218149 User submitted reviews online!!
Cardinal / Ottawa South KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (613) 657-4536
CGID6159

Cardinal / Ottawa South KOA

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$55



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   1   8   4   8   1   10   10   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$55
I didn't enjoy this park as much as I have others due to how close together the lots were. We could here our neighbors talking in conversational tones while they were inside their camper next door. Two dogs in lots directly across from each other started barking every time they were both outside at the same time because they were only about 6 feet apart when on their tie-outs. I also felt like I was in the middle of another neighbor's fireside chat because of the close proximity. Having said that, it is clean, well maintained and there are lots of activities for the kids including pool/splashpad, jumping pillow, very cool play structure, waterslide, craft corner, life-size chess board and pedal car rentals. The owners are friendly enough, but expect rules to be followed explicitly. Not a bad thing, but it can be a bit tense. I wouldn't refuse to go back, but will not look to camp there again if other options are available. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2012
$55
Friends dropped by to visit for an hour or 2 and were expected to pay $13.00 each. Whaaaaaaaat! We went out and visited in Cardinal. After paying too much for a tiny site with noisy kids running wild while their parents got sloshed, we were glad to leave and wash the dust and pine sap off our trailer. Yuck! If you like to drink and party and let your kids run wild, be sure to camp here. I have taken time to calm my disappointments before writing this review We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$46
Our only complaint about this park is the sites are small and the campground crowded. My husband accidentally ran over the sign post because it was low to the ground and close to the road. The camp staff organizes lots of activities to keep the kids busy. The staff/owners have been nothing but courteous and friendly during our stay. We love that there is an on-site chip truck so that we can eat without having to cook. The campground is clean and everything is conveniently located. The new addition of the mini-putt in the fall 2011 is going to be a wonderful asset to the park and we'll look forward to trying it out next year. The go cart rentals, food at the chip truck and items at the store are all reasonably priced which is awesome for a family on a budget! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2011
$60
We visited the Victoria Day weekend ( May 20-23, 2011). The website advertised a pool, splash pad and a mini putt. The pool and splash pad were not open, the mini putt is a pile of mud at the front of the campsite. The owner of the campsite was very rude. Yelling at the kids for playing in the mud, for riding their bikes with bottles in the spokes for noise. The 11:00 curfew is strictly enforced, he comes around at exactly 11 and tells everyone to go to bed. We were sitting around the campfire quietly: no music, no yelling. I couldn't hear our group from the next site over. Will never go back. For $60 a night, I expect a lot more. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$45
Very nice place. Lots of fun activities for the kids, including trick or treating, BINGO, ice cream social, haunted house: good times. My complaints would be the sites are quite narrow and small, and we didn't like not having direct sewer hookup at the site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$37
The park itself is very nice, heated pool, bouncy pillow, large field for playing, movie time at sundown, good convenience store on site and even a french fry stand. However, the owner is an absolute menace that ruined our weekend. Upon entering the park they advise of 11pm quiet time and as we all had families this sounded great. What quiet time means is this guy actually tells you to go to bed at 11:05 and to put out your fire or he'll do it with a bucket of water. No kidding he showed up with a bucket of water and we prevented him from doing it he called the police on us and had a friend removed from his family and the park for no reason whatsoever. He is screaming and yelling and shaking at us for sitting around a fire and not being told to go to bed. He would not listen to reason as we explained we're just sitting and talking as adults, no music playing, no one belligerent, no one running around with alcohol, we were 5-6 adults enjoying a fire, a cold beer and each others company. I am writing head office of KOA and will boycott them from here on out. I've never been that disrespected in my entire life. If you go to bed the same time as your children this is a campsite for you but if you'd like some adult time book elsewhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$37
Wonderful campground! We were very impressed with everything: staff, sites, pool, bathrooms, and bouncing pillow. The kids loved that! We even tried it and had a great time! There were other boys horsing around on the pillow and immediately the management came out and talked to them. We were going to stay 3 nights but changed it to 4 nights. They have DVDs and VDR tapes to rent for a movie by the campfire. The campfire rings were cleaned out after each check-out. The campground is next to a cow pasture and our site was right next to it, but neither the cows, nor their smell, bothered us. We highly recommend this campground for any camper with any unit. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
Great place. Very cheerful and helpful office staff, plus assistance to site, all make for a most welcome feeling upon registering. Interior roads are smooth, sites are long, and see several big rigs sited here. Honey wagon available upon request, so no sewer hookup is not a negative to staying several days in campground. Gate closure is 11 pm to 7 am although there is parking area for toad or tow vehicle outside gates which is still inside park perimeter. We liked the quiet time 11 pm until 8 am rule, made for no loud noises either caused by kiddos or loud vehicle noise waking us up at 6 am or before. Atmosphere in campground made for a friendly neighborhood atmosphere. Nice pool, water play area, and playground areas, plus very nice picnic tables, all make for a great campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$46
This is a pleasant park, well away from highways, railways etc. The campsites are in a pine forest with medium high trees so they are shaded except at noonday, but all lower branches have been removed so one can see the whole campground. All sites are good-sized pull-thru but they have not been graveled or leveled for many years so obtaining a site level enough for a motor home requires some selection. Staff are very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
We often choose Cardinal KOA as a group camping season opener or closer. For the most part, the staff are friendly, accommodating and knowledgeable. The sites are well treed and there are many pull-throughs. The jumping pillow and the rental karts are very popular with the kids. The place is clean and well-run. We will continue to patronize this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
A nice campground although somewhat off the beaten track for overnighters. Lots of activities for kids. This park has recently undergone a change of ownership and the new ones are very eager to please, although the young lady at the desk should learn to smile once in a while. The sites were well laid out with easy access. The only downside to our visit was due to a quirk of nature. This park is in a heavily wooded area full of pine trees which at this time of the year are shedding their needles which get into everything. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2007
$36
We stayed at this campground with 2 other couples and we all agreed that we had never experienced a campground owner that was this rude and intrusive. On one occasion he walked onto our campsite while we were having dinner and began interrogating us about a missing picnic table on another site. (We didn’t take it) On another occasion he walked on to our site unannounced in the dark as we were sitting around the camp fire . The campground is clean and well kept. It’s noisy during the day and is supposed to be quiet at night. On one of the nights we were there it was movie night, we chose not to watch the outdoor movie but still got to hear it blaring across the campground well into quiet time. The campground rents peddle cars by what seems like the hundreds. They are constantly squeaking by. They have a nice heated pool located right next to their dump station. Yuk. Unless you consider a truck stop a tourist attraction there is really nothing to see in the area. The sites are fairly level and well shaded with nice pine trees. There is a small store and a nice play structure. Unfortunately the negatives outnumber the positives by too many for us to make a return visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$41
We used this campground as a one night stop-over. We were there the Saturday night of a long weekend and it was still very quiet. Very friendly owners and staff, clean and very well maintained. Not a lot to do in the area, but there is lots to do at the campground itself. Sites are mostly pull-through, large and grassy. We wouldn't use as much more than a stop-over, partly because there is no sewer hook-up, however, it was a very nice spot to rest during travels. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com