221563 User submitted reviews online!!
Gamble Rogers Memorial Recreation Area was rated 8 out of 10 based on 34 user reviews. Phone: (386) 517-2086
CGID674

Gamble Rogers Memorial Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
34
Date of Stay
December 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   9   9   9   9   7   8   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$30
Great, right behind the first dune, 100' to the beach. Even though your between A1A and the ocean, road traffic is not an issue. We pulled in forward and had a frontal view of the ocean. Site was raked and in fantastic shape. Palmetto between sites gave good privacy. Free air TV had 50+ channels. The High Tide grill was a 10 minute walk north on the beach and had acceptable frozen seafood for lunch on the beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$29
Incredible views of the ocean just steps from your site. Because this is a narrow park right on the ocean, road noise is considerable, but that is made up by the view and is somewhat blocked by the wind noise and sounds of the surf. Sites are very sandy, so you may also want blocks or something solid if you use jacks. Also, if you are on the beach side and want to pull in forward, you will need a longer electric cord and water hose. Only recommendation is to not come here during Bike Week in Daytona as roar of motorcycles could be heard almost all night and certainly all day. Would highly recommend this place--fills up very fast, so get reservations at 11 month opening. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$30
Small RV park on the beach. Great location for seeing the area. Will stay here again and get closer to the bath house where you can drive up and have your front windows face the ocean. Quiet and peaceful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$28
This park has a nice feel and put us into a laid-back Florida beach feel right away. It is a narrow strip by the ocean with sites on both sides of the CG's road. Great value to be on the ocean, and a real steal for lucky FL residents with discounts. Heed the notice when you reserve about length restrictions and some sites being hard to back into. We were OK in a 22' class B, but others had trouble. Restrooms were the nicest we've seen in a public park. Roomy well planned shower spaces. Already booked to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$14
Nice campground on the ocean. About 1/2 of the sites are actually on the ocean. Park rangers patrol the park often. Sites are not private nor shaded because it is indeed on sand: just some scrub palms. It is often windy which means no awnings! Price reflects Florida senior rate. It would be really nice to have sewer and internet. TV received many stations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$14
This is one of our favorite campgrounds, even if you don't get an oceanfront site. The greatest amenity is the view! It just doesn't get any better. There is always an ocean breeze which makes summer temps bearable. Campground hosts were great. Campers were friendly. The rate is Florida's senior rate (FL residents get 50% off the price if they're 65+.) Campground is clean. Sites are sandy. (It is beachfront!) We will camp here as often as possible. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$18
Really want to like this campground, but we will not go back. GREAT CAMP HOST: really made our visit just talking to him and finding out about the area. Beach was right here, but it was not too good compared to many we have visited on the Gulf coast. Great place to relax but we are an active family looking for more than the surf to play in. Great location for some, but only OK for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$40
Very nice. Our site faced the beach. Clean restrooms. The little restaurant up the beach was closed - what a shame. Not much to do in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$28
This State Park campground is on the beach. The surf of the Atlantic Ocean can be heard and seen. Just a narrow rise of dunes separates the campground from the beach. The view of the ocean for us was outstanding. There are sites on the beach side and they appear to be more level and longer. The turn into the campground, tight entrance through a control gate, narrow access lane, back-in sites and tight turn-around could be a big challenge for any rig over 38-feet. Most sites are spacious and some have the short palms for privacy. The beach is fantastic here. The ocean temperature was 74 for us and the wave surfing was great. The place is on the beach and the value for the price is outstanding. If we return to Florida this place will be number one on the list. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$14
Ocean front with partial ocean view. But we could hear the ocean. Nice beach, not crowded. Friendly campground hosts and rangers. Road noise not bad. Rate is for Florida resident over 65. We would stay here again most definitely. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$31
We were in Site #21. We were here previously in July 2009. The only changes since then was they finally added 2 washing machines and 1 dryer to the bath house. Beach here was quiet, mostly fishermen and families. This time our site was on the dune side so we had an awesome view of the water. They have replaced the broken dune walk over and the observation decks. We again went to the farmer's market in town and bought our fresh veggies and bread. Also took another trip up to Washington Oaks to see their beach and gardens, well worth the trip. Same ranger checked us in again and still wanted us to hear about everything. He must be the senior ranger on duty so he gets to talk the most. We've never had checkins take so long anywhere. We did get to walk the Joe Kenner nature trail this time and did enjoy it. Saw manatees in the bay side where you put in boats. Again it rained with a potential for 60 mph winds but the hosts had checked out and no one replaced them while we were here. Luckily we saw the sky changing and watched the local news to know. Campers were friendly and polite. There are no campfires allowed right now, a burn ban is in effect. You can have a charcoal or gas grill, if it has a lid to cook. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$32
Dream ocean front camping ,wind blowing, sand all over every thing and every where and salt air rusting all your stuff ! ! DELIGHTFUL ! ! WONDERFUL ! NICE and HELPFUL Park Rangers. Extra interesting programs about the ocean and what lives in it ! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$31
Ocean Front camping for less $75.! What dreams unless you have good luck and get a site here. Park has E Z check in and raked sites. Hear and see the ocean from your camp site. Excellent walking trails with the best Park Rangers and Campground Host. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$31
Polite staff and fantastic ocean front sites. Great location for visiting the area. It is a small campground and there is not much to do on site but for the money you can't beat it. We are looking forward to returning in January 2011. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$15
Where else can you stay on the ocean where you can look down on the beach from the RV windows. Odd numbered sites 13 to 23 have a good view of the water but, all the sites are okay. There is no shade anywhere and privacy is limited. A short walk across A1A gets you to the the Intracoastal Waterway, boat launch and fishing area. Follow the road to the end for a cast net area and fishing. There is also a nice nature trail on this side of the highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$12
This is great oceanfront camping when you can get in. The campground is quite small, and there are no trees. But we were looking for the ocean which we could see from our site. The bathhouse and campground were clean. The only privacy within the camp site are the scrub palms. We would camp here again. Price is reflective of Florida senior resident. If this had sewer, cable, and internet, it would have had a 10! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$35
We stopped in at the last minute and were able to get a site for the night. Small campground with direct access to the beach. Gated at night with an access code. The park attendants were very nice and helpful and gave us good recommendations for area restaurants. The campground hosts were very friendly. We really liked it here and would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$23
We were on site #24 a handicapped site which had a fire ring/grill, w/e, picnic table and a concrete pad for the table. The ranger who checked us in wanted us to hear his spiel so it took 25 minutes to check in. He mentioned everything there was to know about the park. Our site was very narrow because it was a handicap site, but most sites are nice and wide so you can park your car next to your RV or tent. Camp hosts were friendly they raked every site after checkout, also warned campers when storms were approaching. Lots of sand- but hey it's the Beach! Bathrooms were VERY clean. Still no laundry facilities. 2 direct walkways to beach, and 2 overlooks located in campground. TV reception was good, except during storms (but that's to be expected). Agree campground gate was inconvenient, a rolling gate would be nicer. In back of our site was A1A, but less noise after 10PM. Nice ocean views from our site. Inter coastal side of park still remains unexplored by us, all we saw of it was the check in. But it has hiking/fishing/picnic area, but NO playground =(. Turn around at end of campground couldn't be done with our 35ft MH w/toad, as many people park their cars in the way. Flagler Beach has a nice farmers market, Fri & Sat 8-12. We would definitely return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2009
$22
Although this property is next to the beach, we felt like we were camping in a big sand lot. There is a large wall of palm scrub between the campground and the ocean, so the only view is of the road. The rangers were constantly on patrol (coming by our site every 15 minutes or so), and it was a little obtrusive. It's like they were waiting for someone to do something wrong. It was very strange. The one female ranger was downright rude when we checked in. She was upset at the gentleman in front of us and treated us horribly as a result. I don't think we'll stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
Did you say beach front/view property for $25 a night? Yes!! That is true and that is why it is almost impossible to get into the place. I was lucky and just happen to get a site for last weekend. The DW says she will come back here anytime but getting resevations is hard. There are other campgrounds in the area but for double the price. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
Pro's - Great views of the Atlantic Ocean, good access to the beach and clean restrooms/showers. Con's - Tight maneuvering within the park, due to closeness of opposing sites and poorly placed rocks. Due to the campsite closeness, the campground requires all RVs be straight and perfectly aligned with the site foliage. With limited maneuverability room this requires patience to achieve. To compound the issue, the campground host managed to leave his golf cart right in the way while we maneuvered. Their gate procedure is very awkward, requiring everyone to unlock a padlock, drive thru, and relock each time they come and go. The electric boxes are rusting away and should be replaced with marine stainless boxes (electric was OK). If any campground should be paved, this is it. Packed sand roads and campsites, with damp sand adhering to everything. There are 5 ramps over the dunes, however only 2 allow access to the beach. I'd guess the remaining 3 ramps have yet to be replaced. Some road noise from A1A. I probably wouldn't camp here again, until they fix the above items. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$25
Even though we were across the campground road from the dune and the walkways that access the beach, we could still enjoy a view of the ocean at all times. Lots are 60 feet wide with half being 70 yards from the beach and half 100, depending on which side of the sandy road you are on. The locked access gate is awkward to manage and makes entering and leaving slow, but the ranger explained that having highway behind the campground necessitates good security. There is no laundry. Dogs aren't allowed on the beach, but a 10 minute walk down the highway (on a sidewalk) brings one to the city beach where dogs are allowed, on a leash.Staff is friendly and helpful. The main activity for us was walking the beach and walking in the more sheltered area near the inter-coastal waterway. It was too cold to swim. We would come here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$25
This is a great park for the ocean. It is well kept, well run, and quiet despite the location on Highway A1A. Bath house was clean and we liked the private, family shower. Other than the ocean, there is nothing to do here. We were visiting family in the area so that was not an issue for us this time. Their gate with the padlock on it is very inconvenient. Perhaps just being lazy but every time we came in or left, we had to get out of the vehicle, unlock the padlock, open the gate, drive through, close the gate and re-lock. Just seems as if there could be an easier way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$26
This is our 4th trip to Gamble Rogers. It is one of our favorite campgrounds in Florida. It has nothing except the beach and it is right on the beach. There are about 24 RV site and then some tent sites. All are level and if you are over 38 feet long, you may stick out of the site. They are level and wide, but not real long. Our site, number 5 faced the beach and we had great views of the ocean and the wildlife. They have lost all but two of their walks to the beach, but it still not too far to get down to the beach. The campground is clean and quiet and they have a locking gate that is in place 24 hours a day. There is access to the inland water way across the road. There is not much to do here if you do not like the beach. There is a paved walk into town and we biked there for lunch one day, about 3 miles each way. Rangers are nice and helpful and keep the place clean. I will go back. Only got an 8 because it has no sewers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$26
The campground is in two loops with sites 1 through 23 facing the beach but high up on the dunes. The other sites are just as good since everyone can see the ocean and there are a few walkways down. We had one of the beach facing sites. There is no shade here but the ocean and beach make up for it. When we were here the temperature hit 110 degrees very high for Florida at this time of year. There is a nice breeze off the ocean but it was still hot but when you get on the beach it was so much cooler and the water was very comfortable. We spent the whole afternoon swimming in the ocean. Nice beach and sand. Cold water showers outside the restroom and hot showers inside. The campground sign said that it was full, so reservations are needed even during the week. The beach has a lot shells wash up on it and it is a feeding place for pelicans, sandpipers, gulls and other birds. The saltwater fishing is excellent. There are canoe and kayak rentals available at the park and there is a sidewalk along the road that is used for biking. There is a nature trail where one can view wildlife and natural vegetation. All sites have water,electricity, a picnic table and a fire ring. Florida is still in a drought so fires have not been allowed in most of the state campgrounds that we have stayed at. The ranger station even has a lending library for those ages 4-9. At night during the months of May through early September Loggerhead, Green and Leatherback sea turtles crawl on the beach to nest and lay their eggs so lights need to be turned down on the campers that face the ocean. This is really a pretty section of Florida driving the nine miles from Tomoka State Park where we stayed the night before over to A1A at Flagler Beach. The back roads looked like the “old Florida”. Very charming. Just a short distance north of the campground is a good seafood place to eat “Snack Jack” – it has burgers too! The rangers told us not to miss it! This campground is worth a return visit but I guess it is hard to get into to during the snowbird season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2007
$25
This is a great park if you love the beach. It is small and the beach is right over the dunes. There is biking, by sidewalk, to Flagler Beach. They have a nice market on Fridays. The staff is very nice. The park is quiet and the bath houses are clean. They have suffered some storm damage recently that took out all but two beach ramps. We were there in December, the weather was great and there were only two other people on the beach. The only negative is it very hard to get a site. Only 1/2 the campground can accommodate motorhomes and large travel trailers. But if you like the beach and are not put off by small campgrounds this is a great palce. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$23
First of all I won't give a campground a 10 unless it has sewer. So the best that this campground could get was a 9. This is not the place for people who want a pool and a lot of activities. But if you want a nice small campground on the beach with nice people and a clean bath house, this is for you. It is right on the ocean and many of the sites have ocean views. There is also a marina and fishing area across A1A. The bath house is clean, but not air conditioned. There is no store or laundry: those are located in Flagler Beach, about 3 miles north. By the way Flagler Beach is not an RV friendly town. There is a nice place to eat, about 2 blocks from the campground. The roads and sites are sand and firmly packed. Sites 25-36 can only hold a tent or 20 foot RV. The rangers keep the place clean and the beach is right over the dunes via boardwalks! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$22
Let me start by saying this park isn't for everyone. If you go to state parks for the private sites and wooded areas, you won't like this one. The sites are very close to each other and most are rather short. All sand pads. That said, where else can you get an ocean front site for around 20 bucks. The sunrise view from the back of our rig was fantastic. No shade so summer stays will be really hot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2006
$25
The web-site to register for Florida State Parks may say this park can handle a 45' motorhome but it can not!!! It is very hard to get in and out of. The view was great but that was it. You had to walk too far to walk your pet and to get to the dumpster. Thankfully with the help of other guests we were able to get into our spot but this will never happen again!!! I learned a good lesson, ask if it is big rig accessible and no matter what they say if the park is old it probably is not. Check to see if it has been updated before you find out the hard way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2006
$30
Very basic oceanview campground with good views if on east side. Dirt sites and roads with water, electric, dump station. Hot showers. Fishing and boat launch in park lagoon west of campground, other side of hwy. Restaurants and shopping several miles away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2006
$25
We enjoyed the view from the motorhome immensely. But we love walking the beach and this particular beach has deep sand and you sink in as you walk. So the beach was mostly to look at, not to enjoy. Brand new bathhouse to which they will add washers soon, which always improves the camping experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2005
$25
The location is fabulous, BUT the dump station is still down after 7-8 months and we arrived with a 2 week reservation made months ago and there is NO place to dump any of the tanks. We asked the park manager if there was a mobile service available and were told no, but you can go about 6 miles down the road to a private campground and pay between $5-8 to dump. No one in the park rangers office really cared one way or the other that we had not been notified about the lack of restrooms and dump station. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$20
On the ocean, but most sites had sea oats blocking views. Very well-kept up bathrooms and friendly staff. Locked gate to campground with a combination. Very nice that it's small-and most campers are gone during the day,leaving a not-crowded beach.Right next to highway but feels secluded.Great place to relax and do nothing. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2000
$20
Right on the ocean front. If you get a site on the ocean side, can sit at your campsite and watch the ocean. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com