214670 User submitted reviews online!!
Henderson Beach State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 105 user reviews. Phone: (850) 837-7550
CGID668

Henderson Beach State Park

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   8   10   8   9   9   5   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$33
Another successful trip to a great campground. As usual the facilities were clean and everything worked. The location is central to everything Destin has to offer but we find ourselves at the beach all day. Site #53 was a little off level but nothing major. Love the privacy of the campsites. I'm giving this a 10 because if you know going in that you will not have sewer, cable or wifi then this park meets or exceeds all other expectations. We'll be back soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$33
Very beautiful state park. Campground was clean and neat. All the sites were roomy and the roads easily accommodated my truck and 30' trailer. Bathrooms were exceptionally clean. The stroll to the beach is a bit long, but it is well maintained and well worth the effort. The beach was not crowded compared to those closer to town with all the hotels, etc. We had about 50 yards or more of beach to ourselves. We stayed here on our way from Texas to the Keys and tried to book a few nights for our return trip but it was full for the dates that I needed. Will definitely return though. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$28/
We spent 8 nights here recently. The CG is nice with paved roads and sites with pea gravel. The sites are large but most offer very little shade. The electric was good and water pressure was fine. However, as far as most FLA state parks this one is lacking. It is very small and the CG is not close to the beach. Beach is good and kept clean. The men's bath house in C/D loop didn't have A/C the entire time we were there. All other bathhouses have A/C. Destin is bit disappointing with heavy traffic and very few options. Been there; done that and won't be going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$23
Friendly and helpful welcome staff. Because they were so booked, we changed our site once during our stay. Spacious and wooded sites offering privacy. Wonderful path leading down to a beautiful and uncrowded beach with soft white sand. Modern and clean shower room, bathroom and laundry. Don't buy firewood here, our wood was non-flammable. We would plan to return in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$33
Beautiful state park in the heart of Destin. Campground is within walking distance of beach. Very large RV sites, some are pull-throughs. Sites are 50 amp and water, no sewer. Somewhat wooded so may not get satellite TV reception at all sites. Nice walking trails and boardwalk to beach. This park is the best maintained park we have ever been at. Everything is immaculate. Bathrooms were fantastic. Would have given this park a 10 if they had sewer and Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$25
We really like this camp ground. We've stayed here twice and spent about a week here each time and the next time we're in Florida we'll come back. The park is located right off the main highway in Destin (across from Walmart) but road noise is minimum, at night the sound of the ocean is louder than the traffic. There is a lot of military helicopters flying around but that doesn't bother us. Check in was quick and the office folks are very nice. Interior roads are wide and paved, sites are both pull through and back in and all of them are isolated from each other by space and landscaping. Our site was a long pull through but was curved enough that getting our 40 ft 5th wheel in and unhooked was a chore, next time I'll get a back in. The site was fairly level, voltage was good, water pressure good. Verizon signal was very strong, got about 10 TV channels over the air. Site had a picnic table and a close line kind of thing. The beach is about 2 or 3 minutes drive, white sand and blue water, beautiful! We'll be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$24
This is a great place to stay in Destin. The park is right off Highway 98, so there's a little traffic noise, but not enough to diminish the value of staying here. The sites are mostly pull-through, with a generous amount of room. Our site (22) had a fire ring, picnic table, and a double clothesline. It is a short walk to the sugar-white sand beach. The folks working here were fantastic, friendly and helpful. The front gate closes at sunset, and a keypad is used to open it after hours. The Wi-Fi antenna is on the shower house, and we couldn't use it due to low signal strength, but we had brought our own anyway. Verizon cell signal was good. This whole park is clean and well-maintained throughout. We will stay here again on our next trip to Destin. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2013
$30
This is a very clean park, big sites; each site surrounded by heavy foliage, private. There is moderate noise from aircraft flying overhead; over the air TV reception very poor. When we registered we were given a password to access Wi-Fi, but were not able to connect and stay connected. We were parked across the street from the Wi-Fi tower and signal meter showed full strength, but we were unable to connect with either of our laptops. We spoke to the girl in the registration office to ask if perhaps they could check into it. We suggested they reboot the server to try to fix the problem but she didn't seem to understand what I was talking about. It's a gorgeous park. No one else camping in the park who we talked to was able to connect. It's pretty, but noisy due to air traffic from surrounding Navy and Air Force bases close by. We chose the park because my husband does consulting and we needed to be able to access email. We had to go to Barnes and Noble and Panera Bread in town to be able to. Ordinarily would not be a big deal if they had not told us they had wifi available when we called to ask. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$24
Henderson park is by far one of the best parks my family has ever stayed at. The sites are clean, level, private, and large. You are surrounded by lush indigenous foliage. Your patio area is pea-gravel raked and kept clean by the staff. The restrooms are very clean and well maintained. This park has a laundry facility as well. There is a play ground for the children but this is not a particularly "kid friendly" park. You are in the heart of Destin and within a very short distance to plenty of kid friendly activities. The walking path to the beach is surrounded by the beautiful Florida foliage. The path is a short walk to a boardwalk that is over natural sand dunes protected by the Florida parks system. The beach is very clean and not overly crowded as it is used only by the campers of the park. Staff: The staff were very friendly. They were so kind they even gave our pet a treat. They took pride in caring for this beautiful state park. Suggestions: The park does need to improve the play area for the children. They need to provide a way to exit if you need to leave very early in the morning or late a night as they do not man the front station and the gates are locked. We had a code to get into the park but no keypad to enter a code to exit. Overall I give this park a 10 and look forward to staying again with my family. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
This is our fourth visit over the past six years and I'm happy to say that it remains a great place to camp. The restrooms and showers are still very clean, the facilities are well maintained, and the beach is beautiful as ever. A few things to mention: The playground equipment was replaced with a crumby swing set and the Wi-Fi was virtually impossible to stay connected to or even find, and we were in a site right next to the restroom where presumably the Wi-Fi antenna was located. These "issues" were hardly that as we will surely return. If they could install sewer connections and concrete slabs for all the sites I would rate it a "10." We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Very clean and well maintained. Great staff that was very friendly. Sites are large and secluded from one another. Beautiful paved paths from campground to boardwalk that leads to he beach. Can't see ocean from campground but for the price it can't be beat. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$15
Camp fee reflects disabled discount. We are local people from Milton [about 60 away] and we have camped here many, many times. I use a wheelchair occasionally and the paths and boardwalk accommodate it. I give these type of parks a very high rating because they are extremely well maintain by the 'State of Florida. They truly go out of their way to welcome their visitors. A couple of points not covered in previous posts is that if you are fortunate to get a campsite close to the restroom/shower facilities you can pick up Wi-Fi from your site. You may have to do it from your picnic table, but what a treat. Also, there are many ways to pull into there abundant sites if your 'creative!! HAVE FUN!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$30
I really cannot say anything that hasn't already been said here - but this park is WONDERFUL! Incredibly well maintained, wonderful staff and hosts, spotless bathrooms, nearly private sites due to the vegetation, and a beach that is one of the most beautiful I've seen. I have seen some comments here about the distance it is to walk to the beach, but for those that don't want to do that there is the option of driving 2 minutes to the public access section of the park and you're right at the beach. Perfect! We'll definitely stay again (and again). But book early - they tend to fill fast. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$32
This campground is a gem. We enjoyed camping here two years ago in May and are enjoying it even more in February. The main problem is that if you don’t have reservations you are not getting in. Others campers we have met on our trip tried to get in when we were here and they were turned away at the gate. The campground is in walking distance to the beach, which is beautiful, and near a Wal-Mart, restaurants and shopping. There are 60 secluded campsites with water, electricity, WiFi located in four loops. Bathhouses are clean and all have laundry facilities. The hosts work hard to keep everything clean and are very informative and willing to help with any problems. One can bike, hike on the beach or on the nature trail and nearby fishing is considered one of the best spots in the USA. It is one of the most expensive Florida State Parks but it is worth it. The day we were there the weather was great for biking, hiking and walking along the ocean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$24
A wonderful state park to stay while visiting the area. Sites are large and because of how the sites are arranged give a great deal of privacy. Clean restrooms and showers. The staff was friendly and helpful. The registration office has binoculars for lending out at no cost. Cons are no sewage hookups, wi-fi or cable, but over all a nice place to stay. We will stay here whenever in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$27
Loved this campground! The closeness to the beach is fantastic and it is so well maintained by really friendly work campers. Our site was a little strangely angled so that our 40' rig fit so tightly that we could just only open the door. There was no room to open the door and go around it, but rather you had to get on into the site then open the door. The strange part, was that bubbled inside the site was enough room for 2 enormous tent families to live in addition to the fire ring & picnic table. There are no sewer hookup's but the dump station was very conveniently located and set up very easy to navigate. Terrific location to Destin area activities and directly across the street from a Walmart Super center. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$35
This clean, neat, tiny park has had rave reviews on this website for a long time. It continues to impress us. Thousands of places in the world brag that their beach is #1. There is no #1 in world rankings for beaches but, in scoring, the beach at this park is a 10 out of 10. The sites are mostly quite large and private (some might say claustrophobic). A new Wi-Fi system is also wonderful. If you want TV, bring your satellite dish because there is no cable and no local TV. The area attracts lots of tourists so you can find here lots of shopping, restaurants, golf courses, fishing charters and boat rentals. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$30
Nights Stayed – 2 Park Overall – WOW!! What a nice RV Park. It was built in 1976 but looks brand new. I have never stayed in a better maintained park. All sites are gravel, level and secluded. There are no bad sites. RV -Type Used - 5th Wheel 28 Ft, one slide. My Site (47) – Large and very nice, completely secluded. What We Did – The beach is a 300 yard walk down a cement path through a palmetto forest. The beach has sugar white sand. Restroom –Very clean, hand soap and towels. Bath – Very clean Cell Service - Verizon worked, 3+ bars - 3G at lease Internet Access – The Park has Wi-Fi. It is free and reasonably fast. Satellite TV – Easy connection to DTV Basic Shopping – Across the street. Would I Return – Yes, GREAT BEACH PARK We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$34
My wife said that this is the best campground that we have ever been to. Everything about this place is a 10 in our opinion. Sewer hookup would be nice but not necessary. The sites are very private and large. The park is very convenient to everything. We will be back, and when we retire we want to stay longer than 4 days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$33
This campground is well managed with excellent park hosts. The restroom and shower facilities are modern and kept very clean. Hosts rake the gravel sites and clean out the fire rings before your arrival. Sites are level gravel, well spaced with good privacy. The pull through sites in the middle of the loops are very large. Beach is easily accessible across a boardwalk and is beautiful. Park is well designed and is fully ADA accessible. They even have beach wheelchairs to use. Reservations are strongly recommended as it is a very popular park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$35
Wow! This place is truly paradise. Convenient location, like being in the middle of nowhere yet you're in the middle of "everywhere." Clean campground, easy beach access (4 of them) and a super-friendly staff! No wonder it's so hard to get reservations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$15
We had been hearing about Henderson Beach State Park for a long time and were delighted to finally arrive. The sites were private, surrounded by scrub. There were plenty of sites for big rigs, as well as a few pull throughs. I just wish they would put in sewer! The site itself was level with gravel and well manicured. If there was a complaint it is that the actual beach is quite a walk from the campground across the dunes on a boardwalk. The beach itself is beautiful with white sand and turquoise blue water. The location in Destin is terrific: across from a Wal-Mart, near Publix, and many other activities like miniature golf and go carts in the area. We are already booked for next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
This is a great state park. The sites are level and private. The beach is a short walk away. I found everything as advertised and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
We loved it here! You are just a short walk or bike ride from a beautiful white sand beach of The Gulf of Mexico. We ended up staying longer then we planned to go and swim in the The Gulf. It was absolutely beautiful. We are already trying to plan a return trip for next year. Very friendly staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$33
This is another of Florida's wonderful state parks. Good paved roads and the campsites are level gravel with plenty of privacy from your neighbors. Restaurants and shopping in the area. Sprint Hot Spot worked well, clear Satellite view. No sewer hook-up but, there is a good dump as you enter and leave the park. Dogs are not allowed on the beach, but the sides of the roads worked just fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$32
Just came back from the best campground ever. Huge private sites, clean wonderful bathroom (heating and A/C), very nice paved paths and bike paths, great access to the beach (although a 1/4 mi walk), great access to beach wheelchairs for our handicapped child. I can't say enough about this place. We saw snakes, rabbits, squirrels (don't feed them), lizards...Walmart is right across the street, Publix is about 1.5 mi away. Great shopping and outlets. Great 4G service on my phone. Will be back again next year for sure. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$25
Beautiful location, we loved the boardwalk to the beach. Brand new laundry machines, clean facilities. Huge sites, close to shopping. All around awesome place! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$30
Excellent park but no sewer hook up so no 10. The bathrooms were always spotless. The showers are private with plenty of hot water. Paved walkway between camping areas provided a nice walk. Pets are not permitted on the beaches and this was a good place to walk them. Site was level and large with privacy between neighbors. Campground is in central Destin location and there is plenty of shopping in either direction. Not something of interest to me but others might enjoy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$30
This was our second trip to Henderson and we stayed for two weeks. As always this is a great campground. Sites are large and private and the two loops are small enough for all sites to be fairly close to a bathhouse. Brand new washers and dryers were installed the first day we were there and they worked very well. As usual the boardwalk to the beach and the beach area was wonderful! We noticed a little more highway noise this time but we were here two months later than last time and in time for spring break which does increase traffic considerably. Very handy to restaurants and shopping. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$30
Private sites with level gravel. Campfire rings. Laundry Facilities. Close to lots of very nice shopping, restaurants and activities on the gulf coast of Florida. Why stay at a commercial park crammed in side by side when you can stay at a great state park and feel as if you are by your self in the Florida foliage? We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$24
This was our second stay at Henderson. The park is very clean and neat with large, private, gravel sites and a fabulous sugar-sand beach a short walk from the campground. Nearby in Destin and Sandestin are fabulous golf courses at reasonable rates, loads of places to shop and excellent restaurants. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$30
So many superlatives have been used to describe this park, it's hard to find more, but this place is a gem. The sites are enormous and the beautiful foliage surrounding them provide almost total privacy. We've been in expensive resorts that don't come close to this. When you are in the park or on the beach you can almost forget that you are less than half a mile from US98. You get the best of both worlds. The peace of a wonderful state park and proximity to shopping, restaurants, etc. Of course, there is no cable TV or Wi-Fi and the trees may require some careful positioning to get satellite TV. There are laundry facilities! And the beach is beautiful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
If I could give this campground an 11. It would still not say how wonderful it is. The grounds were immaculate. The staff friendly and helpful. It was almost like a resort. The campsites are large and very private. You didn't hardly know you had neighbors. The beach walk was about 10 minutes down a paved trail thru naturally landscaped paths. There are lots of rabbits and squirrels. What is so good about this place is right in the middle of Destin convenient to everything and you don't feel like you are in the middle of a busy tourist city. Don't want to carry on too much: might make it harder to get in next year. I wish the beach was pet friendly, my little pup sure loves to play. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$22
Wow! This is a great state park! The sites were level, clean, and very private. Each loop had dumpsters and doggie bags which was very convenient and helped keep the park clean. They clean the restrooms every morning from 9a-10a so they were always well taken care of. The beach is about a 1/4 mile walk but offers a wonderful path that is concrete with a boardwalk. The park is right in the middle of Destin so there is easy access to restaurants and shopping. We will definitely visit here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Lovely park. Our second stay here, and we continue to love the large, private (nice vegetation screen) sites with easy boardwalk access to the sugar sand beach. Very well maintained park with mighty friendly rangers. This time, we did check out Grayton Beach SP and think we might try that park next time, but there's nothing wrong with scoring a site here. Easy provisioning nearby, but boy that nice beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
This park has water, electricity, laundry, clothesline posts, showers, a nature trail, and a boardwalk to beach. It's close to Wal-Mart, restaurants and other shopping. Friendly and efficient checkin. Need reservations and it's hard to get in. They put "campground full" signs out, but many times they will let you camp if you are just passing through for one night. One can fish, bike ride, swim, surf at this park. The beach is beautiful and the sites are all good. Exceptional pull through sites. Most sites are very private because of the dense undergrowth. We met so many campers that rave about this campground since it has won awards for best in Florida and the nation. It lived up to our expectations and we will definitely return. Our hosts were very friendly and will to help if you needed it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
This was the best State Park we have stayed at. Restrooms were spotless. Short walk to the beach. We were in site 47, close to the bathroom. Everything you need is close by. Movies, Wal-Mart, Publix and plenty of other shopping. It would be perfect if it had sewer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
Everything here is 10 out of 10, there is NO sewer connection on the sites but there is very effective RV Dump area X 2. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
Beautiful park. Very clean bathrooms/showers. Beaches not crowded all all. Sites seemed VERY private with thick trees between sites. Gravel raked between each camper. 1/4 mile paved nature trail to the beach, bikes ok on trail. Paved roads great for kids on bikes. Dog-friendly (not on beaches). Staff friendly and available. Very close to shopping but very little traffic noise, seemed remote and could hear the beach at night, not the traffic, despite location near town. Sand clean, water clear. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2011
$30
I agree with all of the previous reviews - this is a gorgeous campground! The pull-through sites are long and spacious and everything is very well-maintained. The park employees are very helpful and friendly, and the park is located near everything in Destin. If you get a chance, go watch the sunset at AJ's on the water - beautiful! Sure would like to come back here when the weather is warmer! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$33
We have one more night here after a delightful two week stay. This is a gorgeous campground and is meticulously maintained. Our site, #13, is very private, and we can hear the surf from the gulf! Fantastic boardwalk to the beach which is one of the prettiest and cleanest I've enjoyed. The showers are excellent and very clean. There are two washers and dryers at the bathhouse which worked well. $1.50 to wash and $.50 to dry. The campground has a natural in the country feel but is very close to shopping and restaurants. We were given a "locals" discount card for several restaurants (We got it at "The Back Porch" restaurant) and have enjoyed seafood at several places while here. Just a few blocks from the campground is "Destin Commons", a huge outdoor mall with dozens of shops and free Wi-Fi! We have enjoyed many bicycle rides in this area -- there are marked bicycle paths everywhere. Can't say enough nice things about Henderson Beach! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$33
Short one night stay. Not a lot to do in the park other than the beach which in January was not really an issue. We biked a little and wandered around. Park was clean, and the staff was very friendly. Plenty of restaurants nearby and WalMart across the street. Only negative was how close to Hwy 98 it is which made for significant traffic noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$30
Maybe the best state park we have stayed in to date. Exceptionally clean facilities. Level sites. A short walk over the dunes to the gulf. Friendly staff as well. We'll stay here again and recommend it to everyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$30
This is hands down the best State Park that we have ever camped at. The park is well cared for, the camp sites are spacious, and the bath houses are outstanding. This is the only park that I have visited that I would rate the camping facilities as "10". The park is on the beach side of Highway 98 with a beautiful boardwalk across the sand dunes to the beach. Also, the beach is much less crowded that other area beaches. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$30
We have camped at Henderson Beach numerous times and have never been disappointed. The camp hosts do a great job of keeping everything clean. I'm so impressed with the bathroom/shower. Even if you don't need to use them just go inside and take a look. This is how all campgrounds should be maintained. The proximity to Destin means there are many shops and restaurants from which to choose. It would be a shame to come to Destin and not experience some local seafood. A short walk to the beach is a nice way to end the day and you'll find other campers there watching the sunset. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$30
A quiet, beautiful, extremely well maintained and clean state park located in the middle of the Destin Highway 98 beach corridor. Close to everything, but very private. Great beach a 5 minute walk from the campsite. Good biking. Coastal scrub vegetation is actually very beautiful after you get accustomed to it. Friendly and helpful staff. At $30.00 per night its a great bargain. Will return whenever possible. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
Some of the largest sites we've seen. At other State Parks they would put two or three campers in the area that we had. Short walk to the beach, maybe 1/4 mile. Friendly staff. Only gave this a rating of 9 because of no sewer hookup. Almost made the mistake of staying at a private campground down the road, for more than twice the price. Am glad we stayed here: it's on our list to come back to. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
This is a beautiful place. Very private sites and quiet. Just went to the beach and no mater what the Florida tourist ads say: there are tar balls the size of a quarter to 50 cent pieces right at the waters edge. BP has really made a mess of the place. Workers are out, but the bottom just off shore is covered with tar balls. We did not see any oil though, like at Biloxi, Miss. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$23
This was our second stay at the park in the last year and a half and it is just as beautiful as ever. The campground is still very clean and well maintained. Some of the sites now have concrete pads, which is an improvement over the gravel. With the digital TV, we received approximately 6-8 channels over the air. As of 5/17/10, there is NO OIL on the beach. The only things that keep this place from being a "10" are the lack of sewer hookups and the road noise from S.R. 98. Neither of these issues will keep us from returning. If you want to stay here, make your reservations early as the place books up far in advance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
One of the best state parks in the Florida SP systems. Very clean and punctual in cleaning restrooms on a daily schedule: same time every day. Great pull through sites and 3 minutes to the most beautiful beaches in the country. Come here two weeks every April for last 4 years. Location is perfect. Staff is customer friendly and the volunteers are great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
WOW! This sums it up. A wonderful surprise discovery. Everything we wanted: privacy, biking, cleanliness, friendly hosts, great beach, and close to everything when you want to leave the park. We loved it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$30
A beautiful campground snuggled next to the beach. Quite the bargain compared to other campgrounds near by. Large private sites, paved roads and gravel sites surrounded by lots of woods despite being in the middle of town. The bathrooms were very clean: makes you feel like you are in a hotel. A short walk on the boardwalk right to gorgeous beaches! Camp fires are allowed. We enjoyed our stay and the staff was very helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$17
Sites are $30 plus 11% taxes, we paid FL resident senior rate. Not much to add to prior reviews, bath houses very clean, washer/dryers available. We were allowed to drive in and check sites first as we wanted sun. We were here for the record cold. Batwing was OK and picked up about 10 stations, Verizon broadband was very good as well. Just west is the Twisted Palm, they have happy hour daily and good pizza and sandwiches. It is just after Joe's on the right before the first traffic light. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$30
This is a great state park campground. The staff was very helpful and friendly. There are two different groups of sites, 1 thru 30, and 31 thru 60. In the first group (1-30), there are plenty of pull throughs with lots of room. The sites are level and gravel although it looked like they were beginning to pour concrete pads, two were in progress. Sites are very secluded and you don't generally see your neighbors. The camp host cleans and rakes the gravel in each site after a person leaves. They also clean the fire pit after each visitor. Rest rooms and showers were very clean with locking doors on the showers. There is a 1/4 mile walk to the beach on an elevated walkway (no trudging through the sand) which is handicap accessible. I would have rated this park as a 10 except for the fact that you do hear quite a bit of road noise from Hwy 98 which is the main drag through Destin. We will definitely be staying here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$20
This is a gem of a state park! Everything is close by: restaurants, Walmart, the finest strip of beach in Florida! Very clean facilities. You will love it We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$21
This a clean, beautiful park with a wonderful beach. Don’t be fooled by the small number of sites. Tthe sites are huge and private. The park is located in fantastic area of Florida. Close to lots of options for shopping, golf and restaurants. Biking in the park is limited. There is a small nature trail. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$32
One of our favorites and we return often. Henderson never disappoints. We normally stay in one of the pull-thru sites with our 5th wheel but this time we took our popup and utilized one of the smaller back-in sites. Very private. Even though there were other campers in the campground it almost felt like we were alone. Dense ground growth and trees do a nice job of separating sites. The long boardwalk to the beach was used by many families with children offering a big smile and a welcome greeting as we passed. The bathrooms were spotless, as usual. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$24
Excellent park. Would be a 10 if it had sewer hook ups; however, dump site is easy to reach. Great short walk to beach. Easy drive to shopping, Pensacola Naval Air Station and many other portions of Florida Panhandle. Large level sites with privacy screens, firepits, clothes lines and wonderful staff. We enjoyed the dunes and beach. Great for biking in the entire area. This is our second trip to the park and we will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$23
This was our first time to stay at this Florida State Park and we had a blast! This park is always full in the summer and we decided to make a reservation at the last minute and lucked out with an awesome pull-through site (and the only site available!) Actually, there are no "bad" sites at this campground. The private beach access from the campground area to the ocean is a nice walk (6-7 minutes), on a raised wooden walkway. We felt safe in this campground and walked dogs and went to the bath house after dark. Because this campground is so close to the ocean there is no sewer hookups (which is understandable), however we still rate it as an overall 10. We highly recommend this State Park and will go again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$34
A great campground in the dead center of Destin. I would rate it a 10 but it doesn't have sewer or cable TV. Other than that, it is near perfect. The main problem is getting reservations: on 60 sites. Stayed before and will stay again. It's a real jewel! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$21
I would give this park a ten but: no sewer hook-ups and a little road noise since you are right off the inter coastal hwy. If you do have to dump your tanks during tour stay the park designed the dump station wide enough where most rigs can do a u-turn and drive back to your spot. Other than that the park was spotless, staff was extremely friendly, bath/shower house were clean and the beach was amazing with no crowds. My wife and I will definitely return. We were in spot 6 and were amazed at how much space there was between campsites. Also, you leave the park and you are right in the middle of shopping, restaurants and entertainment. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$21
I cannot give it a 10 since it does not have sewer. But it is a very nice camp ground. The sites are wide and well spaced with nice new picnic tables and gravel surface. Easy to get level. The bath houses were spotless. It is about a 1/4 mile walk to the beach over a new boardwalk. the beach is wide and clean with white sand. the only negative is that there is some road noise. the park is located right off the main highway and there is shopping and a WalMart right at the entrance to the park. There is no cable or wifi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$24
We stayed at this park at the end of April. It is a wonderful park. The location could not be better. You get the feeling of being in the middle of nowhere while in the campground, but just outside the park gate is all that Destin has to offer: great seafood, shopping, and entertainment. The sites have plenty of space, fire rings, and clothes lines. The staff cleans each site after a camper departs. They even rake the gravel and scoop out ash from the fire ring. The white sand beach was always uncrowded even though the weather was warm and sunny. The only thing to be aware of is that it is a long stroll down a boardwalk to get to the beach. The boardwalk and beach are ADA accessible, and the walk is really very nice and relaxing. Each morning flags are posted showing water conditions in the area. There are also fresh water spray off areas at the entrance/exit to the boardwalk leading to the beach. For pet lovers, like us, the park has dog clean up bags located around the campground loops and bathroom areas, so it makes it easy for pet parents to clean up after their furry children. Be aware, dogs are not allowed on the beach, and we were told that dog owners can get a hefty ticket if they ignore the no dogs on the beach rule. My family cannot wait to go back! Make sure you book early, the campground was full to capacity each night we were here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$21
We stayed on lot #2. Beautiful sites. 4/10 of mile to beautiful beach. Park right off of I98. Close to shopping, restaurants, and groceries. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$21
Very nice and beautiful campground lots of privacy between the lots really nice beach, spotless facilities. Would definitively come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$23
I did not want to leave this park. It was absolutely stunning. The sites were huge, especially the pull thru sites, and very private. The gravel sites had a spacious pad area with a fire ring, table and clothes line. The boardwalk leading to the beach was well made and meandered thru the beach vegetation to a playground area equipped with a shower and benches to rinse the beach sand off, and a place to park your bicycles. From there the boardwalk continued over the dunes to the stunning beach beyond. The most amazing thing about the park is as you leave the park and head out to the highway, there is a Walmart and Home Depot right across the street. The campground is very convenient to shopping and many fine restaurants. I can't wait until next year so we can return. Be sure to make reservations if staying here, as the park was almost full every night we were there. Enjoy this park, it is beautiful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$20
This is a great place! There are huge, private pull-through sites with laundry lines (for swimsuits and beach towels) and fire pit and picnic table. There is a lovely shower/restroom facility (skylights over the shower). They recycle plastic and glass and cans! (We are Californians and have visited 20 states this year, and find the lack of widespread recycling facilities appalling! Such an easy thing to do.) There were very friendly camp hosts and other guests. There is a great nature walk and beautiful beach. It is easy access to US Highway 98 and the Emerald Coast sites. There is a Super Wal-Mart across the street. Only drawback: Proximity to US Highway 98 = traffic noise and proximity to 3 air force bases = jet noise. But surprisingly, the noise didn't bother us, since the rest of the benefits were so good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$30
I hate to tell everyone about this park, but I must share. There is a wonderful staff and hosts, and sites are private and larger. It is a 5-10 minute walk to the beach which is beautiful. It is located near all activities, Wal-mart, rental cars, restaurants etc. We will return for 2 weeks on next visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$21
We haven't even left the campground yet and I'm thinking about when we can come back. The campsites are nicely spaced, with thick underbrush and scrub oak and pine trees seperating you from your neighbor. None of the vegetation offers much shade, so be sure to have an awning extended if you don't like sitting in the direct sunlight. The site itself is cleaned prior to your arrival by park staff; ours looked like we were the first ones to ever use it. The site surface is crushed stone and required very little levelling of the camper. The restrooms are cleaned daily and smell good. The loops are not very big (which gives it a private feel) and the roads are paved. There is a small gift shop at the gate where you can buy limited provisions. A Super Wal-Mart is directly accross the street with a Super Target about a mile down the road. The highway that the park is on, S.R. 98, is jam packed with restaurants and stores. This is definitely a tourist town. The best feature of this place is that you have access to a private beach. A path leads directly from the campground to the beach, and the beach is only available to people at the park. Consequently, it was never crowded. We rarely saw more than a dozen or so people. The sand is very soft and white, it reminds me of the beach in Cancun. The water is a beautiful, clear emerald color. Hats off to the park staff and the state of Florida for offering such a clean, gem of a park. Nice! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
Fantastic park - sites big and extreemly private - like having your own back yard. Washrooms were excellent, playground good and the beach was as clean and beautiful as would be expected. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$21
We love this park. Large, clean, private sites, clean well landscaped grounds, and gorgeous beaches. Reservations, for this time of year anyway, are a must. We booked 11 months in advance and had a limited choice. We have already booked for April 2009 and most of the sites were already booked. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$23
It doesn’t get much better than this. This is a beautiful state park in a wooded area on the beach right in the middle of Destin. This area has some of the best beaches in the country: white sand and clear blue water. There is lush semi-tropical foliage around each site which separates each one very well. We had a pull through site on the outside of loop D which felt very private and secluded. The sites are gravel, level and well landscaped. They come with a fire ring, table and clothes line. The restrooms and showers are very nice and well kept. This is good since there is no full hook up available. We showered in the public facilities but had to manage our grey water. A portable wastewater tote would be in order for an extended stay. There is a dump station for use upon exiting the park. Road noise from US 98 is noticeable, as is noise from aircraft from the nearby air bases (“the sound of freedom”). Surprisingly few insects during our April stay. I highly recommend this park. Reserve early (like 11 months ahead of time when they become available) to get your spot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$21
A extremely beautiful Florida state park located in Destin Florida. The large gravel sites are well maintained, shady, wooded and clean. This is a very nice, well maintained park with the added bonus of extensive shopping and dining just outside of the campground entrance. This has to be the cheapest way to stay while on vacation and enjoy Destin. Everything from deep sea fishing to para sailing is available. The beaches here are among the most beautiful in the world. From the campsites you can hike to the beach down a long wood plank walkway or drive to the campground parking lot and carry you chairs, umbrella and cooler down to the beach from the pavilion. Highly recommend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2008
$21
This is a hidden treasure everyone must find. Sites are semi-private with natural vegetation surrounding. It is just a short board walk to the beach. Shower house is clean with washer and dryer available. We can not wait to visit again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$23
We came here right after St Andrews in Panama City. I was impress with both. The sites and beaches are a little bit better in Henderson, but it is closer to the main road and a little further from the beach. Sites are gravel and level. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$23
Wow- many thanks to the folks on this website who wrote us about this place. What a hidden gem on the Fla. coast. Spacious, private sites- many pull thrus- with gravel so you're not tracking in sand or mud. W & E, no sewer exc. dump station. Wonderful bathhouse. Bike riding, beautiful beach sunsets, peaceful area yet right in Destin. Only negatives are lack of good tv antenna reception and no sewer hookup. But you can't beat the price nor location. Probably need reservations on weekends or warm weather months. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
This is an excellent park! The spots are spacious, level, very private, and perfectly groomed. This is the safest feeling and cleanest park I have ever seen. The only negative thing about the park is there are no sewer hookups at the sites, but the dumping station is very easy to get through and the showers/bathrooms are so clean we didn't mind using them instead of filling our tanks up. The beach is a long walk but a very scenic one. All the trails/walks are very level so bike riding is great. Even though the park was full we saw very few people-seemed to be mostly retirees in high end RVs. Most of the time we had most of the perfect beach to ourselves! The only problem we had was the black flies- while at the beach they would occasionally swarm us and the bite so bad we would have to leave. We were told they are a seasonal thing and are not a problem most of the time. We took two small children and they had an incredible time. Be sure to take your camera down to the day use area at sunset for some awesome pictures. We will return as soon as we can even though it is an 11 hour drive for us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$23
This is absolutely one of the best RV campgrounds we've been to. The staff was top notch, the facilities were great, and the location was beautiful. A 7 minute walk gets you to the beach. With only 60 other sites for about 4,000 feet of the shoreline, it was never crowded. In fact the most umbrellas we counted at once was less than 20. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$23
This is an excellent state park in Florida. You will be about a 1/2 mile walk from the Destin beaches along a nature trail. the staff is very nice. The price is a bargain. I would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$21
This is my favorite park. It is private, clean and quiet. They have improved the security gate for night entrance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
Our favorite place to go! I hate to review it so honestly (that will make more folks want to go and make it harder for us to get a reservation)! It is truly a gem. Camp hosts are so friendly. Beach is gorgeous and lots of nice shopping nearby. We are sad to hear that the State of Florida considers this a "non-money maker" campground ( it costs the State to keep it going - I say, so what!). There is talk about cutting the budget for toilet paper and soap in the restrooms at State Parks! Even if the Florida Legislatures cut the budget, I'll be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2007
$22
Wonderful place!!! Cleanest restrooms anywhere. We camp here anytime we're in Destin. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2007
$32
This is a great campground. Secluded camp sites, great boardwalk to the beach, beautiful beaches, clean bath houses and a Wal Mart right across the road. It doesn't get any better than this! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2006
$21
Nice park with well groomed sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$25
Very nice, large, sites with privacy. Beautiful beach. One of the nicest places we have ever stayed. It is definitely on our list of places to return to. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$23
We live 55 miles from Henderson Beach and we love it there. The ride to Destin is scenic and the Gulf waters are beautiful. The campground is clean, with gravel sites. We did not have to do a thing to level our rig. We just pulled in and presto!! The roads around the park are all paved with a bike trail. We loved riding our bikes or trikes to the public access beach in the park. The boardwalk to the beach from the campground is a nice walk. We were there in August and it was very hot and the water had a little seaweed, but that happens on the Gulf at times. We played in the Gulf water until it got too hot and came back to a clean campground shower then took a nap. Then went to a local restaurant for a great dinner. It was a perfect day! We could only stay 2 nights, but we live close enough to return often. The lock on the gate is no longer a problem. They have a convenient touch keypad and an automatic gate. You don't even have to get out of your car. The traffic on busy Hwy. 98 was not a problem. Some of the sites that are close to the road might notice the traffic noise, but we didn't even hear it. It is always nice to have shopping and restaurants convenient, in case you need to go buy some more suntan lotion or a new bathing suit. The pull through sites are great. The privacy in each camp site is an added plus. The staff and the campground host were very friendly and helpful. You have to make a reservation. Many parks on the Gulf suffered from the last few hurricane seasons so Henderson Beach State Park is growing in popularity. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$14
This was a great state park. We loved the bike path between the loops. The bathrooms were super clean and people were really friendly. We'll be back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$24
Simply the best. No sewer hook ups or pool, but this place is a 10. The campground is very private (you would have a hard time believing you were within half a mile of Super WalMart). The sites are huge and you will only be able to see one or two other campers from your site. The beach access is private, for registered campers only the beach is huge (least crowded beach you will find) you could have literally 100 yards of private beach to yourself if you wanted. All roads are paved. The sites are all gravel with picnic tables and clothesline posts at each site. Park rangers are very helpful and their refund/early departure policy is easy to live with (leave early, get a full refund). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$23
Henderson Beach SP is one of the nicest campgrounds we have camped at. The sites are very privet from your neighbors. The park has a feel of a neighborhood. I gave it a 10 but would have really liked a pool to use some. We will be back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$28
This place is an absolute gem. Perfect blend of real camping--allowed to have clotheslines and fires, great separation between you and neighbors, definitely in the great outdoors. 1/4 mile walk to beach which is used primarily by campers. A bit disconcerting to see a ReMax realtor sign from the boardwalk! That's the thing about this place--you are directly across the street from a WalMart, less than 1/4 mile from extremely busy US 98, the main Destin strip. Although you hear a lot of road noise, you really can't see any commercial structures except the aforementioned ReMax building. There is new construction in the area, and I'm not sure this sense of rustic camping will last. They've done an excellent job of maximizing the small amount of land they actually have for the park. In fact, on the way to the beach, you can see the remnants of old hwy 98, which has been partially covered with sand. I liked the gravel pads, which allows you to keep things clean without feeling as suburban as paved spurs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2006
$22
This is the nicest park we have ever been to. We have stayed there 2 times a year for the last 3 years. The sites are large and very well kept. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms and showers are kept really clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2006
$21
Stay here! This is one of the nicest parks we've been in and the only one I've ever ranked as a "10". Each site is isolated from the ones beside it, there's lots of trees and the park is clean and quiet. Make sure you make reservations, it's hard to get a site without them. The beach is close and there's miles of beach to walk on. The only drawback is that although pets are allowed in the park they're not allowed on the beach, but it's a small sacrafice for such a nice park. There's no sewer hookup at the sites but there is a double dump station easily available in the park. Television reception on the antenna was good and cell phone service was five bars. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2006
$21
We spent 8 nights using 3 sites in January. As far as a campground I would rate it a 10+. As a campground/RV Park I give it a 9. In 26 years of camping, I think this park qualifies as the best campground we have been at and better than any RV Park we have ever used. It sure beats out the one RV resort we have used. Our 40 foot, back in site was actually 54 feet deep. Each site has a separate area for the fire ring and picnic table which is about 14x14 feet. Privacy is great. The vegetation is so dense you can not walk between any site and its neighbor. Roads are good asphalt and pads are level gravel which is raked after each camper moves out. I measured one pull through site which was just over 100 feet long. Use caution if reserving a site in the older A loop, as the sites are not as large. Also, the pads on the outside of the loops are curved. Those on the inside are straight, but the vegetation makes them very private. Many of the sites have picnic tables which cannot be seen from the road. Each site has a clothesline. The boardwalk to the beach has been redone and is back open as of 1/15/2006. The beach front area is huge. All sites appear to have 30 and 50 amp hookups plus two water faucets. There are at least 5 campground hosts, plus the park staff and the ranger. Tile restrooms are cleaned daily from 9-10 AM. Due to the amount of bleach they use, I recommend showers before 9 or late in the afternoon. For those who visit in the off season, The Crab Shack, east on old 98, has a winter special lunch and dinner menu with a large selection of meals from $6.99 to $9.99. They will hand you the full price menu, but each table should have one small copy of the winter special menu. Ask if you don't see it or call ahead to see what is considered the winter season. Possible negatives. There is no cable TV and almost nothing can be picked up with an antenna. There are no sewer connections. This may be a blessing as campers may not try to stay for months. No internet connections. The host said new phones with modem connections were installed at each bathhouse last year, but they have never worked. Several places nearby have free Wi-Fi. (Panera Bread east on hiway 98 and The Bad Ass Coffee Shop east on old hiway 98). They still haven't put a light near the gate so you can see the combination lock. Always carry a flashlight if you will be returning after the gate is locked, which can be as early as 5PM. I would also suggest that you try unlocking it during the day while the gate and the office is open, just to be sure you can figure out how it works. If you have a problem, the office staff can then show you how it works. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2005
$21
Fantastic Florida State Park on the beach in Destin. Sites are tropically shaded and it's a 5 minute walk down a boardwalk to the Gulf Of Mexico. Most sites are huge and VERY private. The only reason this doesn't get a 10 is there are no sewar hookups at the site but the park has a 2 lane dump station. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2005
$23
We had a back-in site which was nice and wide and plenty deep for our 30 ft class A; fairly level gravel with plants and shrubbery giving a little break from your neighbors. Outdoor laundry near the bathhouse has two washers and two dryers. Some traffic noise from Hwy 98 but not too bad. Bathrooms very clean, warm and showers spacious. Park has an easy access double dump station set-up that you can enter either coming or going. Boardwalk closest to the campsites was closed for repair but access to the beach from the day use area was easy to get to. Great park, we really liked it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2005
$24
A super great campground in a natural rustic setting. Has a private boardwalk to the beach for the campers and a super nice day use area also within the park. You are just across the street from a Wal-mart and just about everything else you could want. The bath houses are spotless and cleaned every day. You don't have sewer or cable, but then again this is a more rustic campground. I plan on making regular visits here. Read the other reviews and you will see what I mean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$25
Beautiful park along side the ocean. Get reservations if possible!! The sites are huge and there is a boardwalk across the dunes to the beach. Very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$21
This is the best maintained campground I'ved ever camped in. The sites are large, private, and beautiful! The sites are pea gravel and are raked before you arrive. They are surrounded by lush vegetation, as is the whole park. Bathhouses are modern, large, and very clean. There's no pool (which would be nice), but it is on the gulf. If this park had sewer and a pool, it would be a 10. Just outside the gate is every type of shopping you could desire, and some family entertainment. We went to Disneyworld's Fort Wilderness after leaving, and Henderson Beach is better maintained! We had a great experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2005
$21
An absolutely gorgeous state park. I agree with everything everyone's said, except the part about the gate -- the lady who checked us in was very explicit in her instructions on the gate, that it was not well lighted and to be sure to take a flashlight with you if you exit the park after dark. Perhaps other workers weren't as careful to notify campers of that inconvenience, but it was very clearly explained to us. (Funds to modernize and light the gate area had to be diverted to emergency repairs after one of the hurricanes.) All the workers were friendly, helpful and accommodating, with an overall attitude of making sure all guests had a great time and wanted to come back. We will definitely be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2004
$21
The sites are gravel but very level. Workcampers rake the site when a rig leaves. The beach boardwalk is landscaped like a garden park. There is shopping and restaurants just outside the main entrance. This is definitely a great campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$21
The sites are very spacious. Sites are shaded, and have undergrowth in between to give each site privacy. Boardwalk to the beach. Site where we were was 60' in size. They had some sites even larger. I also like being able to choose your site from the internet. Everything was very clean, sites raked after you leave making it look as though there has not been anyone there before you. We camped there October 2004 in a 5th wheel and enjoyed every minute of it. There are 2 reasons I didn't give this campground a 10. One is because there is no sewer, however, there is a large dump station. The other because of the lock on the gate is very hard to open after dark. Needs to be modernized. But overall, campground is very enjoyable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$21
One of our favorite campgrounds! Love the "private" sites, which include picnic table, BBQ pit & poles for clothes line. Very clean bath houses, washer/dryer, playground (away from sites), and beach access to the most beautiful beaches in the world. Large enough to take your bike(s). Very friendly staff. Can reserve on-line and pick out the site you want on-line as well. The only reason I did not give it a 10 is because of the inconvenient combination lock at the front gate, which is very hard to see after dark. Don't mind being locked in but they need something more modern. Have camped here several times and would definitely go back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$21
Henderson Beach has become one of our favorites. Located in the tourist town of Destin, Henderson Beach is close to excellent restaurants, shopping, and many activities. The sites are well-secluded and private. Most of the pull-through sites are huge. The back-in sites easily accommodate both slideouts and awnings. The park staff does an excellent job of cleaning and grooming each site. Every time we arrived our sites have been spotless. The gravel is raked so there is no indication that the site was used prior to your arrival. A nice, long boardwalk takes you to the beach. Park staff has always been friendly and helpful. After dark the front gate to the park is padlocked but each camper is given the combo and trusted to relock the gate after coming and going. The only reason I can't give this campground a perfect 10 is due to the lack of sewer hook-ups. However, a large, double dump station is provided. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$17
My wife and six children spent last two weeks in June camping here. The campsites are wonderful, with a little shade. There is underbrush to separate the campsites. Showers and bathrooms are very clean. The camp hosts are very nice. The boardwalk from the camping areas to the beach is a bit far, when carrying the items for the day. The day use part of the state park can be crowded on the weekends. Find something else to do. And having no sewer hook-ups at campsite was a draw back. Would not spend 2 weeks again, without a pool, but will stay a few nights. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$16
Henderson Beach State Park is beautiful. The camp sites are very spacious with a lot of trees and underbrush between sites, very private. The bath house is spotless and the camp hosts and park Manager were very helpful and friendly. There is a boardwalk to the beach, which is beautiful, from the camp ground, but we found it more convenient to drive to the day beach within the park and access the beach when we were carrying chairs, umbrella, cooler, etc. Also very nice area to bike ride. Base price is $16, but they charge an extra $2 for dog, $2 tow vehicle and $3 for electric. But well worth it. Only reason the 9 rating is that there is no dump at camp site, but on premisies. For 2 people, it didn't cause any problems. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com