206928 User submitted reviews online!!
Owl's Nest Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (785) 238-0778
CGID6673

Owl's Nest Campground

Camp Information
Sites
29
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   10   10   5   3   8   8   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
Owl's Nest Campground is the standard ALL campgrounds should strive for. This was the nicest RV Park we ever stayed in. Perfectly neat, all paved roads and sites, nicely landscaped and grass mowed. Everything worked properly, great WiFi, TV, etc. Owner and staff were "top-notch!" Bathroom and shower were spic and span! We only stayed one night due to traveling through but will certainly stay at Owl's Nest Campground again. Cannot say enough about how nice this campground is. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
This is a well-cared for small RV park with paved roadways and paved, reasonably level sites. A majority of the units are seasonal, but they seem to have a few daily sites available most of the time. I would recommend reservations to be sure. The park is centrally located for visits to Fort Riley (US Cavalry Museum), Manhattan, KS and the Eisenhower Library and Museum. Cable TV gets many stations and the Wi-Fi works well. There is also a hard line web connection in the laundry room. There is just one unisex full bath, but even with the park full there hasn't been a long wait to use the facilities. We would stop here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$15
The $15 rate reflects the P/A rate. This park is far enough off of I 70 so there is no road noise. The park is "sparkling" with blacktop drives and sites and grass everywhere else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$27
Stayed here for 3 weeks and found it to be a very nice park. There are full timers here and the short stay campers. Enjoyed the visit, made some new friends, visited the local attractions. Laundry facility is very clean. Fairly quiet park with freeway sounds being minimal. Would love to stay again if we go to the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$15
We camped here with PA in the only site that wasn't filled with long term campers. The free internet only worked for one computer, $5 if we both wanted on. The laundry is 2 & 2 and very clean. The people working here are very nice and helpful. There is a car wash next door that accommodates RV's. Short drive to town for an assortment of restaurants. Call ahead if you think you want to stop here. They need a pool! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2012
$29
We called Owl’ Nest RV Park a week prior to our arrival and were told that Passport America rates would be available if they were not full (no reservations for Passport members). When we arrived, we had to drive into the park on a very narrow entrance and once at the office we saw the “Sorry we’re full” sign. No thought to putting it our front. Getting back out of this place was a real challenge. All the campers were pretty much backed into very tight spots and appear to be homesteaders. I seriously doubt that had they had a vacancy our 40’ MH would not have fit anywhere. We have seen more spacious burger joint turn a rounds. They are close to the interstate (noise) and offer nothing for kids or pets. We went 13 miles west (towards Abilene) down I-70 and got a park with a pull through, wireless, free cable, swimming pool, good pet walk area and further away from interstate noise with our discounts (they offer several) we paid 25.20; $3.00 less than at the Owl’s Nest. We would not even consider this place for the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$29
Small park just off I-70 with associated noise. Also train tracks nearby; however, only heard 4 trains in 16 hours. Office opened intermittently, but camp host available and very friendly. Water pressure very high with a strong chlorine taste. Paved roads, narrow with some overhanging branches. Paved sites require some leveling. Wi-fi was slow but usable. Many sites taken up by long termers, but very nicely kept up. Strongly suggest calling for a reservation. Would stop here again for an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
Small park, 13 sites at the West end of JC right off I-70. Clean and well cared for. Some trees and tables at each site. Much more convenient than where we camped at Milford Lake in July. Camp host is nice girl, friendly and helpful. Sites are asphalt with small grass area at each site. Some highway noise but not bad. Both pull through and back in sites. A bit tight getting through but I did it in my 40 ft fiver. Elect., sewer, water good. Not much shopping in JC. There is a WalMart Supercenter, and auto parts stores and Ace Hardware, but any other major shopping is in Manhatton (20 miles). Good fishing at Milford Lake 10 miles away, and there is a great indoor gun range in JC for you shooters. We stayed a week. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$29
This CG is very close to I-80 so road noise can be a problem. It is clean and appears to be very neat. The bathroom/shower, which is just off the laundry room and is uni-sex, is super nice. The one road is rather narrow. Most of the sites appear to be seasonal so there are very few sites available for overnighters. I'd suggest you call ahead to reserve a site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
Very friendly campground and staff. Site is constantly improving and adding in new amenities. Very clean laundry and shower house. Easy access and convenience to interstate. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$29
Paved interior roads and sites. We got the last site. #11. A couple guys came out and told us where to park. Have screwy u shape pull thrus. A little tight for a HDT and 35 ft 5th wheel. (60 ft combo) Won't want to be an longer to try to get around. Got about 80 TV channels and did pick up some "free" Wi-Fi". Did hear a train horn a couple of times. But for sleeping, ear plugs worked fine. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$27
Newer Park with good paved roads and easy access. Close to I-70 so there is some noise but other than that, it is great overnight Park. Owners are making improvements and seem to care about their customers. Shopping and restaurants are one exit to the east. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$27
It's crowded here, but the place is neat, clean and well taken care of. The owner is personable, friendly and helpful. It's pretty close to the highway and there is a train track nearby, so adjust accordingly. The access road is well-paved and the sites are level. Electricity was fine and the water was good. I gave it a 10 because of the helpfulness of the owner. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$27
This is a very nice park. Mostly full of full-timers. We got the last spot available for a motorhome. We wanted to stay longer but no site was available for an extra couple of days. Very clean and well maintained. No shopping within walking distance. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$27
They have very few overnight spots, but they are level, paved, and pull-through. The trees are small so we could manage with a 37' fifth wheel. There were many cable channels, but they charge extra for Wi-Fi. It is easy off and on from the freeway, and they even provide boards for your jacks if you don't have any. It is an excellent overnight stop, and we will return if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$20
Great little campground for short stays. We were there for five nights. Sites clean and well maintained. Only one small bathhouse, but clean. Mostly permanents, not overly friendly. Visit Fort Riley and Eisenhower Museum, if time permits. Junction City is a great little town, but not too much to do. See the new veterans monument and law enforcement statues. We will be back, if we are ever in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$22
We stayed here overnight and would use it again. There are not very many overnight spots. Should call in advance before showing up. The office is in the building next door. Had trouble finding it. It is all blacktopped. As said, there is only one restroom shower. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$22
Most of the sites are longer term, but there are some for short term. This is a GREAT overnighter. The sites and roads are all hard surfaced and very level. All sites are full hookup with 50 AMPS. If the WIFI had a stronger signal, I would have rated it a 10 for overnighting. This is a newer campground and though small it is very clean and well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$22
This is a good place for overnight, or a week like we're doing. Lots of long term residents, but very well kept rigs (professional skirting, tidy lawns, well kept sheds, etc.) and friendly folks. Only one family style bathroom that was very clean, but never had a problem getting into it. Our rig is small, so not sure how hard navigating with a bigger rig would be, but there are some larger fifth wheels here, so it must be possible. Close to highway and train tracks, but highway noise is negligible because the highway is elevated and trains didn't keep us awake. Wifi is supposed to be for monthlies only, but my husband explained he needs to work while on the road and they added us onto their secure network. Storm shelter right next door if that becomes necessary. Cute, well kept little park, very reasonable rates and near area historic attractions. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com