206928 User submitted reviews online!!
Heritage RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (907) 226-4500
CGID5752

Heritage RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$60



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   3   2   3   9   10   7   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$60
We really enjoyed this campground. We faced the water and the view was fantastic. No problem with the Wi-Fi or cable. We were able to get a satellite signal with no problem. The laundry room was clean with plenty of washers and dryers. It is housed with the showers and has an attendant. Sites were spacious. It is close to the spit and downtown. It is easily the nicest park in Homer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$70
We stayed here two weeks and were not impressed. It was too crowded and out of control. For the price there were no amenities (just like every other park in Alaska but for a lot more money). Many sites had way more people than the sites could hold. (We saw as many as 12 people in one site). There were ATV's doing donuts on the beach at all hours. Made several calls to management, but no one answered the phone. Price was excessive. There was usually only one employee around, and they usually had a long line at check-in. After caravans started arriving the place calmed down due to more respectful clientele. Alaskans are ruining this park. They come here in everything from tents, to real junk trucks, to toy haulers with no camping portion. (They just wheel out the ATV and sleep in it). The waterfront sites are nice; but buyer beware on any other sites as they are some of the worst, most chaotic, small sites I have ever seen. A trip to Homer is a must, but there are other options that would be just as nice, quieter, and cheaper. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2013
$70
Very expensive for what is provided. View is amazing. No monitoring of rules as ATV's running up and down beach, unsupervised kids running around with bows & arrows trying to shoot the birds. Cable TV only received 2 channels. Trash was on our site when we checked in. Lots of dogs off leash with irresponsible owners not picking up after them. Very chaotic with loud tenters around campfires all night. This park is the most expensive we have stayed in since leaving the lower 48. Overall not a good experience. Too many negatives to give it a better rating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2012
$65
Overall, the park was clean, quiet, & had plenty of room between sites. There wasn't any shade to speak of. Everything in the office/gift shop seemed pricey. This was the most expensive park we stayed at during our 3 week visit ($60+) in Alaska & feel it wasn't worth it compared to other parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$64
We stayed here 6 nights. The view is awesome, but no better than a few other parks in Homer. The facilities are relatively new and well maintained, I suspect the best in the city. They would have gotten a higher rating if they were more proactive in admitting and fixing the Internet that went from awesome the first 3 days to unusable outside the office the last 3 days. Their rating would have also been better, except I don't feel their price represents value. BTW, they quoted me a military rate and then charged me full price. When asked they said the military rates are only for active duty, but they didn't ask me my military status when we checked in. It's only a $5/night difference, but its the way they managed it that I didn't like. This should be a $45/night park with great facilities. Since leaving our home in FL, this is the most we've paid for any park. Don't get me wrong, this is a nice park, but overpriced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$75
We were here in a caravan, so I cannot be sure about the cost per night. This is one of my all-time favorite camping experiences. We were parked facing the bay and it was gorgeous. Large sites, easy hookups, pull-in, back out. Paved walking/biking trail next to campground. Loved it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$60
The views in this park are really the strong point for staying here. The sites can be very tight, and are dirt and gravel. If the weather goes bad, the park looses some of the luster. Very popular site on the weekends, especially with the local fishermen. Beach sites sell out quickly. Some road noise as the Spit you are on is not very wide. A 20' sewer hose may be required to reach the sewer connection. Many of the sites are set up for Motor home pull in's. If you back a trailer into the site your hookups may be on the wrong side. That didn't stop folks though, several trailers were there when we were. The little town south of the park has lots of tourist stuff to see and do. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$64
Loved this park and the town of Homer. We had a beach-front site, and there's always something going on when you're on the water. Fantastic views! Great latte's, nice laundry, very helpful staff. Took Homer Air out to Katmai NP to watch bears. Would stay here again in a heart beat! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$73
We are backed up to the water with a million dollar view of glaciers and mountains. Park is gravel but has excellent Wi-Fi, cable TV and 50 amp services. We thought the price of $73 a night was rather steep and there are no discounts. We are on the spit and it is a very restful place to be. If we had a generator we would be staying in the sites with no services: as they are cheaper and the view is the same. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$78
Nice park on the spit but it was windy the whole time. Had we not been with a caravan we would have stayed on the mainland away from the wind. Spots were nice and level and wide. Good views of the bay on either side. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$83
If it were not for the price and some road noise we'd rate this park a 10. The Spit W Spots wireless Internet is free for one hour at your RV site and when that hour is over you just click the red Free box again and get another hour free. If you want a faster connection there are options to pay for that. We have stayed at 2 other parks in Homer and agree that this one is the best because of the ease getting in and out, the level sites, the views,the full hookups, cable TV and free wireless Internet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$80
Good size gravel sites, great outlook on the inner bay front row. Gravel sites overlook beach, middle row or roadside would definitely not be as good. All services and therefore a premium on the cost. Worth the extra cost for a day or two but that's all most people stay. Downsides, only one dumpster for a large site is not what you'd expect; other than that it's pretty good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$80
The best campground in Homer. Friendly staff and nice services in the office (deli, firewood, arrange for travel, etc). The only drawback people may find is the price ($80/night) especially during slow periods where you can easily park almost for free (and some places for free). Easily worth $80 (or more), but with so much competition in Homer with the same incredible views, I think they are overpriced. If it was the only park on the Homer spit, it would be worth $100/night, but with state parks right down the road and many private parks close by, it is expensive. But the only park with full hookups on the spit and the best choice. Wi-fi choices are good. The park does not have free wi-fi (they do, but it does not work anywhere), but use "SPITwSPOT". It is a pay as you go ($10/day to $45/week), but excellent and if you arent balking at the $80/night, then you will be happy with the private wi-fi. If we return to Homer, we will not stay anywhere else .. this is the place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$75
We had booked the last three days of the season. They called us to tell us they were going to close two days early. We had plenty of time to book the other nights elsewhere, so we appreciated the advance notice. The park was spacious, and we had a beautiful beach front site. Weather was really bad the night we were here, so we paid the price of being out on the spit by being buffeted around by high winds. Probably would have been less of a problem if there were more motorhomes around us. Location is everything, but the price is pretty high for what you actually get. Wi-Fi was marginal. They say it only works in the office and certain sites. We had it, but it was pretty weak. Sites are level, hookups are top notch. If you can walk a mile each way, shopping and dining are within walking distance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$78
Except for the cost per night, this place was great! Especially for the kids. We were parked right next to the beach and the kids had a ball. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$74
The staff was friendly and helpful. The park has many great waterfront sites with spectacular views of Kachemak Bay and glaciers along the far shoreline. The sites have plenty of space and we were able to stretch out and enjoy our stay with our grandchildren. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$65
Nice, new park right on the water, and next to "The Fishing Hole" on the Homer Spit. Waterfront sites have picnic tables and a great view. As the previous poster said, it would have been a 10 if the cost had been more reasonable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$65
Wonderful park. Okay, it's just gravel and there are no picnic tables, but the view is unbeatable. It's also very windy. In May, we paid $65 for one night in an oceanfront site, and the price is higher in peak season. To keep out people who aren't staying at the campground, they have an attendant in the shower/laundry room and he hands out towels! Immaculate. The free WiFi was weak to non-existent, and so we plugged in to the DSL in the lobby. Friendly and helpful staff. Not rated higher since the price is so high, prohibitive for a long stay. Activities on the Spit are within walking distance, although it's a bit of a hike. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com