206926 User submitted reviews online!!
Ocean Mesa Campground at El Capitan was rated 8 out of 10 based on 70 user reviews. Phone: (805) 879-5751
CGID6601

Ocean Mesa Campground at El Capitan

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$95



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   9   10   9   9   8   7   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$95
This is a lovely campground, close to Santa Barbara. It is overpriced for what they have to offer, but presumably that is due to the location. It is close to the freeway so somewhat noisy, and there are LOTS of kids on the weekends using the pool. They also allow tent camping, so there are a lot of young people who are loud and partying, and they do not monitor the noise. When we were there, we were unable to use the pool or the hot tub because there were several young men playing games in the pool. Several people complained but nothing was done. That being said, if you stay at a time off-season, perhaps it would be quieter. It is a pretty campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2014
$67
The only reason this is rated at a 6 is because its outrageously expensive for a park that sits right on the freeway with all night traffic. If you are deaf, it's fine. The sites are wonderful cement level pads with a side pad for the truck. Easy hookup to w/e/s and cable TV. WIFI is fast. This is NOT in Santa Barbara or any city for that matter. A good 1/2 hour from SB. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$45
Couldn't come up with one bad thing about the park. Rack rate is steep, but you do get to see and smell the ocean. Restrooms and laundry spotless. Maybe the wash ($2.25) and ice ($2.97) could have been cheaper. Excellent heated pool and hot spa. Staff very nice. Our price ($45 a night, max 5 days) was the winter special, which we fully paid for last August. If money was not an issue, we would stay here again. Excellent place to start out full time life We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$95
With a short walk to the beach, this park is very close to perfect, and for the price I would expect nothing less. The pool facilities were very clean. It seems that the best sites for ocean view are the back in sites at the top of the hill. The only draw back is the road is a little narrow and backing in a longer trailer can be entertaining for your neighbors to watch. We will certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$85
We stay at this park anytime we pass through the area. Recent stay confirmed the overall rating - only thing negative is the price, but what can you do. The park is top notch. Short walk to beach. Good restaurant within walking and pool/spa makes this park a good stop for several day stay, if you want a view of the ocean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$90
We have stayed here several times. The spot we stayed in was a little tight for out 2 slides and parking our toad. The area around our Motorhome could have been a little cleaner. We had a little bit of an ocean view which was nice. They were helpful sending us to a good restaurant. It it easy to get in and out. About 5 miles to the grocery store. They are very friendly and kids are welcome. We have made reservations for New Years. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$95
Our original plans were to go to Oregon for vacation but due to the wild fires we had to make a last minute change of plans. Have stayed at this park twice before, but not in summer. The park was very busy; too many barking dogs and I am not a dog hater (I have 4) but don't take them camping. I wish they would enforce the adult swim hours from 9pm - 10pm. El Capitan State Beach was awesome; the kids had a great time. The weather was perfect. Will go back this winter when the rates are lower and it's less crowded. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$90
Great park with a sister park walking distance away. State beach was a downhill walk, which meant an uphill climb coming back. But beautiful nonetheless. All was good with one exception of having an anthill on our friends site, which unfortunately invaded both our trailer an our friends rv. They were all over the grounds including the washrooms. Staff was aware of the problem and provided us with non toxic spray. This would definitely be something they should get a handle on and perhaps had offered a discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$90
Great campground, huge sites for bigger rigs. Very clean and helpful staff. During summer weekends tends to have a lot of kids and it might be a little loud, but we have kids so they were probability part of the noise. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$90
This campground is 15 miles north of Santa Barbara near Goleta. This is our 4th time here though the first time in summer. It is right on 101, so the traffic noise is pretty loud if you happen to have a lower site, which we did. That said it is a very well maintained campground with friendly staff. In the summer it is packed. Nice pool and hot tub area, but they close it at 10:00 PM and are pretty aggressive about it. Totally unnecessary. It should be open until 11pm, so adults have some time in the pool without kids. What's the harm? Short walk to beach. They also own El Capitan campgrounds next door so you can walk down the trails to that location which has a really good restaurant and store. Ocean Mesa is expensive, but that's CA. Highest rates in US. We would definitely come back. I am giving them an 8 for the pool hours only. Otherwise a 9. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$70
Stayed here last March (not Spring Break) and gave it a "10". Still a great park but the staff did not enforce the pool rules and "Laundry" rules. My grand kids LOVED the place; spent most of the time in the pool with other spring breakers and enjoying the tide pools. The spring wildflowers were beautiful and I came face to face with a mountain lion on one of the trails behind the park. Will be back but not in the summer or spring break. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$63
Nice park. Winter rate reflects Good Sam discount for ocean premium site. Clean park with modern facilities and dog friendly. Park is close to beach (short walk) and canyon hikes. Somewhat isolated, but nice stars at night. Convenient to deli with well stocked supplies. Will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$40
We took advantage of a deal where we got half off nightly rates if we booked several months in advance and prepaid our stay. We had never been to this campground and we really like the area. I received an email confirming the reservation but the quoted rate was full price. I called the campground and was told it was a computer glitch and my card would be billed the correct amount. I didn't think about it again until the day before the reservation. OK,,,long story short. This is a holiday weekend (MLK) and the discount was not offered. I explained what I was told and they did give me the discount. The park staff was very pleasant and accommodating. The campground was very clean and very well kept. We stayed in the pull through sites. You get a slight view of the ocean from most sites. The sites are a little tight on the sides and barely long enough for our 37' trailer. (unhitched) This campground is not in, nor close to Santa Barbara. (~20 miles) There is not a lot of places to walk a dog except in the park. There is a nice dog run though. Overall I liked the place. I do not think it's worth the regular price ($70/night) I would stay here again if I got a reduced rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2012
$63
This is probably the nicest RV campground we've ever stayed at. Gorgeous views, nice facilities, great hookups, level concrete sites, good service—it doesn't get any nicer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2012
$75
This park was nice for the first part of the visit, pretty empty in fact. The park started filling up towards Veterans Day which brought campers who did not keep their animals properly contained (loose, long tie-outs that allowed animals to come out into the road at children and other animals passing by) and it became apparent to us how close the campsites were as our neighbor campers built a fire in the fire ring just below our bedroom slide out, which was way too close. In addition, the day we were leaving, my husband went to unhook our utilities when our neighbors had tied their dogs out so close to our unit their dogs came aggressively at him as he went to unhook and he was obviously standing on our camp spot pad, not in their camp site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$60
This park is well done. Sites are clean, flat, and relatively easy to get into. The staff is friendly and helpful. At our site one leg of the 50 amp service was dead. Told the clerk at the desk, and she sent a repair guy out within a few minutes. Down side is the freeway and train noise mostly when outside the trailer. Dog friendly as long as you stay inside the park. Walking paths go out from the park, but dogs are not allowed on the trails. All attractions are at least a 30 minute drive from the park with the exception if El Capitan State Beach which is just about a mile away ($10 entry fee). Wi-Fi was available but at some sites the signal was blocked by trees. The office staff said they are working on overcoming that issue. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$90
Beautiful clean campground. A bit pricy though. Not clear why it has to be that expensive. We stayed on many places of the same quality for half the price. It has a nice swimming pool and on a walking distance of 15 minutes you will find a great beach with seals and dolphins. The restrooms and showers are spotless. Great place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$90
Excellent campground. Only thing better than the facility are the personnel. Stayed 8/5 to 8/10, site 811 in tent trailer. Weather great, quiet, away from cities but close enough when needed. Beach close and access easy, pool on site, small store, great scenery on Gaviota Coastline. Great place to just hop in car and follow those side roads you have always wanted to checkout. Planning to return soon. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$90
First of all, this campground is not in Santa Barbara, it is about 6 miles north of Goleta. That's not really a problem because, for that area, it's about the only game in town if you want to stay at a decent place with all the amenities, near Santa Barbara. This is a really nice RV park and I have only two complaints. First, the Wi-Fi lacks bandwidth and quickly becomes unusable. My other complaint is the cost. $90 a night: seriously?? I have yet to find an RV park that is worth that! That being said, we will most likely stay here again because, as I said before, it's a really nice RV park. The sites are paved and roomy, it is well-maintained and the staff is friendly and helpful. And, at the risk of repeating myself, it's really the only game in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$120
Overall not a bad park but the first impression was not very good. They are pretty lax on the rules so when you pull in, there are towels and clothes hanging off of everyone's RV's and tents. Not terrible but again, the first impression is more like a big camp site by a lake instead of an RV park. The pool and spa were great but CROWDED. There is a large tent section at the park filled with families and EVERYONE was in the pool. Grant you, our stay was on a weekend in the summer. I'm sure it is normally not that bad. The walk to the beach is about a mile, no dogs allowed on the sand unfortunately. I would stay here again if it was part of a longer trip but I certainly would not make it a destination. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$90
This is a very nice park but not worth the price. It is a very long walk downhill to the beach (if you drive you'll have to pay $10 day use fee). Spaces are tiered on a slope, concrete with tables, and fire rings. Some landscaping (small shrubs & trees) between. Nice dog run. Clean restrooms, small laundry room. Lots of kids. There is a separate tent area that looks very nice but spaces are close together. There is also a resort at the bottom of the hill associated with this campground that has a store and deli that serves breakfast and lunch. They also have bicycles that campers can borrow. The nearest town (Goleta) is 10 miles away; Buellton/Solvang is 20 miles north, Santa Barbara 20 miles south. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$90
Ouch! Pricey, at $90 per night. But if we don't ding them for that, we loved it. Birdsong, beautiful vistas. Many sites are NOT level, so be forewarned. Immaculate bathrooms, and the friendly staff told us about free bikes to borrow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$90
WOW...a fairly new and immaculate camp, concrete pads, up to date hookup units, great private showers, baths, pool and spa, friendly staff, magnificent setting next to El Capitan Resort. Of the over 80 camps we have been in this year, this rates amongst the top. We made instant friends with staff and fellow campers and had dinner parties together> It was hard to leave to see wonderful Santa Barbara and other points of interest. Plus there were horses in the tent campsite next door. Leaving LA it is worth the drive past Malibu to stay here. Only two drawbacks were the expense and poor Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$70
Very nice park. Very clean and the sites are large and level. Good Wi-Fi and nice hook-ups. Fire pits at each site. Long walk to the ocean, but if you like to walk it is worth it. You can use the cafe at the El Capitan Canyon resort next door (good food). Some traffic noise from HWY 101. We would stay here again. Summer rates are a bit high, but if you want nice facilities, this is it. The staff is friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$70
I loved this park; it was spotless and quiet. Close to Santa Barbara, Solvang and fabulous beaches; great hiking trails and bike rentals. We received a winter promotion of stay two nights third night free-we paid $140 for three nights. I understand the park is very busy in the summer with lots of kids so I am not sure if I would love to pay the season rate of $90 per night. I would definitely stay here again in the winter. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$70
Nice place with wider spaces than we've encountered recently, in fact enough room to pull the car in next to the motorhome (which sits on a concrete slab). There's also ample room for a picnic table and fire ring. Additionally, there's greenery between the spaces, giving some nice privacy. The park is very clean. We didn't use the restrooms but the laundry room was clean and all three washers and six dryers were in good condition. The pool area looked good, but we didn't use it. There is some highway noise as 101 is not far away. Also, it's a hike to the beach. Office staff said a 15-minute walk and I'm a walker but it took longer than that. There are also a couple of hiking trails up into the hills behind the park. Unless you're an Olympian, go the "easy" route, but even so, you'll wonder how they define "easy." Tent sites are on the road in and are some of the nicest I've seen. Just like with the motorhome area, there's greenery between the sites and where you pitch your tent has been leveled and had a nice layer of sand put down. Clean, like the rest of the place. I think $70 is on the pricey side, especially for a campground that's not on the beach, but we had to have Wi-Fi and this seemed to be our only option around. The Wi-Fi could be stronger. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$70
Generally speaking, this is a very nice park. Sites are large and very private with shrubs in between sites. We also liked the placement of large trash cans in between sites near the road so that one could easily dispose of trash. The park is VERY clean. We were here over Presidents Day weekend, and being retirees who live most of the year in a retirement community, we simply are not used to so many children, and the noise they create. Additionally, this campground does not provide very much in the way of choices of TV stations. For $70 per night, I think they should provide at least basic cable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$70
Very impressed with this RV park. The facilities still look new. The on-site store is well stocked. The ocean view site has a concrete pad and paved parking spot for your truck or car. The site utilities are first class. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$70
We stayed here at an off season rate of $70 a night (buy 2 nights get 3rd free.) It's a good deal at that price. Would not pay full rates. The showers, pool, spa, and bathrooms were spotless. Excellent grounds keeping staff. Only about 20 or so cable channels. Good Wi-Fi reception. Nice views of the ocean, however El Capitan State Beach has much nicer ocean views with beach access. The staff was friendly, and check in was painless. Would definitely recommend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$90
Wonderful vacation spot on and off property. Clean, modern facilities, well-stocked store, well maintained, and professional staff. Everything works well and is in good condition. Very nice pool and shower facilities, laundry room, bathrooms. Fun hikes, scooter and bicycle riding for kids, and BBQ with live entertainment next door at El Capitan. RV and camp sites. Great value. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$70
Immaculate. Slight ocean view. Slow Wi-Fi and limited tTV channels. Park is beautiful and very well maintained. Wish there was a rule on yappy dogs! Large sites with fire pit, BBQ and trash can. Store/deli on site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$70
Quite pricey. We visited because we were attending a wedding at the park. Everything was clean and pleasant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$90
Number one feature enjoyed by our family was the pool. It is heated (about 80 degrees), meaning it was great even though it was only about 50 outside. The sites are not big, but they are private enough. Plenty of nice trails are around, and the beach is at most a 15 minute walk. All around a great place to spend some time, even it if is pricey. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$76
Nice but very pricey. They get $90 per night in high season. Ouch. 10 miles west of Santa Barbara. Very isolated. I was playing golf in a tournament at the Sandpiper: a great course. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$90
I must admit I like going to nice and upscale RV campgrounds that have scenic views and are in prime locations. That’s how this website lured us in. This RV campground did offer a scenic view, restrooms were clean, and the grounds were maintained, however, that was it. Most RV campgrounds offer the same if not more. Our concrete site was not level (this was the first time we had trouble leveling our RV); you could really hear the hwy noise at night, and like some mentioned, it’s overpriced. My niece came and visited with us and we had a great time. She helped us get over the shock that we paid that much for ordinary. We would come back only if they have a 'buy one night and get one night free' offer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$90
This was my second visit to Ocean Mesa and I have to say I was a bit disappointed this time. I realize that it is high season and that the campground was full while we were staying here. The site we got (850) seemed to be a general thoroughfare for the whole campground from the lower RV area to the dogpark, play park and open area west of the site. Despite asking campers repeatedly to not walk through my site, people continued to do so. There should be some type of barrier on one or both sides to prevent people from walking through ones site as common courtesy clearly no longer exists. The WiFi was non existant during our entire stay so the management really should not advertise that they have WiFi at all. Campers were VERY noisy at night and it seems that there was little if no enforcement of the quiet time rule. I hope Ocean Mesa sorts out these matters, especially when they charge the highest nightly rate that I have ever paid for a camp site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$70
We stayed at this park when our first two nearby choices were not available. We're glad we did. Our stay was so enjoyable that we will return to this park anytime we want to stay on the southern end of the central coast or Santa Barbara area. Though the rate was the highest I have ever paid at an RV park, the excellence of the facilities made it well worth it. The pool, showers, store, and restroom facilities were the best I have ever seen. We especially liked that, in addition to the regular "gender specific" stall type shower facilities in the restrooms, they have a building with large, private, "unisex" showers that the wife and I shared (to save water of course). Another treat was the access to the lodge, restaurant, and store facilities at nearby El Capitan Canyon (owned by the same business) where they have an excellent summer concert series, organized hikes, and children activities. When we want a special treat, with easy access to the dog friendly beaches and piers in Santa Barbara County, we will return here every time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$90
Great RV Park. It was easy to get in and out of. It has really nice facilities and the managers on site were very accommodating. We'll stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$90
This is the most expensive park I have ever stayed in, and feel a need to be very particular. It well run and well kept up. My site was on the small side, but mostly surrounded by vegetation. We were here in the summer. Sunday through Wednesday, so it was pretty crowded. The problems, as others say, the internet is not very good. It is ok if your site at the tables by the office, but even then it went out occasionally. While they cleaned the bathrooms a couple of times a day, they did not clean from late afternoon until about 9am the next morning. Since the park was full, that meant that the showers were pretty bad when I went to shower at 8:30 am. Also there was no toilet paper in half the booths. This would be fine at the state CG across the street, but not at $90s night. They have a no-smoking policy, which I think it great, but they don't make a big deal of it (one small sign was all I saw, and on the very long list of rules), so I saw a fair amount of smokers. Our site had several butts. Here is my biggest complaint: the adjoining resort has a no amplified music rule, but the campground does not. On our first night, there were three people around us with music loud enough for us to hear. None of them were blaring it, so it was OK with the park. It was not terribly pleasant for us to have to hear all three at one time. There are expensive rigs at this park. I have never set up around so many rigs with outdoor stereo and TV setups! As I walked around there was one RV blaring music, while the owner smoked a cigar. ICK! I wouldn't go back when it was crowded. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$90
We stayed here for a 4th of July weekend and we were apparently fortunate to get a spot due to a cancellation. The address on the site says "Santa Barbara," but it's actualy about 20 minutes North of SB, and even further North in Goleta. It is in fairly secluded area uphill from highway 101. We had upper level sites by the hill. Ocean was barely visible from our site. Good. It's clean, well maintained with nice bathrooms, showers, pool, hot tub, etc. On uppper level sites, there are trees and hedges to make them more private. Bad. It's rather expensive. Not very close to water. I think it's about 15 minute walk to El Capital state park, which charges $10 if you drive down. Sites on the lower levels are not very private and road noise from 101 is pretty noticeable. Overall, we enjoyed our stay, but would like to get the sites on the upper level facing the ocean or corner lots. The problem is that there are so many people that make reservations a YEAR in advance and cancel later because the cancellation policy is quite lenient. Upper level lots for NEXT years' 4th of July is booked up partly because ONE person reserved 10 spots. That shouldn't be allowed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$90
Disappointed with the campsite on arrival as the brochure photos depicted a more upscale site, and the sites only had peek-a-boo views of the ocean. For the price we were expecting luxury. However, our site, which was a premium site on the highest level, grew on us as the week progressed. There was a high hedge between the sites which gave us some privacy. We arrived mid-week and the campground was only half full and we had the pool to ourselves. However, the weekend it was full and it became rather crowded. Staff were helpful and the facilities were kept very clean. WiFi was sketchy and sometimes worked and sometimes didn't. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$90
We were here for 4 days. Based on ads, we thought we would be closer to Santa Barbara, but were pretty close. We also enjoyed the drive to Solvang while here. Everything was excellent, including the "Market" down the path. The avocado trees were fun: did you know they grew on trees? The Wi-Fi worked well, and the view of the ocean was nice. About a 15-minute walk to the beach. Hiking is available in the Canyon. While they stated no discounts because of the "peak" season, the days we were here the park was fairly empty. It was completely booked over the holiday weekend, though. Would we stay here again? At these prices, we may stay closer to Santa Barbara next time. (If discounts are available we would consider it: even a 10% Good Sam or multi-day discount would sway us. It's the thought that counts). The only thing that prevented a 10 was that the cement part of the site was a bit narrow for an RV with slides. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$90
What else can I say, but what a great campground. Even though the price is higher than I usually pay, it was well worth it. Nicely maintained campground, and all the buildings and services are up to date. The sister campground is beautiful, and the food at the market restaurant was great. Pizza and veggie burgers were delicious. The 11.75 mile loop hike was tough. Steep hills and not much to look at. Love this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$70
Nice park located next to 101 so there is a little noise. It has good staff and clean restrooms. Ask for the AAA discount when checking in or they will not give it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$70
Newer Park with easy pull through sites for larger rigs (ours is 43 feet). Views of the ocean from a distance. The park is VERY clean with organized dog runs. The weekend we were there, there were more dogs than normal, which led to issues. The park said since they don't charge for Pets, people have spread the word. The pool is large and clean. The Canyon Market/Deli has a great breakfast and wonderful BBQ Kits. All sites have a concrete pad, bark covered patio area with a fire pit and picnic table. Hook-ups are wonderful. Would like a little more width to the spots. Will be staying there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2009
$70
We were visiting family in the area for the Christmas holiday time. This was an outstanding find for us. Our stay was relaxing, the staff was very courteous, and the grounds were cleaned daily, (even on Christmas day). Access was easy from Hwy. 101, and the ocean views were wonderful. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$80
We travel to Santa Barbara for business a lot. We have stayed at Ocean Mesa for weeks at a time and I have felt that it is expensive. This trip was to relax and I discovered the full value of this place. It is not a place only to sleep. If that is what you plan to do that here, it will always be painfully expensive. Ocean Mesa is a place to park your RV while enjoying what they have and exploring El Capitan State Beach, El Capitan Canyon and the marvelous natural environment here. When you walk around with your eyes open and explore the area, you will enjoy the natural beauty of El Capitan State Beach. Just a short walk from Ocean mesa, the beach is marvelous and seemingly always quiet. Closer is El Capitan Canyon resort that has a wonderful appeal and a market restaurant that is very high quality. A morning walk into the canyon for coffee and a breakfast burrito is a great way to start your day. Ocean Mesa is one of the best appointed campgrounds we have stayed in. We are full time business campers and we have stayed in a lot of places. This is a top 10 for sure. The attention to detail is amazing. Between the beach, canyon and the mesa, we felt like we had been in a place designed by Disney Imagineers. This is more like a hotel stay without the funky rooms. You even pay your bill when you leave. Not an overnight place to park, but a destination for sure. Come to Ocean Mesa, spend the $80-$90 a night and make sure you experience all that they have to offer. It may not seem important, but even the maintenance people use brooms instead of a gas powered leaf blowers. :-) I know it is sort of a strange thing to notice, but we have been at ORA’s where the lawn mowers and leaf blowers are like a precision drill team designed to irritate at all cost. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$81
Sites are concrete slabs, and roadways are paved. Growing shrubs provide some modicum of privacy between sites. Lower areas, closer to #101, there is road noise. Higher on the grounds, the view of the ocean is fabulous. Very clean and well maintained. Swimming pool and hot tub were terrific. Very expensive by most standards, most likely related to its proximity to Santa Barbara and LA. Not quite a "ten" but close. Very accommodating and courteous personnel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$90
Beautiful views, but unfortunately it's just another big open parking lot, with sites right on top of each other. We stayed inside mostly, except when traveling around the area. The grounds are not very well kept up. It's a huge open meadow that would be fun for play, but its full of crab grass, stickers and weeds. Nice shower and facilities but you can find those at a hotel, for less. Although, if you want to tour the Santa Barbara area, this is an excellent choice since its difficult to find lodging at this price or availability. Down the hill is the awesome public campground at El Capitan, (without many amenities, but just lovely and almost on the beach), but that one is booked 12 months out! The Wi-Fi here was very unreliable: dropping off all the time. If you need it, camp close to the office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$90
An excellent park and service from the staff. Was well worth the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$95
This is truly a place you’d like to come and stay for a while. Too bad we only had 4 days . Proximity ( thought not physically) to US 101 and the RR tracks are an unfortunate feature that must be overlooked if you want to stay anywhere on this magnificent piece of coast line. If you don’t consider train whistle’s romantic you might be disappointed. The views are unobstructed. The facility is first class and they’ve dumped a ton of cost into this park so expect first class pricing. You do get what you pay for, most assuredly. The restaurant and store at the adjacent resort are but a short walk down the hill and the food and merchandise were good and ample. There is no dearth of hiking trails throughout the surround landscape with different lengths and levels of difficulty. There were also some bike trails although a little overgrown. All-in-all a 10 and we’d come back again We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$70
Excellent care to grounds, beautiful area, nice people in office. But for $70 off season, I would have liked the promised ocean view not blocked by the long side of a Class A on the level below. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$70
You get what you pay for! Ocean Mesa is top notch all the way. The staff are all very friendly, so helpful and just a pleasure to have a conversation with. The grounds & buildings are kept immaculant. I recommend strolling down to the Market & Deli. I will stay here again next time I am in Santa Barbara. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$99
This is a beautiful park, but too expensive. There is no internet to speak off--spotty and slow--and a lot of noise from Highway 101. There is a nice pool and hot tub overlooking the ocean. The sites are fairly close together and there are a lot of campers in tents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$70
Great staff! We came here over MLK weekend and it was packed. We've been here over the years and it's great to see they kept up. Very clean & Very friendly. Will always come back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$90
The park was very clean. There were privacy bushes between most sites. The higher sites have a limited ocean view. Not all sites have an ocean view as was stated over the phone. There is some traffic noise since it is close to highway 101. We were there over a holiday weekend so the price was higher. This is a very expensive park but was very nice and only a couple of years old. The people at the desk were very helpful. One good thing is that you can ask for a certain site and they will guarantee it. There is a lot of lighting at night so we felt very safe. The hookups were very convenient. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$90
Really nice park. We camped over labor day weekend and it was packed. Nice pool, jacuzzi and playground. Close to El Capitan. It is beautiful and you can get ocean view sites from the upper level. Definitely expensive and I'm sure we payed a premium because it was a holiday weekend. About 20 minutes back to Santa Barbara. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$90
I am here now for the night. I made reservations for the weekend, but upon arrival could not stay where the real views are. Up above. My rig was too big they said. So, for the money we decided one night would be enough. The park is clean and dog runs very clean. Just too much money for what you get. Employees are somewhat nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$90
A very nice park, but I wouldn't stay there again because of the price. Just too expensive for me. The only other negative is that they didn't enforce quiet time, and the kids started making noise very early each morning. The park photo on the Internet suggests, I think, that the sites are on the ocean. In fact, they're across the highway and up the hill. Some have an ocean view, however. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$90
Like the other reviewers, I found this to be a wonderful park. It's clean, well kept, the staff is friendly and helpful. The fenced dog run is well kept. I would have rated this park higher but for the nightly rate. I think that $90 per night is excessive. At $20 less it would be a ten. We will probably stay there again as we cannot stay as the state park across the freeway due to rig size. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$90
This park has been reviewed many times so not much to add here except the following. Price is too high for the amenities in the campground. Wifi didn't work, I asked the campground employees about it and they said that it was working. I then thought that it might be my laptop but when returning home I went to the library and it worked fine there. Probably won't return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$90
The view from our site (872) was incredible of the Pacific Ocean. We had a large pull-through site with a fire pit and full-hookups. They had live music on Saturday night (sorry to say, we couldn't make it). Although this was the most expensive campsite we have ever had ($90/night), it was worth every penny! The staff was wonderful, the facilities were clean (including laundry, pool/spa, etc.)and there is even a hiking trail. I would highly recommend Ocean Mesa and am sure we'll be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2008
$70
We just got back from Ocean Mesa, and it was a lovely experience except for two major faults. I was hoping for a quiet weekend to catch up on some work, and chose this campground since WiFi was advertised. I figured the extra cost was worth it. Much to my chagrin, there was no WiFi available. Walking up to the office I was told that they didn't know what was wrong, and although the office staff told me they had rebooted the system, I was never able to connect. Ergo, no Internet. And while the park is immaculately clean, and the view nice, $70 for one night is too steep given the amenities. I wish I could go back again, but the cost to benefit ratio just isn't there for me. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$70
This is a nice new RV park. There are nice ocean views, and the park is less than a mile to El Capitan State Beach. The spots are paved concrete with bushes that separate each campsite. There is also a picnic table and fire ring at every site. The only negative thing that we found is that there are no close restaurants nearby except for the deli at El Capitan Canyon (resort campground that is walking distance from Ocean Mesa) which was good but expensive. There is also a new play structure and an large grassy area for pets. We did not use any of the other amenities since we were just passing through. Overall, it is nice, but pricey for an RV campsite but we would still like to come back again when we have more time to enjoy it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$56
This is a beautiful RV Park. We got a great winter rate because of the 20% discount, but doubt we would stay here when the rates are $85.00: ouch. Beautiful ocean views and we lucked out with great weather. As the previous post says, there are no restaurants, et al around here some come fully stocked. Regarding their drive through spots: you must unhook your tow vehicle first. I thought this quite unusual. Otherwise a very nice park. You cannot beat the view. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$85
Brand new park in beautiful location with good views. But the rate is very high for any park and this one doesn't justify it, and they don't give any discounts. The facilities are very nice, looks like a great pool and spa, clean laundry, etc., but the place isn't finished yet. (e.g. The kid's playground structure is installed, but roped off because the space around it isn't completed yet.) The hookups and pads are concrete and brand new and the internet works great. Backing in our 40 ft motorhome was a challenge. The roads aren't quite wide enough and the 5th wheel across the street was in just the wrong place. I had to use the landscaped area to make the turn to back in. Given all the space they have to work with, the spaces are tighter than they need to be (and they should be much bigger for the price). This was a convenient stopping place on the way back north from Southern CA, but it is too expensive and not close enough to Santa Barbara (about 20 miles south), or Solvang (30+ miles north), to make this a destination site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$85
Nice clean park. We were in a space that backed up to the trees, just below the office. WiFi was good. It was the weekend and there were lots of kids. For the back-in spaces, the street was a little narrow for a big rig, but manageable. The lots are not paved or concrete, but wide. The park has fire rings and sells wood which was great. The pool area was very nice and all amenities were very clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. Nice view of the ocean in the distance and great location to visit Santa Barbara and ElCapitan Beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$45
Great park, sites were large, private, level and we had a great view. Excellent set up and worth the money. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$85
This park is definitely a VERY clean park. It is brand new, I was told that they finished it in Oct. of '06. This is by far the nicest park I have stayed in. Everything worked great, the 50 amp service, water, sewage, and evey thing else. The only reason I gave it an 8 out of 10 is because of a few things. First, the walk to the beach is a very long one. I suggest you bring bikes or a tow vehicle. Second, the rules are very tight or at least that's the feeling my wife and I got. It is more than likely because it is so new. Finally, the smell of sewage was pretty strong at times, but not that often. Once again, probably because it is such a new park. There is stuff to do with that kids. The pool was spotless as well as the facilities around it. Also in the sister property next to the CG, (El Capitan Canyon) which is a short walk, they had a band playing on Saturday night which was a lot of fun for my 2.5 year old daughter. The price is a tad on the steep side, but overall it is a nice getaway for a family. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$85
Everything you could want in a campground at 1/2 the price. Perfect location, beautiful views, terrific trails. Each campsite has a nice fire pit, although, the rustic nature of the picnic tables are not very functional. Wifi is free, and good reception, but did not work the first night. Staff was much less then helpful with this. Did I mention how expensive it is. On the other hand, it's Santa Barbara, if the state campgrounds are full, and you want the facilities of an RV resort, you just cannot beat this place. One side benefit to the price is there are many sites available without need of reservation, at least this time of year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com