good location, good people. We would return!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$37
We spent a week here exploring the island and upper peninsula. This campground is close to the the ferry boats and city. This KOA could use some gravel on their sites, but overall a nice campground. Be aware the showers are unisex and there could be a long wait for them since there's only 6 stalls. If in the area again I would stay here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
Campground was clean and well cared for. The staff was friendly and accommodated my request for a long pull through so that I would not need to unhook during our one night stay. Most of the campground facilities and recreation provided were very well maintained. The only negative is the game room which had a number of non-working vintage games. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$38
The rate is with KOA discount. The road on exit 337 is under construction and one lane. A main road through town is closed due to construction. It is a nice quiet park. Our site, #50, was at the end of a row of pull-through ones, so we could use the satellite, but it did not work. There were too many trees were obstructing it. There is a nice laundry with 4 washers at $2.00 and 4 dryers at $1.00. The rire ring was filled with garbage but other than that, it was pretty clean and well kept. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$23
This was a very friendly park. There was a nice play ground and mini golf course for the kids. The roads and sites were gravel with lots of trees for shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$27
Nice, pleasant, clean place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$36
This is a convenient campground to Mackinac Island and Northern MI. It is a great place to use as "base camp" to see the local sites. It is clean, fairly wooded and well maintained. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. It is not a large campground and does not offer a ton of things to do - which is okay - because we did not camp there for those reasons. This is our second time camping at this campground and we would not hesitate to camp there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2008
$39
Busy, crowded and minimal maintained cg, with few recent updates. Pads are mostly sand and dirt with some gravel. MH's are advised to unhook prior to going to the site. Limited numbers of full hook-up sites with 50 amp. Cramped tight spacing leaves little privacy and can create difficulty when pulling out, or as in our case backing out of our pull thru, due to neighbors vehicles and a tree blocking our turning radius. Your picnic table will sit nearly on top of your neighbors sewer opening, making a non-sewer site actually more desirable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2008
$45
Sites were small and conjested to attempt to get our smaller motor home into. Had to do a lot of stretching of the power cords to plug in with the location of the power pole. As travel with dogs, prefer a larger site to give them some room to stretch their legs some without taking constantly having to take them walking. Picnic tables for one site are right next to table for the next site over. Did discover some larger campsites in the back section to the north of the bathhouse which might have been better however, we were not offered these sites upon registration. The pool area was so crowded upon checking it out, thought different about going for a swim. Black flies were bad, but this is the case in the UP in early summer. There is a nice indian trading post next door which makes for some interesting shopping. This was our first experience with a KOA Campground. The staff was not helpful and the camp store was void of most necessities, including a cold pop as the pop cooler was empty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2008
$39
This is a warning about Machinaw City KOA's cancellation policy. We had reserved the campground several months prior to our arrival. A week ahead of our arrival, we were camped about an hour away and decided to visit this campground in our towed car. Upon viistation we found the campground not suitable for a big rig. The sites were not level, the roads muddy and there were low branches everywhere. Upon returning to our rig I called and cancelled our reservation. My phone call was 12 hours less than one week before our arrival. Apparently, hidden in the "fine print" on page 3 of the on line document there was a clause that if you cancelled after a full week before arrival you did not get your deposit of one full day refunded. This is a warning to all campers to read the fine print carefully. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$44
Price reflects KOA member discount. We had a pull-thru site but it was too short to allow our toad to remain hitched although there was room to park it across the back of the rig. The site was slightly off level requiring boards to be placed under the one front wheel to allow the wheel to remain on the ground once the levelers were lowered. Site was loose gravel and sand. Picnic table and fire ring were provided. Some low trees & shrubs between the sites allowed minimal privacy. Many tall trees providing plenty of shade so satellite reception might be a problem. Services were located conveniently. No problem with overhead branches. Wi-Fi was very slow. No cable but antenna reception was great on three channels. Very convenient to Mackinaw City and the Mackinac Island ferry companies would send a shuttle to pick you up at no charge. No view of the bridge. Very small playground and pool. Limited supplies in the store. Helpful staff. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$45
Good location in relation to town. They have a well maintained path from the campground to another path that goes all the way downtown (about 2 miles), good for walking or jogging but not bikes. The campground is dusty and the sites are close together. All the sites are in the woods but a few you may be able to get satellite, check the site before setting up some are better then others. A friendly staff and very few items in the store. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$30
This is a lovely campground in October. The autumn foliage was stunning. Sites are spacious; the management is very helpful with directions and visitor information. They arranged a free shuttle to Mackinac Island ferry that accommodated our bikes. There is a pretty nature walk right from the campground as well as a beautiful beach at the end of the road. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
The sites are close but there is so much to do that you don't spend much time there. Bring your bikes! It was a long way to the pool, showers, etc. We camped in electric and water only down on the bridge end and we had a real journey to the pool. The pool was fabulous and heated. My kids loved it (ages 5, 4, and 1). We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$34
Shady, nice, quiet park. Found the perfect holes in the trees for the satellite. Wireless is spotty. We rode our bikes to the ferry about 1.2 miles away. Good location for seeing the sights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$40
Very close to town. There is a bike trail to town which takes 10 minutes to ride. The shuttle comes to your camp site and takes you to the ferry docks to go to the island. The pool is a bit small. The roads are good gravel but can get dusty at times. The sites are large and can accommodate large rigs. We've stayed here twice in the past year and we'll stay here again. Campfire wood is available 24 hours a day. Very friendly staff. Very clean restrooms. All the showers could use a better spray head. Overall this is a great campground near enough to everything and yet secluded enough not to hear any noise from the interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com