While traveling north from the Connecticut shoreline we stopped here for 2 nights. The facilities are well kept, and the staff was pleasant, but they seemed annoyed to answer our questions about the park, and when we asked for other parks to travel to they acted as if they were the only one that mattered. The site we were on had full hookups but was on the smaller side and not worth the $55.00 they charged us. Overall the stay was nice but I think we will try another park next time we are in that area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Would of gave this campground a better rating if they didn't put us in the middle of a hay field. Seemed like 98 percent permanents with golf carts. Recreation and activities are awesome. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Pool and recreation staff was great! The entire campground was spotless. Friendly staff in the office. Site set-up a breeze. Security staff was visible as they traveled throughout the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
1. PA system every hour for activities is like being in WALMART; no naps for you ! 2. So many loud, fume-emitting golf carts speeding, YES speeding, all over the park - mostly seasonal owned. 3. Park predominantly seasonals with tons of sites that are full of old structures, trash; some trailers look uninhabitable. 4. Garbage pick up every day; the rest of the time it sits on people's spaces - GROSS. 5. Adult lounge is great until the drunks hit the park at 11:00 pm. 6. The MOST DISGUSTING pond that is labeled as a beach with swimming, so over grown with pond plants, scum and of course trash everywhere. 7. Activity directors (teens) who will openly state between texts to their friends that they hate their job, or the game, or the kids. 8. Teens run rampant at night - no security to speak of. 9. Kids lounge - limited seating, dark, dank, hot (no AC the day we went in and sweat to death), basement-like environment , very boring. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
This is a well run operation much more suited to trailers and RVs than to tents. The sites are jammed together and only include a fire ring (if you ask for one and get it yourself). We camped here in a tent with another tent camping family (separate sites) and we both had to dig our own fire pit, bring our own grates and find rocks to put around it. It seems quite clear that ownership/management here views tent campers as second class citizens. Not what you expect at $60.00 per night with no hook ups. When we were setting up our tent, a seasonal trailer occupant arrived, walked right onto our site with a can of beer in his hand and announced "I'm hooking my cable up here and I wanted to let you know that." Here just happened to be on our site, the best site to put our tent, and on one of our trees - but not wanting to be bad neighbors, we kindly said, sure, no problem. We moved our tent onto some exposed roots with an incline. That was our introduction to Lone Oak. The bathrooms are exceptionally clean and the camp store has well priced items. The pools are fun for a few hours and there are lots of things for the children to do. However, we would not return and must give Lone Oak a very poor mark due to neighboring campers with 2 dogs who barked constantly while being chained to a picnic table (no intervention from management despite constant yelling from other campers at the dogs, which added to the annoyance). There was a 2:00 a.m. drunken brawl at the sites behind us with campers shouting expletives at each other which awakened our entire family. Not exactly a "quality family camping experience" as advertised. When I complained in the morning at the office, I was told by the gals that I should have called Security and they provided me with the number. It was no surprise the next night when the Connecticut State Police were at the same site in a response to another drunken incident. Did I mention the bathhouse sewage overflow directly adjacent to our site which resulted in dinner being interrupted by maintenance, then a stream of sewage water flowing down the road, the bathrooms being shut down, followed by two maintenance men coming to our site to "probe" the sewage caps on the site (Bon Appetit!) and finally, a septic truck arriving to pump out the problem with its attendant smells? I felt like saying "this is a joke, right?" For reference, this was just after the State Troopers arrived at the neighboring site - but about 1 hour before the chained dogs at the next site started their yapping, howling and barking for the evening. I call security on Saturday night about the dogs as instructed but there was no live person - it was a message telling me if it was an emergency call 9-1-1. I left a message, and the Lone Oak Security arrived in a golf cart 45 minutes later, after the dogs had been kenneled for the night. I emailed the owners about our exceptionally poor experience and have not heard back yet. Again, the facilities here are quite nice and clean, but the emphasis on RVs, trailers and the like (the golf cart community and cable hook-ups) make this place un-suitable for tent campers. The many seasonal campers look at this venue as a great place close to an RV Nirvana. Perhaps without the drunken brawls, barking dogs, pushy neighbors stringing cable TV wires right onto your site and sewage overflow they might be onto something. However, at $60.00 per night this is no place for tent campers. I did see sites on the "S" loop with no hook-ups which were more suitable to our needs and those of tent campers but without a response from ownership I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Tent.
We haven't been here in awhile. Great campground, everyone very friendly. They also have an adult lounge that's open until 11pm. This was one of our favorites, the only reason we wouldn't go back again is because of there high pricing. These days at the price they are charging you might as well go to a hotel. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Decent facilities and great activities. We camped in the safari field and the sites are very close together. Lots of seasonal campers at this campground. They were undergoing some construction at the entrance to the campground, however, it did not really affect things. The adult lounge was very nice; we went up for a couple of drinks on Saturday night. Most of the people we talked to were very friendly as was the staff. We will definitely return to this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Very easy access to the highway, but no road noise. Access roads to the sites are very narrow causing the trailer to tilt at sharp angles when negotiating the corners. Site was not level; had to use 4 layers of lego blocks on one side. On the positive side, spacing between the sites was nice and wide with nice grass. The hookups were well positioned. Campground appeared clean and cared for. Quite expensive for an overnight, but nothing else nearby. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
I wish I had read the reviews here BEFORE I made a non-refundable 3-day payment for the holiday weekend. I would have rather stayed in a Wal-mart parking lot! The sites are so close to each other it took me 25 minutes just to get into the site. You are squeezed in between seasonal sites most of which obviously don't care for us transient campers. It is also very unsafe having all the cars parked all around and very close to the fire pits. It's an accident waiting to happen! As for the loudspeaker announcements. What a pain! It was like I was at a summer camp for kids. The place is loaded with golf carts for the seasonal people and it's like a racetrack. If you are looking for a quiet place to relax and read, this is NOT the place. Save your money and go somewhere else! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
I can’t find much wrong with this park, except possibly the pay showers, having paid a reasonable price for the site; however, this seems to be the norm for CT (cold showers are free; a quarter gets you 7 minutes of hot water on a very generous timer.) The park seems mostly given over to seasonals/permanents, but we had no trouble getting a site during a weekend in Sept. The seasonals/permanents evince many interesting innovations at their sites but for the most part don’t show any junk. A conservative estimate would put the number of quiet electric golf carts at a couple thousand. With 500 sites one might expect it to be crowded and busy, but on a weekend in mid-Sept it was quite peaceful and the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. There were announcements made on loudspeakers throughout the day, but we weren’t bothered by them because the audio was so terrible that they were totally unintelligible. My advice would be to eschew the open field sites and take a wooded one: absolutely gorgeous. The local area boasts lots of antique dealers (sometimes they’re actually open) and great farmers’ markets and supermarkets. The quality and demeanor of the kids and teenagers at this park several times renewed my faith in the next generation. I’m not sure we’ll ever be back this way again, but if we are, we’ll sure as heck stay in this place. Excellent free WIFI and Cable, too. We camped here in a Motorhome.
This is a very clean park and the security is amazing. Somebody from security was driving by every half hour or so and there is someone at the entrance as well. The pools are very clean and we saw them testing the water too. The store is well stocked and has many small fun things for the kids. The ice cream was yummy. Our lot was really large, plenty of space. My only complaint is the loud speaker system that they have. Someone is talking over it every half hour from 8am to 8:30-9pm at night usually to let campers know of the activities. The amount of activities was never ending, unfortunately our kids are 5 and under and there weren't many for them. We would go there again, especially with it so close to home. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
We were very disappointed in this highly rated campground according to trailer life. It was very noisy with announcements being made over a loud speaker starting at 10 am. Site was not level and hard to enter. We had a backin but had to pull-thru a vacant site due to the roads being very narrow. We were certainly not the only ones who had the same problem. Even the popup behind us hard a hard time. It was a weekend and the place was packed. Sites were wide enough but backins were way to close for any privacy as we were in a row that had other sites directly behind. There are a lot of activities and kids would have a great time. The store was well stocked with everything you would need. Pools nice but again way to crowded. We also thought it was too expensive. We had friends over to visit for a short while in the evening and the charge was $ 10 each person. We thought this was a little excessive. I doubt we will go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
They have plenty of things for the kids to do, and a lounge for the adults. The only problem we had with this campground was my husband and I could not go for a walk after 11:00 we had to stay on our site. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Roads are miserable, too many kids without parents watching, too many kids at adult activities, great security, really clean restrooms, lots of garbage pickup, but they kept yacking on the loudspeaker every hour. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
The campground is run by the owners and they take pride in being very customer-friendly. The people in the office were very nice and helpful. Our kids had a blast with all of the activities available and we enjoyed the band in the lounge. The store has whatever you forgot, and if it doesn't, there is a grocery store within a few miles. Prices in the store are reasonable, for the most part. They have an on-site mechanic if something goes wrong with your rig. This is primarily a "destination" campground, but there is no reason you can't stay there overnight. It is very family oriented. The bathrooms are the cleanest I've seen traveling across the whole country. I noticed someone else had written about blue tarps, but we didn't see any, perhaps because we were there in the summer and not when people were preparing their units for winter. There are a number of seasonal sites, but no shortage of visitor sites, by any means. I liked the fact that we could chose either a wooded site or a field site. The field sites are easier to get into, but we may try a wooded site on our next visit. Their fees for visitors are a little high, but since we didn't have any, we didn't have to worry about that. All in all, we had a great time. We'll be back for sure! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
The campground is located in the beautiful Berkshiers'(The Quiet Corner) of Connecticut.
Plenty of antique shopping and a few wineries. Overall the campground was very clean, lots of activities for kids and the staff was friendly and obliging, but the campgroung needs some improvements. There weren't enough prefered sites for weekenders. There are too many seasional campers. They seemed to be all
around us. Most spaced close together on tiny sites. Although many of those trailers were set up very nice, some looked like they were junk collectors. Most of the campground roads were tough to navigate. Many were as rough as mine fields, full of potholes and tree roots. No need for speed bumps there. All are in need of resurfacing. Would we go back? Only to visit the Berkshiers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
We stayed at Lone Oak a couple of weeks ago. If you like crowds, lots of seasonal campers, a few wide open, treeless RV campsites surrounded by seasonal campers, seasonal camper trailers all around you with lots of additional structures and ornamentation, and, did I mention seasonal campers? One guy was selling home-made windmills, of which he had several to choose from. A woman in a golf cart came buy and gave my wife an invitation to a jewelry sale taking place the next day in her trailer "chalet." The restroom and other facilities were very clean. The heated pool was advertised as 80 degrees, and maybe it was but it sure felt ice cold to me; maybe I am just cold natured. Personally, we would not return to Lone Oak but I could see that many others were enjoying it. My wife referred to it as a refugee camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Too many seasonals, Blue tarps etc. Pool is clean. Outside movies. Fishing/ swimming pond is a little mud hole. We expected it to be much nicer based on their web page. Oops they got us again with the web page. Would not drive out of the way to go back. We camped here in a camper.