220521 User submitted reviews online!!
Val Vista Village (55+ park) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (480) 832-2547
CGID6298

Val Vista Village (55+ park)

Camp Information
Sites
1566
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   9   8   8   8   10   10   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$24
Huge park with hundreds of park models. Our site was fairly level with OK hookups. Had to dig around sewer connection because they have them horizontal below the surface of the ground. I don't get it. Price reflects Passport America discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$41
Very nice park. Has all the amenities. Escort to site and help getting parked. Some spots are tighter than others. Big rig friendly. The first week was Passport America at half price for the week. No cable TV, that costs extra. The Internet ranges from good to nothing depending on where they park you. I used my Verizon card, which worked well. We stayed 2 weeks and had to move once, but we extended the extra week. Very friendly park. Lunch at the pool was always under $20.00 with tip. Good food. This is our 3rd time here. We will come back and stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
A very nice campground. Lots of activities are offered. Easy to get around in, but when backing in the folks that will guide you to the site will not spot you. Seems that they once had a problem with a guest and no longer will help to back you in. The pool is great during these 100 plus temps. Everyone of the hosts are very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. I would and will continue to recommend this campground to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$38
Huge park with lots of park models. We have two dogs and were lucky to get a site that backed up to a grassy area. Site was good size, Wi-Fi was fine. It is definitely showing its age. Electric went down twice. They did fix it quickly though. The water shut off one time, but they got it back up right away. Lots of activities. Not really my kind of park since it is in the middle of the city but lots of our friends love this type of park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$22
Clean facilities, friendly staff. We stayed here with Passport America. Lots of Park models, lots of activities. CAL AM owned. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$45
This is a really nice park. I would have given the park a 10 if it weren't for the strict rules around dogs. Dogs are not allowed to relieve themselves anywhere other than the dog parks which is okay as long as you are close to the dog park. The dog park near our site was very nice and clean. The other rule which we found odd is that dogs are not even allowed to walk on a lot of the streets. Having said that we liked everything else about this park. Staff were extremely nice and accommodating. There were several pools and hot tubs in different sections of the park so there is not far to walk to reach one. The hot tub I visited had enough room for about 12 people. The park was immaculate and the landscaping was very nice. Streets were paved with curbs and every site other than the pull throughs had an orange tree planted in front of it. The park consists of mostly newer park models with a few older ones sprinkled in which are probably left over from the previous management. Some of the streets are kind of narrow with tight corners which makes it difficult to maneuver a larger RV but we were guided to our site through the larger streets by staff. We had a pull through which was easy to get into but the back in sites looked like they would be challenging as they were not very wide. One of the other things we liked about this park is that it was extremely peaceful and quiet at night. It was a refreshing change from other parks we had visited. We only stayed one night as we were on our way to California, however, Mesa seems like a really nice place to stay for the winter so we might be back next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2012
$22
This is a fantastic park and the people are very friendly. This is a Cal-Am Resort. This resort has impressed us so much that we are now looking for other Cal-Am Resorts to stay at. We used our Passport America 50% discount for our stay. There are so many things to do here that you can't say you’re bored with nothing to do. If you’re in need of some separation then hubby can do his thing and the wife can do her thing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$7
This reflects the 3 1/2 month pre-season rate of $700. We really enjoyed this park: it was clean, well-managed and maintained, had every activity you could imagine (even pre-season), had entertainment about 3 times in the main patio, had special areas for those with pets, had weekly meetings with donuts and coffee, had 3 pools, new tennis courts, 3 shuffleboard areas, pickleball courts, miniature golf, dances, holiday dinners and many other activities. We will definitely return next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$22
We paid 1/2 of the daily rate while there for 2 weeks this spring. The snow birds had gone home and the park was virtually devoid of life. The empty park models and facilities really showed their age without all the activities going on. We have stayed here during the winter season and you just don't notice those things when there is a lot going on. The park is doing some upgrades on the facilities and working to make it a better park. In reality, it is old and the old homes are dragging it down in my opinion. In the future, we will be looking at the newer parks in the area. The people are very friendly here. Dogs are welcome as long as they stay in the pet section. The central part of the park is a no pet zone, which limits the area you can walk in. The "dog parks" are small fenced areas which are not nearly big enough for all the dogs that utilize the facilities. The dog parks were quite smelly the winter we stayed. I never saw them being sanitized, but maybe they are. It is an OK park and one of the cheaper Cal-Am parks in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$55
Huge park that was nice and quiet in mid-April when many snowbirds had left and you can use the PA rate for a week. Otherwise, $50-$75 is way too much,especially with the activities closed down. There is a pull-through row just for RVs in the back, with basic cable and strange hookup locations. Also some large premium sites for $75. Pretty hot here in April; palm trees don't give much shade. Several nice pools spaced around, though they need cleaning. New pickel ball courts and bocce ball area. Convenient location to mid-Mesa. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$22
This is another of Mesa's Mega parks. It caters mostly to the Snowbirds but we stayed there after most of the Snowbirds had left. The staff was very friendly and we were led to our site by one of the security people. The site was in with the park models but it was large level and had cable. The Wi-Fi was excellent and the the park was very clean. Being that it is a Snowbird park it has lots of amenities, Pool, Showers, Laundry, etc, They were all clean and well kept. We would definitely stay there again. The nightly rate is their summer rate which is the same as the Camp Club USA rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$18
Terrific park. Excellent amenities and more groups, clubs and activities than you can imagine. Nice sites with a cement patio and parking space. The rate reflects a 3 month rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$20
In defense of the park, the electric problem the previous poster commented on was originally created by the local power company losing 2 transfer stations during the extreme cold weather they had in the valley at the time. Some of the park was without power for a couple days but the management provided 3 meals a day for those without electricity. They did everything they could and the power was restored after 3 days of part of the park having no power. The management should be thanked for their efforts in such a stressful time. The nice thing was the residents checked on each other and made sure the older folks were taken care of. We have come back to this park for 8 years and will continue to come back until we are physically unable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2011
$40
After paying $500 for 12 days at check in, I was told power would be off for 2 hours for maintenance. I set up and the neighbor told me they had been without power since 8am the day before. No power over night. The next morning, I was told repairs would not be made til summer but that with conservation we would get 4-5 hours on and 4-5 hours without power. We had power on day 2 for 2 hours over lunch. That night (no power again) I asked about the 4-5 hours on. They explained that was for the park models. RVs were power hogs and could not be turned on. After 48 hours of virtually no power we left. Policy states no refunds but they told us our credit card will only be billed for 2 days, time will tell. Our neighbors had paid for a month, were told they could leave but no refund. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
This is a huge park filled with park models. There are 27 large paved pull-through sites in the Ranchos section. Our bus with car trailer fit there. These sites are very nice with privacy fences, picnic tables, and gas grills all on brick pavers. The other RV sites are back-ins among the park models. Very nice pools and exercise room and good front loading laundry. No problem with satellite because there are no trees or shade. No wi-fi at bus. Both AT&T and Verizon voice and data worked well; you're in Phoenix after all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$22
Another huge 55+ park. Streets are wide enough to navigate a big rig and get in to sites, although we had a little trouble getting out because of some sharp turns going that direction. Excellent quality 50 amp power. At our location, the park WiFi was reliable and fast. Excellent book exchange ("library"). Two laundromats; one requires you buy a card and put money on it. No refunds for any unused balance on the card. The other laundromat is coin operated. Several pools, including a large indoor pool. All the geezer recreational facilities and activities you would expect, including a full bar adjacent to the grill. The park is mostly park models, which are well maintained, as are the grounds. Nice exercise room with plenty of equipment, although they keep it at 73 degrees, which is pretty warm. One really nice touch is that each site is provided with a large, rolling City trash container, which you roll out to the street once a week for collection. We stayed one week using our Coast to Coast membership, then a second week using Passport America, so our daily rate was about half the $40 rack rate. We will definitely use this park on our next trip through Mesa. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$33
Had a roomy pull-through! There were a lot of fellow Alaskans in our section! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$65
Beautiful older resort. It was four separate resorts combined together. More activities than you could ever have time to do. All kinds of crafts, parties, dances, food, etc. Hope to get back there in winter of 2009. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$40
Came here only because of Passport America: daily rate at 1/2 price is $22.40 with taxes, and because of the central location. Really is a huge, confusing park with many ancient travel trailers, mobile homes, and park models for elderly residents, but there are nice RV pull-throughs to meet your younger, fellow travelers. A good grass dog park is in the Fiesta section and a nice pool, but showers were in bad condition. Front desk staff is okay, volunteer rangers lead you to site. Lots of activities for long termers, could be a decent place to winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$32
This is really a retirement village with mostly park model single wide trailers, but with some back-in and pull-through spaces for RVs. We used a smaller pull-through $225/wk versus a larger one at 255/wk. The hospitality is outstanding. They even guide you to your space. We were there to visit family and stayed two weeks. But, I would like to go back and stay a month. There is so much to do in the village; they give you an activities calendar packed with things to do and shows during the "snowbird" season. It is also central to the Mesa area so you are close to most Mesa venues. We will definitely stay there again in the future We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2008
$23
This is PREDOMINANTLY a winter snowbird resort for people who reside in predominantly permanent trailer like homes. They have pull throughs for 'transients' like us. If you are a Passport America member, the price is right, otherwise, it would be exhorbitant considering other RV resorts. It is right in the center of Mesa and fairly close to interstates. The sites are clean, level, gravel sites with asphalt roads. Palm and orange trees are scattered throughout and the staff is pleasant. Some of the residents are a little kooky but we enjoyed the stay overall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$40
Very well maintained park with very nice facilities and friendly staff. The sites are level concrete and adequate in size, though not large. There are numerous sections and the park is huge. We had to learn our way around. It is rather sterile and we felt like we were in a subdivision rather than a park. It was very convenient as everything you might need or want to do was very close by. All in all a nice place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$26
Large resort style park with mostly park models. Large gravel site with cement patio. Attracted many birds with our feeders. They accepted Passport America for first week. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2007
$35
Val Vista Village is one of three smaller parks combined into one (about 1500 sites total) with two thirds being park models. The facilities such as restrooms, showers, laundry, and rec rooms get very crowded during the peak months because of the large size. The park schedules many concerts and singers during the winter months, however tickets are gone in first few days. The little deli next to the center courtyard is reasonable and offers delicious meals. The miniature golf course is fun, as well as the batting cages and tennis courts. A car wash is available for cleaning your tows & toads. You can wash your own RV or hire it done (the water leaves spots tho). Plenty to do in the area as far as hiking, biking, flea markets, etc. Each site has it's own fruit tree and the hummingbirds are plentiful. The residents are friendly, the staff is helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$17
We have stayed at Val Vista Village for the last 3 years. We arrive in January and stay for 3 months. The park is fairly old and is in need of some repairs which are being undertaken since there is a new manager on board. They have so many activities for you to choose from that if you are bored it is your own fault. The park is located centrally to shopping, restaurants, hiking, boating, movies, museums, theatres and anything you could possibly want to do. We will continue to spend winters there as long as we are able. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2007
$35
Stayed 5 ½ months this year, our third winter in this park. The Wi-Fi internet works sporadically at best and you have to wait in line when it does work. Last year and again this year we were told someone from California is coming to fix it. (Surely, you are kidding! maybe they are walking?). People are very friendly here and that’s why we returned. Will not next season. The main pool was closed today for "pool deck repairs"; walking inside there is no evidence of any repairs needed. Whereas the outside pool has tiles falling off as with 3 out of 4 showers inside have tiles falling off the shower walls with drywall exposed. One toilet and shower “out of order. Paint is falling off the ceiling and it smells very much like urine. They've been that way for over 5 months! There is one arrogant security guard in Ranchos who thinks he owns the place; sets temperatures in the weight rooms at 75*. It’s very hard to breathe while working out – stifling. Weight room is adjacent to sewing room and in same complex as computer room – One thermostat for all three rooms. They’ve locked the outside door to weight room you have to go through sewing room. (so treadmills can’t be stolen I was told) so you can’t open the door either.( Fire Hazard? ) The Ranchos security guard checks there constantly and will close the windows telling you “We’re not allowed to open the windows”. There’s NO air to breath in room with LOW ceilings and that’s not healthy breaking by any terms. Garbage day is tues. and then the street sweeper truck runs all day. He passed by 11 times last tuesday. The machine uses NO WATER, so the dust just keeps blowing on everything you own and filtrates inside. He really enjoys his job. You can not keep your car or rig clean here. Spaces are too tight (3' from slides to neighbors car doors) to wash rig and the hard water spots are awful. There is new management in this park. An original park model owner who contributed greatly and had lived here 33 years, never been late with a payment; sold her model in March and owners would not give her even a partial refund on this years fully paid rent. – Guess CAL AM needed her money bad. During the entire month of March there are lots of children visiting grandparents from Canada and U.S for spring break so it’s really hard to relax at the pool. As to using Coast to Coast- Last year I did the figures, but you can check yourself. If you use coast to coast you have to pay the local taxes………. that plus the cost of your points is not figured into thread above. The very nice gals in the office told me it would be cheaper to stay three months as then you are considered a resident and then you are charged a the lower “ resident tax”. Otherwise, staying here is more expensive when using Coast to Coast. There were three cars broken into during March inside the park, but I suppose it’s because the arrogant security guard is too busy patrolling the thermostat. All public rooms (weight room, computer, sewing, laundry) are to closed at 11pm (says so in brochure and confirmed by crafts director). Which, at 11 pm. they do in the other parts of this park. But the arrogant security guard comes in at 10:15 and kicks you out, stating he gets off work at 11:00 and needs to close up.? Other residents have said he likes to get off early. As with any park, the longer you stay the more you learn what it’s like. I’m just relieved that we didn’t buy into this one. Infamous quote: “One rotten bean can spoil the whole pot”. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2007
$19
This is a phenomenal park and very RV friendly. We stayed here 7 days at the end of January 2007. We were very apprehensive about staying here considering what many folks seem to say about these 55+ parks that seem to focus on long-term stays. Yes, this park has the normal park models, but, is in tune with taking very good care of it’s RV guests as well. We stayed here as a Coast 2 Coast member and were greeted with friendly smiles. Staff are extremely helpful and very responsive. We were escorted to our site. Sites are paved and level with many RV sites available throughout the park. You can reserve deluxe sites that have privacy fence, gas barbeque, picnic table, tv cable and local phone. They are in high demand. We didn’t get one of those, but we were paying $19.50 per night vs the deluxe non-discounted rate of $55. We had full hook-ups with electric included. We paid the $13 (1,300 points) Coast 2 Coast GNP rate plus $5 electric and $1.50 tax per night. For this you get WiFi and access to ALL facilities. This park is actually a very nice resort. They have an indoor heated pool and 4 outdoor pools; 3 fitness centers, tennis courts, shuffleboard; a pool hall; concerts by former headliner entertainers (similar to Branson, MO). The park is near many area activities and tourist sites. Some drawbacks are no kids (which to me is not a drawback) and the WiFi is hit and miss although very strong in the clubhouse. You can set up satellite dishes and wash your rig and vehicles. Some current RV undiscounted rates as of Feb 2007 are: $35 daily and $175 weekly (includes electric); $470 monthly, $1,350 for 3 month, electric not included. Deluxe RV sites: $55 daily and $235 weekly (includes electric). We stayed at Davis-Monthan AFB Tucson prior to this at $16 per day and felt we were getting a bargain. The real bargain is at Val Vista Village. We were very happy with our stay and plan to stay for a month next winter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com