223200 User submitted reviews online!!
Rainbow Springs State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 64 user reviews. Phone: (352) 465-8555
CGID670

Rainbow Springs State Park

Camp Information
Sites
54
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   8   8   9   10   9   8   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
Great place to swim and snorkel in the springs and river. Since the campground remodel a few years ago the brush and trees are growing in nicely and most sites have become private or semi private. This campground is always clean and staff is always great. Just wish they would fix the pool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
Wish there was more shade in camping areas but there is some – more than in some places we’ve stayed. There is shrubbery and trees for privacy in between sites. Laundry on site. No wifi but there is a very nice library in town with wifi. Only alum can recycling - no plastic. Be sure to tube the Rainbow River - you rent your tube in the park at the river and take a tram back to the park. And go to the day use area up the road to see the headspring and swimming area - gorgeous water. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$32
This park is nice but could be better. As the swimming pool is still closed and don`t think it will ever open again. Grass could be cut in some places. Now for the good. The staff are friendly and helpful. The sites are nice, level and clean. The weekends can be a little loud as there is a lot of young campers there but you camp here to Kayak and float the river. If you are alone it is 11.00 dollars for a tube and the tram back to the camp ground. Or if you have two cars take one to the take out point, use your own tube or Kayak and it is all in the price of camping here. A good place to Kayak as the current is not so strong as you cannot paddle up river. They do have a store in the camp ground with very limited supplies. But A Super WalMart is about ten miles. If you don`t go for the water sports go in the winter as it is hot with only a little shade in the camp ground. There is another part of this park that you have to drive around to that is about eight miles. It is an old zoo and park that closed many years ago but a nice place to walk. They do have flowers and a butterfly garden. It is included in your camping fee but must take your windshield sticker or ask at the store for a pass to get in the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
I liked the vegetation between the sites on the loops that we stayed in. Would have loved to have WiFi, but understand that it is a state park! Was disappointed in the swimming area - long walk to it in the heat, and then it was small, rocky, and basically a place for the tubing people to get into the river. There is a pool, but it is empty and I suspect they will never open it. We stayed 4 nights, and it got a bit frustrating to have to drive a long distance for anything, so it didn't turn out to be a good base of operations for us (we don't do the outdoorsy sports stuff, which it would be a great park for). Would have liked more shade in the summer, most vegetation was palmetto scrub shrubbery rather then actual trees. We just got our travel trailer, and have been doing something of a 'round robin', going to 6-7 different campgrounds over 3 a week period, staying from just overnight to a week. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$32
A beautiful, family campground with plenty of water related activities. The sites are "L" shaped with the fire pit and the grill at the far side of the base of the "L." This keeps fire related activities a good distance from the coach. A major item to keep in mind when coming to this campground is that there are three different entrances. Be sure to enter into the campground and not the tubing or gardens entrance when camping. Also, if arriving on a Saturday or Sunday, you will need a code to enter through the campground gate. As the ranger was on lunch break, it took us about 10 minutes before we were able to obtain the gate code. The campground is very clean and private. Outside road traffic noise is not an issue in this park. A neat area is provided for tent campers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$32
First, it is important to note that this campground is not at the main park or the headwaters area, so a GPS will probably take you to the wrong place. The GPS coordinates for the campground are 29.088579, -82.422236. It is off of SW 180th Avenue Road, 2.5 miles north of CR 484 or 3.1 miles south of Hwy 40. This is one beautiful, well-kept campground. The utilities are great with 50 amp hookups and the sites are well separated and well manicured and separated by vegetation. We did not have reservations, but had called ahead and were told there were sites available. We were surprised to see a “campground full” sign at the entrance. The very nice young lady that checked us in said that the sign always says that since they are full most of the time. The campground is well off of the road and very quiet at night. We had no problem getting satellite and our Verizon phone and data plan worked well. We would definitely stay at this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$15
Another beautiful Florida state park! Campground is well maintained, sites are spacious. Very quiet atmosphere. Campground is about 7 miles from the main entrance and the headwaters of the springs, which helps to maintain the privacy and quietness of the camping area. Rate reflects Florida senior pass rate. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$33
Spacious, private sites near beautiful Rainbow River (kayaking, swimming, deep crystal springs). Showers a bit older - clean but not excellent. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$32
We love this park. Quiet this time of year. Fishing dock is small but good for small fish. Many kayakers and canoeists use this campground. We stayed for 13 days this time. Restrooms were always clean, plenty of hot water. Staff very friendly as well as the camp hosts. Plenty of vegetation between sites for some privacy. We saw many 45 foot RVs come and go with no issues. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$32
This park is a gem. We had one of the few pull-through spaces, and the vegetation in between each space gives a feeling of isolation, even though the spaces are pretty close together. The river is a nice added attraction. Hot showers, clean restrooms, and personable staff make this a place to return to again and again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$15
We stay here yearly with a group to tube. The staff is always helpful and friendly. Site is pressed rock and firm and level. We had some shade but park is not known for the shade. Park has several hosts and is usually full during the summer for tubers. Water pressure was good and this is one of the few state parks with sewer. We seldom have any issues here and when I have the park personnel always respond quickly to assist. We will be back next year for more of the river. Verizon phone coverage was strong and Walmart is only about 10 minutes away for your needs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$24
The park was quite full when we arrived. Bathrooms, especially the women's, wasn't clean at all. We like the privacy between sites. There is a dock for fishing and is shady most of the time. Tubing, canoes, and kayaks are the highlight of these springs. Very busy on the river during the week as well as on the weekends. Surprised that kids under 16 didn't have to wear helmets while biking (thought it was a state law). Overall a great place to stay! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
Be aware that Rainbow Springs State Park is really 3 different parks: The campground, the tube "entrance" (which is really the exit on the river), and the headsprings. The campground is your typical state park accommodations although the sites have sewer hookups and there are 3 laundry facilities in the park. The pool was out of service and doesn't look as if it's been running in a while, however it's a short walk down to the river. You can pay $11/person for a tube & tram or if you bring a bike you can park your car at the tube entrance and ride the easy 1.5 miles back to the park, put in at the campground, and float down to your car. You MUST drive a few miles around to the headsprings, but your camping permit gives you admission to all the parts of the park. Once again my only complaint about this park is the same for all Florida State Parks in that Reserveamerica.com makes it extremely difficult to get a site for consecutive nights, but you can hope for a cancellation and not have to shuffle. I also didn't like that the Tube Entrance part of the park closes at 3:30pm even if you're camping, so if you plan on using your own tubes you still have to have your car there early. We'd stay here again though. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$32
Overall this is a really nice state campground. It's very quiet except for the occasional weekend camper's having fun or when they empty the trash bins(strange comment but it's really loud). The sites have full hookups, are level and large. Each site (I think) has a picnic table, clothesline, fire pit and grill. The sites reserve quickly especially for the weekends. We booked for 4 days during the week then checked online each day for cancelled reservations. We always found something but we did have to move a couple of times. Hint: If you have to cancel a reservation, do it at the park to avoid fees. The springs are an easy walk. If you rent a canoe, you have to use one of the park's totes to carry it down to the water. It's a bit of a hike. The springs are very popular and noisy even during the week. So if you are expecting a quiet, relaxing ride down the river (as we were) you'll be disappointed. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$30
One of the nicer Florida state parks. Easy access for our 44' 5th wheel with lots of sites that will work. There is a nice rubber matted ramp for easy in and out of the river with our kayaks within walking distance of our site. The river is very nice and full of kayaks, canoes and divers on the weekends. There is a playground and a pool, but the pool is closed this time of year. Our Verizon signal was sometimes weak, but worked both for calls and data. There are several dedicated tent sites near a bath house. Hosts are friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$15
We really enjoyed this campground. It was a nicely laid-out with plenty of space to maneuver our 35' travel trailer. Sites are level and spacious. We camped here for the first time at site 42. The sewer hook up at this site is a long way from your unit, so we choose to use the dump station (which is a double). But site 42 is very nice as one side is totally open with no neighbors. The bathrooms were spotless. You can walk down to the river and watch kayaks & canoes go by. The tubing area was closed when we were there. Your camping fee includes the daily per person entrance fee to the park. We have a FL resident senior pass we used to get the rate. We will return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$32
Having a sewer site at a FL State Park is wonderful! We loved this park. The sites are so very spacious that we felt completely isolated. The bathrooms were modern and clean. The only downfall was that the actual state park was about a 5 minute drive. There is a place to put in a kayak, but I wish we were closer to the activity. There's so much to do in the area and Crystal River. We loved our 5 night visit and will definitely return!! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$33
Excellent campground for paddlers. It's an easy 1/3 mile or less carry from campsite to put-in, or drive to within 100 yards. Campsites are huge though as others have noted, most are not shaded. The perimeter site have good native vegetation to screen between sites, and some have partial shade. All facilities were top notch. Good Verizon signal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2013
$27
We stayed at this campground for a week. Site 12. Very uneven. Wide so backing in so was not an issue. The restrooms were clean. The regular shower in the ladies restroom had little pressure. Didn't have an issue getting hot water. So many pretty birds. A big plus is the gardens and spring head park. We really enjoyed the trails. Very pretty. The walk to the river from the campground was pleasant in the evenings. We enjoyed the nearby town of Dunnellon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$34
First off the correct address to the Camp Grounds is 18185 SW 94th Street, Dunnellon, Florida, 34432. If you go to the address on the Florida state park website, it will take you to the Rainbow Springs. The campgrounds is 7 miles away from there. So if you use a GPS it is at the above address off of SW 180th Ave Rd. or 29.08683 -82.41754 The campgrounds is neat, clean and well laid out. If you are looking for privacy then the outer rings provide that. Most sites do not offer much shade, but if you travel during the winter months, then it is not an issue. Most sites are level accept sites 11, 12, 13. All sites are deep and will work for most big rigs. The sites are nice and wide even if you have a double slide out. It is full hookup and good water pressure. The majority of this park is located at the "Headsprings" Entrance 7 miles away. You will need to drive there. No hiking trails in the campgrounds. The roads in the campground are wide and paved. The sites are pea gravel and well packed. It rained one night, and no mud issues. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$16
Rate shown is Florida resident senior-50%off regular price. This was our third visit and we are already planning a fourth in our Pop-Up. We had site 10. Sites 10 through 14 are the best if you want shade and privacy. Avoid "Interior" sites as very few are shaded or private. We didn't look really closely, but sites 44 to 53 may have some shade. Avoid 1 and 43-no privacy or shade and all who enter the campground at night light you up! The office/shop has some supplies. The river and playground are a moderate walk, 250 yards plus/minus from the office to the river, but well worth it. Do plan to tube,kayak or canoe the river. It's about 1/2 hour kayak to the headwaters. The clarity is amazing and you can swim either here or at the main park(The old Rainbow Springs tourist attraction prior to purchase by the state). All sites have picnic tables, charcoal grills, posts and fire rings and are paved with small pebbles over limerock. Restrooms and showers are always clean. I did not like the sink faucets which are heat activated and non-adjustable for temperature. It can take a minute or three for the water to warm up-pain in the neck to rinse off shaving cream-activate and splash quickly before the water stops. Fox channel 35/51 is the only TV channel we got with an antenna. Plan to visit the main park off US 41 in Dunnellon. For golfers, try Juliette Falls golf course off Hwy40, 1 mile past the road to the park, about 2 miles total from the park. A hidden gem with numerous scenic holes. It is rated one of the 10 best courses in Florida open to the public. Great course with ratings as high as 143 depending on which tee you play. There are also several others open to the public in Dunnellon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$30
Beautiful State Park! The campground is about 7 miles from the falls area. The water is amazingly clear. Our camp site was spacious and clean, but was in the sun all day long. It was pretty hot even in October. But once the sun dropped below the trees, it was perfect camping. Nice size fire-pit was perfect for a campfire and marshmallow roasting. Bathhouse was really clean and there was laundry facilities there as well. We will probably return in the months when tubing vendors are open. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Stayed during a holiday and had a great time. It was quite a hike to the water. Years ago we were able to camp closer but not now. There have been improvements to that area. It's great having kayak rentals. All staff members were very friendly. All in all, a great experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
Very little shade, but bath rooms were all spotless. Park has 4 hosts that keep it clean. Most sites hard packed lime rock topped with small gravel. Utilities worked well. Most sites are overgrown around the boundaries but park says it is the natural Florida look. I personally think it could look better with some trimming. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. TV reception is HORRIBLE. In late afternoon and evening you lose several TV stations for poor reception. Verizon cell service was great. Swimming pool is closed indefinitely. Great tubing in the river, so we return every year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Very nice state park to spend a week or a weekend. Clean, spacious. There are a few sites with trees that you can get. Sites 5, 11, 12, 13 are all shaded for the most part, surround by trees. But most of the sites are full or partial sun. Easy access to the River for tubing adventures, kayaking and canoeing. Staff is very friendly, camp hosts are all great, and the store is stocked pretty well for those emergency supplies. Pool is still closed. However, the river is close so you can cooled off in the crystal clear spring water. About 3-4 miles away are all the stores and restaurants you'll need to have around. Great place and will be back for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$12
We were very impressed with this park, everything was clean and kept that way. Not much shade on some of the sites, but some had shade. You must have a vehicle to go to the headsprings, which were beautiful and enjoyable. Beautiful waterfalls in the headsprings area. We would go back again and again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$30
We spent two weeks here and really enjoyed it. The park is well laid out and the sites are spacious and mostly private. The new landscaping from when the campground was re-done in 2009 has grown in nicely. The old section (A) of campground up by the office was not particularly nice looking and would not be our choice for a spot but the lower loops are great. The sites around the back side of Loops B & C are probably the best sites - #6 to #21 - as they back up to the woods. It was wonderful having full hookups in a state park! There are launch ramps for kayaks and canoes near the office and wheeled dolly's are available for use. Campers have free access to both the Head springs and the tubing area. Dunnellon is an interesting town to visit with shopping and restaurants and is within about 10 miles from the campground. This park is on our return to list! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
Park was OK. Very few trees at campground, but was told they just re did it. Few fire ants. Nice staff. Tubing is great. Great for photographs. Water on a hot day was delicious. Long walk to river (forgot my bike). Will be back next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Because we are late planners, we found another campsite for our family weekend getaway to tube down Rainbow River, Florida. We didn't stay here by circumstances of being late planners and thank god we didn't. We decided to check out the campsites here to see what we missed out on and hopefully book for the next tubing trip. I would have been so dissatisfied if I had booked at this location. My family and I are all more than disappointed in our State campgrounds. NOT CLEAN, it looked like a dumping ground. RV's are on top of each other, within arms distance. The rangers were grumpy and rude. The landscaping was unsightly and in direct sun. The camping spots are located right there as you drive into the park. It look like a low grade trailer park. People looked unhappy and mad. Kids were crying and people were loud. The pool was broken, empty and looked like it hadn't been touched in years. There were weeds growing out that were as big as bushes. Bathrooms were nasty. I am so glad we are last minute planners and missed out on this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$16
The rate is discount Florida Rate for over 65 if you live in Florida. The park has very good sites. I don`t know of any bad sites. The park has a pool that is closed for repair of 18,000 dollars that the state will not give the park to repair it. As all Florida Parks this one in showing the signs of the economy. The grass is not getting cut as it was last year when we were here and also the pool was open. The staff is doing what they can with what they have to do with. Some of the time there is only one ranger on duty in the park. They have a store for some things but if the ranger needs to go any where they just have to lock up and go. The big thing here this time of year is tubing rainbow river. The cost at the park is 10.60 cash if you do not want to have to drive down to the take out point to pay. You call them and they will bring you a tube and will bring you back to the camp ground for the $10.60. Not much you can do these days for $10.60 that will give you from two to three hours of fun. They also rent canoes and kayaks. They are higher here than at some of the vendors in town at the bridge. The rangers are nice but short on help. Rainbow Spring park is interesting and is free if camping there but you have to drive about 6 miles to get to it but worth it if you like old parks. It was built in the thirty's and had animals and a lot of things that are gone now but can still see old cages and buildings. Go early in the morning and take the ticket they give you for your windshield when you check in to get in the park. The rangers are nice and they do there best with what they have to do with. As said there is no shade on but a few spots and not much on them. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
The river and spring is just so refreshing in the summer heat of Florida. Tubing the river is a great family event. The campground was clean and bathrooms were well kept. The major issue is shade, there is none so make sure you bring your own. The campground and park are about 6 miles apart. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
Park was very clean. Swimming area at Rainbow River was small but nice. Bring your own shade; there is none. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$16
This is a nice state park that set in the sun. Park has three loops. Sites are long, wide, level, with hard packed gravel, have 20/30/50 amps, water, sewer, table, fire ring, BBQ grill, and a clothes line. All services work well. Only problem I found was the sewer drop was to far back in site to use a 20 foot hose. Most sites are the same way. Dump station is set up so if you need it you can dump on the way in or on the way out, nice. No street lights so park is dark and you can sleep better. Park has seven sites set up for tents only with a bathhouse in center. Three sites are in full sun and others have some shade. Only problem I see is the sun, not a lot of trees near RV sites. My count was five sites that have a small amount of shade, all others at in full sun all the time. Nice pool but it is broken and out of service. Per staff it may never open again due to no money for repair. Office had a good stock of items you may need. Staff was helpful at check in. Found six washers/dryers in back of office plus others in the other two bathhouses. Playground for the kids near office. Roads are all in great shape with good blacktop. Nice walk way down to Rainbow River. River water is very clean and clear at 72 degrees year round. Found around seven TV channels over the air. Sat. dish will not be a problem on any site. Verizon cell was OK but air card was a little slow. Gates are locked at night and you have code to get in. GPS to the gate is 29.08683 -82.41754. Found a super Wal-Mart 10 miles plus lots of other shopping and places to eat at in Dunnellon. Rainbow Springs headwaters is 7 miles from RV park. Rate per night was due to FL senior. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$31
We stayed in #41 which had partial shade. Nice big sites with easy access. Pool was closed but that was OK as we went down to the springs. Swimming area not big but a nice refreshing 72 degrees when it's 90+ out was great. We were there on Memorial Day weekend. Lots of tubers and family. Campground was crowded but very quiet at night (at least where we were). We biked down to the tubing entrance on Saturday and it the lot was full @ 10:30. Around sunset on Saturday my husband decided to take a bike ride down to the springs and saw a bobcat. At first he thought it was a dog as there was a woman and a small child in front of it but as he got closer, he realized it was a small bobcat. We stayed for the Saturday evening presentation by a park ranger. Very informative. Nice state park. Some spots not shaded at all though. That would be the only negative. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$11
This was a revisit from four years ago. Since that time, the park has been redone to include sewage in two of the three loops. I was hesitant after reading some of the reviews on this board as to the lack of shade. Yes, there is new greenery planted, but there is partial shade at some sites. At our site, #42, we had afternoon shade. (The post at each site with the number is very short. My husband didn't see it and scraped the truck while he was backing in.) Each site has a clothes line to hang out your towels. You can swim in the springs which is refreshing at 72 degrees. There are different concessionaires, not in the park, for rentals of tubes, canoes, kayaks. There is a park store with basic supplies and souvenirs. The 1/4 mile walk to the water from the campground is through a paved, shaded canopy of trees. A nice walk we did several times each day. The park is near the town of Dunnellon where there is shopping and fast food restaurants and a few cafes. Also, there are thrift shops, antique shops, and good Wi-Fi at the library. The fee represents the FL senior discount. Would definitely return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$30
We came here for the central location for kayaking. The RV campsites are large and level and contained water/electric/sewer hookups, with 30/50 amp. Each RV site had a picnic table, fire ring with flip grill, and a campground style barbecue that had an adjustable height grill surface. Sites were clean and well maintained and had pretty Florida fauna surrounding them, but no large shade trees. You will need hard pegs if planning on staking anything out, and they have those available in the shop if you don't have any. Restrooms and showers were clean and heated in the winter. The ranger we saw at the camp store was very friendly and full of local information. You can swim and also launch canoes and kayaks at the park if you are camping there. The distance to the river encourages bringing your kayak or canoe wheels, or you can borrow the heavy duty sets of canoe wheels they provide next to the camp store that will hold at least 2 kayaks or the widest/heaviest canoe you're likely to bring. The trail to the river is paved the entire way and easy to maneuver. We used the campsite as our base camp to paddle several springs/rivers, and you can paddle up 1 1/4 miles to the headwaters, and float back down, or organize a shuttle and float down to Dunnellon. Our GPS would have taken us to the headwaters side of the river, but the campground is actually on the East side of the river, so you need to be sure to head to the correct entry or drive an extra 7 miles. From I-75 take Exit 352 to get on Hwy 40. Follow Hwy 40 West for approximately 14 miles. Turn South on to SW 180th Ave Road. The campground entrance is approximately 3 miles on the right, right after a curve in the road. You vehicle pass is also good for free entry to the headwaters part of the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2011
$30
Campground has large sites, nice paved roads, and is very clean. Trees have been mostly cleared so except for a few sites on the outer edge of some loops, there is little shade. All RV sites have full hookups including sewer. There is a little store in the administration building with some basic supplies, gift items, and firewood for $7.50 a bundle. There is a small pool which is closed during the winter months. We were surprised to find that the campground is not connected to the main park, we do not have a tow vehicle so were stuck at the campground with not much to do. The company that ran their canoe/kayak rentals has gone out of business, so that is not currently an option. Won’t be camping here again until we have some transportation to be able to actually enjoy the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$15
The campground was renovated 1 1/2 years ago. There are excellent paved roads and the sites are large and flat with crushed stone. Full hookups with 20/30/50 AMP electric, water and sewer. There are multiple paved handicap sites. Bath houses are new and very clean. Some sites are open, some with partial shade and some with full shade. More than 1/2 are big rig friendly. The Fl. Resident SR. rate is 50% off the regular rate. There is plenty to do. The campground is about 5 miles from the Park's main entrance. There is a very nice store, recreation hall and playground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
Rate noted is Florida seniors. Good park but has a long walk to the river. However, the walk is worth it. Do bring your swimming, diving, snorkeling gear and a canoe or kayak. Beautiful cool, clear water. Free access to a tubing site and/or tube retrieval site. It's about a 7 mile drive to the actual gardens and original Rainbow Springs attraction. Take your site/gate code ticket with you for free entry. Bring your dog as they are permitted on site. There is a swimming hole and a canoe/kayak rental on site. There is a store on site and several stores a mile or so past the "Attraction" in Dunnellon. Rainbow Springs golf course is a very nice and reasonably priced course: $35 on a Sunday. The best sites are furthest from the river except for #50. We were on site 14 which we felt was the best for shade and privacy. Probably 11 through 18 are best with 19 to 23 and 6 to 10 next. We were able to get all 3 networks with a standard crank-up, rooftop antenna. As usual, personnel were friendly and helpful and facilities were clean and in good repair. You can't beat Florida State Parks! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
We were very pleased. This state park is excellent. Rangers helpful, friendly. Pointed out many of the areas activities like tubing the Rainbow River etc. Signage to the park is very confusing. Three separate areas, Head Springs, State Park Entrance, and then the one you want, the campground entrance. These are several miles apart and are not linked internally. No TV reception. Pool is closed. We will be going back soon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$16
All the facilities were very nice. Park Rangers were very friendly and helpful. Rainbow River was very very nice. Negative issues: Landscaping needed some work, little or no shade in most sites, the tubing contractors sped thru parking areas and were NOT friendly. Campground was mostly full during the week and totally full on weekend. We will return and stay there again for sure. If you are going to tube bring your own. It's cheaper. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
We stayed in site #39. Park has just been renovated to upgrade to FHU sites. There is very little shade right now but trees have been planted and in a couple of years there will be shade. Sites are gravel, mostly level, have a picnic table, stand up grill, a combo fire ring and most have laundry poles to hang your wet towels from (bring your own rope). DTV has few channels but there are enough to get news and weather from. There are 3 pull-through sites and 3 host sites: 1 per loop. Bathhouses were clean and new. Most sites are very large so any RV will fit. Lots of space between them as well. Ours was so large we could back the toad up and hook up in our site, and it was not a pull-through. Park has a pool that just reopened but it is old and needs some work. Campground has a tube launch and their own swimming area. Park office has a rec room with TV and game tables, store and another set of baths. There is a laundry behind office as well. Canoe/kayak and tube rentals just for campers at campground. Playground was small but OK. There was horseshoes and shuffleboard available. No ranger programs in summer but park has a large amphitheater. Cell phone for Verizon and ATT worked fine. Not much security though, campground gate is open all day because of the shuttle that runs from tube launch. We had guests visit and they never had to check in. Gates are locked at night though. Park was quiet most of night except for train horns that blow most of night (Fri at 4 am and Sat starting at 11 pm through the night). There really is nothing nearby so bring provisions. Head Springs are about 8 miles away and you can swim and snorkel there and walk through the gardens. Tube run takes about 1.5 hours from campground to the take out point. You need a dive flag if you want to snorkel but we saw people snorkeling without one and no one cared. No disposables are allowed on the river. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
Very clean park. Sites were easy access with water, electric, and sewer. Not many TV station from antenna. Washer and dryer available at restrooms. Headwater park was pretty and free to registered campers. Will stay again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
First the good things: Yes, full hookups including sewer and all are in a convenient location on the site. Big sized sites with pea gravel surface and paved roads making easy access. Most sites level, though our's had a tilt. Rainbow River is beautiful, and a great place to canoe, kayak, or tube. Saw many fish, hawks, and a trio of charming otters. Most tubers were using rental services on the river from park's services and across the river at KP Hole county park. Bathrooms are brand new with, roomy showers, modern facilites and even ceiling fans which are nice in the Summer. Looked to be heaters for those winter months too, though did not use as it was 98 degrees when we were here. Best sites are on the back loop, numbers 9-23. The very best, (and are the only ones that have trees around for shade), are sites 12 and 13 in the very back. Now the bad. This is not a pretty campground. They did massive work that was recently finished to upgrade the park, but in doing so bulldozed almost all the trees. Our site #2 was really ugly. The whole campground looks like an after thought, big overgrown dry field. Campground is 1/4 mile from the river, but an easy walk down to the swimming/tube/canoe/kayak launch. This walk is through the original old growth trees and is the only pretty wooded area here. The one and only cart you can use to walk your kayak/canoe down, is free of charge and very easy to use. Unfortunately many inconsiderate people would not return the cart back up to the office for the next user, and would leave it down at the river. As we always returned the cart back up to the office, we found that on all of our returns from our day on the river, the cart was once again left unattended back down at the river (nice for us not to have to go up to get it, but bad for anyone else that is looking for it to bring their rig down). Our stay was during mid week, and was very busy with noisy tubers by afternoon. Would not want to be around this place on the weekends. Disappointed that this state park had no recyle bins, as this is not ecological minded. Bathrooms were clean for the most part, but not cleaned every day of our visit. There were also bugs and spiders with old webs that could have been easily swept down, as the ceilings are closed in drywall. Entrance to the park is wide open. Anyone can come in during the day and cruise around. Gate only closes at night. The check in office is also the camp store, and clueless as to who is coming and going during the day. There is also no sign indicating where the office is when you come in. We had to help direct a woman that came in and was circling the park in total confusion. There are great ADA sites, but noticed many able bodied people on these sites and 2 different wheel chair bound campers that were in non ADA sites. Pool was closed during our stay for repairs, but we would not have used anyway as the spring is so refreshing and nice to swim in. You will need water shoes, however, as there are many rocks. Many dogs running loose around the park, and not all people picked up after them, though barking was not an issue that we noticed. There were also many people not observing the 1:00 check out time, though as in all state parks, there is a 2 hour lapse until the 3:00 check in. People leaving late seemed to be causing irritation for many arriving early. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
Sites are large and well maintained. The only down side was lack of shade on most spots. It's close to Head Springs and the tubing outfitter. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
Beautiful area in general. CG nice enough, paved with dirt/sand sites. Unfortunately we ended up in their barest, "ugliest" space: #45. This was because I had to go through Reserve America, and they didn't know what site to recommend. They could only go by size. Basically, this whole Reserve America system is a bummer! I either have to make additional calls to the cg itself to get detailed information: (will we fit, what space should we pick, etc.) or just have the RA people guess! And be prepared that the park itself (the Headsprings) is about 6 miles away (you can access the Rainbow River from the cg though). The cg is nice, as other reviewers have gushed, but it is kind of expensive compared to other state parks. Also just fyi: be prepared for all the regulations regarding the Rainbow River. For instance, in the park itself, you can only swim in this one little roped-off area. Downstream aways, you can also swim but you have to have a diver flag thing! Overall, I have to say I preferred Manatee Springs, just wish it had sewer hook-up. And lastly, google this outfit (Singing River Tours, in Dunnellon) for a fantastic boat tour that goes on both the Withlacoochee and Rainbow Rivers, for an outrageously low price (was $10 per person for a 1 1/2 hour ride!!) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
Very nice. White pea gravel sites that are very level. Fire ring and waist high grill. No firewood to buy in CG, nor are you allowed to gather any - you must bring it from somewhere else. Store is adequately stocked w/rudimentary items. Not much shade on sites. Bathrooms and showers very modern and clean (could use more water pressure in shower). Cows nearby that moo a lot, even at 2:00 AM. Very clear spring fed river - you can see the bottom no matter how deep. Would love to go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
The renovation is wonderful, one of the few state parks with sewers. Sites are spacious, and plenty of room between you and your neighbor. There are very few signs taking you to campground entrance. The campground is located on S.W. 180th Avenue Road about two miles north of County Road 484 and two miles south of State Road 40, it is near the Tube Entrance, not the head springs. The Rainbow River is popular for swimming, snorkeling, canoeing, and kayaking. You can see the fish and turtles swim thru the water. The water is clean for about 7 miles. There was more day use people on the weekend. We will visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$30
Perfect in every way! The renovation is wonderful. Sites are spacious, and plenty of room between you and your neighbor. We were site 6, and have already booked the same site for next year. Rangers very friendly and helpful, as are the camp hosts. Bathrooms sparkling clean, heated, the best I have seen. If they put in Wi-Fi, you couldn't ask for anything else. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$30
This is our first visit. The campground, which was renovated over the past year or so, will be a standard by which I will compare all other campgrounds! The sites were very large with a long driveway and a large square "yard" offering plenty of room for seating, bikes, kayaks, another shelter etc. The outside site we booked had excellent privacy with low level shrubs and palmettos. Except when looking out the front, we could barely see another camper. The sites have water, 30 and 50 amp service and sewer. The shower and bathroom facilities were new, spotless, and had plenty of hot water. There is a rec building which we did not use and a swimming pool which we also did not use as the temps were in the 50s-60s. I bet it is popular later in the spring. The park had a small nature trail, access to the Rainbow River for excellent kayaking and access to the Rainbow Springs Headsprings section of the park a few miles away which had beautiful gardens, swimming in the springs, canoe/kayak rental. There was adequate cellphone signal which we also used for Internet access. TV signals were poor using our antenna but that is no big deal. About 20 miles to Ocala and 5 to Dunnellon for groceries etc. Not much to do in the immediate area but a beautiful relaxing place to visit. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$24
A bit pricey for a state campground and they're not completely done with the renovations yet. That said, we are talking about a full hookup campground in central Florida with very large sites. Lots of families on the weekends so expect kids running around. It is a beautiful, clean park which once the trees grow in a bit will be a shining jewel in the state park system. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$19
This was the first time we'd visited this campground in several years, and since their major renovation since last year or so. It has great promise! We had a nice site and able to get satellite service and cell phone service. Most, if not all sites have 50 amp service and sewer hookups, added recently. The only drawback is the lack of trees and small brush. Time will bring it all back though. We definitely will be back. Rainbow Springs used to be a private attraction and the outflow is the Rainbow River, a very popular stream for tubing and swimming. What beautiful, clear water!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$32
We camped here for four nights and stayed on site 7, which was a great site. If you are considering camping here and have not been there before, the sites along the outside ring are the best and most private (sites 6 thru 25). The sites on the "interior" are not private and pretty close to one another. Only a couple of sites have shade trees, so summer camping here might be a little problematic. The Rainbow River runs along the park and is a beautifully clear spring fed river. You can rent canoes and kayaks at a very reasonable price about 6 miles away (via car) at the other part of the Rainbow Springs Park complex called the Headspring. This area is also beautiful and admission is free to campers. Over Christmas, the Headsprings park was open at night and it was decorated with thousands of Christmas lights. Santa was also there for the kids. A third part of the park complex rents tubes for floating down the river during the summer. We will definitely try this park again next winter as well as giving it a shot this summer to enjoy tubing down the river. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2009
$32
Seems to be a newer park. The sites are deep and they offer full hookups. The bathroom was spotless and bright with big hot showers. We camped in site # 10 and it offered privacy. Good location to get to Crystal River to see Manatees and also Ocala. Great for family camping. Staff was very helpful. Close access to Rainbow River. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
This park has just reopened after renovation so needs some time for the landscape to grow back.The camping spots are really nice other than the landscape being bare between a lot of sights. The staff is great. Finding a pool at a Government park was a surprise. Now for the bad: if you take a kayak, it is a good walk down to the river. They do have a cart for you to haul it on. The other thing is that to get to the springs you have to drive out of the park and come back in on the other side which is a good little drive. You can not swim over the spring itself as it is roped off but has a swimming area; as does the camping side.The park itself is an old tourist park from the 1930's and is a nice walk through it. We will go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
The park has been recently re-done. The beauty of this location is Rainbow Springs/River. It's walking distance to river: tubing was amazing. Park has very large sites, sewer, some shade. We stayed in Site 52. Huge and paved, but the sewer was not thought out well, it was uphill and at the back of site. Overall this park has a lot of potential. I'd recommend staying in the B or C loop. Most sites you can back into easily, some of the widest roads I've ever seen in a state park. C loop has some shady sites. Also on the B and C side there appears to be no tent sites. Two negatives, Loop A has tent sites, our stay in Site 52, was marred primarily due to the drunken parties being held across from us. Why no rangers said a word is beyond me. There appeared to be minors getting blasted along with the parents, liquor bottles, very loud music, etc. Am still shocked this was allowed in a state park. Other than that, bring your own lawn mower, as they don't seem to like to use them. But, we will go back. The river is too beautiful to stay away, we just won't stay near the tent sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
We just came back from camping at the newly renovated campground. I had never camped at the previous campground but have read the reviews. There are now three loops. Two of the loops are in the field that is south of the office or store. One of the loops is north of the store. There is very little shade anywhere in the campground. They have planted small trees and they will grow up someday. The roads have been paved and the sites are pea gravel. The people who designed the loops obviously do not camp. If you are on the back sides of the loops from the very nice restrooms, there are no paths to the front of the restrooms without walking all the way around the loop or cutting through other folks campsites. It is the same story for getting to the office or the river from the back sides of the loops. Folks don’t seem to want to walk all the way around the road and were constantly walking 3 feet or less away from the campers or tents while cutting through campsites. The bathrooms on the south loops were very nice and had large ceiling fans to help keep them cooler than the usual 4th of July temperature. The bathroom on the north loop was a single stall and shower compartment for each sex but folks could also use the restrooms by the swimming pool. All of the sites now have full hookups which is very convenient. This is a great campground for tubers. You park 2 miles south of the campground at the parking area, ride the concessionaire’s shuttle to the river launch and then tube back to your cars. I don’t know the cost. That being said, the concessionaire has made it extremely annoying and difficult for anyone who brings their own kayaks or canoes. They have blocked off the road to the river with a gate near the office which only the shuttle buses can drive through and anyone else must haul your kayaks or canoes down to the river with your own cart or borrow the one and only cart at the office. This distance is more than a little carry; it is about a quarter of a mile. I don't plan to go back until they make putting in a kayak or canoe more reasonable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2007
$20
Camped here for two nights; however, at check-in, we were told that the campground will close in January 2008 for renovation. According to Reserveamerica, the campground will be closed until August 30, 2009. Check the website for updates. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2007
$24
We stayed at the state park campground for five days/four nights on Thanksgiving 2007 weekend. There were three other camper units in our group. The campground was sold out the entire weekend. If you look at the Reserve American site for the site map, one area is closed completely. There are two smaller areas that were still open but will close in January. In fact, the whole campground will be closed until renovated. At that time all sites will have fullhookups available. The area had not had much rain lately and it was pretty dusty, especially from the dirt roads to the sites. There were a lot of tenters in the area and many staying with other people with camper units. So the bathrooms were constantly busy and I was glad I did not have to use them. I asked the woman at checkin about a internet connection and she really wasn't to smart about that. She said there was a computer in the rec room and some kind of connection for the internet but not on that computer. It was simple, a dialup connection outlet. Bring a local access number with you and enjoy the 49k connection. The walkway from the campground to the river is landscaped nice and very clean, much nicer than the campground. Another thing to remember is, the campground is on the opposite side of the Rainbow River from the state park. You have to drive about 6 miles to get to the other side entrance. From the campground on the other side of the river are homes so you cannot just go straight across even in a canoe or kayak. We may try this again in a couple of years because they have no clue when it will be open again once it closes for renovations. Also, if you are going west on S.R. 40 the sign to turn off on is very small, it's under a huge sign indicating for the Rainbow Springs State Park Headsprings (Straight ahead - but the campground requires a left turn on 180th Ave. Road). Over by the state park entrance is a Wal Mart, Winn Dixie and a few fast food restaurants and gas stations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2007
$22
Here is an update on this park. The entire campground up by the river is closed while they upgrade the camping area. I talked to the ranger 3/07 about the progress. The only presently available camping is out by the office which is basically a grassy field with little shade. In the future they are going to totally refurbish the campground into two loops much like the newer state park campgrounds in Florida (like Silver River). They were supposed to be done by now but spent the funding on the new tuber takeout. In the future you will be able to float tubes down the river to a point and then a tram will take you back to the park. They have built the tram road through the woods so that part is done. Originally they were to have the campground improvements done by now but the ranger said they have no idea when they would be completed. This park has great potential they just need to complete the work so we can camp there again! The old campground up by the river will be changed to pavilions for picnics. It is one of our favorite places and we miss camping there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2006
$22
We enjoyed this campground. The setting is beautiful and the town of Dunnellon is quaint. The section we were in (sites 58 and up) which are nearer to the river, will be closed in June 2006 and the area turned into day use only. So the roads in that section were in poor condition. The other facilities were fine. The only campsites will be at the front of the park, which don't have any shade. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$24
Nice pool and playground. Sites are close together with the front section (1-57) of the campground having little to no shade. The rear section (58-105) has shade, but small sites. Roads are sand/dirt. Sites have some grass. The campstore is well stocked. Firewood is available to be delivered to your site. This would be a really nice park if they could find a way to link it to the Rainbow Springs Park without having to drive seven miles around the spring/river. Roads are in poor shape. They need to be regraded or paved. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2005
$20
A beautiful, well maintained park. Large level sites on grass in the upper areas, more shaded sites on grass, dirt and gravel in the lower area which is closer to the Rainbow River. Area is very quiet, park personnel are extremely helpful and friendly. We chose this park because it's one of the relatively few Florida State Parks that allow pets, but i t was also one of the more enjoyable places we stayed. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2000
$16
Spacious sites in grass or sand, no pads. Some sites close to Rainbow River. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com