214559 User submitted reviews online!!
Hueco Tanks State Park & Historic Site was rated 8 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (915) 857-1135
CGID6223

Hueco Tanks State Park & Historic Site

Camp Information
Sites
20
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   6   9   10   8   9   9   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2014
$16
We didn't actually get to stay in the campsite. After driving all day from New Mexico. We arrived 20 minutes after 5:00 and were told that we missed the last 20 minute, mandatory, presentation that started at 5:00. We asked if we could check in and see the presentation in the morning. No, it was against the rules. The park ranger then suggested we drive 12 miles back to WALMART in EL PASO and stay in the parking lot for the night and come back in the morning. We asked if we could get some water to last the night as we were running pretty close to empty. No, it was against the rules. He then suggested that we go outside the gates to a private property that had a sign advertising dry camping $2.00 per night. Again, we mentioned we didn't have water. On our way out we looked at the place he had recommended, basically a dump with some old, beat up trailers on it. Very disappointed and consider the park rangers suggestions and unhelpful attitude very rude. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$16
The check-in person was very abrupt with us, although there were only a handful of folks in the campground. If you want to do the guided tour, be sure to get reservations online, since it's "privatized." We spent three nights in peace and quiet. Lots of birds around the park. We had a nice hike on the "open" area, but a permit must be picked up at the Ranger Station for that. Not a friendly campground, in my opinion, but the beauty of it far outweighs that. Sites are level with good water and power. I'd like to come back someday...better prepared. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2013
$30
Rated park down because they charge a $7 per person per day fee plus the camping fee. So the real cost is $30/day for two people. Park itself is nice, clean, good shape. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$21
Great park in a lovely location. This is a small park so make reservations if using during peak times. Many sites had Ramada's or covered picnic tables. Shower house is small but clean. There is only one shower in each side, so if this is important for you that may be a consideration in peak times. Campground is an archeological site with hiking, rock climbing and more. Nice place to stay outside of El Paso. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$14
Still $14 with Texas State Park Pass (saving $5 per person daily entry fee). We found reservation is a bit more complex than usual. You may need to phone central reservation, rather than book online. (It kept saying no sites available for us!) If you want to take a walk over the park you must order a permit, again through Central Reservation. (But a different number: the group camping reservation number.) $5, but free with Texas State Parks Pass. Or, wait until after 10:30 a.m. on the day, for any spare permits. Guided walk is excellent. No support for self guided tour. Limited, but reasonable wheelchair access on walks. Surprisingly, we found cell and broadband access. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$13
Multipurpose park is a favorite for hiking, birding, rock climbing, rock art. RV sites are paved, level, large, well separated. Many have ramadas. Our site had a nearby bush which always had 50 birds in it. Dry and windy. Park is environmentally handicapped; aluminum and plastic recycling only. Weak and undependable Verizon signal. Good El Paso TV by antenna. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$14
Rate reflects having a Texas State Park Pass that covers entrance fees. Quiet, beautiful setting. Took a wonderful guided hike: the only way to see the vast majority of the park and the wonderful pictographs. Today's hike was canceled for lack of a volunteer guide. Understand this happens frequently. If taking a tour is one of the main reasons for coming here, we recommend calling first to make sure a tour guide is available. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$16
This is a great park to stay for a few quiet nights. The sites are paved and fairly level, with a fire ring and ramada. Attendance at the park is tightly controlled, which seems a hassle until you see the graffiti on the Indian rock paintings. No Verizon cell service, but wi-fi available at the park office at the gate. Markets and restaurants are twenty minutes west in town. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$22
First, note that this is a tightly controlled historic site. The rock art in the park is world-class and must be protected. That said, this is a very nice Texas Parks facility. Make sure you take one of the guided tours to see the rock art. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2006
$16
Physical setting is gorgeous and sites are well spaced, level and each one comes with a shaded bench. Down side is park is very tightly controlled as to visitors, only 70 a day, and we were restricted from using the park 2 of the 3 days we were here. Also gates lock at 6:00 PM. Bottom line - beautiful setting if you want to just chill out We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com