220931 User submitted reviews online!!
Bear River RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 39 user reviews. Phone: (250) 636-9205
CGID5629

Bear River RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
72
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   7   8   8   6   8   8   6   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2014
$38
Agree with the last review - sewer hookups not only are too high but next to an older water connection - and an odor coming from the water drainage under the water faucet. The breaker flipped and no one was at the park that could help us. Finally figured it out for ourselves - after walking around in the rain. The location is right after you enter Stewart and about 5 miles from the Hyder, AK crossing and the bear viewing area. Recommend going to see the bears and Salmon glacier - you don't have much choice in where to stay - one in Stewart and one in Hyder. Bring supplies as you are remote and they can be expensive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$38
Great place. Would have given them a 9 if the Internet hadn't been rationed at 50 MB per day (which is NOT advised on their web site). Cable TV was very snowy and on a few channels. Sites were perfectly level and they were working on filling potholes in the driveways. Managers didn't seem to care about the Internet issues when they didn't reset after 24 hours. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$38
A little pricey even with Good Sam discount but convenient and room to maneuver a 43' rig. Wi-Fi pretty good. Cable TV okay. Great place to stay to visit Hyder, Alaska. They recycle! Gravel sites. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$33
Slots would be tight if they were full, but plenty of space to spread out as it was only 1/4 full. Wi-Fi is spotty (drops a lot). Just outside of town it is a good bike area and you can peddle over to Hyder easily. Only concern is the sewer tend to be very high at some sites and it is right next to water supply. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$41
The staff was very helpful concerning bear sightings and locations. The sites were not level, so make sure you have extra blocking. The WiFi was OK, but I would not say great. The hook-ups were located mid way which made hooking up easy. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
This well cared for park has good gravel roads and sites, with nice patches of grass in between, and a row of mature trees for shade. The sites are among the most spacious we've seen and very level. Water, electricity and sewer hookups are convenient, but I would prefer that water and sewer are separated by more than a few inches. Wi-Fi worked well. Bathrooms, though not particularly spacious, were crispy clean and neat, but showers cost extra. The laundry room looked neat and clean, but we didn't actually use it. Price seemed a bit high despite Good Sam discount, but similar to other parks in Alaska and BC. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$39
About the best in the area for big rigs. The sites are haphazard in arrangement, but you will have shade and landscape instead of all gravel. We had a long pull through 30/water/sewer. Highway and the industrial big trucks noise didn't bother us on the inside sites of park. We visited the bear viewing a couple of times and the salmon were running in the Salmon River. No bears though. We seen a couple of bears at the Hyder, AK town dump. The Salmon Glacier is a nice day trip (30 miles one way). We ate at "The Bus" in Hyder for an unique experience. Groceries were very expensive, so be sure to be well stocked before traveling to Stewart. We stayed 3 nights and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$39
We stayed here for 2 nights late in July hoping that the salmon were running in Hyder, so that we could see the bears. The campground was not overly crowded, so we had no one next to us. The park was not crowded, so we did not experience the crowding and parking problem that would exist when the campground is packed. All of the services worked well, and the WIFI was adequate. This is easily the best campground in the area, and the Salmon Glacier is a must-see. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
Sites are a little awkward and close together in some areas. Showers are tight but usable. $2.50 to wash, same to dry. There were 2 tents while we were here even with signs saying 'no tents' and not being outside at night because of the bears. We drove to "Salmon Glacier" on a dirt and bumpy 15 mile road, and it was well worth it. We stopped at the 'bear viewing' platform on the way to the glacier. Very nice but no bear because the salmon were not running yet. wWe ate at "The Bus" in Hyder, AK about 5 miles away, both days we were here! Go there, it's the best! We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
This park is OK for a short term stay. The pull in motor home spaces are a bit odd. There are several sites all clumped together, and they all look at each other. No cell or satellite signal of any kind. And kind of weird, this was the only RV park in 15 years of RV'ing that didn't want to let me wash the bugs off of the front window. And I mean 300 miles of bugs. I explained that I only use warm water and no chemicals of any kind. I got some lame excuse about the ecologists say it's not good for the environment. What? So what happens when it rains, like it does every other day? She couldn't answer. I washed them anyway. I would look for someplace else to stay if I came to the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
Nice setting, but weird with the pull ins for motor homes, requiring back outs. Very muddy at our site which was not fun and we were told this was a better site. Spaces in general were wide with grass which was nice. Side by side hookups. Priority space went to the caravan rigs. Internet not reliable. Laundry was fine: only 2 washers/2 dryers but worked fine. Cable TV access was weird but worked fine. Friendly welcome! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
If you are looking for a landscaped, well-manicured campground this is not it, but if you want a great value for your money, with exceptionally friendly, helpful owners you will stay here. Bathrooms were somewhat dated, but very clean: soap and shampoo were even provided. There are communal fire-pits and after closing the office, the owners join campers at the campfire. We highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$31
Beautiful setting. Huge sites. Very friendly owners. Had TV hookups, but very grainy and had to rob splitters from neighbouring sites. Was supposed to have Wi-Fi, but I had a lot of trouble getting and keeping a signal, it kept timing out on me. When it seemed to be working, it was so slow, that I gave up. The mosquitoes were insane. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
Not bad. After trying all three Wi-Fi hot spots I was finally able to connect. The mosquitoes will eat you alive but that's not unusual for BC. We had to fog our coach while we visited Stewart/Hyder area to kill the critters that were inside from the last CG that we stayed in. Cable was good and the owners were very helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
Park is a turn-off on Hwy 37A going into Stewart, next to road maintenance yard. This is a nice campground with gravel/dirt roads in park. Campsites are slightly elevated gravel and grass sites. Only 1 pull-through that I saw and only a pull-through if you drive through an empty site. No fires at campsite, unless dry camping. Has a common campfire area, with multiple fire rings. Free firewood for your use. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
Park is located just before you reach Stewart. The sites are located are on grass, mostly back-ins. Their pull throughs are really two sites, you just pull through to the front site or pull in behind a rig. To leave you have to wait for the rig in front to leave or back out, not a true pull-through. They have cable cords running from a central location in various spots through the park. You simple grab a cord and take it to your spot. The Wi-Fi is by satellite so very iffy if it is raining or very cloudy. We thought the park was nice for a small town. The roads are muddy but considering it rains all the time you expect that. The drive to Stewart/Hyder is beautiful with a glacier very close to the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
Pleasant campground with lots of grass and some shade trees. Very quiet at night. Some road noise during the day, but tolerable. The site we were given was plenty long enough for our 38' rig and tow vehicle. We were at the end of the row so only had another rig on one side and it was pretty close, so we might have felt confined in a site with rigs on both sides. Interior roads are dirt, thus mud when it rains which it did for the 4 days we camped here. Lots of potholes and puddles too. Cable was good; Wi-Fi was good until the park filled up with a caravan, then it was intermittent. After the caravan left, it seemed to work OK again. Could not get the pay phone to work with our calling card. When I reported the problem to the woman in the office, she said no one else had complained so had no suggestions as to why it wouldn't work. I tried several times and was never able to get a call through. Had to drive into town to the gas station when I needed to make a phone call--no problems getting a call through there. However, we would probably stay here again even with the known problems. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
Shaded, grassy sites easily accessed from the highway into town are accompanied by good basic utilities. The Wi-Fi was adequate, the cable TV was marginal. There was some road noise, but it was most apparent during the day. The infrastructure (restrooms, laundry) was serviceable, but not attractive. The price reflects a Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$23
This RV Park is still for sale. The husband/wife owners were pleasant, although husband first appeared rather gruff. We enjoyed our stay. Wi-Fi worked well. Best park in the Stewart/Hyder area. Quiet location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
We camped in a nice long pull through with grass. Electric, sewer, water and cable TV service were all adequate. Noticed that the park was for sale and the owner was a little bit on the grumpy side. Main objections were too many potholes in the interior roads, and lack of a laundry facility. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
This is the best park in the Stewart/Hyder area. In fact the local city park is $20 for only 30 amp electric hookup and we paid $25.76 here for 30 amp and water and sewer cable TV and free Wi-Fi, so this is a good deal. The negatives are that there is no cell phone service at all in this area, the Wi-Fi is slow and occasionally goes down and the water pressure is terrible. The sites and plenty long enough and wide enough for big rigs and toads. You park on grass although the roads are gravel and dusty. The hookups are side by side but you can move to one side of the site and avoid being too close to your neighbor. We would return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
By far the best option in Stewart/Hyder. Our site was level, and there was lots of grass for our cat to play in. It's quite informal, but everything works, including the WiFi! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$24
We were given a pull-through site, created by the owner by having us drive through the site behind us. We had no trouble with the Wi-Fi and the cable worked well. The two negatives about this park were the road in the park had lots of pot holes, and there is no laundry in the park. You have to go into town and use the one at the hotel. We had stayed at the Muni park on two previous trips but would stay at this park again if we returned because it is not totally shaded, price is good with a Senior discount, and has cable and Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$23
Nice base to check out Da Bears and "The Bus", spacious, level sites with easy back-in, with full hookups and working W-iFi. Owner is very helpful as noted. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$23
While here, we checked out all the RV parks in the Stewart/Hyder area and we felt this was the best RV park. It's in a very pleasant treed setting with grass (something you don't see often in this part of the country). The sites are large and a 40' motorhome and car fit easily. Parking is on gravel. The area is very quiet. The owner personally walked us around to show us four sites and let us decide which one we'd like. He was very personable and helpful. The sites have full hookups with 30amp electricity only. There is cable TV and a picnic table. Tents or soft-sided trailers are not allowed because of possible bear activity. We saw no bears in this campground during our 3 days here. The showers are coin-operated. There is a public telephone and free Wi-fi, which was very slow. Our Verizon aircard didn't work here. The park is for sale so we hope the new owners will keep it up as it is now. This park will be on the left just before entering Stewart. We would highly recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$24
It was easy to move around even with a larger motorhome. The owner personally walks you around and shows you the sites available. The road to the campground is nicely paved and the sites themselves are pretty level and nice. There are many potholes in the main campground road so be careful as you enter the park. The location is good for access to Stewart and Hyder attractions. The road to the Salmon Glacier was closed when we were there but it was expected to be reopened shortly. The Wifi was erratic but was available at the site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
This is a nice park especially for big rigs, lots of room to maneuver if you have a back-in site like we did. It was laid out a little funny-the pull-through sites seemed to be accessible only if you pulled through one site into another-ok if the one site is open. As previously stated, the entrance road is full of potholes, but the sites themselves were level with quite a bit of space between sites. There are big trees, park is nicely maintained and easy drive to town or to Hyder. The Wifi was slow but available on site and the cable came in clear with about 14 channels. There's very little road noise. There are beautiful mountains just across the street. The owner was friendly and helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$18
Rate reflects an extended stay. This is a very pleasant park. Sites are fairly level and roomy. There are lots of trees. The owner is on-site and works very hard to ensure a pleasant stay for campers. The interior roads do have some potholes. Wi-fi worked well in our site. Did not use park showers or bathrooms. Park is very convenient to Hyder, AK for bear viewing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
This is a well maintained park with plenty of room between sites. The sites are easy to park in. Wi-fi worked well from the rig and was free. Cable worked okay, just not many channels. Tents and soft sided trailers are not allowed because it is bear country. This park is only 3 miles or so from Hyder, AK. We recommend you stay here as opposed to going into Hyder to stay. We traveled the Cassier Hwy to get here, and it was a paved road all the way and very easy travel. We did see a couple of bears along the road. Hyder is known for the Salmon River where the bears come to catch the salmon, however, we were a couple of weeks early. We did get a few mosquito bites though. The auto tour from Stewart (stop at the Visitor's Center and get the free auto tour map) was interesting and goes all the way up to the Salmon Glacier which was beautiful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$24
We had planned on staying at Camp Run-A-Muck, but after seeing it we decided to stay at this park for two nights. The park roads are full of potholes and one has to drive really slow on the roads. The sites are shaded, level and easy to get into. Our site had full hook ups including cable TV. The WI-FI was just OK; it was really really slow. . We were able to see the brown bears fishing and catching salmon at Fish Creek. Passing through Canadian customs was fast and easy. The camp ground is for sale. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$24
We stayed here 2 nights in a travel trailer. The host was friendly. The restrooms were clean. The showers only had curtains. The toilet seats did not have papers. Wifi worked, but was intermittent and slow. The site is right by a river and the mosquitoes were very bad. There is no laundry room. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$23
Very nice full hookup campground with cable TV and free Wi-Fi. Very handy for sightseeing in Hyder without having to take the RV on dirt roads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$28
Gravel lot on side street from main road. Very bumpy pot holed entrance road. Got satellite. Large roomy site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$1
Not sure of rate, we were part of a caravan. Not a bad park, but very wet when it rains. Site was OK, good hookups. WiFi very slow and pretty much unusable for us. Probably the best bet in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$21
I'm guessing at how many sites, because it doesn't say on their list of rules. But this is a nice park and very handy to Hyder to visit with the bears. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$22
Clean and quiet. Excellent cable and Wi-Fi. Only draw back is clearing customs when coming back from Hyder. But you are not in the Hyder dust bowl. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$20
Would be a 10 if there was a laundry area on the grounds. Just a short commute into Stewart & Hyder. Great location and good folks run the park. Park itself is shaded, grass with gravel sites. It is very clean and quiet. I would highly recommend staying at this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$21
Nice park with pleasant staff. WIFI is free and works well. As the previous post says, the ratings in the book is unfair, we will come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$19
TL gives this park a very low rating, the management said they have not been out to rate them for years. It was a trailer/RV park, there are now no trailers or long term people. The park is clean and well kept. The management is very pleasant and helpful, they led us to a site even when they were busy parking a caravan and came back later to see if everything was OK. There is good cable TV, they were installing wifi when we left. We would be glad to find this nice of park anytime. Because of possible bears and wolves, only hard sided RVs can camp here. We didn't see any wildlife! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com