223488 User submitted reviews online!!
Storrie Lake State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (505) 425-7278
CGID6863

Storrie Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
45
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   7   6   8   8   6   7   5   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$14
Beautiful setting looking over the lake. We wound up here after driving thru the park where we had made reservations was not at all what was described or shown on their website. Storrie Lake is a peaceful setting spread out sites - except for the electric back-in sites. If we were to be in the area again we would stay here. Can't beat the rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$14
Great park…super value. Spent two nights here with an electric and water hook-up. Waste dump is easy on the way out. It is not crowded here in early October, but the dogs across the highway were just as loud as when we visited one year ago. Verizon coverage was 3 of 5 bars. Did not use restroom showers, as they locked the buildings at night, when we intended to use them. Ranger was very helpful in allowing us to stay until 9pm on check-out day, due to significant winds on the highways that afternoon. Would definite recommend this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$14
Wednesday, June 5 - Storrie Lake State Park, Las Vegas, New Mexico. The park has 25 sites with electricity and water hookups. Primitive camping is also available. There were pit toilets near us, but the park does have hot showers, a dump station and potable water. We arrived during a rain and hail storm just for a stopover so we weren’t able to see everything the park offers. The park is on 82 acres and the lake is huge and great for rainbow and german brown trout fishing. I thought the lake looked dry and I was told that water is sent to Las Vegas, NV and NM due to a three year drought. Our site had a covered picnic table and looked out towards the mountains. The park has fields, boat docks, horseshoes, swimming, volleyball, windsurfing and sailboarding. It was a good stop for one night, especially since it started to rain and hail two miles before we arrived. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$14
Since the lake dried up, this park is not as popular as it was at one time. The night we were there the temperature went below freezing, so the water was cut off. The composing toilets at the end of the electric loop were clean. I use this park strictly as an overnight. For the money you can't beat it. This year as I was dumping, a panhandler appeared. I told him to beat it and he left, but it bothered me. The park is very close to town. There was no host and we didn't see a park ranger. I will give it another chance, but security is very important to me. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$14
Great park. Loved the cook shelters most sites had. Staff friendly and helpful. Sites are big. Only negative was the city of Las Vegas had not yet turned on the water even though the Rangers had requested the water be turned on in that section of the park. Stayed four days. Would stay again no question. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$14
A nice state park. The lake is down so not much access. The entry into the park is a little tight if you are a big rig w/ toad. Can't beat the price for electric and water. Dump station on site. The sites are huge and accommodate big rigs very easily. Every electric site has its own picnic table shelter as well. We would stay here again when passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$14
Best overnight stop in Las Vegas for the money but not one of the best NM state parks. The electric/water loop backs up to private housing. The sites in the that loop are about a quarter acre. Definitely not crowded! Each site has a 3 sided adobe picnic cover. The lake used to be pretty but the drought has turned it into a small pond. From Nov to April the gate closes at 6PM.If you arrive later than that you can park in the parking lot. Most sites in NM state parks are not on the reservation system. The ones that are have green or red signs. Green means you can park in the site one night only. Red means it is reserved for that night and you can't use it. You are generally better off during the week not to make a reservation. Many of the non reserveable sites are nicer. Storrie Lake used to be full every weekend but with the lake so low this may not be true any more. We were there off season. There were only 3 RV's in the electric area. From Nov to April the water is cut off at the campsites and the shower houses are closed. Lake side camping is available. Drive down to the lake and park where you please. There is another area with pads, covers and picnic tables but no hookups. These sites are close together and that area can get a little rowdy on weekends. I have camped here before and would do it again but only as a overnight. It is about a mile north of Walmart and within 5 miles of I25. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$10
For the price, a good place. Like others, I did sense a 'locals' preference. Oddly, the check in staff required no registration or filling out forms. They just wanted the fee. Said they couldn't reserve my site, that I had to set up immediately. Good museum at park entrance. Lake very low, very high wind. Nearby highway was not noisy. Avoid using the state park reservation system. They don't tell you that there are walk in sites available. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$19
We pulled into this park expecting the usual state park standard. What a disappointment! The water and power sites are extremely close. Almost slide to slide. The park is generally in a run down condition. It is very much a 'locals' park where people occupy sites for the max allowable time then leave long enough to reset the clock. A self pay system was in place when we arrived but the pay box was stuffed full. We paid the next day. If there is a next time stopping in Las Vegas it won't happen at Storrie Lake. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$10
Even though we did not get an electrical site, the sites are large not close to each other. The view of the lake was nice and the stars at night were nice. The park seemed like it was dominate-occupied by local residents. It was well patrolled and was surprisingly quiet at night. For right now, we don't have a compelling reason to come back but you never say never. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$14
This was a quick overnight stay as we passed through New Mexico on our way to Texas. We pulled in before the campground/state park closed for the evening and because it was on a weeknight after Memorial Day weekend there were some spots open. Looked as if there were a couple resident spots. The park was quiet, very clean, couple speed bumps, we were next to a road that became small town work traffic busy once 6 AM rolled around. Easy access. We had beautiful views of the lake and ample space for walking the dogs. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$4
Storrie Lake isn’t much to look at on the surface but is quiet pretty close to the water. It is popular with the local community but spaces are far enough apart on the south end to be comfortable. The north end has more action. There is a small area for rigs under 26 feet on the south west side which attracts longer term campers. Upside: Close to town and stores but far enough to feel country. Well maintained. Lots of things to see including National Forest, historic Las Vegas and mountains. Cell phone coverage is good. Downside. The staff is efficient but we found them unfriendly to outsiders. The park is close to houses. Probably because of proximity to town, the gates are closed at sunset and unlike other parks, the combination will not be shared with residents and the walk can be long at night. We didn't attend evening activities in the area because of this. Main showers are closed at night and all are closed for winter months. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$14
Storrie Lake is a great base camp for touring the Las Vegas, NM area. The park is very close to town. It is clean and well managed. There are pull thru sites. If you want to forgo hookups, shelters and picnic table you can park right next to the lake. The developed sites back right up to a housing area. To avoid being near someone's backyard pick an inner loop site or opt for the sites at either end. All sites have wonderful 3 sided adobe shelters. It is a great value for the money. The gate is locked at night. If you do get locked out there is parking by the gate and you can walk in. This park is heavily used so reservations are a good idea is you want a developed site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$14
Park is well maintained with good views of the lake from most campsites. Plenty of dry camping available along edge of lake if that is your cup of tea. Minutes away from historic Las Vegas, NM. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$15
Very nice and would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$18
Only problem was the restrooms were LOCKED at night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$14
Located 4 miles north of Las Vegas off of Hwy 518 this park is a great pit stop for sightseeing. The lake is rather small but was very busy during our stay with day visitors who were fishing. Upon entry we could only make a right turn in our 40 foot motorhome because of the angle of the roadway. There are 10 sites at the far north end of the park which offer 30 amp/water and no picnic table or shelter - they are very close together. These sites are located right across from the boat launch and back up to Hwy 518. To the left (south ) after entering the park are the dump station and 15 sites located along a one way roadway. These sites are all pull thrus and offer water, picnic tables & shelters. Some of these sites offer 30 amp electric. They are all positioned in such a way that you have a view of the Hwy & some crummy looking houses from you patio - rather than the lake. A short distance past these sites are 5 more electric/water sites which were closed during our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2008
$14
Oddly boring state park. Not much in the way of trees or charm. Very quiet in off season. Each picnic table has its own adobe shelter. The campground map is absolutely dreadful, and bears little resemblance to what is there, so be sure to drive around, and ascertain that your site actually has the hookups that you want – our site, clearly labeled electric, had no electric that we were ever able to find. Plenty of room for big RVs, and sites pretty level. Water was off on March 29th. Pit toilets that were quite clean, but the doors were coated with some odd spiky asphalt surface, guaranteed to take the skin off your knuckles if you're not careful – all three of us had scabs by the time we left. The saving grace for us was the big, new playground, right next to the so-called-electric site we chose. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$10
Nice clean park, regular camping fee is $10 (no park pass required), electricity site is $4 more. Some road noise as this is near Hwy 518. Water is free at each site. Near local shops as noted in previous post. Can pick up Alb. TV stations on antenna. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$4
This is a very spread out State Park with numerous camping sites. The lake is at an elevation of 6,400 ft. There’s a total of 72 sites with 25 having electric and water and they all appeared to be level. The sites have 3 sided shelters on a cement pad with a picnic table and a fire ring close by. There is also primitive camping along the lake with no amenities. The park has a centrally located restroom with showers, and spread around the park are vault toilets. Some of the sites offer shade while others are out in the sun. The lake offers fishing and boating/water skiing with no restrictions on motors. There’s a playground for the kids and lots of grass around the lake, this is a great place for kids. There’s one section of the park that is first come first serve, it is located to the right when you pass the park office. The electric/water sites there (all back ins) are close to the highway and are crammed together. Ask if there are any other sites available and try and avoid that area if possible. There’s another section around the lake that has some first come electric/water sites with a length restriction of 26’. There are also pull-thrus available that are first come and on a reservation system. You can reserve a site 1 day prior to arrival and the charge is $9.95. Located about 1 ½ mi. south of the park is a Super Wal-Mart. We finally found a location where we could fill our motor home propane tank, (Ferrellgas) it’s located at 209 Grand St.,(505) 425-7503. There’s lots of fast food restaurants in the area along with places to dine. Cell phone signal was great, no dropped calls. I imagine it can get very hot here in the summer, we were here in early June and it wasn‘t hot, just windy.. This is the visitors guide (pdf file) that you can download. We found it to be very informative. http://www.lasvegasnm.org/Tourist/visitor_guide.pdf With our annual camping pass this only costs $4.00 for elec/water. Otherwise it would have been $14.00... We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com