224371 User submitted reviews online!!
Diamond Lake Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (270) 229-4900
CGID5816

Diamond Lake Resort

Camp Information
Sites
270
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   8   8   9   8   7   10   7   5   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2014
$29
Stayed here 2 nights and that was too much. Place is old and no improvements. Had a problem backing in for the trees. Escort admitted some needed cutting but he didn't want to. Golf carts were allowed and you could easily get run over. Young children to older adults were all over the place with carts. The only positive comment was their fireworks show was pretty good. The campground was full that weekend. Roads are too narrow for two-lane traffic. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$14
This is a destination park. There is a lot to do here. HUGE park, lots of sites. Lots of locals who have permanent spots. With good reason, you have a great little place set in the trees with plenty to do right here. Now, why with 270 sites & mid week would the office assign us right next to someone? There were 5 empty sites on the other side of us. I have learned now to ask at check-in about the site I am being assigned. Be ready for a drive as this is located way out away from Owensboro. We would stay here again. Our rate was with Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$27
Very large and spread out park. Sights are a little tight. Many seasonal and long term residents, but all the rigs appear to be well maintained. Lots and lots of golf carts! WiFi is extra and is supplied by one of the residents. $5.00 for 72 hours. Staff and residents are friendly and helpful. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$27
We stayed here while attending a little league tournament in Owensboro. The campground was very convenient for us, about 8 miles to the ballpark. The campground was very pretty and everything was clean and well-cared for. Our site was quiet and shady. There seem to be many seasonal campers, but all sites were very well-maintained. Our electric and water hookup was shared with the next site and luckily we had extra water hose and extension cords. The campground staff were very helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$27
We stayed here over Thanksgiving to visit with family. Owners were very helpful and accommodating, including cheerfully offering to cook dinner for 9 of us at closing time! Lovely park setting. Appears that the owners are making continual facility improvements in the park. Nice playground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$29
Not too bad, but not one of our favorites. This is a nicely arranged campground with a couple of large ponds and lots of trees. We had a pull-through that was long enough to park our combination (58'). One thing I noticed was that there always seemed to be a staff person on patrol for trash pickup and the park stays quite clean. Sites in our area were tighter than I like, but the sites on either side were unoccupied and there are large grassy areas for walking dogs, so it wasn't a problem for us. Rate was reasonable. On the down side, I had trouble with the sewer not wanting to drain properly, probably due to several days of heavy rain and a fully-occupied weekend just before. Lots of flying bugs and you might as well just plan on them getting into your unit. Our site (C-9) was severely sloped. Concrete pad, but the concrete was badly cracked and the rain formed a big puddle underneath us. The park is way out in the boonies over small twisty roads. Even though it has an Owensville address, it's a long haul to town. The park office has some basic supplies and a burger grill, but you're going to want to pack supplies. Warning: there's only pay WiFi. We might stay here again if we're in the area, but we'll look for other options first. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$29
This is a wonderful park and the staff is super friendly! Very picturesque with small lakes (big ponds really) If the climate were more conducive to our health, we would have loved to stay for a couple months or more (we're full-timers). We quite fell in love with the whole Owensboro area and the food in the area is heavenly. Quite a pleasant experience for us. Highly recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
Nice campground. Our site was up against the pond and had a concrete pad to park on. On our site the hookups were on the drivers side which is where they are suppose to be, but the site next to us had the water and electric on the driver side but the sewer was on the passenger side next to the back of the camper. The store had some food and camping supplies and served some food. The campground was out in the country so there wasn't any road noise. Our site was level, but some of the concrete pads had big cracks in them and didn't look level because the concrete was pushed by tree roots I think. They also had go carts for the kids. This was our second time there and will come back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
We had a hard time with their 50amp service, it was very weak! They have signs in the office about amps, so we figure a lot of people have issues. Most sites are filled by people who live close by and leave their trailers here full time. Everyone running around on golf carts. The pool is WAY TOO SMALL for the amount of people. The people are friendly here. We stayed here for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$29
The owner (wife) was very nice and helpful. Check-in was very easy. Permanent camper around the corner from us was unfriendly. Permanent camper a few lots on the opposite side was loud and noisy late at night while we trying to sleep. Firewood was more expensive than the other campgrounds we have visited. Husband and children enjoyed the fishing here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$15
This is a large facility in a quiet rural area that is showing its age. Paved roads and pads are narrow and worn; restrooms are old but adequately clean. Mature trees throughout the park offer a lot of shade. Utilities are good; AT&T phone and date service is very weak in the area. The park is very family friend with many recreational activities. The rate shown includes a Passport America discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
Spent three nights at Diamond Lake Resort. Some positive points: has a couple of nice free fishing areas, lots of shade trees, quiet campsites and reasonably priced. Some negative points: free Wi-Fi (very weak signal) you can pay for local Wi-Fi, some 50 amp sites were not level, pull through site next to our site was a constant drive through site used by cars, trucks, golf carts, people walking dogs and even RV's looking for their sites. We would of preferred a more quiet experience sitting in front of our RV plus our dogs were constantly uneasy about all the constant traffic. Most of the traffic came from year round residents with no regard to fellow campers. Might have been a better experience if we had not gotten that particular site. Not a lot of level 50 amp sites so we will not camp here again. Didn't mind the ducks walking through our site though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$26
We spent many weekends at Diamond Lake this summer. Truly enjoyed our experience, our grandchildren loved the place. Fishing, or feeding the ducks, or swimming they had a great time. Many fun events throughout the summer, very friendly campers, very helpful staff. We cannot wait to go back next year, hoping to get a permanent site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Very clean, well-maintained park with several small lakes so attractive location. Kind of off the beaten path but worth the trip. Super nice staff--helped my husband retrieve keys out of a locked vehicle in 120 degree (heat index) heat! Park is very large so internet was spotty. We weren't there long enough to enjoy the amenities of the park plus the temperature didn't permit outside activities. This did not look like a park in a state of decline as other reviews have suggested. Quite the opposite. Would love to return if ever in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
Older campground. Owners are trying their best to maintain what they have to deal with. Most weekends are quiet, nice time to relax. Holiday weekends are the busiest. Lots of friendly people. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$21
I've been coming to Diamond Lakes for nearly 30 years, and while it did decline for a number of years, it's coming back, and it shows! People from all walks of life enjoy Diamond because everyone is friendly, the owners genuinely seem to care about how the place looks and that there are plenty of activities to suit young and old alike. We try to camp at Diamond as often as we can if we can't get too far away from home. We take in at least 2 or 3 of the event weekends a year; these can include car shows, BBQ tournaments and Halloween-themed events among others. Golf carts are the primary means of transport within the park, and rentals are available. I use an electric scooter (I'm disabled), and the terrain is suitable for that if you have one. Good thing, too ... if you're parked on the back side, it's a hike to the office/camp store! There's very little not to like about Diamond Lakes. The old restaurant building that is falling into one of the lakes is an eyesore and potential hazard, but aside from that, if you want a nice, clean, friendly place to stay that's close to Kentucky's third largest city (which hosts a good many sports tournaments through the year), you can't beat it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
Overall the park is a great place to camp. The owners have special week-ends with different activities going on, most everything that is planned for these special events are free. It's a large campground and they are constantly working to improve it. Of course, there are other things that are offered there to do, such as fishing, paddle boating, go-carts, etc and there is a fee for these, which is understandable. A very friendly staff who do what they can to make your stay enjoyable. Some sites are better than others, so if you get there early or make reservations you will get a better spot. Downside is AT & T phone reception is almost impossible. If you have a golf cart, you're welcome to bring it and should if you want to go all over the park. They offer a pitstop grill where you can pick up some fastfood, a few camping necessities, and small stocked store. Also, on the premises are a restaurant and gameroom that is operated independently from the campground owners. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
Great park for family activities. Grounds well maintained with many shaded sites. Downside is that all sites are fairly small and tight. Our 36' fifth wheel did fit but anything larger would definitely be a problem. Staff were friendly and courteous. Would camp here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
The park has 240 sites, all back-ins, but has plenty of room to maneuver even the biggest rigs. On the plus side, their amenities include a snack bar/general store, restaurant, go-cart track, paint ball range, three fishing lakes, two pavilions, two bath houses, and a good sized pool. On the negative side, their water hook-ups can be as much as 75 ft. away, at many sites, but realizing that the resort keeps a supply of extra hose for those in need. Because the immense size of the resort, few people get around on foot. We stayed here Thursday thru Tuesday, including the Memorial weekend, and spent much of our time dodging golf carts. Apparently the 10 MPH speed limit was merely a suggestion. All in all though, I give the resort a high rating. I’ll just try to avoid holiday weekends. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$18
This is a big park. Has a fishing lake and other "family" activities, so it looks like a family destination park. It also has lots of pavillons so groups of campers can get together. Half the park is in shade, the rest is good for satellites. Sites are really tight to get into because of the way they are laid out to the access road. 30 amp service at majority of sites. We parked on concrete pad. Wi-fi only in office/restaurant. We stayed here a week. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$25
This once grand camping resort is coming back to life under new ownership. Lots to do - paddle boats, fish, go karts, 2 restaurants. Great customer service. The owner even parked our trailer for us. We stayed away from this campground because of a review on this site -- a big mistake. There are some rough corners at the campground, but it is quickly being upgraded and fixed up. We will definitely be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$15
After reading the last review I was hesitant to stay here, however since it was a year old and with few options we decided to give it a try. The rate is for the weekly rate and since it was so reasonable we took the weekly rather than the $25 nightly rate. We were pleasantly surprised. The staff was great and the park was perfectly situated in the trees. True, some of the sites weren't the best backin angles and some weren't very level from front to back, however many were just fine. Ours was plenty large enough for our 5th wheel with 4 slides and the awning. Due to the park being in a lower area the cell service and pc wireless was not very good, however a short walk up the hill gave us enough cell service to make any calls we needed to make. The park was going all out for the upcoming halloween and many residents were also joining the spirit and had their sites and rigs decorated to the hilt. It is a great place for families with children and although we had no children with us, we sure enjoyed our stay here and will definitely will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$24
This park is NOT big rig friendly. I had a hard time backing into the assigned spot. I had to use many back and forth movements to get into a spot. A couple park employees helped. I would still be trying to park if I had to do it on my own. All the spaces are 90 degrees off the road rather than being at an angle. It is hard to phone the park. You need to go thru a switchboard of sorts. I had to call 3 times leaving messages. Finally after I left the 3rd message someone returned my call. Cell phone service is almost non existent. They have two sewer pumping trucks - and one night one of them was operating at midnight - waking us up. The parks exit is not marked. And what would seem to be logical exits are in fact locked gates. The owner told me I had 50amp service when in fact it did not work. There are 2 couples who now own the park. Each of them has one vote. So it takes 3 of the 4 to pass any issue. They moved from California. A business can't be run as a democracy. There needs to be one person in charge and if that person fails remove him/her. The new owners need to concentrate on getting 100 or so sites fully functional and abandon, for now, sites that need lots of work. In my experience the current owners, unless trained, will fail. I will not stay at this park again. Too primitive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$24
I grew up camping here with my grandparents and use to love camping here. Now that I am older with a family of my own we decided to take the camper there and camp since I hadn't been there in 10 years. Campground has went down over the years but the current owners are putting a lot of time and money into it. This campground is nice and has a lot of potential. It would only take just a little bit to make it a 10. I would recommend this campground to anybody.Make sure you take some bread that you would like to get rid of to go feed the fish and the ducks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com