206676 User submitted reviews online!!
Happy Traveler RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (760) 325-8518
CGID6215

Happy Traveler RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
130
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   9   10   10   8   8   7   10   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$35
This is a really hard park to rate because so many things are great about it, but it has one big problem. First the good: great location near Palm Springs downtown, very helpful and friendly management, nice facilities, a decent amount of activities, friendly people. The challenge is, as the last reviewer stated, the sites are short and narrow (made worse by the hedges between all sites) and we felt as though we were camped in a deep well. I was parked as close to the electric post as my slides would let me and I could almost reach out from my front door and touch the hedge on the other side. Backing in was VERY challenging for our 32' fiver. Since the sites are so small, there is nowhere to park except in the street along with everyone else. After two months of this we felt like we had really had enough. Unfortunately there aren't a lot of options close to Palm Springs, but if we come back to the area next year, we will likely swallow hard and pay the price to stay at another park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2014
$42
An older park not designed for large RV's, filled with large RV's and fifth wheels. Very very claustrophobic small spaces - road filled with cars. Convenience to downtown Palm Springs is the only reason to stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$48
We love this spot. Lots of snowbirds, with well-kept spots, mostly retired. Pool was awesome and warm, hot tub was clean. The laundry was great. Internet was Tengo, not well done.... Small assigned spots, but there are hedges in between so fairly private. Friendly staff and residents, about a mile to downtown, great downtown amenities, we will definitely be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$48
We always stay here when we visit our in laws. We enjoyed staying here. Staff was friendly and helpful. Good location, close to lots of things. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$42
We really enjoyed staying here. Check-in was simple, the staff was accommodating and willing to make our stay as enjoyable as possible, and other guests were friendly. The campground was convenient to the downtown area and within walking distance to everything. We would definitely stay at this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$48
This was our second stay. We visited the area two years ago. This park is a perfect location if you want to be near downtown. It is actually within walking distance. The managers are very friendly and helpful. The facilities are sparkling clean. There are many live-ins, but the park is very tidy. This is a pretty small park and each space is concrete slab with a picnic table and 6-8' high shrubs between every space to provide privacy. The pool is lovely. I would not recommend this park for children. Other than the pool there is nothing for them to do. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$55
If you want downtown Palm Springs, this is the place to stay. Within walking distance of everything. Lots are separated by very tall hedges, so not much interaction unless you make an effort, lots of privacy but it is also a great windbreak from the strong winds that can blow in. Great pool, spa, facilities. The manager is terrific. It is an older park with all back-ins so not for the novice, but neighbors are always willing to help. Mostly full-timers, Canadians, gay friendly, and all the rigs were fairly new. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$48
Certainly a clean, friendly park and an easy walk to downtown. Not an easy park to fit a 40' coach into but can be done. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$48
This is a wonderful RV park! The bathrooms are clean and the pool and spa is open all night! It is well managed and most of the spaces are very large and private with tall hedges in between each space. LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION. This is the best RV park for it's close proximity to the Palm Springs strip and all of the entertainment and restaurants. You can walk and be on the strip in 15 minutes or a 2 minute car ride. A+ park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2011
$48
Several of the past reviews are still accurate about being an old park with narrow sites. We have a 35' coach that with the tow bar on the back that barely fit into the site. 8' tall hedges divide the sites so they can be a bit cave like. Also the park only accepts cash or checks, no credit or debit cards of any type. There is major road construction going on the street adjacent to the West wall of the park. Every morning at 7 AM the tractors and jack hammers start up. My biggest problem though was with the park electric services. In a nut shell, there was a problem with either the park power panel, or the panel leading into the park. I fortunately have a Surge Guard that protects my rig from over and under voltage spikes. The Surge Guard began kicking out the power to the rig our second day here. With a digital volt meter I was able to detect spikes as high as 137 volts before the Surge Guard would kick out the power. I notified the office and was told that an electrician was already in route due to another RV'er reporting an electrical problem as well. Not surprisingly, when the electrican came to my site he had already been to the other RV, and told the owner that the problem was with his rig and not the power pedestal. When I produced the digital volt meter and informed him of the spikes, he could not explain it. He instead insisted that "that's just the way Palm Springs is, it's all high voltage of the power poles." When he checked the power on the 50 amp pedestal, one of the hot legs was a steady 120 volts while the other jumped from 128 to over 134 volts. Anything over 132 volts can be detrimental to any AC device like your AC unit or a computer's circuit board. While asserting that the parks power was OK, he also could not explain why one of the hot legs was spiking, and said he needed to go ask somebody. He never returned. I wound up extending my cord to the power pedestal on the next site that was a 30 amp pedestal. The power there was 128 volts, but steady. I was able to finish out the night and left the next morning. I was disappointed by the parks "head in the sand" approach to what was a very serious problem. To an unaware RV owner, serious damage could result from such power spikes in their RV. I recommend buying a $20 digital volt meter and having it handy if your RV is not protected by a Surge Suppressor type unit. I would not stay here again for just that reason. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
A place for early birds only, as the sound of 2-stroke engine on a hedge cutter at 7 am is not my idea of a "Good RV park." I was not the only one to complain. A complete lack of respect for fee-paying guests! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$40
If the Wi-Fi were free and they allowed children, we would have given this park an 8 or 9. It is right off of Palm Canyon, walkable to the main thoroughfare. Has very clean facilities, a nice sized pool and lots of amenities. Being an older park the spaces were narrow, but each one had a cement pad and picnic table. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$25
The "nightly rate" shown is based on the monthly rate of $750.00, electricity included. We found the road in the park to be quite narrow. The proximity to downtown, banks, restaurants was within walking distance. We found the area surrounding the park a bit disconcerting; it was dirty (dog droppings everywhere) and bags of food, clothing laying around as though they had been stolen and dropped there. We didn't feel it was a very safe area at night, especially. The park folk were friendly but a bit cliquish. Seems to be a fair number of permanent residents. We would not return again; would prefer something in a tidier area. However, for a night or two, it would be fine. We were there for a month and it was a bit too long. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$40
This is my first time camping at the Happy Traveler and I had a great experience. The sites are nicely level and private with tall hedges on both sides.The sewer hook up point was slightly up hill so did not work as well when I needed to drain the tanks. Having cable was great. The Tengo Wi-Fi reception was not very strong at all at my site, so that is probably the only thing that could be fixed. (A stronger signal would give this RV Resort a 10/10.) The lady at the front desk was SO friendly and helpful; definitely created a great 1st impression.This RV resort is nice and close to the down town area of Palm Springs, but not really within walking distance, unless you are up for a considerable walk. Lots of "snow birds" in the park which can be a good thing as long as the camp sites don't start looking too much like a mobile home park which can give the RV resort a bad reputation which this resort clearly does not have presently. The Happy Traveler has the potential to attract the high end coaches as well as regular campers who camp in motorhomes, travel trailers and 5th wheels. I will definitely be back to this very popular RV resort. Just a side note, no children are allowed during the peak winter season which may be a downer for those families with young kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$36
Incredible park! Close to downtown, quiet, great pool and spa. They are a little strict about dogs, but the area outside the park is ample for walking and safe. Big rigs actually fit in the small, back-in sites. Each site is lined with shrubs for complete privacy. I noticed that they let some people park tow vehicles in empty sites. They have the most incredible hummingbirds and feeders at the office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$23
You cannot beat this place for the price. It is a small, back-ins only park, but very clean. Has a huge pool and spa. We had fun playing shuffle board and pool. The other guest, most come for the winter, are great people. This is not a resort by any means, but it is within walking distance of downtown, against the mountains so no wind. Word of caution 40' is the largest coach they can take and it can get quite crowded in the winter but still one of our favorite places. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2007
$38
Woman behind the counter was nice enough. Back-in concrete spot only. Not exactly appealing. The problem was it was 122 degrees. Even with a/c on my Airstream would not cool down, left after 2 hours of sweating. No place to walk the dog, park is all black top which burned the dogs paws. I would not stay here again $38 is way too much for this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$38
This is an older campground with tight spaces and limited parking for extra vehicles. The staff was nice and friendly and allowed me to stay two hours past the checkout time. If you need a place to spend the night, Its OK, but I wouldn't want to spend much time there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2006
$36
Even though this is an older park it was just great. Very clean, great staff, great guests. Has a big pool and a spa that is open late at night. 40' is the biggest motor home that can be accommodated and thats what we have and had no problem. Best part about this park is that it is close to downtown Palm Springs and no wind. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com