224137 User submitted reviews online!!
Ami's Acres Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 35 user reviews. Phone: (970) 945-5340
CGID6768

Ami's Acres Campground

Camp Information
Sites
44
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   7   8   8   4   7   6   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$35
Driving in uphill, the host was very pleasant and happy to make suggestions for Glenwood Springs attractions and for our next nights stop south of here. Parking downhill from the office, all sites are close together with no trees/scrubs between the gravel sites. The terraced layout means that you are not looking in another camper's window. Our pull-through site was level. Most sites are full hook-ups. Traffic noise from I-70 just down the hill can be heard when sitting outside, but is consistent and without annoying rumble-strips. Great campground to explore the area, including the Glenwood Farmers Market and Hot Spring Pool. Good Verizon phone and MiFi connections. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2014
$36
We stayed two nights, one night on our way to and from the Rocky Mountain National Park. It was handy because it's right along I-70 but because of the terrain the sites are built on several levels. It was tough going up hill all the time to go the restroom and also to walk the dog. The owners were friendly but don't appear to put any money back into the park for improvements. The bathrooms especially needed remodeling. We couldn't get Wi-Fi at our site but I had a very good Verizon signal on my smartphone. We'd probably stay somewhere else if we go through the area again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$37
Long pull-through sites although built into the mountain were level. It was pretty tight navigating and tackling the hills. We managed with our 35' fifth wheel. We stayed for two nights. It was quiet except for the trains (no horns though). There is a short trail from the park with great views to walk the dogs. No wifi. Staff was friendly and eager to offer suggestions on what the area had to offer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$30
What a view!! Although the park is short on amenities, due to the location, it is breathtaking. I love the mountains. Restrooms were clean & staff is friendly. Could not use my air card or the WiFi but wasn't surprised. It is the mountains after all. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$36
A mere four miles from a bit of paradise in the largest mineral pool - Glenwood Hot Springs Pool. The campground roads are asphalt, the sites are mostly pull-through gravel, and all are stacked up the hill that is this campground. All the entire campground is cut into the mountain, so the sites are narrow and have no grass. The trees shading our trailer kept temperatures pleasant, and I enjoyed a peaceful evening outside. It was pleasant seeing the Colorado River and Horse Mountain over the top of the trailers downhill from us. The interstate highway traffic noise is consistent, somewhat muted and not annoying, and did not disturb my sleep. Lots of outdoor activities surround the area. I will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
This is an OK campground, but seems dirty and lacks landscaping, etc. It is by no means pretty or peaceful. It smelled of trash while we were there, and the spot we were in was dusty and just seemed ill kept. A bit more cleanliness and landscaping would go a long way to make this a very nice campground. Also, the bathrooms had spiders in the corners, dust in the fans, etc. Although we enjoyed our stay and the host was very nice, it just seemed dirty to me. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
I would like to disagree with nearly all the negative things that have been said about Ami's Acres. Yes, it is on the side of a steep hill, but that is what makes it beautiful and gives every site a great view of the mountains and the Colorado River. During the day the noise from I-70 is loud, but at night it becomes white noise. The train doesn't toot its horn so it is a non-issue too. My one complaint is that I could not even get anything with my own WiFi hotspot and the campground hotspot is up by the office. And the owner is really nice and helpful and the campground itself is quiet. The biggest complaint from others was the water which we found to be quite acceptable and usable. I'd give it 3 stars and stay here again. Not 4 or 5 because of the lack of amenities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
A little tough to get into, and bath house is up the hill from the sites. Appears to be lot of residents, but didn't see any issues. Host was friendly and helpful. Wi-fi is best near the office/bath house. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$39
Interesting location - thought it might be difficult on the side of a hill but drive slow and big pull-through made it fine. We liked the terrace effect of the sites to overlook the river (superb), freeway (not too noisy), & train on other side of river (not squeaky rails or horns-so OK), plus canyon walls on both sides are wonderful. Very friendly host made us feel at home. We did not need amenities as Glenwood has more than enough to do in one stay, just get bottled water for your coffee! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
Every review we read about this park was true. Unfortunately, the water was undrinkable. Very salty, and left a residue on everything! So bring your own water. The sites were very narrow with sharp turns. Had to change our site because we couldn't get into the first one. Also the bathrooms are at the top of a steep hill. You definitely got a work out going to the shower or bathroom unless you were at one of the upper sites. The men's shower lacked privacy with only a divider between stalls, and no curtain. Also no soap dispensers for hand washing. The good thing about this location was that it was close to Glenwood Springs and all the activities. Also it was beautiful being nestled in the side of a mountain. Noisy at times being close to the train and interstate but pretty! Also the owner/or manager was great. Very friendly and really tried to accommodate us. Wi-Fi restricted to office area. We would probably not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
This park served our purpose as a one-night stopover with hookups. The entire campground is on a hillside meaning the sites are terraced and very close to each other. There is barely room for a small table between your RV and the drop off down to the next site. As other reviewers have noted, the turns are tight but we made it in with our 34' Class A leaving our Jeep toad hooked up. We were told that sites within 100' of the office would have Wi-Fi but it was pretty weak even though we were within that radius. We agree that the water tastes awful! Be sure to arrive with an ample amount in your fresh water tank or bring bottled water for drinking and brushing your teeth. The water is OK for flushing the toilet but that's about it. Light sleepers beware - the location is right on the interstate and the railroad is just across the river. There are a lot of what appear to be permanent residents in ancient RVs that probably haven't moved in years but we had no trouble with anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
Good driving directions on their web site - review them and/or look at how to get to the campground in Google Earth. The roundabout right at the I-70 exit can be a little confusing. Check-in was friendly and courteous. Interior roads are asphalt and in fair to poor condition. The sites are terraced into the side of a hill and are narrow. We are in one of the "Big Rig" sites and it was plenty long for our 40' coach and 18' car hauler trailer (but we scraped the trailer tongue turning into the site. There was a bush next to our slide out (street side) in the way and we couldn't open up one of the bay doors. The campground water tastes like there was saltwater intrusion - it is really awful tasting. This is a tired old campground with many junky permanent trailers, 5th wheels and old class As 'gracing' the property. I would not stay at this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
We called and then e-mailed to confirm this park could take a 45 foot motorhome. They e-mailed back that they could and looked forward to serving us. We arrived and attempted to go to the assigned site. Impossible! Roads were narrow and washed out. Trees would have ripped our side and would have been VERY difficult maneuvering a way out of the camp. We went back to say we could not get in and the host was very understanding. We had to leave and find another spot 6 miles back from where they were. We sure could have saved time and fuel if we had known ahead of time. I do not recommend this site for any large rig, not matter what the size. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
It is very convenient, right off I-70 and on the outskirts of Glenwood Springs. Many of the sites are tiered, long, narrow pull throughs so for a one night stopover, we didn't even have to unhook. The office manager is extremely friendly. Could even get Dish Satellite and Verizon MiFi (despite the mountains). We have stayed here before and we will stay here again for a 1-nighter or a home to enjoy the surrounding area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
We stayed here a month while checking out this area. Campground is on a side of a hill and can be tricky to get around corners if you have a long motorhome but we were able to get parked without too much trouble with a 40' motorhome. We recommend you drop your tow vehicle before heading into the park. WiFi is only available if you are next to the office or have an antenna booster. Water taste bad so we bought drinking water. The owner/hosts are very helpful and knowledgeable of activities in the area. There is a lot of noise from the interstate and railroad but we didn't think it was too bad. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$33
We stayed here 3 nights in a tent trailer. We were hooked up to the water system and it was bad tasting water. The freeway and train noise were bothersome rising up from below the campground. The women's shower was on a short timer and left this user in the shower in the dark twice. The men's bathroom was missing doors on the stalls and on our third night there the outside bathroom door was missing. The situation prohibited us from letting an 11 year old shower on his own. This was brought to the attention at the front desk but was quickly dismissed. We would not stay here again unless we were desperate. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
The Glenwood Springs area is a tight canyon with a highway, a river, a railroad track and canyon hillsides. As a result, the camp is terraced like a hillside farm and is fairly tight with a hilly approach. That said, with the help of the camp staff we had no problems getting our 32' RV and tow car into a pull-through site. Be warned, they will not try to park you after closing time. THERE ARE NO LATE CHECK-INS. It was fine as a single night stay on the way between places, but I would not camp here for the sake of camping there. The Wi-Fi is very spotty to non-existent unless you are parked right next to the office. There is an "internet cafe" with amounts to a desk between the bathrooms, but even from there we had poor reception and moved to a swing outside the office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
Good for an over nighter. All the site amenities worked well. Not a park where you feel like taking a walk around since there is a lot of uphill hiking involved. VERY loud interstate noise. Overpriced for what you get. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
This park was okay but a little pricey. WiFi was not that good. You must like trains as we do, they are frequent and noisy. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
We stopped at this campground overnight on a trip west. The campground is perched on the side of a hill next to the interstate, with the individual sites terraced on the side of the hill. The office and rest rooms are located at the top of the hill. There is some road noise from the interstate, but not unbearable. It is a cardio-hike up to the restrooms, which were clean. A number of sites were occupied by long-term campers and contractors. There is no cable TV or WiFi at the sites. There is supposedly a WiFi hotspot up by the office, but I did not climb up there to try it. It was raining during our stay, and our site was quite muddy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$34
We really liked this park. Although sites are terraced, and the drive can be steep with sharp turns to get to the site, it was do-able. I-70 runs below the cg, but the traffic noise was not loud. We bbq'ed on the cement table, or sat and watched the sunset and could still hear our radio (outside speakers) without problems. You could hear the train, but again, down past the highway and across the river. From our site we could see the Colorado River. During Sept the colors are changing on the tree's and the view of the trees and red-rock were beautiful during the day. Our site had shade. Very close to town and sightseeing. We stayed 3 nights. One thing, if you use personal "mi-fi", place your device on the north side of your RV for best reception. Very friendly staff, knowledgable about area (helped us to know where to bicycle along the Colorado, etc.), and showed us to our site. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$34
This was only one of two RV campgrounds in the area. It is on the side of a hill and access is steep with some sharp corners. Sites for short stays are mostly long pull-throughs which is good as backing in would be difficult. Each site had a concrete table but no seating. Part-time person helped us and wasn't very knowledgeable about park or area. About half the park is long term RVs. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$31
A little expensive for what is offered. No Wi-Fi, no laundry. Sites were gravel and the one I had was not very level. I would only recommend this as an overnight stop, not a destination. Management was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
The best thing about this campground is it’s proximity to Glenwood Hot Springs, and at $35 it is the cheapest park in the area. The owner was friendly and very helpful volunteering good directions to the park when I called for reservations, and escorted us to our site. This park is on a hillside with close, narrow, terraced, mostly level dirt spaces. Trees shade most of the sites. There are many full time residents whose sites are very trashy and the park itself is full of weeds and has not been very well maintained. The restrooms are inconveniently located a long hike up the hill at the top of the terraces. This park overlooks noisy I-70 and is across from the train tracks. This is not a destination park but is OK for overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$36
This is a cute little campground. We stayed here while we had our Chevy truck serviced a half mile from the campground. The owner was very friendly and answered all our questions regarding amenities in the area. He escorted us to our site. The pull-through site was gravel, terraced, level, a tree on each side, and had a nice view of the Colorado River. The owner allowed us to wash our rig, providing that we did not use too much water and create water puddles. The negatives of this campground are: no laundry services, long walk to the bathrooms and dumpster, and bathrooms and showers that need major upgrades. There are many permanent sites but owners are very friendly. It’s a great place for a short stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
I gave this park an 8 because the other alternatives are really bad in the area. View is good of the river and hills. I-70 road noise is because this is a canyon campground and it just echoes. Management is friendly and helpful. This is a rustic rural campground. Not much to do in Glenwood Springs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
The place seems popular because of its physical location on I-70 with recreation stuff around the area, but it is nothing special. Sites are tight on the hillside. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
Spent July and August here without advance reservations! With some creative maneuvering, they were able to fit us in; even though the park was almost always filled. Sites are terraced and shady, which gives you space and privacy. Located close enough to town for convenience, but far enough off the beaten track to feel "secluded". We had a peek of the Colorado river from our site and enjoyed the canyon views very much. We will certainly return in the future to our home away from home!!! Thank you! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
At the very edge of town, tiered pull-through sites on a hillside, so you get some limited views of the Colorado River. Easy enough to get into, but the trash and bathrooms are at the top of the hill, so prepare to walk up. Many permanents. Friendly. We only stayed 1 night, but there are things to do in town that we would have visited if we'd had a car. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$34
Need to drive through most of the campground to reach the office. Friendly receptionist. Sites are cut out or filled on side of a hill. Narrow roadway to the sites with tight turns, not big-rig friendly. Only one over-the-air TV station available ( ABC ). Campground is adjacent to the Interstate 70, some trucks illegally use their motors for braking..loud at night. Good location in Glenwood Springs. I would use it again, for over-night stay. Price seems high for the amenities, but it is a good location to the town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
If you're a mountain goat this park may be barely OK, otherwise skip it. It's on the side of a hill and the sites are narrow, unlevel and hard to get into. No TV & No Cable. About the only good thing I can say about this park is they have free Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
All the comments about the roads and narrow sites are accurate, but the CG had a "nice feel" and we enjoyed our stopover there. The price was a little high. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$32
This park is difficult to get to even though it's situated right along I-70. The park is nice enough with trees, picnic tables, etc., but it's quite congested and maneuvering a travel trailer to reach the office and then our site was challenging. The owner/manager was very cordial and helpful, however, and the place was nearly full. I thought it was a little expensive for the accommodations available. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$33
The campsites are terraced on the side of a hill, and the turns are a little tight -- but we managed ok with our 33ft 5th Wheel. There is not a lot of shade, and the campground faces south, so the afternoons got warm. The water at this campground is very high in mineral content and therefore tastes awful, so we had to buy bottled water at the nearby stores. The WiFi setup was new and no one in the office really knew how to operate it very well -- for example they were running WEP encryption but only 64 bit and the key you needed to enter for your setup was 10 hex digits. (If you understand what this means you are one of the few who would be able to use the wireless). The campground doesn't offer much in the way of children's activities such as playgrounds, etc. Also, it is right next to the Interstate Highway and railroad tracks, so there is a fair amount of noise at night. On the positive side, the staff are very friendly, pets are welcome, and the campground is clean and well maintained. The view across the valley is great. And, of course, it is in Glenwood Springs which has activities to make anyone's vacation a success. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$32
This campground is on a hillside with tiered campsites. The roads are paved but have tight turns. This was OK. for an overnight stay but we really felt it was overpriced for the amenities it has. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com