221782 User submitted reviews online!!
Holt's Shell RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (928) 683-2449
CGID6489

Holt's Shell RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
24
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   7   8   7   9   9   7   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$22
Excellent overnight park. Located at a truck/gas station, plenty of room to maneuver. Good electricity and water. Pet area is great. We need more places like this and less stuffy 55+ parks in AZ. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
PPA rate 13.50. Bathroom and laundry clean. Everything works. Quiet, hardly any truck noise. Great value. Easy access. We'll stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$13
The first time we tried to stay here (back in December), it was full. This time we had no problem getting a site. We paid the Passport America rate. Check-in is at the Shell station. The place is clean, sites are roomy pull-throughs. Great place for an overnight, though we did meet a couple that had been there since November! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$12
PA rate. Great place to stop for a night or 2 when traveling I-8. Long, level pull through sites with 50 amp service and sewer hookups. We would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$13
This is a good convenient RV park. It is close to I-8, but we did not hear any highway noise. Most sites are large, clean, level pull thrus. Sites and roads are gravel. The park is big rig friendly. Check in is at the Shell station. They do not take reservations. We paid $13 which is the Escapees and Passport America discount rate. There needs to be more of this kind of parks along the highways for overnighters. We will stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$13
Passport America and Escapees discounts. This park is a good example of what is needed for an overnight stop. Easy in and out, power/water/sewer. Subway next to the fuel station was great for sandwiches after our drive - no need to heat up the coach on a hot afternoon. Next morning out and on our way. A little noise from the road/trucks at the fuel station but not bad. Definitely would stop again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$12
Rate is for a 50 amp full hookup pull-through site with an Escapees discount. Roads, sites, in fact the entire park is gravel. Sites are wide, electric and water pressure is excellent. No trees so good for satellites and has a strong Verizon signal. Free Wi-Fi was acceptable but not great. They have paved additional areas of the large parking area away from the RV park, and there was no truck noise overnight as trucks parked there. Holts has separate RV pumps for gas and diesel, a dump station and propane in addition to the RV park. With the discount, it is a great value and we would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$13
Rate paid was with the PA discount. The park is not large but there was plenty of space between sites. Wi-fi worked well. The park was quiet. Good for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$14
The price reflects the Passport America rate, including tax. Nothing fancy, but full hookups and free Wi-Fi. Only one site has any shade, but for the price, it's hard to beat. Very good access to open country to hike and walk the dog. Only drawback is that there is no cable or OTA television reception. :) So beware if that's important to you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$14
If you can get in, this place is a real bargain at the $11.99 plus tax Passport America rate. They don't take reservations, so it can be tough to get a spot. Most sites appear to be taken by local workers, but their sites are clean and tidy. Full 50 amp hookups. Sites are level gravel, and the roads are smooth and wide. There is a single restroom, no showers. Surprisingly big laundry with four washers and four driers. Free TengoInternet. Fast Verizon 4G service. Beware, there is no longer a grocery store in Gila Bend, so don't count on supplies here. Excellent for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$12
This is a good RV park to stay at if you are passing through the area. Laundry facilities are very good. Newer machines and laundry room is very clean. It's very quiet at night, even though this is behind a truck stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$14
Great place to stop for the night. Quite and level gravel spots with all the hookups. Diesel was less than Flying J prices. Well stocked store for your emergency needs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$13
Perfect park for overnight. Access is easy on/off freeway. The overall site is so huge the trucks coming and going are not a bother and the park is at the far rear of the site. The pull throughs were very easy to get into/out of and the utility connections convenient;y located. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2011
$13
Easy access off I-8. Price is for Escapees. Good overnight stop. Gravel sites-all utilities were accessible and worked properly. No showers, or cable or off air TV. Easy to maneuver in park. A one night stand only. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$12
A good place for an overnight or short stay considering the $12 per night fee using Passport America. The campground has 24 full hook up sites (50, 30, 20 amp, water, sewer), restrooms, shower, laundry and free Wi-Fi. All of the facilities were clean when I was here. The sites are fairly close together (maybe 20' wide), are gravel with no picnic tables, fire pit or BBQ. The Wi-Fi is decent and the Verizon voice and data connection is strong. Most of the sites are pull through and should accommodate all but the longest rigs. If you have a 40' rig with a toad or trailer you might have to unhook the toad or trailer. Just a short walk away is the gas station, Subway and Mexican fast food restaurant. There is a bit of noise from the trucks at the gas station and there is plenty of lighting that spills over from the gas station parking lot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
I like this park. You have the store out front, and it is quiet and peaceful. The store employees were friendly. I will come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
Good park for an overnight stay. Easy to get in the pull through sites. Would rate higher but doesn't have showers, WiFi, or cable TV. Have done an over night stay here twice in the last year while en route to California. Not a location for a long term stay, but can't beat it for the price for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$10
Very nice overnight park for $10.00 Passport America rate. Sites are level gravel and the park is easy to access from I-8. There are two restaurants within walking distance. I will stay here again if I'm in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$10
Rate is FHU 50 amp daily rate, with Passport America discount. Escapees get the same discount. Gravel roads and pads, almost all sites are pull through. Park is located behind a truck parking area and is all gravel, wide open with no shade. Has free dump and water. Satellite reception and Park Wi-Fi are excellent. Wi-Fi is free. Restrooms and laundry facilities are exceptionally clean. Did not notice any highway noise, nor any noise from the nearby truck parking. Because of the $9.50 rate for both Passport America and Escapees, this park tends to fill-up early in the day. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$10
For all hook-ups for $10 (escapee's discount) it can't be beat. Nice for an overnight stay. We were there at 4:00 on a Wednesday and got the 2nd to last site. Was full by 4:30. Nothing fancy but no road noise. We had trouble getting the Internet but sometimes our Mac is that way. If traveling through, would stay here again. If you don't need hookups, check out the petroglyph site west of Gila Bend. We were there the next day and it was nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$10
If this park had cable TV it would meet all my needs. They do have a cable for satellite hookup which would be great if you have satellite, and don't want to drag out a dish. Other wise, there is NO TELEVISION RECEPTION. We are here for two nights (need to do some serious cleaning inside and out) in a class A. Visited here overnight a couple of years ago. Recommend for short term. Caution, park fills up quickly need to get there early in the day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$10
Rate is FHU 50 amp daily rate, with Passport America discount. Escapees get the same discount. Gravel roads and pads. Pull through sites are wide open with no shade. Satellite reception excellent for both DirecTV and the Internet. Park Wi-Fi is excellent, and it is free. Restrooms exceptionally clean, as are the laundry facilities. Did not notice any highway noise, nor any noise from the nearby truck parking. Have free dump and water fill. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2010
$19
We checked in and were given the 2nd last available site, paid and drove in to find that someone was already in the site. The woman who had checked in before us was standing there with the same problem. The people in our site said they had been there 5 days. Went back to the store and asked for our money back. Dry camped in the truck parking area for the night for $0. Very poor system (a sheet of paper) run by a couple of kids who couldn't care if they messed it up: no apology to either of us. This is a noisy spot even for an overnight because of all the trucks coming and going, and RVs using the free dump station. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$11
Very nice place to stay for one night. The sites are long and wide, great for slide outs. The park is behind the gas station and right near the freeway access, but there is very little highway noise. Nice level well marked gravel spots. Wi-Fi is good and free. The check in lady at the Shell station was friendly and efficient. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$11
As everyone else below says, this is a great place to stop for a day or two. Nothing but the basics, but very well done and great access. I highly recommend this park, especially for $11 (Passport America). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$11
Very nice level gravel sites. We had good cellular and satellite signals. Pick a site and pay prior to hook up at the Shell station. Little highway noise. Price is Passport America with tax. Easy access from I-8. Great deal for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$11
This is a Passport America park. Great little RV park with no frills except it did have a very clean laundry room with four washers and 4 dryers with a large long table to fold your clothes. Washers are $1.00 and the dryers are 75 cents. Power was very good, but the water pressure wasn't the greatest, so we used our pump. Wi-Fi is free and worked well; never lost a signal. We were worried that the I-8 would be noisy, but it wasn't; got a good night's sleep. Perfect little stopover and will stay here again when traveling through. I would have given this park a 10 if the water pressure was better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$10
Great little gravel campground. Met friends there after coming back from Rocky Point, Mexico. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$20
Great over night stop on the shortcut between I8 and I10. Great hookups with level sites. Fuel, convenience store and Subway Mexican Food nearby. Just pull in a vacant site and go to the convenience store and register before you hookup. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$11
This was a fine spot for an overnight while on the road traveling. Far enough off the road to not hear the traffic. Sites were level and roomy. Power was 120 Volts and was steady. We would not use this campground as a long time stop over due to it's location out away from civilization. Did not use the on site restaurant. Refueled at their fuel stop which was convenient and clean. We would stop here any time we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$15
The park had very level, gravel, pull-through spots. The site was long enough to leave the truck hooked up to the Fifth Wheel. We had full hook-up. The laundry room was nice. There aren't a lot of luxury items, but we stayed here for one night and it served the purpose. You can't beat the price. It is close to the Shell Gas Station and a large convenience store. There is a restaurant next door too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com