223611 User submitted reviews online!!
Edgington RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (575) 434-2643
CGID6340

Edgington RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
48
Date of Stay
April 2013
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   7   2   8   8   7   8   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$15
We needed a place to overnight for laundry facilities and dump site. This fit the bill perfectly. The host/owner was very friendly and helpful. The laundry room although clean, was not finished and had a few hanging wires. We were not bothered by road noise, but we were the furthest rig from the road. Our mobile AT&T WiFi and cell phones worked fine. There was a lovely little building with the words "Got Books?" on a sign outside, which was set aside for a book/magazine exchange. There was an exercise room and a TV room, but the equipment older. The rate we paid reflects Passport America/Escapees rate. He also gives discounts to veterans and senior citizens. We would camp here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$15
Passport America/Escapees discount park. Friendly owner who was very helpful. FHU sites, 50 amp. Long sites, but placed close together, which is the only reason that I gave it a nine. This is a small park with a nice book exchange and fishing pond. It is close to town. Good Verizon service. We would stay there again when passing through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$15
The owners are friendly and very helpful. Sites are level, gravel, and plenty big for most rigs. The rate shown is for Passport America. Site fee includes first 20 kwh of electric usage. Usage above that is an extra. There is an even swap book exchange and clean laundry facilities. Passport rate is not limited to short stays. This is definitely a place we'll come back to when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
This is a very nice, small campground. The pond is nice and the owner is friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2012
$19
Even at the reduced Passport America rate ($15) and the add-on $4 fee for 20++ k/w electric use, this park is not worth the money. The grounds are poorly kept, weeds everywhere (hard to even get near the fishing pond); chairs and tables in the picnic pavilion are covered with about an inch of dirt/dust; collapsing or rusting outdoor chairs are scattered around the grounds, etc. The over-night are all side-by-side in a gravel parking lot along Highway #54, which offers a lot of traffic noise all night. There are quite a few seasonal trailers, many very old, rusting, with junk scattered about. There is ONE room, (shared by both men and women) which houses a pay shower (8 minutes for $1), a washer and dryer, and a toilet. Needless to say, there is a waiting line. To top things off, the place is located in a really seedy part of town, surrounded by junk yards. Wi-Fi is marginal at best. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$15
Wi-Fi works well if you are parked in the right area. Ask the owner to be parked for Wi-Fi if that is important for you. Quirky park with more personal extras like fruit in season. Friendly owner. Didn't have to pay extra for electricity. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$30
Passport America made this a $15/per night stay. The owner is extremely friendly, offers fishing, hiking, apple & pear picking on his private forest held land in addition to the RV park amenities. Trash barrels are next to each site and are cleaned each day. The owner came by to wish us "safe travels" the morning we left. We will stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$15
We stayed here for 3 nights. Nice for overnight stop. Honored our PA discount for full stay. Nothing fancy but clean. Very friendly manager. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$15
This is our second stay at Edgington RV Park. Rate reflects Passport America rate which was good for our entire stay, not just a day or two. We were here for some out-patient back surgery hubby was having at the local hospital. While this park isn't the Ritz, it's clean, secure, and all utilities worked fine. Road noise was not bad given the fact it sits right on 70/54. Management lives on site and patrols the park to make sure things are as they should be. A previous reviewer complained because he had to pay for electric used over the 20kwh per day allowed. We have a large 50 amp motorhome, ran 2 A/C units and a humidifier day and night, cooked all meals in the microwave, had electric hot water heat on all the time, had the TV on most of the time, and stayed 4 days. We only spent $2.55 extra for electric. That certainly wasn't excessive in my book. We will definitely stay here whenever we're in or around the Alamogordo area. Besides, the owner/manager is a really great guy and will bend over backward to make sure you're happy. He even stopped by a couple of times to inquire how hubby was doing after his procedure and to ask if there was anything he could do for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$15
Don't stay here unless you like being taken by a con artist. If you call to make a reservation he tells you if he is not there to just look at the board and go to your site. Turns out he lives right next door and watches you pull in. He then waits till you get setup and drives up in a golf cart to get your payment. Then he informs you that you will be charged 15 cents per for any additional kilowatts that you use over the daily average. Of course that daily average is impossible to stay under. We ran only our air conditioner the one night we stayed and even switched our refrigerator over to propane. Still cost us an extra 4 bucks. I don't mind the 4 bucks, but I do mind being taken by a con artist. This is just a dirt parking lot with a couple of trailers that people live in there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$15
I agree with previous comments. Owner/manager super friendly and efficient. Restroom/activity room a bit 'rough'. Nice library/book room. Rate is Passport America rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$15
Our family was very happy with this park. It does abut the highway, but didn't bother us. Couldn't get the Wi-Fi to work, but that could have been our problem. The owner is very attentive, treated us like we were the only ones staying here. He appeared when we needed him and was laid back, but attentive to our needs and the integrity of the park. We came here after another park in the area because of the very good rate, and extended our overnight stay to a 3 night stay thanks to our comfort here, and finding more things to do in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
We stayed with the PA rate of $15 per night. This is not a fancy RV park, and the landscaping was a bit rough, but it is autumn, and nothing looks that great this time of year. There is a catch & release pond. The manager is super friendly and helpful. They have a book exchange room with seating and a computer and printer for your use and an activity room, but I didn't check it out. Too early in the season for anything to be going on anyway. The wi-fi reception was good and fast. The bathroom was clean but strange. It was one little building with a toilet, sink, shower, hot water tank, washer and dryer. I don't know what happens if you are doing laundry and someone wants the bathroom. This is a good place to stay while touring the museum and white sands. Right on road, but not much in the way of road noise. Not a super busy highway. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$15
Clean park but a little funky around the edges. About half the park were long term tenants. But not snow birds. Good price. Affable owner/manager. But he didn't tell me that the sewage tank was right next to our site and had that smell our whole time. Flies, too. Traffic noise made it hard to sleep soundly. "Bath house" was a portable shed with 1 dollar shower, toilet, sink and W/D. Didn't use it. Close to town, though. Easy to find. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$15
Rate reflects 50% Passport America Discount. Site rent includes 20 amps of electric and if you go over that, you pay 15 cents/kwh for the extras so we had to pay an additional $3.90. Nice owners/managers. Gravel roads & sites. Not a pretty park by any means. Owner said there was a large grassy dog run we could take our dog to, but we walked all over that place and never found it. Gas, fast food, restaurants and Wal-Mart are nearby and White Sands isn't too far. I guess we would stay here again if we had reason to be in that area but without the Passport discount, it's very expensive for what you get. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$15
This campground is run by the nicest couple. However, it lacks amenities. Sites are in a gravel field, side by side hook-ups. If full, it would be VERY crowded. One small room that is laundry and bathroom. Your laundry could be held hostage by someone taking a shower! $1 for 8 minute shower. 15 cents per KWH over 20 per day. With A/C, that's going to happen. Far from White Sands Monument. OK for overnight but that's about it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$15
We were delighted. The owners are very friendly, the price was definitely right and the park was well kept. There weren't very many campers while we were there, so we had a lot of privacy plus a huge area to walk the dogs. Another plus is the easy access coming and going. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$15
The owners here go beyond the call of duty to make you feel welcome. Every time I need to get in touch with them they were available. The pond oasis is like another planet. We stay with them every year and have enjoyed watching all the improvements they are making. Will stay here ever chance we get!!! Thank you! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$15
The park is run by a friendly and accommodating couple who work hard to keep their new park clean and make sure their guests are comfortable. The sites are sandy but level and spacious. There weren't a lot of people there so crowding wasn't a problem. Located just outside of town but close enough and a short drive to White Sands and Cloudcroft. The daily rate is offset by the fact that you are charged for any electric you use over a certain daily level. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$15
The owners are just wonderful here; they greeted us very well and led us to our site. They came back later with numerous brochures and info on the area which was much appreciated. The park sites are gravel and all of the hookups were adequate. The problem we always have with these kinds of parks however is just how close together all of the rigs are parked in their sites; we really don't like that. We are Escapees so we got their special rate of 50% off the regular rate. There is a good place next door to get your rig in to get propane if you need it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$11
Nice park. Owner very friendly, and pull-through sites were very easy to get into. Site was a little uneven but easy to level the rig. I opted to use one of the newer sites where gray-water only sewer connection was available (I understand that the owner is in the process of getting the additional site hookups fully approved by the city, but it's not done yet.) Electric and water hookups were fine. Passport America or Escapees discount available (I used Escapees for the $11/night rate) I would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$26
We stayed in the older section of the park which had trees and was near the small pond. Being Summer, the new section was empty. The owner was very friendly and helpful. Our site was a little off level but easily solved. Picnic table and fire ring are not supplied. The owner did allow us to use some concrete blocks to make a fire ring. There is a metal, home style charcoal BBQ at each site. The restroom is a wood shed which also houses the washer/dryer & water heater. You have to pay $2 for the shower which is a little disappointing. They monitor your electrical usage and you pay for usage over 20 khw per day, however they tell you this up front, it seemed reasonable, and we didn't exceed the limit in our 2 night visit. The road noise was noticeable but didn't bother us. We were disappointed in the town of Alamogordo because there wasn't much to see or do. The space museum is worth a visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2008
$11
The newer pull thru area is a big gravel parking lot but good for a couple of nights while sightseeing in the area. There are no sewer hookups in this section. You are allowed 20 kwh per day, and if you go over you pay .15 per kwh. Showers are $2, and there is a $5 charge to dump even if you are staying here. The $11 rate is for Passport America. The owner was very nice and helpful. When we drove up he had a packet of info ready for us. He is continuing to make improvements to the property and has recently planted more trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2007
$11
Owner was very attentive and willing to please. Road noise was noticeable, and we had no sewer hookups in the new area. Dump station is available. Clubhouse is open and available for a donation. Be aware that if you are camping here in the summer or winter, you are alloted 20 kwh per day of electricity. There are meters on each site. Owner will check and you will be charged if you go over the alloted amount. It doesn't amount to much money, but something to be aware of. Level sites, but can be muddy in the rain. Great short stay park. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2007
$14
The new large rig sites are in a gravel parking lot. The access road to the sites is very bumpy! The hookups are back to back. But the owner makes the stay very comfortable and worthwhile. He goes out of his way to help and explain how to get TV and how to get to local tourist sites and the local tourist information center. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$11
Newer park with attentive owner. Using PPA we paid 10.50/night. A few miles north of town on Hwy 54 which provides some road noise. Good place to stay when seeing the many area sights. Owner says he is adding a meeting room and game area in an adjacent house when the tenant moves out (today). We stayed in the new area, no shade, level sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$8
Rate we paid does not include electricity. Very good park run by owner/manager, who is most attentive and available. He has just opened new big-rig site area with 50 amp and water - but no sewer. Washing rig/toad permitted - water extremely hard. There is an older section with much smaller sites, trees, full-hookups and a pond where rates may be different (higher?). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$10
Very nice friendly Campground with great location ... easy in and out. Rate 10.50 for Passport America and owner says come anytime and no limit stay with POA. WiFi low but for the price I stayed an extra night. Met all our needs and had laundry room. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com