206874 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Cahuilla was rated 7 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (760) 564-4712
CGID6365

Lake Cahuilla

Camp Information
Sites
93
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   7   10   8   8   8   9   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$25
What a find in the Palm Springs area! It is what it is, and that's not a resort. Located at the base of the mountains just south of La Quinta, it was quiet, relaxing, and a great base for the area. Sites on the exterior of the loop are level dirt, really spacious, and many have some shade. Coin operated showers were adequate and restroom was very clean. I will definitely stay here again when in the area. Price reflects Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2014
$32
Conveniently located near town, this county park is nice enough, but over-priced. Gravel/dirt sites are average size with water and electric hookups at front. Flies enjoy trash cans with no lids. Extra fees for dogs, yet no dog facilities. There is a little hiking at west edge of park. Can not swim in the lake. The Passport America discount is supposedly available Mon-Wed (except holidays). We checked in Wednesday and told it was a holiday. After searching, the only holiday we found was Employee Legal Awareness Day. Guess there is some kind of holiday every day. Would not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$25
Very nice level sites. Very clean. Pet friendly. Pool was drained - when it is operating it costs $2/session. Coin-operated showers were just OK. Friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$22
Absolutely loved this place and extended my stay by several nights. Beautiful lakeside setting, large lots with picnic table and BBQ/firepit. Only a few of the spots have sewer, but the dump station is convenient and easy to use. Lots of grassy areas; paddle boat and kayak rentals; WiFi access under a canopy at one end of the park. You can walk around the entire lake (about 3 miles). It's behind an upscale residential neighborhood and is a wonderfully quiet and relaxing spot. What an incredible find! If you have Passport America, it's only $11/night Sun-Thurs. Only downside: no swimming allowed in the lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$20
This is a great spot for a reasonable cost in the PS area. We love the location and the walking around the reservoir. The only thing this park lacks is sewer. If they had that, it would be so much better. Also, they do cash-grab a $1.00 pet fee per pet / day and I personally oppose it but the park is well priced and I could live with the pet fee in this case. Wi-Fi here was by a host's router and was awesome! Just get the sewer and I'll give it a 10! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$22
This is a cute little park with large enough sites and a lovely view if you get close to the lake. The down side for us is we don't have satellite TV so we watched a dvd instead. We took advantage of the town and found a few casino's and restaurants that had great prices and a lot of fun! We will definitely be back! The price is right and the staff is very nice! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$22
This is a lovely county-run campground in the traditional sense of the word. There are no permanent residents, no park models and no concrete pads. But what you do get are spacious sites nestled between beautiful mountains and a small man-made lake, with great fishing and hiking. The campground host has a Wi-Fi site set up at the gate and there's a picnic table with a canopy at the site. We managed to pick it up at our campsite about 10 sites away. The only negative thing to say about this place is that it uses a central booking agency for reservations. That means it costs $7 to make a reservation and all reservations have to be made at least 48 hours in advance. That results in empty campsites because people don't show up and just forfeit the $7. Pity! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$19
We stayed a week here and loved it. The price is very fair compared to other parks in the area. The only downsides are not with the Park itself - there is a rifle range nearby and they started shooting one morning at 6am for 3 minutes, then stopped. Also, the employees of the adjacent country club start work at 5:30am and seem to get their kicks roaring by with radios blaring. If you get up early in the morning, then no problem. The showers are a bit utilitarian, but clean. The sites are roomy and the surroundings beautiful. Situated around a nice little lake (reservoir) with fishing. The wired and Wi-Fi internet is available only in one spot at a picnic table beside the lake, but worked well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$22
I liked this park, friendly hosts, good location, pretty spot. The lake is actually a reservoir and does not allow for swimming, the pool is not in use in winter (too bad). The restrooms could use better more regular cleaning. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$22
A pretty decent place and the price is great. Unfortunately, it is situated in very close proximity to the police firing range and there is gun fire shots to be heard every evening until after dark (usually done before 9 p.m), which echoes loudly against the mountains behind the campsites. The Wi-Fi is horrible, and the bathroom set up is strange. Granted, we were in the horse side of the campground (availability in the regular campground wasn't open for the dates we needed), where you didn't have to pay to shower; however, the sinks were located outside, and the showers were in a different part of the building from the toilet facilities -- also, no soap or towels available. Overall, the picnic area and walking path around the lake was great, and we would stay here again because it's close to the desert cities and it was economical. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$26
It is a long way from the main road, but a lovely spot. We arrived late on New Year's Eve & were assigned an equestrian space (all that was left). These sites are in a beautiful box canyon, near restrooms, and very quiet. We liked this campground and will probably go there again. It is possibly not okay for big rigs, as the roads are dirt and the sites are not graveled. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
Great lakefront spots with spectacular sunsets and sunrises. With mountains almost surrounding the campground, there is no shortage of things to take pictures of. The weekend we were here, there was a Women's Triathalon scheduled, but they were far enough away from the campground that they were really not an issue. We drove a short distance to The Living Desert Zoo and had a great time. We went the last weekend that the pool was open for the season (closes in mid-October) and the whole family went for a dip. It was great. The only complaint about this facility is the lack of grass for "dog walk" purposes. They have a "dog walk" but it is dirt and they are trying to grow out the grass area in front of the restrooms, so it says "NO DOGS" all over the place. How do you tell three dogs to "go" in the dirt area called a "dog walk" and not in the grass that says NO DOGS? Nonetheless, we will probably still be back: this place was great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
This is a scenic area and feels very safe. Unfortunately, it was about 110 degrees while we were camping. The swimming pool kept us cool. My only swimming complaint was that the pool hours were very short and it was $2 per person. Lifeguards are provided and the pool is very shallow: like a beach, until you get to the far side (5 ft deep). The campground was nearly deserted, but have to assume that was because of the weather. The staff was very friendly. The rangers always waved and even offered to help us back into the spot if needed. We originally booked spot 67, but upon arrival were informed it did not have full hook ups. They were very helpful in finding us a new spot which actually turned out to be a host site. It was huge. The only complaint (besides spiders in the electric box) would be the minor traffic noise from the nearby entrance road. It wasn't a big deal for us, but might annoy tent campers. There is also a playground, but it appears there has been a recent fire which burned the play structure and that section is now closed. We'd definitely go back, but not until the weather cools down. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$10
This was our second time camping here. Staff very helpful. Sites are dirt, mostly level. Big rig friendly. Both our stays we found this park to be a quiet well run park. Was a drive to World War II musuem and Palm Springs tram but worth it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
We were killing time before moving to our next major stay and found this park. It was quiet and very nice. It wasn't a fancy resort but we prefer more rustic places where we enjoy sitting outside and enjoying the scenery. I would guess that in busy times it could be noisy but for the most part would be enjoyable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2009
$10
This is a city campground which means it's quite cheap but the facilities are not to great. They have coin showers and the sites were tight and sandy. It's located at a lake with some nice scenery. The host wasn't really nice to us and the wifi was only available outside at a really inconvenient place. Maybe it's nice to sit out there with the sun but we had a bit of a windstorm. We would stay somewhere else next time We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$20
What a surprise we had when we arrived. Very nice! Although a true dessert type park: spaces were wide. Pictures didn't do this park justice. I recommend you see what activities are happening during your stay. We were here for a Triathlon. Park got very busy that day. We heard it can be crazy for Cochella Festival: very rowdy. So check. Wi-Fi at our site (#2) So surprised! We stayed a full week and did OK with our holding tanks and using the facilities a lot for showers and restroom. Wind came up in late afternoon. Beware of putting out awnings and lightweight outdoor things. What a great price for such an expensive area!!! We will come back here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2008
$20
This was our first visiting this park. It's obvious that lots of improvements have been made. My site was level with full hookups. Checkin was quick and painless. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$18
Paved interior roads w/gravel campsites. Some sites back up to the lake (or you can pull in to them for a view out the front window). Good 50 amp power on the developed sites. No sewer hookups but an easily accessible dump station just outside the campground. Park and sites are easily accessible to big rigs - we are 41 feet and had no problems. Showers & restrooms were clean but rustic - they do charge .25 for 3 minutes. The lake was busy with fishermen during the day time. This is by no means a 5 star campground - it is a nicely maintained and well run county park in a very scenic setting. They do hold out 9 sites on a first come/first served basis and the park was not quite full during our stay here. With a weekly rate of $90 for a developed site (water & 50 amp) this campground is a bargain. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$28
A lot of improvements are being done to this well maintained but older park. The roads are being repaved from what we were told and electrical upgrades should come this year. The staff is very helpful and friendly and we were made to feel very welcome. Very refreshing for a government facility!!!! We are looking forward to returning! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2007
$18
This was the "worst" campground that we have visited to date! This park needs to be closed down or closed for 6 months and renovated by the county. Riverside County, CA ought to be ashamed of this facility. There was so much dirt and dust that we will never get our rig cleaned. The park is in total disrepair with open holes and trenches dug up (long ago) that have never been repaired, broken water connections (some in our group had to connect to neighbors water). The restrooms were disgusting to say the least and rarely somewhat cleaned with mosquitoes everywhere. Showers are .25 for 3 minutes (give me a break). I can't for the life of me figure out why this place is so busy? Must be because people in CA don't know what a really nice campground is like and this is all they have? No wonder they have a $13 cancellation fee plus you forfeit your first night fee as people would leave here in a heartbeat if they could get their money back. And then there is the echo from the police gun range going pop,pop,pop at all hours of the night and day. The "lake" is a man made pond that is surrounded by concrete. We will never return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2007
$16
Riverside County RV Park, TL Directory said gravel sites but all were dirt and the dust was terrible when the wind blew in the afternoon. Sites were level, some with shade, 40' max length, water/electric at some sites, dump station, fishing for $6 with CA license, bathrooms and showers (50 cents for 3 mins) were old and dirty. They lock the gate from 10pm to 6am with no enter or exit allowed, what happens if emergency? Very disappointed with this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2007
$19
Office staff took a long time to register us as he had to figure out our rate. Stayed two days and second day was actually $10. Pets, including cats, are charged $1 a day extra. The sani dump had a slow drain causing lineups. Construction near some sites with a lot of dust at times. Back In site was not level. Quiet at night with good views of reservoir and hills. White pelicans feeding on lake at the time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com