218052 User submitted reviews online!!
Rusk KOA was rated 9 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (903) 683-6641
CGID6788

Rusk KOA

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   10   8   9   9   10   7   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$36
We saw in the KOA website reviews for the Rusk KOA that they were closed. But in fact they are open and everything still looks great. There was a change in ownership in May 2014 and the new ownership is not quite completed, but this didn't impact the camping at all. It did result in phone messages not being answered and returned. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$36
We decided to have a Thanksgiving camping trip with our two children and their families. Our children rented separate cabins which were ideally located close to our RV site. We had a wonderful time. The campground is well-kept and the staff even delivered our son and his wood purchase to our campsite. We will definitely try to make this an annual event. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$29
Camping here was a great experience, from start to finish. The person who took my reservation via phone was friendly and polite, and the campground was clean, well laid out, and quiet. Although the office/store was closed when I arrived late, it looked very nice and orderly. The showers and bathrooms are tastefully decorated, modern and clean. This is a well-run business. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$40
One of the nicest KOAs I have been in, staff was great! Large, level,clean sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
We ended up here pretty much by chance since our original destination was in the path of the hurricane in LA. My wife called them to see if they had space. They told us there the Texas Potjie Festival was that weekend but they could put is in the front which is basically overflow. They also warned there would be somewhere in the neighborhood of 500 to 600 people there. I thought it was great of them to let us know before we got there. The "overflow" area had full hookups, 50amp service in a grass covered area. The owner said that even it if rained we would be OK since underneath was a base pad. The staff was great and even though I am not a big crowd person, the KOA handled the event well, the people were great and we had a good time. Lots of trees and a tree covered tent camping area. Staff works hard to keep the place nice. Then only drawback was fire ants invading us. It was a great weekend with great people. I would recommend the place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$35
We really had a great time at the RUSK KOA. We came here to go on the Polar Express ride in Palestine and were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the grounds and the friendliness of the staff. They have a nice little store/shop on site as well as a place to refill your propane bottle. Some of the sites have a concrete "deck" area. We also rented a cabin so that the inlaws could come along and it was spotless (this is coming from a guy who is a germaphobic). They had satellite TV in the cabin as well. I went to the store to buy a bundle of firewood and they delivered it to my campsite as they said they did not want me to have to wait for the guy to bring it out. I think the guy almost beat me back to the cabin. There was a pool but it is shut down for the winter, nice little playground for the kids. ATT Cell signal was good (no 3g, just edge). The Wi-Fi worked great. The price reflects the rate for the campground with a KOA discount, not for the cabin. We will be back to this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$40
We had never stayed at the Rusk KOA, so we decided to give it a try. We were very pleased with the helpful staff and clean facilities. Our site was very level and we had a strong Wi-Fi signal in our rig. We will definitely be back when we are in that area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
We were only passing through so we don't know about the surrounding area. Nice campground. Wish they had cable, but they have Wi-Fi, so at least we could play on the computer. The pool is a salt water pool which was too cold for me, but I bet it would feel good when it was over 100*. Showers are clean but small. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$35
What a find! We were heading south and happened to find this park on our way. It is a new KOA and is really nice. The people were great. The only bad thing for us was that the park wasn't south enough and hence colder than we wanted to make it our winter home. Great place and we'd love to spend more time here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
Very nice park and friendly staff. We are new to RV'ing, and the staff was very willing to help and answer our questions. The bathrooms were clean and the sites were easy to navigate. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
Rate reflects KOA membership. Be sure to use the map at the bottom of their web page or call ahead for directions. Do NOT trust your GPS/Navigation, or you will end up in the wrong location (like I did)! As others have noted, about as friendly a park as you'll ever visit. More shade trees would be nice: so they've planted some! I look forward to returning when they've grown up. Either way, a highly recommended park. It's clean; has excellent WiFi; with easy access and set-up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
Our site was out in the middle of the park with no shade. Sites were crush rock and ours was not too level from side to side. We only stayed for two nights to take a break from driving. Would stay again for an overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$35
New KOA. Good roads to get into the park and throughout the camp ground. Level sites, hook-ups are easy to use. Cement patio with patio furniture rather than a picnic table-a nice touch. Stayed 3 nights. Would stay again. Not much going on at this time of year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$36
Stayed here 8 nights due to illness/death in family, first by myself and then with my husband. All staff members were friendly and kind. Arriving alone, I was escorted to my site. The park is well maintained and very pleasant. The restrooms and showers were virtually immaculate. WiFi was included in the rate and the signal was strong. The park was quiet and I slept soundly. We already have reservations to return there over the July 4th weekend! Thanks to all the staff for your help and kindness during a very difficult time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$32
This is a relatively new campground. It is a very pretty campground and in very good condition. Some of the sites have shade, some don't. But there are new trees in place. The sites have a concrete pad with a table, umbrella and 4 chairs. The staff were friendly and obliging. The Wi-Fi was great! We have a 40 foot fifth wheel, which our site accommodated with no problem. I was impressed with this campground and would stay here again in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$37
I'd give it a 10, but you have to have something for Thousand Trails. $38.79/night for a 50 amp premium site #22 with a view of the hills and the sunset. Our site had a concrete pad for the picnic table and we had a fire ring for camp fires. We stayed for four nights. Highest point in Cherokee County and 5 minutes from the The Texas State Railroad Rusk to Palestine Steam Engine train ride. The Texas Capitol of Austin is 231 miles away. Built on top of the old ghost town of New Birmingham of the 1890s, but no remnants are visible. The owners/office staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant one. Everything is like new. Sites are level on well-packed fine crushed white gravel. There is plenty of space between sites (20 feet) and there many sites long enough to accommodate the largest rigs with toads. New cabins are available for rent . Wi-Fi is good and cell phone reception is good. I was able to sign in to a Virtual Private Network for work so the encryption ports are not blocked like they are in some parks. In the piney woods of east Texas you need to be aware of poor cell phone reception, WiFi existence and skunk populations. There were no skunks here. There are tall trees all around the edge of the park and the young planted trees in the park do not interfere with satellite reception. The park has restrooms and showers that are like new. They also have a small gift shop, meeting building and propane is available. The small town of Rusk is two minutes away so grocery, gasoline and gift shopping are handy. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
Very nice KOA the pullthrus are nicely arranged so you can get a large RV into them. The management has recently planted many trees and bushes but it will take awhile for them to mature then this place will be beautiful! The space sizes are typical KOA size however space #25 is a 80' pullthru with one of the best overlooks (sunset) I've ever seen. I would have rated them higher but they advertised a hot tub in the TACO Guide and DON'T have one. The management is very friendly and willing to help. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$37
Very nice, new park. Very clean and easy to find. The only thing we did not like is that the camp sites are very close together and the park almost looks like a big parking lot. It does have a nice view at the end of the park. The staff was very nice and helpful and the town of rusk was pretty neat. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com