214481 User submitted reviews online!!
Ja-Mar Travel Park (55+ park) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (727) 863-2040
CGID6393

Ja-Mar Travel Park (55+ park)

Camp Information
Sites
396
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   6   8   7   9   8   9   8   9   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2014
$25
The park is majority long term modular homes.There were maybe 20 RVs in the whole park. Lots are very close together and all back-in. There are some pretty tight turns. The park is not pet friendly really. Pets are only allowed on certain streets, maybe two streets. We were at the back of the park with our two dogs and it was a long walk to find a grassy area. You do not dare go near a "no pet street" while just trying to get to the grassy area, people will quickly reprimand you. No cable, and the antenna reception was not very good. No Wi-Fi in the park. We stayed here a week because of the location but will not be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$24
The office staff was friendly and the park is laid out well. No trees and the sites are close together. They still have plenty of activities for the month of April. They have special area's that are pet friendly which is nice. People in the park are also very nice. We stayed here three days and would come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$24
We have stayed here (I'm talking about the south park} many times before and will continue to return. The streets are all paved, each site has either full asphalt or at least a concrete pad and most of the sites are adequate, if not large. The park is neat and tidy. The last time we were here we had trouble getting in. This year there are empty sites everywhere and they are charging $24 a night for anyone with any membership card. The only problem we had was with the Wi-Fi, which is free in the library. We couldn't connect and they kept telling us that we had to change the settings on our computer. Hours later they finally rebooted the router and all was good. There's a big flea market just to the north and lots of shopping in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2012
$29
There are two Ja-Mar Travel Parks. This review is for Ja-Mar North. The entrance is very nice and clean. There is a gate, well maintained paved roads, two ponds and a very nice club house. This is more of a park model park and all seem to be in good condition. There are separate areas to stay if you have pets. Which means you are farther away from the pool and the clubhouse. The sites are grass and/or sand with concrete patios. They are straight back in sites which could be harder for people with large rigs. There is no cable TV or WiFi at the sites. The clubhouse, although very nice, didn't have a lot going on. The laundry was expensive and there are no times on the machines. You have to guess how long things will take. The pool looked nice and I checked out the "one" bathhouse which I decided not to use. It is old and didn't look that great. Again this is not really an "RV" park, so most people don't use the bathhouse. Overall it is a clean park for this area as there aren't any great parks here. Would I stay here again? Maybe. It depends on how bad the other parks have gotten. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$30
Stayed for 2 weeks while having eye surgery in Tarpon Springs - Campground is excellant and office staff is very helpful and friendly - This is a long term facility that has many temp/short term sights - Other residents very considerate and helpful - Can receive US mail and UPS / FedEx @ site, which has a true mailing address - Sites are grassy sand with concrete patio and car parking area - Would stay again in our motorhome We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$30
Very nice place. Almost all were snow birds or permanent. Everyone we met was friendly. Wi-Fi available at the office area. Pool was nice but closed at 5 each evening while we here, and since we don't generally get back before that from tourist stuff, didn't get to use it much. Clean and well maintained throughout. Not pet friendly. There is a small part of the park where they will give you (your dog) a spot, and you can only walk in that very small area. If we didn't have dogs we would come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$23
This is a suburban park located just off Route US-19 in Port Richey. The majority of the sites are permanent or seasonal, but this is a Passport America campground as well, and member sites are available year-round as long as one makes reservations for a minimum of seven days. The management is quite friendly, competent, and firm. Although this is an older park, it is exceedingly well cared for, and makes a great base camp location from which to sample the Orlando and Tampa-area attractions. Or just kick back, which is another prime reason for our continued visits. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$23
Reflects Passport America rate. We camped here for a week and found the campground to be clean with friendly permanent residents.The sites are close together but during our stay before Christmas, it was not crowded and we had plenty of room. The pool was clean and warm. Close to all big stores, just off Hwy 19 but didn't find it to be noisy. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$23
We paid the daily Passport America rate for our 18-day stay (one must stay a minimum of 7 days to qualify for that PA rate). This is a suburban RV park, the majority of whose residents are older seasonal types who arrive about late October and depart about April. A limited number of sites are retained for shorter-term visitors. We would recommend reservations. The park is almost 36 years old, and has had constant improvements and upgrades. It is proudly managed in a friendly manner and maintained by several generations of its founding family. It makes a fine base camp for visits to Disney, Tampa, and other attractions: or simply to kick back and relax with a sequence of novels. Two items to note: (1) As with most older parks, individual sites are not overly large, and (2) the Wi-Fi is almost totally limited to the combination library/computer room (and one must bring one's own laptop). We've visited yearly for 3 of the past 4 years. And we will return again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2011
$24
The sites are extremely close. The dog walking area is small, not pet friendly. The permanent sites are old, and many are run down, not very attractive. No internet at sites, no cable. We have stayed at campgrounds that are cheaper than Ja-Mar and got free cable and internet at the site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
December 2010
$30
Two sets of rules depending on what side of the owner you are on. Not very pet friendly. Internet is poor and only available at the front wash house. Park entrance is attractive and well kept. The rest of the park is not. The garbage area is disgusting. Racoons are always in the garbage and I have seen rats on occasion. Should not visit at night. Constant noise from US 19. Only religious music played at pool area. Should be posted as a religious park. This is for Ja-Mar on US 19. Not the north park. I will not go back. The only good thing about this park is the permanent residents. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$22
There are actually 2 adjacent Ja-Mar Parks. Ja-Mar North is for long-term residents. Ja-Mar South (directly on U.S.19) is the one offering overnight and short-term sites. Ja-Mar is a suburban campground, and about 80% of the sites are filled with seasonal residents. This is the type of park one visits to simply kick back and relax, or to visit local attractions in this Tampa area. It is not for those seeking country or rural atmosphere. Everything is immaculately maintained. Office staff are cheerful and helpful. We paid the Passport America nightly rate for the two weeks of our stay. A special note: Passport America nightly rates are available only for stays of 7 days or more. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$29
Well kept park with friendly and helpful staff. Good Sam park; no credit cards. Many permanents and seasonals. Pet sites are clustered together, an advantage for persons who do not enjoy their neighbor’s yapping dogs. Relatively wide paved streets and short paved spurs. Sites have 8 inch high concrete platforms to park next to. Narrow sites are 90 degrees perpendicular to the road. The curbs are lined with every imaginable obstruction: trees, streetlight poles, power company cubes, mail boxes, concrete platforms, and tow vehicles make the most difficult parking we have encountered in 10 years of full timing. Strong broadcast TV and Verizon signals. Minimal recycling; aluminum cans, newspaper. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$21
We paid the Passport America discount daily rate (for which the minimum stay is 7 days - and there is no maximum period on the rate). This suburban Port Richey "travel park" is an older facility that is still owned and managed by its founding family. The hospitality, modernization, and upkeep is top notch. About 65% of the park residents are seasonal. This is basically an adult park (but children as visitors and/or overnighters are welcome). It is a great place in which to settle to savor the Tampa/Tarpon Springs/Clearwater area attractions. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$28
Large park, tight level "cookie-cutter" sites with patio pads, spotlessly clean, nice clubhouse, mostly seasonals. Actually, two parks with the same name about 1k yards apart. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2007
$25
Pull through sites are way too narrow ,and the trees are difficult to manuever around. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2007
$36
This is not an rv park. Its mostly permanent sites.You are parked between houses. Very tight. Not dog friendly at all. Some roads are for pets & you can walk them only on that road. They are not allowed on other roads. If you go to a site that allows the pet you have to carry it or go in a car so the dog isn't on roads its not suppose to be on. Will never be here again to camp! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com