219004 User submitted reviews online!!
Grayton Beach State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 62 user reviews. Phone: (850) 267-8300
CGID6723

Grayton Beach State Park

Camp Information
Sites
64
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   10   5   10   9   9   6   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30
This was an unexpected pleasure! We stayed here for 7 days and enjoyed it all. Plenty of privacy as the sites are spaced nicely. Old section was nice, although some sites were small. A few back right up near Western Lake. It's only a 10 minute bike ride to the beach area, and its very nice there. The whole park has clean restrooms, showers, and pavilion areas. Sunsets were unbelievable! Water was still quite cold but managed to get legs in some. Easy in and out. Dump station there for the older non-sewer section. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$24
The beach is wonderful, campsites are spacious, and some are right on the water. Although the new loop has sewer, we like the original loop better as the sites are wide open. During our stay, the weather was dreadful ice, rain, and freezing temperatures. Despite miles of sand, the park staff chose to close the rest rooms in our loop because the steps and deck had a light coating of ice instead of sprinkling a layer of sand. The roads are dirt. There are a number of potholes which the staff doesn't repair because they use them as speed bumps. There was a huge pothole in front or our site and after a day of rain, a small child or dog could have been lost in it. The good news is that laundry facilities have been added to the older loop during a recent remodeling. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$30
Beautiful park. Easy access in a motor home with a tow. Beaches have a nice boardwalk to the beach plus a bench to sit and look at the water and sunsets. Bath house was immaculate and warm in a cold January. Such a nice retreat from the masses on 30A. I would highly recommend this park. Sure the summer would find it packed but perfect for a winter retreat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2014
$24
Campground is OK, some sites are big & paved but very open, the back loop has some nice woodsy sites but be careful as some are smaller and especially narrower than they seem on line. Everything is sand so of course it's a bit messy but that's common at state parks near the beach. Beach is fantastic, beautiful CLEAN white "sugar sand" goes for miles and miles. Nice hiking trail (1.5 miles), access to miles of biking trails across the street from the campground. It's about 1.5 mile walk from campground to beach (you can drive over if you want). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2013
$30
We love this park. It is a short walk to the beautiful, white powder sand beach and aqua blue water with the lagoon is between. Some of the sites have a nice view of the water. The site we had, #50, was big enough for our 40' Class A, our toad, a 6 person tent, fire pit ,and picnic table. Not all sites are this large, but this is a good one if you need the room. The restrooms are very clean and conveniently located. For bicycle riders, there are great paths to the towns on either side of the park. We look forward to coming back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$30
This is our favorite Florida campground on the gulf. My family enjoys spending thanksgiving holidays here. We enjoy walking along the beach to the several vacation communities down the shoreline, such as Water Color. There is always some events going on during the holiday seasons This campground is very well maintained. It has the most spacious interior bathroom space I've ever seen while camping. I prefer camping on the second loop because majority of the sites are paved, which works well if you do not plan to stake any thing to the ground. The only shortcoming for me is that Tmobile 4G and 3G internet service is non-existent here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$17
Florida Senior rate of $15.00 plus tax for a 50 amp full hook up back in site. The site was crushed stone and level. There are two camping loops here, one with full hookups and the other with electric and water only. All sites are level here, so I'm not sure about an earlier review stating other wise. The electric and water loop sites tend to be smaller, but much more private with lots of foliage between them. There are a few in that loop that back up to water and are very nice. TV via batwing was pretty good, Verizon cell and broadband both very good. Right around the corner on CR 283 is the Hurricane Oyster Bar which has daily happy hour and specials from 3 - 6 every day. Very good specials there and close by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Staff extremely friendly and very accommodating. Unfortunately for me, It rained every day really hard and made the loop we were on a mud drive. Men's restroom was closed for remodeling which is fine by me because a new, clean, air conditioned restroom makes up for many shortcomings. Beach access is great. Of course, the beach is spectacular. The park has two loops one is paved one is dirt or crushed shell. The paved loop also has paved campsites or crushed gravel very nice. The dirt loop has primitive camping mostly. I will go back and stay on the paved loop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Very nice park close to The Gulf of Mexico. The sites have either a dirt base or a pea gravel base depending on which side of the park you are in. The walk down to the gulf from the parking area is very short. We enjoyed our stay here and the staff was very friendly. We will stay here if in the area. Make reservations well in advance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$15
There are 2 loops: an older loop, where the bathroom is being remodeled right now, and a new loop. We stayed in the newer loop, which has paved roads and crushed stone at the sites, except the handicap sites which are cement. The bathroom in the new loop is new and super clean. Most sites are not level, perhaps to aid in rain run-off. Many larger motor homes have used their leveler-jacks, and their tires are completely off the ground. The older loop has compacted sand roads and sites, and that road has some major dips. Nice to have sewer at a state park. The water is good, and so is the electric hookup. The staff is super friendly, and the dunes are beautiful. The beach is 3/4 mile from the campground. We would return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$24
This campground is one of our favorites with a beautiful beach and rolling dunes covered with golden sea oats and sugar sand beaches. There are two loops in the park a newer one with full hookups and bathhouse and a smaller loop with a bathhouse that is being updated. One can swim, fish, boating, hike and bike at this park. There are bike trails along 30A that go into Seaside which is an adorable little town. We stayed in the smaller loop and really enjoyed it. This park has 2000 acres. The cost was around $24 for just water and electricity. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$32
Great state park on the gulf with small number of RV spots. Stayed in January, off season so it was quiet. I wonder what its like in summer though. We had a huge concrete site right next to the bath house and laundry facilities. Picked up local TV with the antenna. Everything is close by, and you can drive a half mile to the gulf beach. I would like to stay in again if return to the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$33
It is going to be hard to find a campground with a better location than this one. It sits between the beach, a coastal lake, and the quaint town of Grayton Beach. Access to all three places is easy and fun. Nature in this area is absolutely beautiful. The park has two loops. The sites in the old loop are shorter and narrower, but are very private with large shrubbery. The sites in the new loop are mostly big rig compatible and are less private, but the landscaping is adequate and the sites are well spaced. Note that our site (#44) and a few others backing to the lake were not level and we had some issues with that. To level we needed 4" of shims and had to be so far forward that we couldn't connect to the sewer. We would choose a different site next time. Note that the site appeared to be basically level on Reserve America, but those sorts of things are tough to discern in a photo. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$27
Beautiful quaint campground very close to the beach. We stayed in the newer loop. Some sites were concrete; however, ours was very deep gravel that sunk immediately. This was our only complaint that it was very difficult to level our coach and after more settling, leveling multiple times with rather poor results. The site was large with fire ring, picnic table & view of a lake. Full hook-up, extremely well kept campground with very nice amenities. Tremendous location on Hwy 30-A. Highly recommend this campground if you are fortunate enough to get in… We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$27
This campground has 2 loops - an old one without sewer connections and a newer one with sewer connections. The old loop is extremely overgrown to the extent that a motorhome will catch the vegetation on both sides going on the main road. Many of the old loop sites are an absolute nightmare to get a large rig into. We stayed at site 18 as it was listed as suited for a 40" motorhome. We got paint damage on both sides of the motorhome due to tree branches sticking out way too far. We would strongly suggest that large rigs not make use of the old loop and stick to the new loop only. We would like to come back here some day now that we know where our rig will fit in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$24
Great State Park. We stayed in the older section which has smaller sites but we backed up to the lake across from the beach. We had a great time bike riding out on 30a from Grayton west one day and then east the next. Restrooms and showers were fine but much older than most of the other parks we had stayed in. They did have a newer set of restrooms in the other section. Newer section did not have a lot of areas with shade so we were happy with our choice. We did get lots of breeze and did end up turning off our a/c one day. Roads in older section had lots of potholes mainly due to all the rain that they had had. The last day we were there they were coming around and leveling the roads out and filling in some of the holes. Rangers offered us a map of the area that showed all the grocery stores as well as local shops. We even had a Starbucks less than a half mile outside the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
Wow! What more can be said. Water and electric sites are very private, some back onto lake with view of sand dunes. Full service sites are in open area with no privacy. Restrooms were very clean. Beach was about 1/2 mile on the camp road and never crowded. Bike paths, local shops and restaurants (and a Starbucks) within a mile by car or bike. A really super park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
We were on site #39 in the newer loop. The only bad thing about this loop is there is very little shade available. Campground is quiet. Bathhouses were clean, with washer and dryer. Our loop had the FHU older loop is W/E only. All sites had grills and picnic tables. The ones in the newer loops cannot be moved around. There are 2 pull through sites. Rangers were nice and helpful. The ads on the campground map were extremely helpful when we needed an RV repair. Only about 5 TV stations available on digital. Area has many restaurants, stores and grocery. Beach is clean, but same as last year there is green goo in the water and this year there were lots of biting insects in the seaweed. Campsites in newer loop are gravel and in older one they are sand. Lots of sandspurs even if you walk on the concrete you will have them on your shoes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
About half the sites have sewer/50amps, and are more open than the others. As with most of Florida you have bugs, but the 1 mile of beach nulls that out. You have to drive about 1 mile to the beach area or ride your bike. No camp store but plenty of local stores and eateries. I have stayed here 5 years. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$34
This is a very nice campground with full hookups. Sites are reasonably sized. Bathhouses were very clean and easily accessed from all sites. There is also a washer and dryers available at the bathhouse. Staff was friendly and helpful. Beautiful, uncrowded beach is 1/2 mile away on property. As another reviewer stated, if you have dogs, a downside was the sandspurs. They don't seem to affect short-hair dogs, but we have a Yorkie and it was a major problem no matter where we walked him (off pavement). They do have a dog area with woodchips, as another reviewer noted, however it had numerous sandspurs mixed in there also. Would also like to note that there IS NO TRAM, nor CAMP STORE (the other reviewer obviously had it confused with Topsail); however, there is bagged ice available at the check-in area and there are many stores and restaurants nearby in Watercolor and Seaside. Great value for the price. I only gave it a '9' because of the sandspurs; otherwise it was a solid '10'. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
Great State Park. We stayed in the newer section that has sewer hookups. Not much shade but sites were very large. Everything was very peaceful and clean. Bathhouse was also very clean. Only two negatives where there are a lot of sand spurs that the dogs get in their paws. They do have a dog area that is covered with wood chips. And the lack of TV reception. Only could pick up two channels with the antenna. The beach was beautiful and not overly populated. Will defiantly stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$26
We love this park. Great beach, great fishing, quiet and peaceful. Sites in the old loop are separated by trees and vegetation so you don't feel like you are on top of your neighbor. The new section has been planted to achieve the same effect in the next few years. We plan to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$42
A GREAT campground with a terrific staff. The campground is clean and well maintained with beautiful landscaping throughout. Our site was perfect for us and our dog. Bikes are available for rent and were fun. Easy walking distance to everything. Trams are provided to and from the beach. I would have rated this a 10+ but the restrooms near our site (35) were not clean (paper on the floor). My wife went to the restrooms in the other camping area and said they are much better: so it's just the staff responsible for that bathroom. The lady who worked in the camp store was fantastic. She gave us lots of information and seemed to enjoy her job. What a breath of fresh air! We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$18
Friendly staff; pretty quiet except for the crickets that chirped all night! We enjoyed walking the trails, up to the beach and seeing the park. The fresh water lake right next to the Gulf of Mexico is interesting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$25
Chose this state park based on others' reviews and was not disappointed. Registered on-line at ReserveAmerica and chose site 8 in the older of the two campgrounds. Older section has more shade and sites are somewhat secluded by trees and vegetation. The electricity in the older section is limited to 30amp service, so big rigs are assigned to the newer section which has 50amp service, sewer hookups, large concrete or gravel pads, and much less shade. The weather was cool (high 50s) during our stay, so we somewhat regretted not picking a site in the newer area with full afternoon sunshine. We preferred to use the restrooms/showers in the big rig area. Park rangers at the gate were extremely helpful and polite. The "no dogs on the beach" policy is prominently emphasized. ("No dogs" policy applies on all the nearby town beaches; only exceptions are for residents, who have to have a dog-on-the-beach permit.) Beach was wide, flat, hard-packed sand, clean, and empty of people. No surprise considering the cool weather. But beautiful sunsets every evening. Beach is a 1/3 mile easy walk from the campsites. Dogs that won't walk in the asphalt road to the beach will pick up burrs in their footpads. Not nice. There's a bike path that runs along Route 30A outside the park entrance, eight miles east and 8 miles west. Give the county and towns lots of credit for creating the bike path, which is designed more for easy meandering than for hard core racers. We would visit this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$24
Love the old loop. Trees and bushes surround the sites so neighbors are difficult to see and hear. Loved watching the squirrels. Clean bathrooms and shower. Fun just walking to the bathhouse by walking on paths cut into the trees. No cable TV or internet. This is the park to relax for a few days. Great beach. Easy walk from the site. If you wake up before sunrise, walk to the dune lakes. The birds' songs are amazing! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
We camped in site #47 which was a FHU PT site on the new loop. Our site was gravel and had a fixed picnic table and a combo grill/fire ring. Our particular site was quite tight with just enough room to park the RV but no real room to spread out. Sites in newer section were very unlevel most sloping toward Western Lake. Most sites in the newer loop have no shade and lack privacy. Other sites in the new loop were more generous on space. The older loop is sand based and has w/e only but includes a clothesline to hang items from. It also has more shade and privacy. The park has 1 trail which is in the day use area near the beach. There are other trails that do lead outside the park boundaries into the Washington Nature Preserve to hike or bike. Also 30A has a large paved bike trail that leads into nearby areas. Grayton Beach has a picnic area and beach and that's about it. The beach is clean and the sand is cool and white. We had some storms the week we were here and the waves were rough. There was also a green goo of seaweed floating everywhere in the water. It seemed to stick to everything. There are no shells on this beach so walking along it was comfortable. Did not have to wear water shoes to keep feet from being cut. Park beach was very uncrowded unlike public beaches east and west of park. Park also rents bikes and canoes. We saw several people paddleboarding in park so I guess they can be rented nearby. Firewood is for sale in park. Park Ranger lady was very helpful with information of the area. She also gave our child a Jr Ranger book to work on while in park. Then, awarded her pins when she completed it. Bathhouse in new section is very nice and clean but could use AC and ceiling fans. It becomes very humid when inside it. Older section has a bathhouse that needs replaced. It looks like an old construction trailer. But it does have AC and fans. ATT and Verizon phones worked fine. No Wi-Fi in park. Did not find anyplace nearby that had it either. TV reception was spotty we were able to get 2 stations most of the week. The towns of Seaside and Watercolor are about a mile away and have shopping and food. There is a nice farmer's market on Saturday mornings in Seaside. We also toured nearby wineries and tried local wines. There are 2 Publix, one in Watercolor and one on 30A about 4.5 miles away. There are Wal-Marts on 30A as well if you forget anything. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
This is a good campground. The staff is very nice and accommodating. We stayed in the new section with full hookups. The bathhouse was extremely clean. The park is beautiful and a nature lover's paradise. The negatives are the sites do not have many trees, not very private and the sand spurs are not pleasant for the dogs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$24
Was $24 plus tax for water and electricity in the older loop. The newer loop cost is $30 plus tax, with full hookups and a newer bathroom, but this loop does not have much shade or privacy. We stayed in the older loop with gravel roads because these sites are smaller and we can fit with a 25 foot RV. The site we had faced the bay and you could see the dunes of the beach across from the bay. It was a beautiful site with shade, privacy, views and we really loved it. It felt like “old Florida” with the palm trees. We could walk or ride our bikes over to the beach and it was another beautiful Panhandle beach. This park is in the coastal lowlands and it has three dune lakes within the park. One wakes up to birds chirping with great sun rises and sunsets. The little town of Grayton Beach is quaint with small restaurants that have outside seating under umbrellas. There is a bike trail just outside the park going along the highway into town and beyond. We enjoyed our stay at this park and would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
We love this park. The staff is wonderful and friendly. The facilities are ultra clean. The beach is lovely and never crowded. This is a state park not a resort so don't expect pools, grass or amenities like cable TV. If that is what you are looking for, just stay at Watercolor Inn next door. If staying here, relax and enjoy camping in the great outdoors! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2011
$45
The camp host was terrific and even though pets are allowed, we found most areas pets could use were covered with sand spurs. We were on a completely concrete location directly in front of the comfort station. I was less than happy with this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$26
Nice, quiet, clean campground in beautiful state park. We would come back here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
Wow! This park is totally suburb. Complete renovations were completed several months ago. The complete hookup sites are big rig friendly, long and wide. The sites are partially shaded to fully shaded. The roads are paved and the sites very level crushed stone. The bath houses are new, heated and air conditioned. Maintenance is exceptional. The beach is just beautiful and at sunrise and sunset is nothing short of spectacular. There are 20+ miles of paved bicycle trails and multiple local attractions and villages with excellent shopping. We stayed here several days and were sad to leave. This is one of Florida's very best State Parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
This is a nice park. The staff is helpful and friendly. The restrooms are immaculate. It is disappointing that they don't allow dogs on the beach at all and it is difficult to walk your dogs due to an abundance of sand spurs. I would give this park a 10 if they put in a small area with grass for dogs. We walked everywhere we visited because of the convenience of the location. It was an easy walk to the beach every morning. Watercolor, Seaside and Grayton Beach for longer afternoon walks. Our favorite place to eat is Hurricane Oyster Bar in Grayton Beach, it is good prices for great food. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
There are two camping sections to this park; the old which has smaller sites without 50 amp service and without sewer hookup; and the new which is full service with some concrete sites and others with gravel. Most of the sites in the new area require a good bit of leveling and most are back in. There are not a lot of bigger rig sites, so call to check. The bathrooms were clean and nice. You can go in and lock the door for a shower. The showers had short shower heads - very convenient for some. The washer and dryer were outside the bathhouse; I didn't like that, but overall the facilities were adequate, clean and accessible. The park was great for either walking or bicycling for good distances. The beach is quite a long walk, but beautiful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
OMG this place is wonderful!!! Perfect: the best campground we have ever stayed at. We were in a travel trailer and stayed in the old loop they don't have full hookups but it was worth it to have all the trees and shade. (Very private.) Yes there is a lot of sand and we did see one small snake, but you are in a wooded area. We have two small dogs 5 lbs and 9 lbs and we felt safe here. The sand spurs were around but we did not see many on the camp site. So many things to do! A quick walk or ride to the beach area, which is beautiful! Hardly anyone on the beach but 3-4 families. The bathrooms were really clean and the park was spotless. Very, very nice with huge lakes and sand dunes. Beautiful sunsets. Can't say enough good things about this place. The people that work at the campground were all very friendly. Not that we saw them very much. The campground was so huge and private you hardly saw anyone. Another great thing was the location! Perfect! Nice area of town with cute stores and also 1/2 hour from Destin and 1/2 hour from Panama City. We went to both and honestly loved the Santa Rosa area the best. Visit Seaside and Watercolor. The houses and area was amazing and very quiet. The perfect vacation for a nice relaxing get away. And close enough to the bigger cities to check them out also. Would go back again and tell people to go! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
We stayed for 4 nights in the newer section of the park which offers 50 amp service and sewer hookups. The older loop has only 30 amp service and no sewer hookups. Our site was concrete, very spacious, but with no grass and no shade. Immediately off of the concrete, the lots were covered in sand spurs, which made walking a dog very difficult. We asked to move to another site which offered more shade (the temps were 90 degree plus), but the park rangers said the site we wanted to move to would not be available for the entire period of our stay so we stayed put. As it turned out, that site remained empty throughout our stay. The beach area was beautiful and was a good hike (or bike ride) from our site. When walking our dog one night, we encountered a huge snake; however, we didn't hang around long enough to determine if it was venomous. The park is very near the tourist areas of Hwy 30A (i.e., Seaside, Watercolor, Grayton Beach, Blue Mountain, etc.) which offers shopping and restaurants, but are a bit pricey. There are two Publix supermarkets close by (one within 2 miles and another about 4 miles). Destin is within 20 miles and Panama City Beach approx. 30 miles from the park. We probably will not return to this park during this time of year due to the lack of shade and grass, and because of the presence of black and yellow flies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
Lovely sunset on the beach, easy walk from our water/electric site in the older part of the park (no cement pad). It was level, but a tight fit for our rig. Best value on a gorgeous beach. We only stayed one night but will certainly go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$26
One Of My Favorites! Lots of room for 40' RV. Nice area sit outside and BBQ. Not too far from the beach. Can ride bikes from campground. The beach is beautiful. Water temperature great. Sand is beautiful white. Would come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
We stayed in the newer section with full hook ups. We moved around some because we didn't have reservations, so one site was gravel and one was concrete and they were large and private. The first night our site fronted the lake and was beautiful. There are bike rentals at the office. This is one of our favorite state parks and will go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$21
This is a very nice state park located in a very nice area of the panhandle. It is more secluded than both Henderson and Panama City State Parks. There are two loops, one of which is older with shaded, somewhat narrow 2 way sites, while the other is new, paved and all sites are open and three way. There are about five lakefront sites on the older loop. We stayed on site 18, which seemed to offer the best views out of a large back window of all the lakefront sites. The sites in the older loop are visually very private, but close to each other. They can also be challenging to get into and are not big rig friendly. We were able to get into site 18 without difficulty in a 33' fifth wheel. It is a nice site. The older loop is dusty, but if you stay on the lake side of the loop the prevailing breezes keep the dust away from you. The inside sites on the loop get lots of dust. The new loop is very nice but does not have lakefront sites: although there are a few lake view sites. All of these are three way sites with the sites themselves being crushed stone. New, nicely done with lots of room and easy access for bigger rigs. Waterfront sites get a great breeze: but I suspect the inside sites are hot. We really liked it. Was very laidback. We will be returning next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$42
Beautiful SP campground with clean restrooms and friendly staff. There is a wonderful paved bike trail right from the park where we were able to easily ride 10 miles in either direction. Could walk our kayaks from our site to put-in, found kayaking interesting but somewhat limiting for us. Restaurants, groceries, laundry, etc. all close by. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$35
Great campground close to other Gulf coast beach towns. No cable TV or Wi-Fi available. Campground very clean and staff very friendly. We had 1 night and moved to another site for 2 nights. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$24
This is a great park. It was our first time here and only stayed one night, but we were very impressed. The older sites do not have full hookups but are great sites with privacy and nature all around. The newer sites look larger and have full hookups that are graveled or paved. Beaches are great and we did not have a lot of time to explore but rate this park one to go to again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$30
The newly upgraded section of the park is wonderful. The sites are level (gravel) and have patios. There are some concrete sites for physically challenged. Can drive (or bike) to beach where there is bathhouse available. Cell service was good. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$24
We rented a cabin within the park plus an RV site for the other family. It was a quiet, peaceful place. The beach was very clean and spacious. The cabins are neat, clean and comfortable. I will go back and camp in my RV. An A+. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2009
$30
This is an outstanding State Park in a fantastic location. The park in next to the Point Washington State Forest. This combination gives you great beach and great forest to explore. Hiking and biking make for fun activities. The park is close to some of the Gulf Coasts best resorts. The shopping and eating is out of this world. The campground has two loops. The older loop, sites 1 thru 35, are water and electric. The new loop, sites 37 thru 59, are full hook up, 50 amp sites. The older sites are smaller, but shady. The newer sites are larger, but more open. We stayed in site 53 and found it fantastic. This is a must visit park! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$20
This is a great RV Park. Bring your bikes for the ride to the beach as it is a ways. It is one of the nicest beaches around. Put your food away at night because the raccoons will rob you blind. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$24
The new loop is now open and is very nice. Full hook-ups too. Not much shade since they cleared out a lot of trees putting in the new sites. Nice hard surfaced road there too. However, we camped in the old loop. The no sewer hook-ups, gravel road, and some very small sites. None of this was an issue for us as we knew going in what to expect. Our popup could fit in even the smallest of sites. The sites in the old loop are gravel unless you get one of the few ADA concrete sites. The park was very quiet except for a couple people with yappying dogs. Not a huge issue though. The old loop is best suited for tents and popups and there were plenty on this trip. The only issue we had, and the reason I rated Grayton a 7, was the cleanliness of the bathhouse. Whoever was assigned to clean must not have had their heart in it. The trash was emptied daily but the sinks had the same dead bugs, spiders, and human hair in them all 3 days we were there. This was the first time we experienced this at a FL state park. However, this will not keep us from going back. The park is in a great location for biking to some of the nice local communities. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$24
Grayton Beach State Park is definitely a Florida State Park gem in the Emerald Coast area. Conveniently located, it’s about halfway between Destin and Panama City Beach on the panhandle of Florida. The camping facilities there are less than a mile from the most pristine sand and water in Gulf. Because of the location this park is an RVers dream come true for those that love the beach. Our 3 night stay there in the end of September 2009 was terrific. Upon arrival at the park office to check-in, the Rangers/staff were very friendly and made us feel completely welcomed. Having reserved site 20 based on a recommendation I read on the internet our check-in was smooth and easy. The site was located in the older loop of the park and was very nice but I would say most nearly all the sites are as equally as nice with lots of trees and privacy. A negative on the site location is that the older loop of the park could use a little TLC. This is a heavily used park so the restrooms/showers are showing some age and wear. The interior road in the older loop is unpaved as well as the sites with the exception of the ADA pads. The newer loop is paved, sites are graveled and there they offer both 30amp and 50amp service. Now for my favorite part, the fun stuff in the area. The best part is the beach being so close and since it is a state park beach it was less crowded then the Destin and Panama City Beaches. There is a lot to do in the area from sunbathing on the beach to bike riding the local trails to kayaking on the lake. Just beware that there may be an alligator or two in the lake. I personally never saw one but it is posted. As an avid bike rider, I would like to add that the paved trails as well as the off road trails in the National Forest area are awesome here. If you come here to visit you should bring your bathing suit and beach stuff, your bike and a kayak (or rent them locally) and the desire to have a great time because at Grayton Beach State Park there is plenty of fun to be had. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$24
Great rustic park. Very nice location and can bike to Grayton Beach and Watercolors. If you haven't been to Watercolors, you owe it to yourself to take the Mrs. She will love it. Sites are secluded and shady. New section with paved sites and 50 amps just fixing to open. Great staff and more of a natural wilderness park than modern park like Topsail. I like it a lot and can't wait to go back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$24
Each site was secluded, making it feel like you were in the coastal wilderness. Hookups were well located. Water pressure was perhaps a little high so a regulator would be a good idea. The dump station was well equipped with a clean-up hose on a reel that made the process much simpler. Some sites were a little short and some would be tight to get a bigger rig into, so some care with site selection would be advised. The staff was great. We would go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$21
This is a beautiful park with alot of deer roaming thru the area and sites right on the water (recommend 20). We rode our bikes around the park - really pretty. The restrooms are clean. I saw washer/dryer hookups, but no machines. It's a small, clean and quiet park. I would highly recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$19
Wow! This was an amazing campground. I loved everything about this place. It was gorgeous, clean and very charming! We camped in site number 33. This is one of the three that can be used for people with disabilities so it is all concrete and has a sidewalk directly to the restrooms. The restroom are placed in the middle of the park and there are little trails to the restrooms. Most of the sights have there own path. If you want the prettiest sight with a lake view i suggest sight 18 or 20. They were great! If you want to fish the lake there were tons of fish and the beach was just a walk a way and barely anybody there. This park comes highly recommended by me! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$19
This was a great park! We can't wait to get back. We stayed here for a couple of days, until our trip was interrupted by Hurricane Gustav. The sites are about 3/4 of a mile off the beach, so it is a hike if you have kids, we drove. The sites only have 30 AMP services and no sewer, so if you have a long stay, reduce your water consumption. The sites are wooded, so at least you have some shade and one A/C kept our Motorhome bearable in the 96 degree days. Make sure you have room for your slides when making reservations, some of the sights were really tight, but they have many that will accommodate slides. The sights are very private. If you plan to use the public bathrooms, get a sight in the middle because they have walkways to the restroom, otherwise you have to walk around the drive to the entrance because the sites to heavily wooded to cut through anywhere. The beach is unbelievable! My boys kept thinking the white sand was snow. My youngest kept laying down in the sand because it was so soft. The water was crystal clear, it was amazing to see the fish and crab right off the shore. A man was literally catching big crabs with a hand net. This is a wonderful place to camp. It is off the beaten path, so the beach was not over crowded, or commercialized, and you really felt like you were in nature, yet all the amenities were only a short drive away. We highly recommend it!!! Lots to see and take in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$19
Grayton Beach is one of the best small state park campgrounds in the Florida Panhandle, IMO. Beautiful scenery, great beaches and bike trails. Gulf is 1/2 mile away. No WI-Fi, but Starbucks is near park entrance. Friendly, accommodating park staff. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2008
$18
This is our favorite kind of campground; widely separated sites with brush and tree privacy screens. Our favorite low round steel fire rings with grates. Heated bathroom. Beautiful beach. Friendly staff. Good Verizon and AT&T signals. ReserveAmerica reports several sites are too narrow for slide outs. We did a careful inspection, found nothing of the kind. Most sites can do slide out and awning, a few slide out or awning. Some sites can accommodate big rigs. Turning left out of the campground, there are two small shopping areas on the left side of the road about 1/2 mile away; one with Starbucks, the other with Another Broken Egg Cafe, an outstanding breakfast and lunch cafe which is closed on Mondays. We'll come here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2007
$18
Nice beach but a small park. Site for my MH was tight. Not a bad place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$18
Great campgrounds. Very quiet and secluded sites. Very well maintained and clean bathrooms. Was there during the middle of the summer but had the beach to ourselves. There are bike/walking paths to nearby communities. Most sites are sand, could be messy when it rains. Also, we saw larger rigs having problems getting into some of the sites. One never made it and had to move to another site. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$18
This state park is not bad. Most of the sites are rather small. We couldn't open our awning in ours because it was too narrow. The sites are very well spaced and secluded. Sites and roads are packed sand and can get messy in wet weather. The park has a very nice beach on the Gulf Of Mexico. There are nicer state parks in the area but this one is usually easier to get site availability. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$21
Very nice quiet SP/CG. I liked that it only had 37 sites. Sites are partially/fully shaded but there is lots of brush separating each site -- you can't even see your neighbor. I'm not sure you could get a "big" rig in there, but I did see a 35'er diesel pusher. Plenty of room for slides/awnings, etc. Some concrete padded sites for handicap-accessible. Most sites gravel/crushed shell. Only one restroom/shower combo for all sites, but we didn't have a problem with lines. Restrooms are cleaned religiously every day from 9-10AM so don't expect to 'go' then!! Roomy showers/plenty of hot water. There is an inner loop & outer loop. Restroom is in the center, so some inner loop sites have the restroom 'paths' right next to them with lots of foot traffic going by your site. I believe those are the 'odd' numbers. Even numbers are in the outer loop, & some of those are on the inland lake on the site. We could drag our 'yak right down from our site (#16) to the water. CG is not right on the beach. 2 min. drive or 5 min. bike ride. Beach is beautiful, white sand, and turquoise water!! Lots of 'day' visitors so get to the beach to stake your spot out early !! Can bike to small town of Grayton (10 min. west) or Seaside/Watercolor (20 min. east). Both nice quaint towns. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$19
We actually like this park better than Topsail Hill State Park (10 miles away). It is much smaller and there are no sewer hookups, but the overall feeling is much more natural. And, the rate is half what Topsail Hill charges. Sites 6-20 (even #s only)are about 20-25' from Western Lake, a natural dune lake, which are found in the Florida Panhandle and few places elsewhere in the world. A big plus to us was the fact that one could drive to the beach area and not be dependent on a scheduled shuttle. The sites are very private and nicely shaded. We saw several smaller Class "A" units here, but I expect a 40-45' unit might have a tight squeeze. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com