224371 User submitted reviews online!!
Mesa Regal RV Resort (55+ Park) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (480) 830-2821
CGID6594

Mesa Regal RV Resort (55+ Park)

Camp Information
Sites
2005
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   8   7   9   5   7   6   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$28
First time in a LARGE snowbird campground. But we thought it was good. In fact, it was a great experience. The other 'residents' were one of the most friendly groups we have ever experienced. Resort had more amenities than we have ever seen. Two great pools and lots of activities. Sites were a bit close but not as close as some we have had. Neighbors were great and I liked the individual trash and recycle bins. Two laundry rooms made it great. Never had to wait for a washer or dryer. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$39
The staff were very nice. Everyone at the park was friendly and the grounds were clean and neat. We will be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$22
The rate cited reflects a Passport America discount. With over 2,000 sites, this is probably the largest of the Mesa geezer parks. Like the others, navigating the interior roads and getting into the sites can be a challenge for big rigs, but we always manage. All of the facilities were in perfect condition; nothing looked worn or poorly maintained. I was surprised to see voltage fall to 110-112 VAC under load, but it never fell farther. The staff and seasonal/permanent residents were all very friendly. Park Wi-Fi was either invisible or extremely slow from our site. There was strong Verizon 4G data service. There are only two small off-leash dog areas, one at each end of this large park. Two laundries; one requires use of a card you have to buy for $2.00 (which you can buy ONLY with an old-style $5.00 bill) and the other takes quarters but has no change machine, nor did the office have quarters. While cable TV is not available for transients, if you park there for a while the cable company will hook you up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$25
We stayed here with Passport America rates. There is NO cable for RV'ers unless you are going to be here for a longer time than a week or two, then you have to contact the cable company to connect it. They advertise WI-FI, BUT, it is lousy. You can get it in the computer room near the office but that is intermittent also. There are several towers throughout the park, but none strong enough to give you internet more than a few minutes, and it disconnects. There are many activities, a great pool and jacuzzi area, and the showers and restrooms have just been redone and are beautiful, BUT design is very poor. The water from all the showers just runs out over the floor between showers and toilets. The showers have light water pressure. They were done about a week before we came and some of the vinyl paper is already pulling off the wall in the shower areas, curtain rods in the showers are falling down, etc. The floors are slippery in the shower area so you need rubber sandals, etc. The staff is friendly. There are several comfortable seating areas out around the courtyard and is quite an attractive place. We would come here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$39
Pros: Park amenities are wonderful – activities of all kinds, two large pools, two medium sized pools, two hot tubs, exercise room, library, happy hours every night at the main pool, hair/nail services on-site. Nice, updated facilities, well maintained. When staying at one Cal-Am property, you may use facilities at other Cal-Am properties. Cons: Tight fits to get into spots, but once in, there’s enough room. Strangest dog rules we’ve ever encountered in 10+ years of RV’ing. Although they have two okay-sized dog areas, they’re not grass. There are only certain streets which dogs may be walked, which creates a very “for” & “against” dog feeling all over – created a lot of tension among residents & visitors. Neutral: Many park models, which we do not mind, but some people do mind. Large (2005 sites) – again, not an issue for us, but some may feels it’s too large of a park for them. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2012
$39
This is a huge RV resort in Mesa, surrounded by other large resorts, which hosts both RVs and park models, some of which are quite old. Most guests stay for several months, if not the entire winter season. This is really not a one night stopover park. Despite a recent facelift in community area, the park is getting old and starting to look seedy. Streets are narrow, making it hard to get in to sites. Grapefruit trees are great but make it hard to park in many sites. Occasional free beer at happy hour sometimes causes problems with conduct and hospitality. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$15
Very tight for a 40 foot motorhome. Probably the most difficult back-in we have had for several years. Once in, it's an OK place. A lot of park models but still a reasonable amounts of RV's. We enjoyed the warmest swimming-pool ever. It has to be said that we still prefer the adjacent Cal-Am park named Val Del Oro, but yes - we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$55
OK place but filled with older somewhat dated park models. The place is typical of mega parks in the east valley. Also if you are over 40ft there is limited space. Mostly, dusty gravel sites along the wall for the bigger rigs. This is also the most noisiest area. Some scorpions are about so watch where you reach or walk, especially after sundown. The check in staff are a bit indifferent. Maybe this is the result of young people serving us older folks. Once you find the friendless then all is great. There are a lot of amenities though and the residents are very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
Not for the faint of heart! If you don't know how to handle backing your rig into tight spots stay at another Cal-Am park such as Valle Del Oro. If you can park along the north wall there is more room. We watched a newby spend two and a half hours trying to get into his site. He buried the trailer in a fruit tree. When the park is full of Canadian snowbirds from January through March it is very tight everywhere. They like to park their cars on everyones site but there own. The park model crowd do not respect the RVer's spaces. Activities and facilities are good and there is plenty to do if you want to join in. They get some good show talent in season. The dog situation is awful when the park is full. There are two small dog parks at either end for 2005 spaces. Our dogs were unable to make it to them to take care of business so empty sites were used. But when the park is full it gets tough! You will be turned in to the office by snowbirds if you come near their sites! Since most RVers travel with pets this makes the pet rows most uncomfortable. Again if choosing Cal-Am, try Valle Del Oro. It's newer and allows more room for getting in as well as separation between RVs and park models. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$40?
This was an amazing "city" in itself! A bit cramped as far as each space, and not much in the way of 'off street' parking when residents had visitors, but the spaces were nice, and there are a LOT of amenities. I spent a lot of time exercising in the pools, and we visited with a lot of the friendly people there. We especially liked that there were two large enclosed dog areas where our Brittany & Cavaliers (spaniels) could play with their new friends. The Wi-Fi, however, was a sore point: hot spots did not include where we were, so I had to take my laptop to their computer lab to connect - that was frustrating and inconvenient. Centrally located to a lot of activities and shopping, but not noisy. Overall, we did enjoy being there for nearly two weeks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2011
$16
If you are searching for the 80+ year old Canadian and upper midwestern snowbirds, look no further! Mesa Regal is mostly park models, with the few unsold lots they rent to RVs. Each lot has two grapefruit trees located on either side of the pad, so you will scratch your RV backing in. Each park model encroaches into the adjoining RV lot, so you risk damaging the awning struts or light pole of the adjoining park model. All the streets are narrow, which impedes maneuvering a fifth wheel towed by a long bed truck. The office staff makes no attempt to find a lot large enough to accommodate your rig, as they care only about how much work they have to do to set up electrical billing on the lot. The snowbirds ignore you, since they already belong to their clique of friends. The Wi-Fi is in name only. One good thing about Mesa Regal is that it is located across the street from Superstition Ranch Market, which sells fresh fruits and vegetables at very reasonable prices. Rate is monthly excluding electric, sewer and trash. We won’t stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2011
$20
Stayed here one week using PassPort. Very nice park, friendly people. They have off leash dog runs which were very clean and gave our dog lots of fun, exercise and a chance to socialize. Some sites are a little tight to get into, but the park has someone you follow to the site and help you back in. Paid the PassPort rate for one week with no extra fees. Used my credit card. Every site has a trash and recycle container on it. Lots of activities mostly geared to the seasonal guests. I would definitely come back when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$22
Very nice park with a plethora of activities. We will be returning here next winter. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and the park is beautiful and very well maintained. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2011
$25
This is one of those parks you either love or hate. The only thing previous reviewers didn't mention is that the park-wide Wi-Fi system is useless. It's so overloaded that you can never connect. But if you're willing to walk/drive to one of two libraries, you can connect easily. We used the Passport rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2010
$50
This park is huge and mostly park models. Most park model people do not want RVers around, so not the greatest atmosphere. There are many activities so you can be kept very busy if you want to and the park is conveniently located to shopping access. Some of the lots are wide but very hard to get into because the streets are very narrow and there are fruit trees on each corner. We couldn't get our door open all the way because of the tree and had to wrap the door to keep the paint from being scratched by the branches. The man in the park model behind us was very particular about how close we parked to his unit so we were unable to move back the 6 inches it would have taken to clear the tree. It wouldn't have made any difference to the rear access of his place. Because it is so hard to navigate, be sure your propane tanks are full because Mesa does not allow propane delivery to your RV. I say there is access for 40 foot rigs, but it is tight and you should check out the site before you commit to it. There is now a charge for water and sewer and garbage and all power is metered, including daily rates. There are many activities, but I didn't find one that wasn't an extra charge. I wanted to use the sewing room cutting table to cut out a large piece of fabric but was told it would cost me $15 to belong to the sewing club and only members could use the tables. You must buy your name tag even for relatively short stays and there is no refund. They only take checks and money orders for rent so don't expect to use cash or credit card. We don't use checks and it wasn't mentioned when we phoned to get a spot, so it came as quite a surprise and we had to scramble to find a way to pay. The office staff is without a doubt the worst we have encountered in the 13 years we've been on the road. I don't know if that is the way they are naturally, or if Cal-Am trains their staff to be like this. I won't be finding out because this is the last time I ever stay at a Cal-Am park. When we checked in we were given the total cost for the 2-1/2 months we would be here and we paid it and our receipt gave the in and out dates and the total and that it was paid. A month later I went in to pay the utility bill and was told they didn't charge enough and they wanted another $150.00. I pointed out that my receipt said I was paid up but the clerk couldn't (wouldn't) do anything about it so the next month I talked to the office manager. The reason for the delay was the holiday season. She also said that we just hadn't paid enough and they wanted more and that our rent was only paid up to that day and if we wanted to stay to the date I originally had asked for we had to pay the extra money or leave. She obviously had been coached and had her mind made up long before I arrived. I had plans already made so we couldn't leave so we had to pay the extra cost. I am quite sure that legally I didn't have to because my receipt clearly stated that I was paid up but I had no idea how to fight it, so I paid. NEVER EVER will I come back to this park and strongly advise that if you do decide to come here that you get everything in writing and don't assume that a paid in full invoice means anything to these people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2010
$46
Now, I know lots of people love this place, but it just wasn't our cup of tea. We were staying 3 nights and there was no separate area for overnighters. We were wedged in between park models. Way too tight. Dog run area smelled to high heaven and the dog restrictions on walking (limited to only a few streets) were tight. Thank goodness we found the back exit and a place to walk the dog along a canal. My biggest beef is that overnighters need their own area. Trash disposal was over 1/2 mile away. Showers and laundry were too far away to be practical. Folks were so nosy as to be constantly commenting on our "late hours" (we returned 8PM each night because we preferred to be anywhere but that park). We would never stay here, (or in Mesa--very depressing area) again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$16
We stayed here six months as workampers and loved it. (The nightly rate reflects the six month rate including trash and water but not including electricity.) It is true that it can be difficult to back into some of the sites if you have a large rig. We managed to squeeze our 37' MH in between a lamppost and grapefruit tree and thoroughly enjoyed our space with a double concrete pad. There is a very reasonably priced coin-operated laundry at the west end of the park as well as a card operated one near the east end. Dog walks at both ends of the park are clean, well kept and do not smell. Many, many activities, great pools and excellent restrooms and showers. The on-site grill-style restaurant is very good with ample portions at good prices. A wonderful, cheap, fresh market is right across the street: we bought pineapples for 49 cents! No cable TV, but very good local reception with antenna. We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$18
Large but with three entrances, one is going to be nearby. Great location. Beautiful facilities that are well maintained. People are friendly and happy to be here. We would definitely stay here again. We had no problem backing into a space that is 35 feet wide. Each site has a grapefruit tree on it. My only wish is that there was a table for eating on the site. We came using a Passport America rate and then got a special rate for the next 45 days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
The back-in sites are hard to access here. The facilities were very clean. They have a great lap-pool and the showers were spotless. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2009
$35
Will not return again after our third visit. Huge price increase, plus new added charges $22 for garbage pickup and $11.00 for sewer. Fewer activities, and WiFi and has not been improved as they promised a year ago. Park growing seedy around the edges, and seems somehow dirty. Many fewer RV's visiting this year and many more used park models for sale. More than the economy would seem to indicate. Park model owners seem to be unhappy, and upset. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$40
This is very nice RV Resort, mostly park models, with a great hot tub and swimming pools and lots of things to do. The sites have plenty of room with good concrete patios if you can get in; we were put between a lamp post and tree on a narrow street which made it very difficult to get in and out! The second week we were here we had a new bicycle stolen from our site and then found out we were not the only ones, so from then on we had to be sure everything was locked up. There rates are deceiving, be sure and check out all the add-ons, sewer, trash, water, $2.00 for a badge etc. We stayed here in a 5th wheel and will find a different place next time; actually you’re here for “valley of the sun”. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$22
Used our Passport America card what a bargain. Spots are a little tight to back into for big rigs but once in plenty of room. No cable but good TV reception. This might be a location I would spend a month or longer in. Oh by the way this is a 55 plus facility. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2008
$22
This park is not set up for big rigs. We have a 37 ft. fifthwheel, pulled by a medium duty truck. We had a terrible time trying to get into a site. The first site we tried had a lamp post on one side and a grapefruit tree on the other. The tree was going to scratch the side of the trailer and the concrete base of the lamp post would have taken out the other side of the trailer. The grapefruit tree, on the other side of the road, ripped off our phone antenna on the truck. So, they sent us to another site, which wasn't much better. To not hit the grapefruit tree, we had to put the wheels of the trailer up over the curb, breaking off our mud flap in the process. This park will not accept anything less than 22 ft and, actually, that is about the size of trailer that should be in here! Numerous park models and no separate area for trailers or overnighters. Also, we paid the Passport America rate of $22.50. But, our Passport book stated the nightly rate was $17.00. The checkin person said that we must have an old book because their rates went up $5.00 this year! We just got this Passport book in 2007. We would have left after ripping off our antenna, but we had paid $75.00 for 3 nights and couldn't get our money back. So, big rigs take note! This is not the park for you. We will never stay here again. We just hope that we can get out of this site without doing anymore damage to out trailer or truck. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$27
This is a great place for snowbirds with many activities to keep everyone busy. The majority of the park is occupied by park models. The size of the sites was ok, but the actual parking area was the narrowest we've ever had to back the motorhome into. We had a concrete patio on one side and shrubbery on the other. The streets are narrow, and there are many obstacles if you are trying to maneuver a large rv around. During the week we were there we saw a motorhome hit a lamp post and heard about someone scratching the side of their trailer on one of the fruit trees that are on each site. The laundry room is not short-term friendly. Machines are operated by a card you purchase and load with cash. Use a laundromat in the neighborhood instead of wasting your money on a card. Even though this is a nice resort, we won't stay here again because of the difficulty in maneuvering the motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$45
While this park has an incredible number of activities and amenities, it gets a reluctant 8 rating from us. It's too big (over 2000 sites) and jammed full with park models and trailers to rate higher. RVs seem like an afterthought. Snowbirds here have the usual cliques and don't care about newcomers or visitors, although the dog owners are friendly as they gather in the little community dog park that stinks. Big warning: the water quality is atrocious, over the EPA level in contaminants. There is a RO machine for drinking water jug refills. Rates are high here, supporting the nice computer lab, billiards, crafts, library,pools and spa,post office, theaters, etc. It's like a self-contained city! PA half-price rate is available for one week ($22.50 daily plus fat AZ tax) but staff can only lead you to a site, not help back-in. Sites aren't very deep but seem wide enough, with a concrete patio. Ask to be near the buildings that you want, since the amenities are split into 2 different areas. Location is convenient since there's a path to Fry's and shopping centers. Area was usually quiet inside the walls, though private planes fly over daytime. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
This park is excellent. If it hadn't been for us having to get back on the road we would have stayed longer. Great park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$18
An urban park with all the amenities. Five pools, a theatre, pool tables, music room, poker room, a restaurant and much more. Not a wilderness setting. Over 90% of residents are seasonal. No picnic tables or fire pits. Each site has an orange or grapefruit tree bearing fruit. Sites are 35' wide. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$19
This is an over-55 RV and Mobile Home Park. We got the off-season rate using a Passport America membership. Rates are double in the peak season and discount is limited to 7 days. There were many RV's including 5th wheels and motor homes using the park on a short term basis. Sites were spacious but are designed to hold a mobile home so leaving your tow vehicle hooked up for an over night stay is not possible. Streets were reasonably wide but backing in is a bit of a challenge with mobile homes across the street and a grapefruit tree on each lot. Staff were quite helpful. The park is very pleasing to the eye with lots of trees and flowers. The facilities are exceptional, especially the pools and spas which we used extensively. There are two pools areas, both with pools and spas. Total of 4 pools and 2 spas in two locations. Shaded areas around the pools was very limited but there were lots of chairs and lounges. Restrooms were very clean and spacious. The laundry rooms were very large and clean, the best we have seen. Telephone and cable are available for long term stays only. Internet is free but some sites have marginal service. There is a computer room with 39 computers and space to hook up your laptops directly using the ethernet cable. There is both a hair salon and a barber shop(open October to April). This is an excellent park as long as you realize it is mostly a mobile home park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2007
$36
The park was clean. Many barking dogs. The pool, laundry and other amenities closed early for the night. Wi-Fi didn't work unless you were at the main office. I was so surprised with the fighting among the residents. I liked having the fruit tree in the front of each RV. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$35
This was one of the nicest parks we've stayed at. It had all the amenities one could want plus it was within walking distance of grocery stores, a wonderful produce store, a drug store and many other shopping opportunities. Also very convenient to malls in the area. There are so many things to do right in the park you really never have to leave. The sites are very large and concrete so it is very clean and each site has a grapefruit tree. The office staff are the friendliest and most accommodating we dealt with all winter. There are many park models but the residents are also very friendly. We stayed here for two months. The wi-fi was very unreliable. This is an over 55 park but children are allowed short visits. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2007
$35
Staying here is like being in a friendly little city, with lots of snowbird residents in park models, and numerous RV sites. It's a Cal-Am Property, with over 2,000 sites, so all sites are pretty close together. Our site was on the outside perimeter of the resort, backed up to the high cement wall that surrounds the entire property. That meant that our bedroom was only a few feet away from a 6-lane surface road, University Drive, which is very heavily traveled. I just couldn't take the noise but Cal-Am let us transfer to Canyon Vistas Resort out in the desert. If you can get a site that isn't up against that perimeter wall, it would be quite comfortable. Security is good, amenities and activities are terrific. The people in the office were good, but not as friendly and helpful as the folks at Canyon Vistas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com