223556 User submitted reviews online!!
Horseshoe Cove RV Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (941) 758-5335
CGID638

Horseshoe Cove RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
476
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   9   8   4   9   8   8   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$15
You need to pull through the gate and straight ahead to park at the office for registration. There isn't a sign visible from the entrance telling you that. The office staff is extremely helpful and friendly. Fortunately, we decided to disconnect the TOAD before going to our site because some of the turns were a bit tight for our 36 footer. Maintenance trucks blocked part of the road so getting to our site was a bit tricky. It is doable and the workers will move their trucks if necessary. (We could have made the turns in our 40 footer so it is big rig friendly, just use care.) The sights are blacktop with some grass but mostly dirt. They are very narrow and our tires just fit on it from side to side. We had no trouble leveling but I wouldn't have been able to put our awning out all the way because of a close tree. Even though the campground is fairly close to a major highway, there is very little traffic noise. We would stay here again if visiting the Bradenton area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$43
Nice quiet park. The March 2014 review was right on the mark, convenient and quiet. The park RV sites were fairly empty of campers so we had lots of room. Level sites. WiFi was free to us and OK. bath/rest rooms were older but spotless. We stayed 2 weeks and would return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$35
Rate is based on 3-monthly rate. Electric and cable extra. WiFi included. This is an older RV park where we spent two months. The sites are generally really a good size and many have shade trees. Roughly 50% RVs and 50% installed homes. 4 laundry rooms means no waiting. Pool is spotless. Gym is well equipped with modern stuff, as is wood shop. If you want group activities, there is always something going on like bridge, crib, shuffleboard, horseshoes, petoncles, supper parties, choir, band, etc etc. The island is a tremendous asset, with trails, lots of waterfront, a screened pavilion. The park is about 1 mile from I-95, and much further from railway tracks and flight paths, so nice and quiet. Big box retail is close. Beautiful Bradenton Beach and Cortez are about 20 mins away. Staff are very pleasant and responsive. First visit is always a shot in the dark, but we liked it well enough to rebook for next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$22
Would have rated much higher if we had stayed in pull-through area but we stayed in the 'standard' area. If you are over 30 feet, DON'T.The sites are in amongest park models and are tight. The pull-through (new) area is very nice for a few bucks more. Clubhouse, pool area, shuffle board areas are great. Laundry is good. We would stay here again in the pull-through area! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$15
This is the second campground that we stayed in since we bought our RV. We checked in and found out after the fact that the pool was closed. Would have been nice if they would have told us when we called. Only three RV's in the short term area, most are long term park models. Internet is as additional charge as with cable. Looks like it could be a nice place in the winter for long term snowbirds but wasn't even close to what we expected. Know to make sure about the pool and the internet next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$15
This is a beautiful CG. The roads are blacktop. The pool/hot tub was clean and warm. The pool showers had hot water. The site was gravel and not quite level but easily corrected with jacks. The sewage was not threaded and would not hold the connection tight. The no-seeum's were plentiful at the 90 degree temps. The 50A electric handled both A/C, hot water and laundry. Price reflects Passport America discount. We stayed 3 nights on site DD2. This site is close to the trash collection, but we had no smell. We would recommend exiting this site to the right. We will be staying here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
The rate reflects summer rates and per day rate based on one month stay. It has a great pool. Fishing in the river on the campground. Every facility you might want, but some inactive except November - March, when rates are double the summer rate. Lovely huge trees throughout the park, but not so much in the pull-thru RV area. We picked a spot amongst the mobile homes, which was nicer, we thought. Sewer hookups are ancient and could use upgrading, ie no screw mount so leaks/fumes can be a problem. Sitting outside at night exposes you to "no see-ums" which are tiny gnat like biting insects. Some people have allergic reactions to the bites and they swell up like mosquito bites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$25
We have stayed here twice in the last 9 months. Very nice, clean, well kept. Residents and staff are polite and friendly. I especially like the bridge and island where you can enjoy the gazebo, porch swing, picnicing areas and the dock for manatee viewing. Will definitely go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$50
Very nice park! Great pool and hot tub. Employees and residents were very nice. Some sites would be very tight for our 40 foot rig, but we had a pull through in the DD row that gave us extra room to exit. All sites are set pretty close together. Did not visit showers or laundry. Would definitely return! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$35
Spent 3 1/2 months here this winter. Friendly staff and residents, mostly snowbirds. Many are park models, but probably 100 sites available for RVs. No tents or pop-ups. Lots of activities available ranging horseshoes and shuffleboard to power model boats, bridge, and wood shop. A mix of Americans and Canadians. Lovely large oaks shade many sites. Some of the sites have marginal water and sewer hookups that haven't been updated in many years. Great location on the Bradenton River. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
I was only here for one night. The staff was friendly. The RV section is located in a separate area from the park models, and there were few people there. The facilities were clean, and there seemed to be lots to do. Most of the residents that I saw were retirees. The one thing I did notice was that the rates jump a tremendous amount in January. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$15
Staff was relatively friendly. Residents were VERY friendly and welcomed our visit. Encouraged us to participate in their activities. Great location for shopping, restaurants and the beach. Neg: Much discussion about Canadians making demands above and beyond. We met 2 Canadian couples who were very pleasant and friendly w/o any issues. Would return in a heartbeat. Our rate was based on Carefree Military discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2011
$39
Very narrow roads and trees in the more snowbird/park model(north) part of the campground. If you're over 32 ft, make sure they put you in the newer (south) part. Unless you stay over 30 days no cable TV. WIFI only in the clubhouse but Verizon aircard OK. Do not stay in the north section unless you speak French. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Was here in off season (July). Was well maintained and clean. Essentially this is a trailer park which has a section for RV's. No campground store, not much going on. Easy to get into and out of. Plenty of space for our 42" class A. Not a place for families. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2010
$45
We were disappointed when we arrived, because it is almost all park models, with a few RV sites scattered about. We did discover an all RV section, which would have been nicer. However, after looking around at everything in the area, this is the nicest (with the exception of one amazing park near Anna Maria Island). The park models are all in excellent condition and well maintained and attractive. The sites were not paved, but the parking for your car and your patio were paved. None of the other parks in the area have that. Once you get over how close together they all are, and how narrow most of the roads are, you begin to enjoy it. Clubhouse is very nice, as is the pool. The river setting is pleasant, and the island with walking trails gives a little plus to it, also. Also, it's near Wal-Mart, Lowe's, restaurants, and I-75. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$60
Fairly nice park but the bugs seemed too excessive, especially the sand fleas. Thought the rate was excessive for what is offered. Some of the staff seemed a bit grumpy at times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2006
$32
We stayed here before and had a good site. We made reservations and prepaid for 5 weeks this year. When we got there they did not have our site as they had given it to someone else. They gave us one by the road with a lot of construction and traffic going to the school across the road. Constant cars racing by, loud radios, and noise got old fast. We were very disappointed the way they treated us. Never again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2005
$40
The problems with this park are many as follows: 1. The park is over 90% seasonal. 2. The RV Section is only 30 Pull Thru's. 3. The lots are humped ie the front and rear of your RV will be above the lot requiring a lot of blocking. 4. The noise is absolutely awful along with the dust as a new high school has just been built across the road and a another new large facility is under construction. The road (Caruso) is to become a four lane highway. There will be children, school buses going all day with all the activities along with the accompaning noise. 5. The Internet access is noisy and useless. 6. The monthly rate of $800 is way too much for this park. Rumor is that the rate is going up another $76 next year. 7. The pull thrus are too short and the truck has to be left sideways or put on the road. 8. Pool is full of kids now (March break) even though this is a 55+ park. Would never come here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2004
$33
We are in our mid-30's with our first camper. We found this park is very misleading if you go by what Woodalls or their website has to say. We went over Thanksgiving break and were disappointed for 3 full days. No where on the website did it indicate that this was a 55+ park, but we felt it as soon as we got there. First off 80% of the lots are permanent Park Models, another 10% are small "back-in" lots between the park models (neighbors like to peek out their blinds - very uncomfortable) and last 10% are pull throughs next to the main road and garbage area (very noisy). Amenities like the island are VERY over rated, unless the extent of your "fitness" walk consists of less than 1/4 mile (could be a half mile if you walk around the island twice, but it wasn't interesting enough to do twice). Jacuzzi was probably the best of the amenities. Overall we found it to be too far from anything fun to do (beach is over 10 miles away) and the permanent residents made us feel like we were intruding. The website is great, but it does not nearly tell the tale! We won't be back until we are "of age", and I am not sure it will be top on our list even then! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$26
This park only has 40 RV sites to rent out. Most of the park is for people who own homes inside park. Park O.K. for people over 55 years of age. In the summer park has very small number of people and I think kids may be O.K. This is not the case in winter months. This site has a lot of people who live here in winter months. Very nice park to look at and it has an island. Guard aways at the gate day or night. We only go here in the summer months. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com