214402 User submitted reviews online!!
Santa Rosa Campground & RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 159 user reviews. Phone: (575) 472-3126
CGID5383

Santa Rosa Campground & RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   5   6   7   6   8   5   4   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$34
The owner is a great guy. We had a break down in our 5th wheel and he did everything he could to help us. Went above and beyond. The campground is clean and food in restaurant is excellent. This campground has easy access in and out and many pull-through sites. It's good for big rigs to get an easy place to stay and has all the hookups. We would definitely stay here on our way on I-40. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$29
Just an overnite stop so we only used W&E site that was easily long enough for our 40' RV. Some grass, a few trees, skinny sites. The mosquitoes come out at dusk. Restaurant on site. Very friendly person at the office. We were gone most of the day/evening so it really was just a place to plug in for us. We would stay here again for an overnite stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$32
We stayed here in a 40' 4 slide motorhome with tow vehicle. Site was long and narrow. Side by side spots with table. Electrical post has 50 and 30 amp with one power on/off switch. When second vehicle arrived or left and plugged in/out we continued to lose our power as they turned the switch off. Lots of overnight use. The park is well maintained and the staff is friendly and helpful. If in the area again, we would stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$36
Fourth overnight stay here on our way out west. It remains a good value for that. The Wi-Fi was slow, but it's always been that -- faster to use our iPhone's mobile hotspot on Verizon's LTE network (20 down, 6 up there). The staff was very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$36
Adequate for an overnight or short stay. Sites were long and level enough, but narrow. Dusty and lots of burrs. Staff friendly and eager to please. Nice little restaurant with good food - a pleasant surprise. WiFi slow but adequate some of the time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$33
When we called to make a reservation we talked to a very nice young man who did a great job and was very pleasant and helpful. He also was the one that checked us in and again was very customer oriented. He was also the cook at the park restaurant and invited us to dinner, which we did and he cooked a great meal. This is a nice plus if you have been traveling all day and want something easy. You can have it delivered if you prefer. The park is older and some spots are hard for big rigs to maneuver but plenty of sites that are easy. It is a typical southwest gravel park. All the utilities worked fine. We enjoyed the stay and would come back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$27
The park is adequate for a one night stay while traveling. Has a little restaurant on site that is open part of the year. After a day of driving, it was nice to just walk over to it and have a fairly good dinner. Everything worked well including the internet and cable. However, we stood in line for quite a while to get checked in and listened to the manager's nonstop talking while registering guests. We found him to be loud, sarcastic, abrasive, and disrespectful. Some of the things he said were inappropriate and we saw other people in line were uncomfortable, too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2014
$32
Holy Sticker Burrs Bat Boy! My poor dogs are scar'd for life and I'm still picking goat heads out of my RV, couches, carpet, dog beds, my shoes! If you have dogs or kids, bring tweezers... you're gonna need em. Careful of the water pressure, those things must pump 100 psi or something! On the bright side, it was big and easy to navigate. Also, we were like... 1 of 4 rv's there, so with no one in front of us the sunset and sunrise was awesome through the front glass! Very pretty surroundings. No dog park either. This place could use some serious weed killing on a regular basis. I've never seen so many burrs in my life. You couldn't walk anywhere without being deep in em. I'd sleep in a walmart parking lot over this. I give it a 4 cause the folks there were real nice and the laundry mat was super clean. Improve the landscaping, and the water and this would be a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2013
$26
The rate reflects the Escapees discount. We used this park for an overnight stop. It is an older park and getting rather run down. We had a fairly large level dirt pull thru site that was satellite friendly. There are some trees, no grass and lots of sand burrs. The showers were older but clean. It is conveniently located on the business route through town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$32
While pet friendly, the goat head thorns are a problem. Where sites are not gravel there are thorny weed patches. During the fall the weeds dry and release thorns which end up underfoot everywhere (painful for pets). Sites are on a gentle slope. The check in process was smooth and the staff very helpful and friendly. The restaurant on site is ok though our carryout order was overcooked and not quite as appealing as in the restaurant. Not full this time of year so pick of sites. Road noise was not a problem. Wi-Fi was just ok and cable had significant interference on at least one channel. Staff said it was cable company service. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$36
As previous reviewers have written the park appears to be a former KOA. It is nicely maintained and in decent shape. Roads and sites are dirt/gravel so dust is a problem. There are small trees and weeds between sites. The pull thru sites are long enough to handle any size rig and is was fairly level. The sites are fairly close together, so if the park is full, it will fill pretty cramped. Wi-Fi was free and worked great during our stay. I thought the park was over priced at $36 for a 50 amp pull thru (includes tax and Good Sam discount). We did check out the other parks in town and this is by far the best in appearance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$36
It worked for overnight but the CG is very rough with lots of deferred maintenance. Had dinner from the restaurant and, it was better than the CG. WiFi worked as did the satellite with easy access and setup. At $36 way over priced. May try to find something better next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$40
This park is an old KOA campground. Sites are relatively close together. Sites were dirt and gravel; pretty level. Quiet camp until morning when other campers began to move around and pull out. Cable TV stations did not include any of the major network stations. The base rate at this park is $20.50 however for full hookup an additional $15.75 is charged. We also paid an additional $3 for extra adult. This being said, this was the most expensive park on this years road trip. Being pretty much the only private facility in town, if staying in Santa Rosa, this is it. Safe travels, y'all! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$36
Campground is gravel with patches of grass. Employees were very nice, full service restaurant that delivers to the rigs! The food was good, the convenience was great. Pool closed for season, but looks nice. Everything is clean. Easy access, pull-through with full service for our 45'rig and tow. Everything was clean, quiet and pleasant. Only suggestion would be to have an enclosed dog play area, they do have an area for dogs, but no fence. All in all, we are glad we found this place and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$33
Park is gravel with small patches of grass, the cable and Wi-Fi are good. The big rig sites are very, very, tight (narrow). They have good length, but be careful on the width - our driver side slide was 1" from the power and the passage slides just inches from trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2013
$36
This RV park is below minimum standards and I'm not sure why it is a Good Sam park. The gravel roads that were mentioned in an August review have disappeared in September. We saw nothing but weeds and dirt. Folks driving through at speeds higher than 5 mph kicked up dust and the wind did the same. The manager was rude and the price of $36 for one night for this park is outrageous. We will not stay here again! We are full time RV'ers and have stayed at hundreds of parks nicer than this one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
An old KOA in need of help. 30-amp Power was very low. 108 volts with the A/C and refrigerator on. Paid extra for cable TV and only half the channels watchable. Wi-Fi didn't work at our site. While we'd stay here again, I think I would try a different campground in Santa Rosa. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$33
This park was clean, well organized, very few if any perms! The staff was friendly, the pool was nice and clean, the store was well stocked, the restaurant was good. So what's not to like? If Santa Rosa had more to offer, in the way of destination attractions, this would be the place to stay. Yes, we will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
Just about a mile off I-40 on the North side of old Route 66 (aka Business I-40). This is an old KOA with their typical layout - pull-through sites that are fairly close together. Good gravel interior roads. Not many trees and those around aren't very tall so you're good to go with satellite TV in almost any site. The restaurant unfortunately is closed, I know dear wife was looking forward to a cook's night off. Good WiFi signal but the Internet side of the connectivity was slow - usually 256kb download speed. Good AT&T cell but it is only 2G (low speed.) This place is fine for an overnight stop or longer if you want to explore the area. I'd stay here again with no hesitation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
Good place for an over night stay. Wi-Fi worked great. Cable TV was poor quality. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$29
Friendly staff. Roads and sites are compacted dirt. Not much to look at. Sites are set up in a haphazard way. Call ahead if you want full hookups since there are not that many. We got here around one and checkout is 2 pm, our site was not available so we took a back-in site, checked out their wifi; connection was very weak. The price is too high for the quality of the park. We are not going to stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$31
Host was very nice. We used a 50 amp and water site, no sewer. Thirty one is too high for the accommodations, especially absent sewer connection. It is quite and safe, ok for overnight stay. The park is all dirt and some gravel. Few low trees, but satellite friendly. Although sites are long, they are narrow. Not enough room to put out shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Almost passed this campground by because of previous comments. Glad we passed by to see for ourselves. Nice little campground for an overnight or more. Looks like it's been worked on. New electrical boxes and all hookups work fine. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2013
$33
This park resembles a former KOA that is now an old, poorly maintained, dust bowl. The WiFi did exist but was so slow as to be useless. The restrooms and showers were unmaintained and in very poor repair. The poor trees do not qualify as shade trees. We would never stay here again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$27
Convenient campground for overnighter. Arrived late. Self Registered. A little confusing figuring out what sites were available, but finally found a suitable site full hookup 30amp site. Campground was quiet with no road noise. Did not stop in the office in the morning. Good value for an over night. Only problem was burr's that we picked up on our shoes. Wifi was reasonable and we were able to access as it did not have a security code. Would spend the night here again if we were traveling through this area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$31
This is the best park in Santa Rosa, but that isn't saying too much. Very basic. Apparently you pay separately for each amenity. We chose not to have sewer or cable, since only being here one night. Our receipt showed 20.50 for space and 10.95 for 50 amp. That was with a Good Sam discount. A previous reviewer mentioned the slow Wi-Fi. Slow is an understatement. Connections says 54 mb, but most sites will not load and the park is only about 1/4 occupied. The pet area is an unused space and has not been cleaned up from uncourteous campers who did not clean after their pet. Will try not to have to stop in Santa Rosa again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$36
An OK choice for an overnighter. Older park that needs its electrical hook ups updated. Didn't use the 50 amp because it didn't look trustworthy. BUT the on-site little restaurant is a great plus--great service and great food. Easy in and easy out of town. Will stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2013
$30
Very basic older park. Sites level gravel. Restaurant on site serves dinner 6 nights a week. Good Wi-Fi. Gift shop well stocked. Didn't use showers. The appear clean but rust on pipes and needs upgrade. Fine for one night. Quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$36
We were here on a quick stop over, the campground was fine, site was level, very sandy. Seems typical for the western states. There is apparently nothing to do in Santa Rosa, because when my husband asked the girl in the office, she gave him a blank stare. There is a restaurant, but we did not eat there. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$33
The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Filled propane on-site. BBQ restaurant and pool on on site but I didn't use them. Dirt road, no paved sites which was aesthetically sore on the eyes but very clean. I thought the price was a little high considering location. Wi-Fi got weaker as the park filled up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2013
$34
Our site was not clean. There was a sewer cap on our door side with a broken lid. Getting out in the morning was very tight. Most rigs I saw leave before us, drove through empty sites to get out, we didn't have that option. Wi-Fi was slow but steady. Did not eat at the restaurant after seeing its condition from the office. Dog run was filled with waste. We would never stay at this park again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$36
We stayed here passing through, and this was a nice overnight campground. Easy access on/off the highway and within the campground. Sites were level and good size for a pull through. There was a very nice view of the valley at the back of the park. Owner was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$36
WI-FI was almost nonexistent. Spot was level gravel. Good one or two day park. Park needs a little work. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$33
Nice park with great amenities. We were just passing through Santa Rosa, but it is a nice little town on Historic Route 66. Free Wi-Fi and cable TV. They have a barbecue restaurant on site that will deliver to your site on request. Trains did run at night close to the park, so if you are a light sleeper, it could wake you up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$35
Just an OK park for an overnight stay. Not a destination park, but we did have good cable and Wi-Fi. Showers are nice and clean. Staff was friendly. We would stay again when passing through. Not much else for miles so park does fill up at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
Stayed here on our way to Arizona and back. You must try the restaurant and have the ribs. They melt off the bone. Park is OK; bathrooms and showers are in need of updating, but were clean. In fact the entire park could use a renovation, but again was clean. Staff friendly and very accommodating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2012
$34
Cable tv was so bad is was unwatchable, wifi did not work. Roads and spots were dirt. No OTA tv stations were available. A lot of dog dodo was around the park, bad dog owners along with no employees picking up the mess. And finally sand burrs are everywhere, 2 actually came through my flip flops, if you have pets beware. I will not return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
Large, level gravel sites surrounded by sand/grass and tons of burrs which even came into the camper on the bottom of sneakers. Clean bathrooms and laundry. Wi-Fi antenna was broken so only get Wi-Fi at office. Cable was very fuzzy. Restaurant food was so-so, but very convenient. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$27
Easy access off I-40. Checked in after hours: not a problem. Dirt sites with dirt/gravel desert roads. Room to maneuver. Utilities worked well-cable could use improvement. Great for overnight or longer stay. Will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$26
Great park for an overnight stay. Desk guy was great. Sites were gravel but easy in and out and big. Loved the restaurant on site that delivered great food to our door. Will certainly stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
Really liked it here. Friendly, helpful staff. Good Sam discount took 10% off. Had a bad u-joint, they sent us to Bozo's, the best there is in our estimation. In 1 1/2 hour, we were back on the road and didn't feel like we'd been gouged. On-site BBQ made arrival day dinner easy. Lots of interesting things to see around Santa Rosa. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
Not a great place, but not a bad place. There is nothing around and their store is not open until 9:00 am. Cable poor. Bathrooms were crowded. Would not recommend it to anyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$22
We stayed here overnight on our way to S.W. Colorado from Texas. The rate is approximate, I don't remember the exact rate, but it reflects electric and water hook ups only. The camp owner was at the front desk and was very professional. The camp grounds have a restaurant on site, and the food was quite good. Nice to just walk there instead of unhooking and driving somewhere, particularly after towing for 12 hours. The camp grounds are in Santa Rosa on historic Route 66, and offers a good location if you are site seeing. I would stay elsewhere if I wanted a more country setting. I gave the park an 8 rating because it doesn't appeal to me for a long term stay, unless there was some reason I needed to be in town. I prefer more country. I highly recommend it for an over night stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
This is a fair overnight stop with clean restrooms and grounds. Cable TV is an extra charge, but the Wi-Fi was good. The typical nightly rate on our last trip was around 23. This place is over 40% higher so the value lowers our rating. We rode our bikes down to dinner; therefore, it is convenient to Route 66 diners. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$37
Escapees discount. Nice all around CG with a bit of condescension by the owner. The Wi-Fi was weak, cable ok, not digital. Still I believe best CG in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$36
The rate reflects Good Sam's Discount. We moved here because another place had poor 50 Amp. Really nice park. Park has the best restrooms we've been in. The site was level with no need for boards. The size of the sites was average with barely enough room to leave the car attached. Park roads were gravel, but enough space to pull into sites. Tried to connect once to the internet but couldn't. (We do carry our own.) The park was quiet and lighting was adequate. The park management could have been a little friendlier but was nice. We stayed as an overnight on our way west. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$34
Very well maintained park, beautiful pool, clean and nice to cool off in the desert. We were surprised about how the park is situated, as it is so close to the I-40 it is quiet because it is situated lower then the street. Easy pull-throughs, big trees. Good to stay for a couple of days to explore the surroundings. We will sure come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$27
The rate included our Escapees discount. This is a well maintained park that does its best to stay neat and clean in the windy near desert conditions typical of the area. The Wi-Fi signal was good, although somewhat slow. Verizon voice and data service was excellent. One oddity was that the cable TV service did not include the major networks, although they were available by antenna. This park is one of the few we've stayed at that has an on-site restaurant that delivers to your RV. Excellent BBQ! We only stayed one night, but we would return here in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$27
We stayed there overnight and left early the next morning. Office personnel were friendly, and pull through sites were handy. We will stay there again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$33
Great park. Friendly staff. Roadways were gravel and wide and I easily got around in a 40' motorhome. Electric/water and sewer were close, worked great and made for easy hookup. Spots were large for a big rig like ours. They have a BBQ restaurant on site and if you order, they will deliver it to your spot. Finding my Dish satellite was no problem. They had cable, but I didn't use it. The bath house and showers were very clean, however not much water pressure. The main gripe I had is that most of the grassy/rocky areas were filled with sand burrs. It made it difficult with our dogs "doing their business" as we were constantly pulling out burrs from their paws. We stayed here for an overbite stay and would stay here again. We camped in a 40' motor-home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2011
$32
We have stayed here many times over the last 5 years. This is the only real RV park in town. There are several restaurants we like and we enjoy the area. However, this was the last time we will stay here. The bathrooms were not clean, the trash was full, the showers were not clean at all, and somehow the cable TV was very fuzzy. (First time ever with our TV, so it was not our equipment.) Therefore the price is far too high for what is offered. We spoke to neighbor campers who have had the same experience. Think this used to be a great park but that is over now. We will now head to the Santa Rosa Lake State park nearby when in the area. Oh, we are still picking the thorns out of our carpeting from this park, and noticed some pet owners felt there was no need to clean up after their pets in this dirty park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$34
The drive through sites are ok: but they weren't big enough to park the truck in front of the camper, and there isn't a lot of room at the site. The sites are small. The cable TV was not very good: very fuzzy and no digital channels at all. We stayed one night. We might stay again if we can't find anything else in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
Not a bad place for an overnight stop. Not much to choose from out here. Careful when walking your pet as there are sandburs all over. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
This was a great campground with area to walk the dogs on a trail. Just off the interstate and a restaurant as well. Very friendly and quiet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2011
$38
Price was jacked up due to balloon festible in three days. There are some sewer sites. Interior roads and sites are dirt. Has little burrs that get stuck on your shoes. If you have pets be sure to check them. Site was a pull thru and about 60 ft long. Was set up for a motorhome. Had to use our electric extention. Was easy in and easy out for a 60 ft truck and 5th wheel combo. The Cable TV channels were very fuzzy and the Wi-Fi wasn't working. Great elelctric, water and no sewer problems. Very quiet at night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
On check in, the clerk spent several minutes pushing the restaurant. We tried it. Bad mistake. Overpriced, overcooked, served on a paper plate. On the plus side, service was excellent. We were told our site was a 90 ft site. We barely fit with a 40 ft motorhome and a toad. Toad rear bumper in road, RV front bumper in road. No sewer dump at site, but told that there was a community dump on the exit road. No Wi-Fi, in spite of being assured there was. Very poor TV selections, unless you like 1970's re-runs. It rained briefly. The gravel sites turned to mud sites. This place makes Wal Mart parking lots look like 5 star accommodations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
Stayed here one night on way to Utah. Very clean pull-through site. Bathrooms at office very clean but the ones in rear needed attention. This location is on Route 66 just off I-40. Very quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
Adequate for a night or two. Sites were pull through and we had no one on either side of us. No real shade to speak of, even though there were some trees. Owner pushed the restaurant but it was disappointing. My steak was overcooked, chewy, and tasteless but spouse's ribs were good. Only heard one train horn during the night, which is unusual in this part of the country. Little store was pretty well stocked. Bathroom had quite a bit of sand in it, but it otherwise appeared clean. Didn't use showers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
Wi-Fi would not connect. Very dry and dusty, pet areas overgrown or dry. Dog droppings everywhere in park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$31
A very friendly lady checked us in and was very helpful in directing us to our site. The sites we're gravel & dusty, but that was expect. They all seemed to be pull-through and were plenty long. This was just for an overnight on our way to Santa Fe. Used the showers and found them clean and in good working order. We didn't eat here, but the check in lady was pushing hard. We just didn't want to eat out. We would stay here again if coming through the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
Okay park, nothing fancy, but clean and easy access. We had a site with trees and a table. The pool was a welcome relief and the kids were friendly and played until dark. Nice playground too! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
I agree with the other reviewers. It was okay for a night or two and I think that is what the owners expect. The restaurant served a variety of basic food: fried chicken, BBQ brisket, etc. Nothing to write home about but fine for a night. The showers were fine, but the seat in each shower was small. Everything was clean enough, management was friendly enough. It was dusty, but so is everything in Santa Rosa. We would stay again for a night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$36
Clean grounds and friendly staff make this a good stop for overnight. Roads and sites are gravel. Site 20 was a little tight for our 40 foot 5th wheel but doable. Would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
An ok desert RV park. Office staff friendly. Fairly long, mostly level, dirt/gravel sites. Little grass, wimpy trees. Very poor cable TV. Wifi excellent. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$34
Older park in the middle of nowhere New Mexico that fit into our driving schedule, not a destination park. Typical NM park with gravel everything and dusty when the wind blows, which is most of the time. Sites are wide, long and level which is nice. Had no problem navigating with our 36' Fifth Wheel. Have a restaurant but did not try. Staff was friendly. We would stay here again if our driving schedule dictated. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2011
$31
OK for overnight. Basically just a dusty place to park that last saw maintenance a few years ago. Sites are flat and level but watch out for goatheads if you walk anywhere! An expensive night for just electric and water. Did not try the restaurant. Must have been a tough day for the host from his attitude. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$28
Overnighted in a pull through spot with water and electric. Good Sam price $28.00 (27.90 actually). Very quiet and bathrooms/showers clean. Guy at desk nondescript and quasi-bored. Sites semi-level. Pool empty. Could be time of year or economy. Didn't ask, didn't care to. Restaurant opens at 5 PM, we didn't eat there. You could do worse and won't do better out here where the deer and the jackalopes play. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$30
When we first pulled in I said to myself "What have you gotten into". Then I found out how nice it really was. The sites are long and over all most would take a wide RV. There are some that are a problem. They have a restaurant that has the best ribs I have had in years. Very friendly staff and easy on easy off. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$33
Very clean and quiet. Clerk was very friendly. Amazingly large, level pull-thru. Easy in and out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$32
We stayed in Feb of '11 & were quite tired when we arrived. Front desk was very efficient & noted the restaurant delivery service which we took advantage of (ribs & catfish - yum!). They also noted they were trying to keep all services available this winter & were struggling w/water,etc. Watch for burrs in the grass when walking your pet. Rest room/shower was OK, water was hot. Would stay again just for the restaurant delivery service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2010
$48
Overpriced and old. Unpaved interior roads were narrow, dusty and difficult to maneuver for a big rig. Pull through sites were narrow and utilities poorly located. The park nickels and dimes you to death with a parking fee for an additional vehicle. Not a park I would ever stay at again, would rather spend the night dry camping in a truck stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
This is a fairly clean RV park. Park looks like it may have been a KOA in the past. The staff was most friendly. All park amenities were in good working order. Our site was level and roads in and out of the park are well-maintained. Park is located on the old Route 66 highway. We didn't experience very much noise here. We stayed here for one night and would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
The sites were gravel, but the sites were level. The water was of a high quality. The park sites were shaded with small trees and a small amount of grass. The staff were friendly and helpful. This park is located on Route 66 in Santa Rosa. It was convenient to find. It has a nice laundry. We ate at the restaurant located in the office and we enjoyed the food and the service. The water, sewer and electrical outlets were well placed. After a long day on the road, we enjoyed our overnight stay here. We enjoyed listening to the trains off in the distance as we dozed off to sleep. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
We stopped at this park for an overnight stay and it was fine. The cable and Wi-Fi were good. It would not be a destination park but we would stay here again if passing through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
The pickings are slim in this area, and I would try hard to avoid it if at all possible. This campground seemed the to be the best choice around, but was still pretty dismal. It felt a lot like a gravel parking lot. The sites were overgrown with prickly weeds and burrs. The park advertised Pet Friendly, but the pet area was so dirty and overgrown that our dogs didn't want to venture in. We ended up taking them to the only usable patch of grass, which is located in front of the check-in office. Wi-Fi was available, but slow. Not the worst, but certainly not the best. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
Only stayed here one night. Not much to choose from in this area. 50 amp was good. Cable was snowy and unwatchable. We wanted to catch a football game on cable, but that didn't work. We have the air card for Internet and didn't use restrooms, so can't comment on that. Woman warned us about where we took our dog and complained about other campers. Picnic tables were in disrepair. Site was not level. I think it is overpriced and wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$36
We had a long pull-thru site with full hook-ups including Wi-Fi and cable. The sites are narrow and are all side by side It's not far off of I-40 and right on old Rt. 66. Very easy to get in and out. The park is mostly gravel and it can get dusty. However, it's a good place for overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
Good stop-over-easy access and room to maneuver in the park. Nice restaurant in the park and there are several restaurants (KFC/Long John Silvers, Denny's etc) within walking distance. We were pleasantly surprised with the good food at the restaurant. Wi-Fi worked fine. Pool was not clean and not well maintained. Will be coming back through Santa Rosa and will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
This looks to be an old KOA park. Nicely maintained. Weak WiFi if you are not near enough to the antennas at the main building, or the restroom building in the rear. WiFi does work very well with a good signal. Read the park rules for a 10% discount in the gift shop/store. BBQ Restaurant on premises will deliver to your RV. Roomy, clean and quiet. Cable TV only has standard analog signals, much of which are a little grainy. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$38
What do you expect in a desert camp ground? Something must be done with the numerous red ant hills through out the camp ground! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$29
Management is very unfriendly. Acted like they could care less. We had an electrical problem when hooking up and man acted like it was our fault. He was not friendly at all. When we were leaving my wife went in the office to say goodbye and man would hardly acknowledge she was there. Would only stay as a stop over. We will look for a more friendly place next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
Not much else in town. Pretty run down and not too many with full hookups. Looks like an old KOA. Gift shop is OK, and they have a few groceries. Lots of dust, and the picnic tables all look warped. Good stopover spot, but wouldn't stay much longer. Lady that helped us was a little snippy, and the office is closed from 10 to noon. She acted like everyone should know that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$38
Good overnight stop and typical New Mexico desert campground. At 38 feet, we had to be careful as roads are a little narrow, and sites are on the short side. The food from the on-site restaurant was was fairly good. However, what we really enjoyed was the convenience of delivery to our door. We will definitely stay here again on our way to Albuquerque or Santa Fe. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
This park is ok for an overnight stop. They have a restaurant, which we enjoyed. The ribs were great and so was the tilapia (pleasantly surprised). The park was a typical desert site. There were limited places to walk our dogs. The WiFi worked fine. The hosts were nice too. The park did not offer us much in way of recreation so we would not stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$33
Made reservations for a 50 amp site because it was a holiday weekend. When we arrived, we were told there were no 50 amp sites available! Also tried to charge me more than what I was quoted. Got to our site (on a corner) and it was clearly too small for our rig. There were plenty of larger sites available which NEVER filled up. I'd bet they also had 50 amp sites. We did take out from the restaurant, food was edible - nothing great. The park could be much better if staff would try to be friendly. Probably would not stay here again. Who wants to deal with cranky people? We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$33
This is a decent campground. Sites are a bit small but OK for an overnight or two. Not a very picturesque place. At the recommendation of one of the reviewers here, we decided to try the restaurant delivery service to our site. Never again, was horrible food. Rate we paid reflected an Escapees discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2010
$28
Their brochure advertises this as a 'Premier' campground. From what we saw of that area of Santa Rosa, 'Premier' might qualify, but otherwise, not. Sites are shared, meaning one RV door faces your neighbor's door. One picnic table to share. Dead trees. Some parts of the campground had been grossly neglected: dead plants and tall weeds around the shower building and tent sites. The clerk that checked us in was rude. The reservation had been made in error. I had called on the 18th to make the reservation for the 27th, but the reservation had been made for both nights; the 18th and the 27th. She tried to tell me that I had made the reservation for both dates as coming and going. I tried to explain, but she interrupted me saying, 'Well, that's what it says!' Then in her review of 'amenities' she asked if we had a dog. Yes. 'Well, the property surrounding our campground is not ours. Don't walk your dog there. If people don't start picking up after their pets, we are going to have to put up a fence.' She went through the rest of it at lightning speed, handed me my receipt (which still said the 18th) then walked away. They advertise a rate of $19.50/night. What they don't tell you about is the 'Full-Hookup-Courtesy Fee' which adds $11.03, making our actual nightly rate $28.58 (that considers the $1.95 'Courtesy Discount'). We'll scratch this campground in future travels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$31
Campground was "ok" for a night, OR if you were staying in the area and not really spending much time in the park as an activity place. Would stay here again passing through for an overnight. It's easy access on/off the freeway and to find, and filled up for the night. Quiet enough at night but did hear a train off in the distance. They had 2 buildings of restrooms/showers; we didn't use them but looked at them, old but kept neat and clean. Also a restaurant on the premises, we got mixed reviews so opted to pass on eating there, although a lot of people were walking to it for their supper. Water was good, cable TV and WiFi all worked well and no problems at all. Had some grass and was pet friendly for walking dogs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$33
OK for an overnight stop. Good cable TV and Wi-Fi. We did eat at their cafe and it was very acceptable. I had ribs and the wife had country fried steak. Very friendly people, but it's on gravel and grass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
Older style park and convenient to I-40. Girl working the desk was sharp as a tack, very helpful and nice. This place has dirt pads that are level, and packed with gravel so leveling was not a problem. The park can be tight if you have a Class A with a long tow vehicle, but it is well worth the money. A great throw back to Route 66 and close to stores and services. This park has a very nice little BBQ restaurant on premises that will deliver orders to your RV, a very innovative and useful service! The park could stand some "weeding and gardening" but all in all, this park is, by a long shot, the best place to stay in Santa Rosa, New Mexico. Frankly, all other RV parks in Santa Rosa other than this one, are complete dumps! We would stay here again for sure! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$37
A nice, clean park, which was also empty as we were out of season. Restaurant ok, no food, overpriced, not up to what it is advertised. Good stop but wouldn't spend the week here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$32
Park is easy off and on access from I-40. We arrived late and left early so we didn't get a chance to explore much of the campground. We dined at the restaurant and our steaks were cooked just the way we like them - medium rare. The camp store was well stocked with both groceries and supplies so we didn't have to leave the park once we arrived. The lot had ample length to fit both our 34' 5th wheel and truck so we didn't have to unhook - which was great! The lot was level which was also nice. Good dog walk area along the side of the park. Be careful if you venture further out in to the desert as there is broken glass on one of the paths. We have a boxer so he enjoyed romping around the desert on our walks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2009
$27
Price includes AAA discount. People seem sweet and the grounds are tidy. They talked up the restaurant as seen on the Food Channel (2 years ago), but they ought to give that up. The food was priced too high for being cafeteria quality (and the ribs looked nothing like the photo on the website). I'm a little bothered to be charged $3 for an extra person, when there are just two of us. The pet walk area doesn't seem as big as it looks on the map. Finally, the Santa Rosa city Wi-Fi signal strength was inconsistent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$37
I've been in worse, so for an overnight, it's not bad. It's a shame that the owners don't take greater care of what could be a lovely park. Friendly enough though. Pool not opened because it needed cleaning. Park was full though, so perhaps they don't have to take care of things. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
We stayed here for 9 days in 2009. People very nice and helpful. Campground was very well kept up. Ate one night in the on-site restaurant and were satisfied. Catfish was great. TV reception is lousy in the daytime but comes in much better at night. Wi-Fi in and out, sometimes very limited connectivity. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$38
As with most campgrounds in Arizona and NM, it was a basic campground with gravel roads and sites which were very level. Had everything you would want including free wireless. Had an on-site restaurant which smelled good as we walked by, but we did not try it. Great for an overnight stay as it is right off I-40 without the noise. It is located on Route 66. One note, they do not post their pricing on their site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$33
The advertised rate is for a spot only: full hookups and 50amps are each extra charges. The cable TV is still extremely poor quality and they still push the restaurant big time. As previously noted: it is an older facility and the sites are level gravel with easy access to I-40. The "Pet Walk" area is a serious hazard. It is unlevel with chunks of concrete, holes and weeds 3' high. Why the sign is placed in that spot is a mystery as there are apparent trails nearby: if you like looking out for snakes and other critters as you walk. OK for an overnight stop but we would check out the other parks in town before paying $33 here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$32
This is an older campground right on Route 66. The sites are gravel, pull-throughs, and level. This is a good one night stay or a destination stop for a few days. Very easy on and off the interstate and navigating to your site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
We've traveled nearly across the country: this is by far the best campground we've stayed in on this trip. Park and restrooms were very clean. The staff was friendly. There's a great gift shop and the restaurant was excellent. They'll even delivered to your site. Although the sites were gravel, we would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$24
I rated this campground a 9 only because they really hyped their restaurant on site. The restaurant specializes in "award-winning" ribs. The lady at the front desk, I presume the owner, said the ribs are slow smoked then allowed to sit in sauce that makes them "absolutely delicious". We fell for it. The ribs were very tender, but had no hint of smoky flavor nor was there any indication they had been grilled. Rather, they tasted like they were slow baked, then some sauce added. All I can say is if those are the best ribs New Mexico can come up with, they are hurting for ribs. Mine were dry as if they had sat for awhile and cold to boot. Ribs for two, coleslaw and corn, TERRIBLE peach cobbler, and one ice tea was $48. ABSOLUTELY NOT WORTH IT! As for the park, it was extremely nice. The park was very neat and tidy and well kept. The pool was a refreshing 80 degrees and very clean. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating. The RV spaces are well spaced and not at all crowded. The scenery was nice and other restaurants are within easy walking distance-thank goodness! We would definitely stay here again, but not eat at the famous "restaurant on premises". We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$38
This park gets high score for the location and level sites. However I gave this park a 5 due to 2 things. First, and not as important, was the poor quality of the cable TV. Others have complained about the cable but nothing seems to be done. The night we were there we had no water after 8pm. The office was closed and did not reopen until 8am. The next morning I went to the office to complain and the woman working there said "I am just an employee". I left a note requesting the management call me. When the manager called he was extremely defensive right off the top! He had the nerve to say I did not know how to work the water faucet! I told him I tried it 3 different times and it only gave me a trickle. Not even enough to brush our teeth. Again he said. "You obviously do not know how to work the faucet." This is one campground I will never stay in again and will spread the word for others to beware! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
There is friendly office staff. The park is very clean. There are fairly spacious sites with some shade. There is a nice restaurant, food sounded good but we did not eat there.There are good laundry facilities. Therer is a nice pool and playground for kids. The only downside is that you can't cook out except in the area designated for tents so no grillin'. Two bathhouses are conveniently located. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
This is just an okay place for an overnight stop, since there are no better alternatives in the area. Please note that if you require WiFi and don't have your own, don't stay here. Their WiFi did not work at all in our site near the restrooms in the back of the park. Sometimes it showed up as one small bar on the list of available networks, and other times it didn't show up at all. At no time could we connect. Fortunately, our Sprint aircard worked but was slow. The park has an overall messy look and needs better maintenance and attention to detail. The gravel sites and roads could use more gravel, which would cut down on the dust. I would guess that the park could be muddy in the rainy season. On the plus side, the restrooms and showers in the back of the park are nice. Although we didn't use it, the pool was large and looked clean. We were in an area that had neither cable nor sewer, because we did not need those for an overnight stay. We were able to use our satellite TV. We had dinner at the restaurant on the property. The food was satisfactory, though nothing special, and it was over-priced for meals served on plastic plates. But it was convenient. We would return for an overnight stay only. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
This campground is an "okay" stop for overnight. It is all gravel, therefore pretty dusty in the dry summer. The cable at our site didn't work properly, all the channels were snowy. When I complained in the office the lady said we should push our booster button. (Our booster button is for antenna, NOT CABLE.) Then there is the subject of WI-FI. That didn't work either. She told me to take my battery out and replace it because I'd logged on at too many other parks and my computer needed to clear those; then I'd be able to get on at their park. Everyone else I spoke with around the park was having the same problem; they couldn't get on either. The WI-FI the office used had five bars so she felt the problem was not the park. With these problems, we felt the price was too much even though it included a Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$37
Stopped here overnight. It had everything we needed though the Wi-Fi stopped working several times. There was a lot trash around the edge of the park and some parts of park needed work. Park was quiet and a nice place to stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
Very friendly staff with a neat and clean park. Enjoyed the overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$26
The park is well cared for and pleasant. Read a booklet on Santa Rosa and it has a lot of interest to it with natural springs. We are planning on stopping again on our fall trip west and staying a few days. I wonder what birds will be migrating through then as we say many in June. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$27
Clean, accessible, friendly park. Don't expect to do much shopping as there is nothing available outside Dollar General. Cheapest place to buy fuel was Allsups which was about .5 mile west of campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$24
This is a bare-bones park, a bit shabby but with friendly, helpful owners, and large-enough sites (we need 55+ feet). Our site had electric and water only, although there are some full hook-up sites that also include sewer and cable connection (and maybe phone). We've stayed here before and would stay here again. This time was only for an overnight, but we've stayed for longer and enjoyed it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$32
We only stayed one night on a stopover but found the park to be clean and friendly. When making reservations the lady was very helpful with info. We were late arrivals and they had a packet waiting for us at the night drop with a map to our site highlighted. While not the fanciest park by any means, it is a nice relaxing place. We plan to return on our trips west. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
My husband and I arrived late in the day. We hurried to do a couple of loads of laundry. The laundry was clean and there were many people using them. We had a nice visit and time passed quickly. The people who run this campground are very accommodating. We discovered their restaurant and decided to try it. They offered delivery to your rv, and since we wanted wine with our dinner, we chose to use that service. We have never seen that service offered. The dinner was delivered exactly on time and was very delicious. We had the ribs, baked potatoes, beans and cole slaw. We were extremely pleased with everything we had and really appreciated it. We would definitely return to this campground and would use this unusual service again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2009
$29
Very disappointed. Pet walk is full of glass throughout the whole path (must have previously been a shooting range) My pets paws got cut-up and a piece stuck in my walking shoes. The Restaurant that they brag about is absolutely "horrible". The corn on the cob must have been soaked and reheated many times. The ribs (which is there claim to fame) were hardly edible and I can never remember not being able to eat a baked potato, but I guess there is a first time for everything. The service was very, very, poor and the entries were $13.95 and up. If it snacks you are looking for don't go into their store, you won't find any. The shelves were bare, only 3 candies, a few incidentals the rest is junkie souvenirs. I usually would not comment and let this go, but it was so very bad... I don't want anyone else to waste their money and time. Staying at a rest area and eating a TV dinner tops this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
A decent place for a short stay. We have three push outs. The slot we were assigned was too tight between trees to open the slides when pulling in the "correct" direction. So, we pulled in headed the opposite way and it worked out okay. The pet walk area is a meandering trail through some brush and cactus. Nice except for broken glass in the trail and lots of thorns & stickers off trail. The restaurant food was not our style of fare. The beans were out of a can, the corn was over cooked and mushy but the cole slaw was good. The bbq ribs were tender but all the bbq was in the sauce added just before serving, not in the way it was cooked. For this and two iced teas we paid $40. Though we would stay at this park again, we would not dine at the restaurant again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$29
We had a site with trees and full hook up...really nice new bath and shower house facility and their BBQ ribs were as good as the man at the front desk said they would be. Cold, windy and snow but a great laundry and nice gift shop. Friendly staff, we are really liking New Mexico,we would come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$32
My family and I had planned to only stay here over night on our way to CA. Our truck broke down as we were pulling off the interstate (1/2 mile from camp). In the end we stayed here for 7 days while the truck was being repaired. Overall our experience was near perfect here. The owners are extremely friendly and even loaned me a ladder so I could review my roof while I had nothing better to do with my time. The town, Santa Rosa, is very small but friendly. The campgrounds, while simple, were exceptionally clean. The bathhouse and restroom were as clean as we have ever seen at a campground. The sites were spotless (although a little dusty as the roads and sites are all gravel). This isn't a destination campground - more like an overnight stop along I-40 and Route 66 - but for us it became a much longer stay. All in all, we were very happy with the campgrounds and would definitely stop in again (hopefully for not quite as long next time). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2008
$32
Access into the campground is tight. Roads are dirt and so are sites. Sites on south side are not level. Campground is mostly blowing dirt with a few sparce trees. Dog walk is an overgrown path through burrs and cactus. Campground offers a bar-b-que restaurant with deliver service to site. The food was not very good, not much of it, and very expensive. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
There was medium road noise. Staff was friendly and helpful. Sites are pretty close together. They say they have wi-fi but it is such a bad connection you really can't use it. Ok for just an overnight stop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2008
$31
We would not stay here again. When we asked about the pool being open, we were asked if we wanted to pay the heating bill. The owners were very rude and disrespectful. He was especially nasty. The Wi-Fi did not work even in the building and the water pressure was very, very low. The bathrooms were almost unacceptable and the cable was very poor quality. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$14
These sites near Santa Rosa Lake were nice and very quiet. The sites are about a ten minute walk to the lake. The campground host was very nice and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$33
This park is a very pleasant surprise as I really didn't expect much based on the location. However, the check-in was quick and efficient, the site perfectly level and easy to get to and everything works as advertised with the Wi-Fi being excellent. Although close to the interstate as the crow flies, we aren't bothered by the minimal noise. There is a gift shop and small restaurant also associated with the park, both added bennies. I will absolutely stay here my next trip from home to Colorado and return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2008
$32
We stayed here one night which was enough. We chose this because it had a pool, restaurant, wi-fi, full hookups etc. When we got there, the pool was closed and didn't reopen till check out the next day. We asked if they could let us in the pool before 1:00 which was the usual opening time since we were leaving, but the owners refused to let us in. The wi-fi signal was very weak. Most web sites I couldn't access because of low signal strength. I asked the owner where the antenna was so I could get a better signal, and it was on the roof of the restroom which was only a couple sites from where we were. The owner claimed the problem was with my laptop, but I didn't have trouble at other campgrounds or "hot spots". There were only a couple other units at the campground, so the restaurant was closed. The grounds were clean, and the utilities were usable. I had hoped for a better stop over based on the reviews I had read, but was disappointed. The staff wasn't friendly, and it was over-priced for what we got in return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$31
Good full service (FHU, pool, free cable and WI-FI) RV park. Good for overnight but big rigs may have to unhook. Sites are decent size with some having shade trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
We stayed here two nights. Everything was very well kept and nice enough. They had a restaurant on site but the food was not eatable. We would stay there again, but go into town for a meal. We ruined a tire coming in from I-40 and the Blue Moon Tire and Garage had the right tire and were very good to deal with. An auto museum was enjoyable. We are fulltime motorhome travelers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
We spent one night here. Close to I-40 without the road noise. Very nice pet walk, We ate at the restaurant. Ribs were very tender. We are looking forward to our next stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$27
Exceptionally clean and the owners on-site were very friendly - on location restaurant was a good value for the money and the service was quick and efficient. WiFi worked very well which seems to be the exception compared to recent RV parks we have stayed, attached camp store was well stocked. This is an above average park!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
This is a small, clean park. Fairly level sites are big enough for slides and awnings, small shade trees and bushes. Restaurant serves delicious ribs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$32
We stayed here for three days. The fee includes our Good Sam discount + $3.50 for 50 amp. Easy access with our 40 footer. The gravel sites are reasonably level. Water pressure and volume was excellent. Site #11 has high tension lines close above it which prevented use of our satellite TV system. The free WiFi worked well for us. They have a BBQ restaurant on site which will deliver to your site free of charge. We did not use the restaurant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$32
This once nice campground has gone down hill. The restrooms were dirty, the cable TV had static and the Wi-Fi kept dropping and then went completely down when the office closed. Sad to say that even the once popular on site restaurant has seen a deterioration in the quality of the food. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
Nice campground with level sites. The site was long enough that we did not need to unhook. Staff was cheerful and helpful. We will stay at this park again. The rate reflects Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$33
Good place to spend the night. Very friendly staff. We enjoyed a meal in their restaurant. The spot was level and long enough that we didn't need to unhook. We hope to visit again and see the area sights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
Very cozy campground with long level sites and good ingress and egress. Wi-Fi worked great. Camp hosts were wonderful. Restaurant is outstanding. You must try the food here. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$24
The park located on the east side of town is accessible from I-40. Nothing particularly fancy but very functional. It is good for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$33
Nice stop over on I-40. I didn't experience any of the attitude problems others have talked about. Nice quiet park. You need to make reservations ahead this time of the year as many are headed to AZ and the full hook sites fill fast. We didn't eat at the restaurant, but our neighbors highly recommended it. We stayed here on our way to Phoenix, and also stayed on the return trip. Wifi was free and strong. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2007
$30
Real average park. Our experience with the lady at the front desk was awful. She was real nasty to us when we checked in; she could have been having a bad day though. The dump station was located in a real awkward spot for a large motorhome to use so we didn't dump here. We did enjoy our time here as long as we didn't have to encounter the woman at the front desk. The restaurant was great here and their ribs are a must have. Will probably stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$33
Nice level spot in among the trees. Park seems to be very busy. We stop off in Santa Rosa many times, this is the first time with our RV. The staff was friendly. This was a typical park in the desert , not much green but that's the way we like it. We enjoy small clean parks with a little uniqueness. We really never use all the extras at parks. They had WiFi and that is an important feature for us. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
Park has gravel interior roads and sites. Some small trees don't interfere with satellite TV reception. WiFi is included. Easy access to park off I-40 Exit 275 and about 1 mile east of old Route 66 (US54). Park has on-site restaurant with decent food and reasonably priced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
Beautiful site and campground. Native cactus and walking path we enjoyed. Baths and laundry were super clean. Wonderful restaurant. Friendly staff. Only negative was that the pool could have been cleaner. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
We camped here right after a rainstorm and the place smelled of wet dog waste!! The site we were assigned was so tight I was almost unable to get the slides out. I don't know who gave the BBQ a good rating, but they must of eaten somewhere else. It tasted like it was cooked days earlier and I watched them heated in the microwave. Did I mention the sauce was ketchup? Pass this one up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
We stayed here two nights. Very friendly and helpful staff. Laundry and restrooms very clean. Good location. Restaurant right at campground. The barbecue was not as good as other people posted earlier, but it was okay. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
This is not a bad park! It is a little old and worn but relatively clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The dog run could use a mowing also. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$27
We used this park as a stopover and were very pleased. We camped here with small children and were very comfortable. Nice clean laundry room. Playground could use updating. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$27
This place is beautiful in the snow, big campground and great southwestern gift shop. Wifi at our site, propane was available too! Had dinner in the restaurant, great salmon. We'll be back in the spring, nice office staff and they even gave correct directions to our next stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2006
$28
This is a busy park all year. Visitors usually stay just one or two nights. They have no permanent residents. Park owners have been steadily improving the facility since taking over a few years back. The Pool is nice, and the restrooms and laundry are super clean. If you are too tired to cook, the restaurant will deliver dinner to your rig. We have stayed here four times in the last two years. An interesting note is that, even though it's in the middle of the desert, Santa Rosa is known for scuba diving in the famous "Blue Hole." We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2006
$30
Decent campground in a not so nice area, Santa Rosa is a dying town. Friendly, helpful owners. Nice on site restaurant with good ribs. Wifi and good satellite access. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2006
$36
This is a pitiful park and a poor experience from start to finish! The fact that it was raining didn’t help much, and that was not the parks fault, but the place was one giant mud hole. The park is fairly old and show years of use. Roads are in poor shape and could benefit from at least some small amount of maintenance. Sites are small, and our 30’ fifth wheel barely fit. Hook ups are only adequate. Staff seemed totally indifferent and lacked any sign of human warmth. The parks does have a café, and they deliver to your RV, which is very nice. The food was OK and the prices were a bit high for what you get. All in all this is one park to pass up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$25
This was a very nice park and the staff was very accommodating. lots of room and the pool was good. They have a restaurant here and the BBQ ribs are fantastic! (Delivered to your site. ) Did not get a chance to see the area as we were just here overnight heading back east. The roads are not paved, but were in good shape. The store was well stocked and the facilities clean. This place is a good bargain! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2006
$30
Not real happy with this ex-KOA campground. It is in dire need of some attention. Lots of high grass, the dog runs were literally waist high in weeds and broken glass on the trail. Their wi-fi is a joke and only readable if you are next to the building. Basic rate is only $19 but they add on everything to bring it up to $29 and change. Very disappointing and only good for a quick overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
Probably the best in Santa Rosa. Easy to find and maneuver in. Typical Eastern New Mexico landscape (high desert). Was a very clean place and there is a restaurant on the premises and they will deliver to your rig. Also have a store and gift shop. The rest rooms and showers were among the cleanest I've seen. The only drawback is the rate is a bit high, but not exceedingly. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to my friends. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$27
Well tended gravel road park. Pull through sites. A pool that really was heated and clean bathrooms. Big, clean doggie walks off the sides. WIFI worked. We had really good steaks in the restaurant and a quiet, no truck or train noise night. Nice south west gift shop too. Friendly. We'll go back. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2005
$30
We've stayed here a number of times and always the office personnel are very friendly. Big sites, fairly level and room for slides. Roads are gravel as are the sites. Limited food menu is offered with delivery to your site. Nice gift shop. Big rigs OK. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2005
$28
Easy off and on from I-40. Convenient for overnight as there were quite of few occupants of that nature. Owners were friendly. The sites were level and easy to pull into to with our 35 foot fifth wheel. The space between them was more than adequate. The campground was very neat and clean. The cable reception was not too clear and we were told that is the way it is. The BBQ was pretty good and were glad it was available. The gift shop was well stocked and propane was available. The pool is seasonal. There were many friendly cats around the office. We usually stay at Santa Rosa State Park but would also recommend staying here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$38
Like other reviewers, we can't say anything bad about this park. We did want to stay an additional day, but our site was already reserved. So we knew we would have to leave. To our surprise the people that were checking in after us came to our site several hours before checkout and asked when we would be leaving as they were ready to check-in. Well, we will not be rushed to leave, so this only made us stay until the last possible minute. There is nothing that the staff could have done. They had told the people that the site was not ready but they still felt the need to come and see for themselves. To all rv'ers out there, if your site is not ready do not take it upon yourself to go and try to rush people out of the site. This is a great place to stay and we loved being able to take the scooter down the street to Seaside. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2004
$1
A great place to stay overnight or a week. Friendly, helpful management. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$26
This park appears to be primarily used for overnight stays. It was clean, everything worked, it was a reasonable cost and the restaurant served good food. You can't ask for anything more when you are looking for a place to stay overnight. Big rig friendly & staff was friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2003
$28
The park is clean and quiet. We found the management to be very friendly and the restaurant has great ribs. Stayed extra days, both directions, on a cross country trip. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$28
Clean restrooms and store. They are no longer KOA affiliates, but still base rates like a KOA. The sites are dirt or mud which can be very messy when its really wet or extremely dusty when its dry. The gravel is long gone. Campsites have not been improved since new owners took over. (Owners have been there 5 years.) The restaurant food is fried or reheated processed food from Sam's. It is a noisy campground with late arrivals and early departures. My biggest concern is the way the owners interact with customers. The owner's wife is very defensive and argumentative. Not much effort is spent on trying to correct their errors and overall attitude appears to be that we are only going to be here one night anyway. We will not stop there again. Save yourself the grief and go on down the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$30
We had stayed here numerous times in the past as a KOA. We were surprised to find it was no longer affiliated as were evident by the numerous beer advertisements in windows and hanging on fences and doors. The staff was alright. The store was very well stocked. I also noticed everyone leaves very early. It is definitely an overnight spot. The bathrooms were clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2003
$24
This campground was formerly (until April, 2003) Santa Rosa KOA and is now no longer affiliated with KOA. We were advised by someone on the RV America website to post this note here, so here we are. We spent one of the most miserable overnight stays that we experienced in 6 years of RVing in this campground on Thursday, May 1, 2003. The people that run the campground were extremely rude and condescending to us once they had our money. We left a note the next morning before we left saying we were very dissatisified with their service and treatment of us and when we got home on Wed., May 14, 2003, we had a very nasty letter from the park manager/owner, that was filled with gross misrepresentation of facts as they actually occurred and was very offending to us with his personal attacks of us. We cannot recommend this campground to anyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$22
New owners 2-3 years ago. Repairs/Improvements are being made daily. Very friendly owners. Park was clean, restrooms/showers and pool were immaculate. Mostly one nighters stay so lots of early departers. Obvious that owners are there all the time to see that guests are well treated and enjoy the stay. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com