214506 User submitted reviews online!!
Silver Summit RV Park and Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (970) 387-0240
CGID592

Silver Summit RV Park and Campground

Camp Information
Sites
39
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   3   5   10   5   9   1   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
This is our second year of staying here. The owners are so nice and always take the time to make your stay a pleasant one. There are a few trees scattered about and grass growing in most of the RV spaces. This park also offers Cabin rentals, Laundromat and showers. We loved the idea that this park is located on the far east of town but is still within walking (1/2 mile) distance of the downtown area. We chose this park because of the direct access to all off road riding. We have a 40' fifth wheel toy-hauler and needed somewhere we could unload the quads and ride directly from the park. This is the only RV Park in Silverton that allows that. The trail riding in this area is amazing and the summer weather temps are perfect. I would avoid this area during the holidays because the trails can get very congested. We will definitely come back to this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$26
Obviously, very beautiful surroundings, but as has been said that can be seen from anywhere in town. We came in a few minutes after closing, but the manager walked right over and opened the office for us. There normal rate was $32, but they honored our Passport American membership so the base rate was $16 + children, taxes. Sites are a little bit close together; once we got our rear slide out there was barely enough room for me to go around the back between a next door motorhome, but that was fine. They say the water pressure is EXTREMELY HIGH, but it has EXTREMELY LOW water VOLUME. It come bursting on, but then slow to a trickle - that could use some help (I would have given it a 9 if not for that). The staff was very friendly. The laundry room was very clean, neat, and modern units installed. The bathrooms were very clean. Would DEFINITELY stay again and recommend. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2010
$48
Park is very over-priced for the amenities provided. Had a semi-level gravel pad. There was an extra charge for children older than 2. Views were tremendous, but appear from any place in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$39
As others have said this is a nice location in Silverton with views of the Mountains and the steam train coming by and all. The staff is friendly and competent. The WI-FI works well with a meg of bandwidth. There is so much to see in this area but you really need a competent Jeep to see most of it. If you are interested in the mining history of the US, there are literally hundreds of abandon mines to visit. There are some warts though. When they water the grass with a set of sprinklers on a hose, they get your chairs soaked and your MH gets a good soaking too, with water spots. There is no warning that this is going to happen or when. They could have turned the water pressure/flow down a little and covered the grass without watering the MH and they couldn't moved the chairs. Don't expect to get the "discount" from joining CampUSA or whatever it is until October and they have a surcharge per adult, for electricity, etc. Rather expensive IMHO but it was full and you need reservations so it is priced accordingly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$34
Very nice RV park. The owners were very courteous and friendly. This park is in a beautiful location in Silverton with the mountains all around you. They had nice large spaces with a grass patio for every space. There was a nice waterfall on the mountain directly in front of us for a gorgeous view from our RV. The Silverton Railroad runs right by the RV park two times a day for some great pictures with the mountains behind it. The railroad only runs during the day, so it does not disturb you at night. You can walk to where you board the train and take it down to Durango and back for some great scenery. We rented a jeep right on site from Silver Summit RV park and went out four wheeling on the mountain passes nearby. We had a great time at this park and will definitely stay at Silver Summit again when we are in the Silverton or Ouray area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
Location,location,location! If you have a Jeep or an ATV this is the place to stay for a home base while exploring the nearby trails. The place was quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$28
The staff was very friendly and when coming to this area, this campground is an ideal place to stay if you are wanting to hike, or to tour the area in Jeeps. They offer Jeeps for rent so you can tour the old mining roads that are near and they also offer guided Jeep tours. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2005
$32
The management of this park are not honest people nor are they friendly. An unpleasant experience. I will visit Silverton again but NOT this CG. Lots of dogs and dog droppings. Hot tub still has same water as noted in previous post. They have satellite WI-FI that sometimes works. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2000
$20
Wide open flat park in the town of Silverton. No shade at this altitude. Steam train travels right past campground. They have a hot tub but when we were there it looked as if the water was never changed. Sites are close but maneverable. They rent Jeeps on site which is handy for 4 wheelin on the trails. Not a great park but considering the elevation they keep it picked up. The staff is not the friendliest we have encountered but all our needs were met. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com