223422 User submitted reviews online!!
Saguaro Co-op Park (Escapee Only) was rated 9 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (520) 586-7343
CGID6952

Saguaro Co-op Park (Escapee Only)

Camp Information
Sites
344
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$8



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   10   7   10   8   8   9   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2014
$8
I think this my favorite campground to date. The resort was designed by and for fulltime RVers who are members of Escapees. The fulltime philosophy and common sense approach is evident everywhere from the wide, paved roads to the excellent and much used activity center. The sites are both deep and wide. Almost all of them are leased and sport various levels of improvements. Many have “casitas”, which are small buildings with porches. The sites are all gravel but leaseholders decorate them with cactus gardens and other decorations. Here’s the deal: when the leaseholder is out seeing the country, they can put their site in the rental pool. Travelers who rent don’t have use of the casita, but generally there’s a nice porch and other upgrades to enjoy. The lease program is so popular that there’s a years-long waiting list for an opportunity to buy in! There are other sites that are set aside, some for short term visitors and others for long term visitors who come in for the winter. There are even paved no-hookup overnight spots.There are get-togethers every day and many activities. The property has no pool or spa and reservations are not accepted. Escapees facilities are famous for always finding a place for a traveler to park their RV even it has to temporarily be a spot with no hookups. The activity center has a large meeting room with a full-sized commercial kitchen, a large library, a workout room with modern equipment, and a crafts room. There’s also a nice porch with a view of the valley below and the Dragoon Mountains. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$18
If this park had free wifi it would be a 10. We were so impressed with this park - very neat and clean. Since the sites are leased each owner keeps their site to perfection. The amazing landscape committee then maintains the common grounds. We found a great weekly special to check out the park and enjoyed our visit. Our objective was to find a great place to spend the winter and this is near the top of our list. The Benson area is south of Tucson and has various historical sites worth visiting. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$15
Probably the friendliest RV park we have ever stayed. This park has residents who care. They have a superb club house with constant activity, including a 6 day per week social hour between 4 and 5PM. This place, honestly, is better than home. There are historic sites surrounding the City of Benson, and you will never be bored. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$7
We tried this campsite at the recommendation of a friend who is an escapee member. They were offering a special that we could not resist of $50 for a week stay. Overall, the park is very clean and well maintained, but it just is not our type of park. It is too large for my tastes - really a small village, with everything that entails such as a club house and lots of activities. If that is what you are looking for, then this is definitely the park for you. There is no pool however, and the free Wi-Fi is only available in the clubhouse, which was quite a long walk away from where we were parked. Also, there is only one laundry and one shower area for the entire park. We will be staying at a smaller park with more amenities and fewer programmed activities next time we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$10
Wow!! I can't think of any reason not to give this park a 10. This is a membership park called Escapees. My Mother suggested joining, which we did about two weeks ago. Great park which is centrally located to many wonderful local destinations. The staff are friendly, welcoming, and so helpful. The long term residents are open and friendly. Big bonus is the off leash area just outside the property line that provides miles of trails. The whole park is either paved or decorative gravel so the dust is at a minimum. They really show pride of ownership here. The rate reflects a great deal. They were offering, for a weeks stay. $50 for first time visitors plus about $20 for one week for electrical. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$14
People are very friendly in the park. The park is on a hillside so views are good. Nice club house. There is a workshop available. Propane on site. Good walking trails just outside the park. We intended to stay a week but stayed 2 weeks. We will most certainly be back. If there was shade I would have rated it higher. There is free wifi in the club house. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$9
This well organized and maintained Escapee park served as an excellent base camp for exploring the southeast Arizona area. We were assigned to a spacious site on the end with some landscaping including a tree. My recommendation, if possible, avoid allowing the staff to arbitrarily assigning your RV to a site. Check the sites first and see what is available. There are plain gravel sites with just the utilities, and other sites with landscaping, pads and even a few with shade trees. Free WiFi is available, only, in the extremely large and well equipped clubhouse. WiFi can be purchased from a private provider. An open area on the west side of the park offers trail bike riding and desert shrub hiking. This place is dark at night because those foolish security lights are lacking here. The place is two miles from the I-10 rail corridor. When the wind is right the train horns can be heard, well. I don't know how anybody in town can get any sleep with all the trains going by. Some Engineers really like the sound of their horns. The rate is a reflecting of one month stay. We will return, again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$18
This park is spacious and the people are super friendly. All sites are built up a mountain and all have a stunning sunset view of the Dragoon Mountains. A swimming pool would make this place spectacular. The office personnel could not have been nicer. We've stayed in many parks and you get everything you pay for here. The price shown does not include the electric bill which was nominal. I would live in this park. It's wonderful. The town of Bensen is charming and has a small Super Walmart and a very nice Safeway with great produce, and ACE Hardware store. Again, you can sit out on your patio and everyone waves as they go by in the golf cart or car. It is very, very pet friendly. Make sure to visit Kartchner Caverns when you stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$17
We found this to be an excellent RV Park for an overnight stay. It is a typical Escapee Co-Op Park for members only and a few sites with full hook-ups become available at times for traveling members. I recommend Escapee members check-in here first before taking a chance with one of the other Benson RV Parks, which are plagued by train noise. Our back-in site, 50 Amp, was extremely spacious and long enough for us to park the tow behind the Motorhome. We asked for a site with a view and we got one. The clubhouse is a state of the art community center, magnificent, and very large. The only thing missing here is a pool. The paved access roads are wide like a city street and the sites are well covered with ideal gravel. There are no bothersome street lights here so it appears to be an excellent place for star gazing. The place is far enough away from I-10 so traffic noise is non-existing. The passing trains can be heard. We stayed here for one night and look forward to a future stay for a longer period of time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$10
The rate quoted is the monthly rate. The sites are quite large. The people walking by and while driving around love to wave to you. We did not partake of activities. They have a 4 o'clock social hour where we went once but it was not as in other Escapees parks. We did not go back. We expected a more friendly group judging from our experience at the other parks. Apparently the people waving and stopping to talk are not the same ones at social hour. But we do like the park and would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$25
$25 rate includes electric usage of $7 per day. Nice park for extended stays. Large level lots and very friendly people. WiFi at recreation building but not at sites. Has a dog run but it's a long walk to get there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$10
Large gravel sites and wide paved roads make this a very comfortable campground. Very friendly staff and residents enhance the feeling. Many activities to keep you busy and entertained. The only downside for long term stays, is that Benson isn't much of a town, with limited shopping and restaurant choices. Park would be a 10 if there were a pool. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$17
Agree with everyone else, this is a great SKP park. Just wish there were more bathrooms, showers, dumpsters, and recycling bins spread around the spacious park. Really nice place to stay and relax, tho you need a car to get to town or anywhere. Gets pretty cold and windy in peak of winter. Friendly folks, mostly older seniors. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$17
Beautiful setting in a well managed/maintained park. No shade trees but we don't mind that. Extra wide spaces, so back-in not a problem. Good services and free cable TV. Wi-Fi free in Rec Hall. A paid Wi-Fi service also available. Verizon phone service 'roaming'. Park is in a good location as there are many attractions to see in the area. We stayed here for six nights and would definitely use again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$5
If quiet is important, this park is not for you. It is a gorgeous, extremely well maintained park. The absolute nicest Escapee's park we have ever stayed in. The staff is so pleasant, the grounds are immaculate, the facilities first rate. The dry camp spots where you are located if arriving after 5pm, could use a little work as it's very unlevel! The Wi-Fi is in the clubhouse only. With all that said, the noise of the continuously running train located about a mile away was terrible. You can clearly hear the train whistle and rumble. But if you are not bothered by noise, this park can't be beat! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$18
This beautiful desert setting has a friendly staff, immaculate sites and spectacular views of the surrounding mountains. It is set well off the highway; no noise from traffic to endure. Most sites are leased and have improvements such as patios or storage buildings on them which are not for the over nighter's use. We were escorted to our site and had plenty of help in backing in. The laundry room, recreation hall and other common areas were sparkling clean. Escapees definitely runs a well-maintained park; you will enjoy your stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2009
$20
Rate is based on daily FHU 50 amp rate plus electric. This is the best Escapees park we have stayed at in our four years of full timing. Wide paved roads and very large gravel pads. No trees, so satellite and cell phone reception is excellent. If you're a SKP this is a great place to stay. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2008
$18
This is a Escapees membership park with lovely paved streets and level sites. They have a large clubhouse and plenty of social activities. Laundry facilities are exceptional due to brand new front loader machines. They also have a fenced area as a dog park. This is a marvelous 55+ park and we will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$17
The best of the 10 Escapee parks we've been to so far. Very nice facilities, layout and staff. Our huge site wasn't level and the sewer hookup was difficult (too high and out of the way), but we did have a fine view of the mountains. Daily rate with tax is $17+ Escapee, and there are good deals on longer stays. This place is a good reason to join Escapees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$17
This is a membership (Escapees) park. It is the nicest of the SKP parks that we have visited.The staff is friendly and always tries to give you a site with the best view possible. The campground is situated on a hillside with great views across the desert towards the mountain.There are lots of birds and one can hear coyotes yipping in the evening.They have a very nice clubhouse for social gatherings. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$12
This is an Escapees membership park. One of the nicest parks we have stayed in. Paved streets, great cable, large lots, large club house with lots of amenities. We stayed here for a month and enjoyed our stay. Very friendly people and many interesting places to see near by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$15
Great park for Escapees members. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2008
$15
Well, I almost didn't write a review of this park because I didn't want anyone else to know about this place. I wanted to keep it a secret for fear that it will get too popular and then we won't be able to get in next time we want to stay here, but fair is fair and if I'm going to write about a bad experience I guess I should write about a good experience when I have one. This is by far the nicest and most well-run RV park we have ever stayed at. The office staff is highly competent, knowledgeable about the area, accommodating to guests' needs, gracious and cheerful. The park itself is nicely situated on a gently sloping hill a few miles outside of Benson with peace and quiet and great desert views. The spacious community clubhouse features a large kitchen, laundry room, library, TV watching area, exercise room and areas for card playing, etc. There are tons of activities from line dancing to hiking to ATV riding to quilting to aerobics to whatever else might interest you. The residents are diverse in their interests and unfailingly friendly. They take great pride in their park and it shows. We spent a week in a full hook-up site (base rate is $15/day and electricity is extra) and 3 days in the dry camp area for $5/night. My only negative comment is that none of the Escapees parks takes reservations so it is always a bit of a gamble when you pull in as to whether there will be a spot available or not, but it has usually worked out well for us. You must be an Escapees member to use this park and you can dry camp for only 3 days unless you get on a waiting list for a full hook-up site. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2008
$17
A must for Escapees! This is how RV camping should be. Lots of room, very friendly, lots going on. There is an excellent library. Very nice laundry. Note that electricity is in addition to the nightly rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$15
This park is excellent. The sites are large with excellent 50 amp electrical hookups. The staff was very friendly. Lots of activities, free DVD's, and fabulous library. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$17
It is Escapees members' park. We stay two times, one was in winter and recently in the summer. Nice and clean park, good interior road, great mountain view. Friendly staff with spacious lots. Lot of social activities in the winter and less in the hot summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$15
Great park to stop at for night or two, but must be a Escapee member to camp there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com