223427 User submitted reviews online!!
North Toledo Bend State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (318) 645-4715
CGID6578

North Toledo Bend State Park

Camp Information
Sites
63
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$11



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   10   6   9   9   8   9   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$11
Rate reflects senior pass discount for resident. Beautiful Park, clean and quiet while we were there. There are many unlevel spaces here and some trees that might make trouble for larger RV’s Water pressure was good and electric was steady. Don’t watch TV ourselves, but imagine those trying to get satellite would be difficult. Wi-fi worked fine for us, restricted but nothing major. Staff was friendly and helpful. Laundry room was clean and free, but washes and driers were a bit worn. Would have rather paid a price and had better equipment. There is a pool here but it’s seasonal and wasn’t open the few days we spent here. Rather hilly, easy enough to walk, but challenging for bicycles. Only drawback we had to this park was the incredible walk to drop your trash. It’s over a mile one way from some of the campsites to the dump station where the dumpsters are located. We found this very frustrating and disappointing. Would have thought they could have found someplace a little closer in to the campsites. Often we ended up driving to the dumpsters as it was dark or later in the evening. Don’t like to put trash in the car, for that we have to remove a point from them. We would probably stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$22
This park is lovely, especially in the fall when the leaves are changing. Texas state parks could take a lesson from Louisiana state parks. They have put serious thought into the layout at this park. All sites are 45 feet long, paved, level, and have a small gravel area to park your tow vehicle or toad in. Also the pad area is free of trees so slide outs, single or multiple, are not an issue. Also you can book by site number, which is very nice for future visits. We used the FREE laundry facility which was very nice and clean. The park has a few trails, and we enjoyed them, and our boys enjoyed riding their bikes and skate boards on the nice, gravel free roads in the park. We did not use the pool since it was closed for winter, but it was very large and looked well maintained. The fishing piers were nice, but a few were not usable since the lake is still a little low. Be sure to bring everything you need; the nearest Walmart is 20+ miles away, and the Zwolle grocery store is a little on the expensive side. Also, bring bottled water to cook and drink with. We found the fresh water supply to have a flavor we didn't particularly care for. The only possible way to improve the park is to add sewer to the sites. If they do that it will be a 10. We will be returning to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
This is a great park. We came to swim and spend family time. The sites are spacious, shady and level. Has friendly staff, clean restrooms with A/C. Ice is a a buck per bag at the office, and they have a clean laundry. Overall I highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$24
This park is nice to stay in if you are planning on fishing the whole time; however, if you want to bike ride and hike on trails with your children, this may not be the park for you. The only playground is not near the camping spaces but near the boat launch which is off the main entry road. There is a swimming pool but it is not just for campers. The "locals" come and swim here. They were pretty rowdy and not under control even though there are life guards on duty (pool hours are 10-6). The life guards and park staff acknowledge that there is a problem but will not do anything to resolve it. The lake is super low so we were unable to fish from the few available fishing piers. There is no beach area and very few hiking and biking trails. The bath houses were very nice and very clean. Again, if you want to do nothing but fish in your boat-this is the place for you; if you are more of a biking/hiking person-then go to South Toledo Bend State Park for the trails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$22
Very friendly and helpful people, the lake was extremely low. It looks like some of the marinas are hurting do to this. A burn ban was in effect at this time. The park was very clean, the trash disposal was a good bit away but not a pain to get to. The Wi-Fi worked ok, worked better at night. I would recommend this park to anyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$12
The friendliest country people you ever met run this place. They treated us like family! This is my favorite type of camping: secluded, wilderness camping; but this place a great pool, clean, modern facilities like a laundry room showers, bathrooms conveniently located we loved this place. I can't wait to get back here again!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$9
Beautiful, private, spacious, paved shady sites. Lake is great for boaters. Large park, need transportation to really get around in it. Very remote, faint and sketchy cell phone service. Laundry at main office near pool, not near campsites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$16
Great state park with real shady and private sites. Sites generally have the back section real shaded, with maintained limestone trails leading to the bathhouses and most sites were level. Friendly staff and hosts did a good job of keeping thing clean. There is a nice pool with pool furniture and lifeguards. The only disapointing things were the time the pool closes 6:00 pm and the kids would have also liked a playground in at least one of the campground loops. There is also a limited water view of Toledo Bend Lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$12
This is our second favorite park. Very wooded. Plenty of hiking trails and fishing. Has a pool open during the summer. Kids like it. Very peaceful. Friendly staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$18
Nice place with lots of trees, clean bathrooms and nice pool. Long entrance to the park off the main road is very twisty. Nice place overall, older but very nice state park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com