223611 User submitted reviews online!!
Melville Pond Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (401) 682-2424
CGID6060

Melville Pond Campground

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$65



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   1   7   5   7   8   9   8   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$65
You definitely do not get what you pay for. It's a clean quiet campground, but there isn't much to do. No pool, no game room and a playground is away from almost every site. My biggest complaint though is the service location, water on one side electric on the other and both were way forward near the road. If you're going to camp here bring lots or cord and hose! Not much parking in the sites, luckily the spot next to us was empty. Made us book 3 night minimum even though the park wasn't even half full. Overall, nice place though just a lot of $$ for what you get. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2013
$55
I give this RV park a poor rating because it is an extremely poor value. They charge a range of $55-70 per night and yet do not have a pool, laundry, Wi-Fi, or cable TV. On top of that the roads are in poor condition and the single dumpster is in a very inconvenient location. This park is not even near a beach! They only accept cash as payment. We were told this park belongs to the city of Portsmouth so I guess the city fathers have decided to soak the tourists. This is one of the very few places to stay within a reasonable distance of the mansions in Newport. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$50
Campground was nice enough, a little pricey for for what you get. The hookups in my site were a little whacked out. Water and electric was on the wrong side. I got lucky and the power cord reached, however I had to go buy another hose for water. The sewage hook-up was a pain to say the least, it had to flow uphill, made for a small mess when tearing down to leave. There are some permanent residents, everyone was nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$50
Although this park is considered "big rig friendly," it is a tight squeeze. The interior roads of the campgrounds are narrow, curved and could use some tree trimming. Many sites are small, so other campers' cars are parked close to the road, making a wide swing to avoid branches difficult or impossible. We got a long scratch down the side of our 40' motorhome trying to get to our site. There are some spacious sites here, however most are taken by seasonal campers, many of whom have permanent decks, sheds, etc. Water and electrical hook-ups are in very odd places at many sites, so plan to bring long hoses and cords. This is a very convenient campground for exploring the Newport area. Large grocery store, gas stations, and eateries are all on the main road leading towards downtown Newport. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$50
Be aware this campground is on a street that is literally off the Melville Elementary School parking lot. The street Bradford is directly across from Cindy's Country Cafe. This is a very good place to grab breakfast. Nightly rate reflects full hookups with 30 amp service. Sites are gravel but fairly level. This campground offers one huge advantage and that is the 20 minute drive to the Newport Mansions. The website offers no help in general as to check in and check out times. We arrived at 11:15 and were told check in is at 1:00. When we questioned why the website did not indicate the time the explanation was the City is always changing the site. The receptionist called her boss and got approval for us to go to our site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$50
Nice place to stay to visit Newport and check out the mansions. I would have given a 10 if the sites were level. Good quality firewood and very quiet at night, but we were here off season. We would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
We very much enjoyed our stay. Our site was huge, wide, long. Grounds are very neat and tidy. Very quiet, as the campground was not full. Minimal activities at this campground, but we don't mind at all. Great hiking trail on site, new playground for small children. Unlimited things to do around this area. Staff was very accommodating when we asked to stay passed check-out time. We would highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
This campground was a nice surprise given that I lived in the area for many years and did not know it was here. It was nicely treed and and private and level, convenient to everything. (The lady in the office said they never leave the radio on in the bathroom overnight and if it happened, it was by accident.) We found it to be very quiet. While we did not use the restrooms, we walked by them and peaked in, they looked clean. This is a great location. Only disadvantage is the $4 toll if you go over the Newport Bridge to access the West Bay. But you really don't need to go to the West Bay, because the island has everything you might desire, including beautiful beaches, great restaurants, historic areas and mansions, music festivals, shopping, etc. You can take the Mount Hope Bridge over to Bristol for a walk through a pristine antebellum town, take a ferry to Prudence Island (from Bristol) or to Block Island (from Newport) and head to Warren for antiquing if you need a change of pace. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
Very excellent park, we love it here. The sites are not on top of one another, very beautiful campsites, and we have camped here many times. BUT, as included in other reviews: the radio in the bath house is left on ALL NIGHT! Even during 'quiet time' and is left BLASTING through out the campsite ALL NIGHT LONG. Many nights it is much louder than others, often you cannot sleep because of it. If campers must obey quiet time, the campsite should also have to obey it. Very annoying to have to listen to this music blasting all night long! Absolutely no need for it! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
I called their office on Thursday to ask if there were sites available for the weekend. I was told there were sites available, but no reservations could be made less than a week before the arrival date. I asked when the office closed and was told 7:00 PM. I left work a bit early. I called the office and let them know we were on the way. I was then told the office closed at 6:00 PM. We arrived at the office at 6:05 PM. Although there was someone here, all the computers were shut down. Since I had called, they had set aside a site for us and left a map. If I had not called ahead, we would have had to set up on the "Safari Field" and registered the next day. They do not accept credit or debit cards, only cash and checks. Our stay was pleasant. The campground roads were a bit rough, but not bad. The site was gravel and slightly sloped for drainage. We had enough room for the trailer with the awning open and the truck, but not much room to spare. The fire ring was in a depression with uneven ground between campsites and was really not usable. We were not planning to spend much time in the campground, so this was not that important. The convenience to Newport was the primary reason we came here. I thought the price was a bit steep for what we got, but this is a high-rent area. We plan to go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$35
Quiet campground, very convenient to visit Newport, but in a quiet rural setting. Rate is for water/electric site. Friendly staff. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
A very nice, clean campsite. Most sites are fairly large: no one on top of each other. Sites are level and easy to get in and out of. Restrooms are kept very clean. Staff is very courteous. Only drawback is the radio in the restrooms is kept on all night and can be heard after quiet hours. Campsite is very convenient to Newport. Definitely will return here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2009
$40
Very bad interior road, low tree branches, hook-ups in the oddest places, low voltage (our low voltage alarm went off 2 or 3 times a day), over priced for what you get. Absolutely no amenities! Staff was friendly. The best sites are taken by long term or annual renters. This campground is convenient to Newport, not much available in other parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$60
Don't try to check in before 1:00 pm. They really don't like that. Voltage was marginal when I was here. Circuit breaker at main supply kept popping out and left us without A/C periodically until late afternoon. Maybe they have it fixed by now. Fair number of trees. Suggest you ignore the Woodall directions and the posted signs to get here. Just turn west off Hwy 114. This will save you about 5000 potholes going the other way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
This is a great place to stay for exploring Newport RI. The campground is small, but very well laid out, and perfectly clean. Our site, #207 was huge, but with one drawback. We needed to run to Walmart to pick up more water and electric connections. The hookups were on an odd part of the site. Bathrooms were immaculate. Nice playground. No store, but within 3 miles you can get virtually anything you want. Very helpful staff. When booking I was told there were no full hookup sites available, but we saw many that were never used. Possibly booked for long term but not moved in yet? We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
This park really isn't bad for a community-run facility. My primary problem with it was that we had just arrived from a KOA near Boston which had Cable, WIFI a heated pool and newer and cleaner bath houses for $1 more. Bring your hose extension: you'll need it to hook up to the distant water tap. Bath houses were reasonably clean, albeit dated. The store had little but tee-shirts to offer. I suppose I'd return just for the proximity to Newport. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$36
If you are looking for planned activities, this is not the place. If you are looking for a pristine campground, level and large sites, clean bathrooms, then you have found it. We are definitely going back next year. These people no how to lay a campground out and there was no crowding of sites. Only reason I did not give it a full 10, they need one more bath house. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
We have stayed here several times before and really like the quietness. Water and electric was all we were able to secure but no problem. Staff was friendly as usual. We will return when we visit family again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$35
This is a well kept secret! Only 5 miles from beautiful Newport. The grounds are well kept and the staff is helpful and friendly. The tenting sites are beautifully situated. Nice playground for the kids. No pool but there are beach privileges at the Sandy Point Beach. Bring your bikes and hiking gear as the trails on the property are the best!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com