221698 User submitted reviews online!!
Montreal South KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (450) 659-8626
CGID7262

Montreal South KOA

Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$55



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   4   7   9   6   9   9   7   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$55
Owner was very friendly. We had a problem with the 50 amp and they just hooked us up to the site next to us. So, basically, we had two sites for the price of one (and parking for our tow vehicle)! Wi-Fi was VERY restricted. Owner told us about a great dog run nearby, and it was. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$50
This park is amazing! Everything you would expect from a KOA (friendly staff, amazing facilities, kids activities) are all here. The WiFi service is VERY limited so be prepared to do without bring your own access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2014
$63
At this KOA, the site quality was poor. The sites have lots of trees. That said, we were able to get satellite. All the hook ups are located at far end of site. We needed over 30 feet of water hose to make the connection. We were not able to use sewer as it was broken. The electric box cover was broken. The site was level. I describe the RV park as not big rig friendly. This is because we were told we were in one of the largest sites. Well, we filled almost the entire site. We are a 37 foot motorhome plus tow (which is a Chevy HHR). All the interior roads are very poor condition - so many pot holes - and big ones too! As for the facilities, we did not use toilets nor showers. Compared to other KOA parks we have been to, this KOA did not seem to have much. The park is located on a busy road. It is south of city of Montreal and you could commute. However, you definitely would need a tow car as there is no transit available. As for pet friendliness, there is no dedicated dog area, only the gravel interior roadway to walk dogs on. The road way outside the RV park is too busy to walk on. It felt unsafe to walk the dogs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$54
Rate includes tax and value card discount. Have stayed here several times and owners continue to upgrade sites and other aspects; however, they have an electrical problem which we have detected at several sites on the times we have stayed here. Need to check the service before hooking up as our electrical service when checked had no ground. We were allowed to use the adjacent site's power which was okay. Some sites have shared water and electrical connections which can be a problem for some without long electrical cables. Voltage was on the low side but not to the point where our surge protection cut us off. Sites are usually level. Seems to be a commitment to upgrade all aspects of the park and the electrical will likely be dealt with in time. We have stayed here several times due to its proximity to Montreal and the easy highway access. Will likely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$45
This campground was great for convenience to see Montreal. Located near a commuter train station if you want to not drive into city. Also, right off the freeway for easy access on and off, but far enough away to not hear traffic. Out in the countryside, very quiet. We had a pull through site for out 36' RV pulling a vehicle and we didn't have to unhook. The showers were old and kinda creepy, but clean. Not much for a rec center, just a big open old building with a few tables, etc. Would definitely stay if you are looking for convenience in visiting Montreal during the day. People in office were very helpful and nice and spoke excellent English. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$58
This campground is nice for an overnight stay. If you enjoy having a nice campfire and just sitting outside relaxing, this is not the best place to stay. The pull through sites are easy to get into, but trees are sparse in the interior of the campground, so no shade. There are no fire pits: just metal bowls on posts stuck in the ground. The picnic tables are in need of replacing. The staff was friendly and helpful, but the sites were not what I had expected. I would recommend as a one night stay if you are passing through but it would not be my first choice if I needed to stay several days. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$55
The staff was friendly and switched language from French to English with ease, as I do not speak a lick of French. The directions to the sites were clear and concise. The site was very large and level under a couple of trees where bird feeders were set up at the end of the site which goldfinch and woodpeckers used, not leaving droppings on our camper, making things good. The hookups were close and easy. The bathrooms were clean and well maintained . We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$56
This is a pleasant, well-kept campground and a good base for exploring Montreal. The sites have ample space around them and the utilities are positioned well. The staff was friendly and very helpful with advice regarding the best ways to see Montreal. A 20 minute drive brought us to the nearest subway station, and from there we were able to explore most of the city without worrying about traffic or parking. My complaints are that the water pressure dropped to a trickle midway through my morning shower, and it stayed that way for more than an hour. Also, the wi-fi slowed to a stop in the evening and became totally unusable. This is a common problem at campgrounds whose systems have inadequate bandwidth to support all the users...and one of my pet peeves. Anyway, it is a nice, quiet campground, and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$76
This is a nice park. Upon arrival we were met by a friendly staff who let us rinse some of the road grime off our car and led us to our site. When they saw the size of our combined unit the changed our site to accommodate. The site were advertised as "satellite friendly" we could get no signal on our king dome and judging from all the raised antennae at sites around us no others were getting signal. There is no cable available at this KOA. We also noticed that there were no "planned activities" which is odd for a KOA. This is also the most expensive campground that we have stayed at. This campground looks "old" and is very basic, the sites are nice but could use better upkeep (sewer connection was open with no cover and cracked, picnic table was a hazard as it almost tipped over several times, and we had to "borrow" a fire ring from another site) I give this KOA a 7 based on the staff, it lost points due to price, satellite reception, and site condition. We would most likely not camp here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2010
$56
Staff was not exactly friendly on the phone when I reserved. The woman who checked us in was the same. I asked for a pull through, and told them I had a toad when reserving and was told that I would have to disconnect when we arrived. I wonder if I spoke French if they would have treated me better. Site was fresh loose gravel into which my rig sank about 4 inches. Sewers were all wide open with no covers in sight. The only plus that I can find is that it is in a good location when passing near Montreal and they have 50 amp sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$51
Easy access off Highway 15. Friendly reception and staff. Did not use Wi-Fi; using data stick instead which had good reception. Park seems well maintained. Depending on volume of oncoming traffic, you are lead to your site. Power was good, but water pressure dropped quite strongly in the a.m. with increased use by other campers. For this reason rated as noted. Due to location will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$60
When we hooked up, we noticed a leak in the electric, so much so that we would be shocked when we touched our screen door without shoes on and not stepping on a mat. When we complained, owner admitted that the sites were not grounded. He did fix it, but we felt that the comments he made all weekend long about being "sued" were derogatory to Americans and inhospitable. It is evident they are trying, but he seems so paranoid about everything that he won't entrust his campers to have a good stay. All weekend long, he reminded my teenaged kids to make sure their mom didn't sue him. This campground is helpful, but I didn't appreciate how this situation was handled or how he communicated his fear. Unground electric is just not cool: no matter what. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$59
This is a copy of the feedback I gave directly to KOA corporate. The owner of Montreal South KOA was rude, obnoxious and offensive. He criticized the way I leveled my motorhome. He took offense when I suggested his site wasn't level, then told a "story" of how he kicked previous tenants out of his park. In the process he used inappropriate language in the presence of my family, including my wife and two young boys. About 20 minutes later, I asked him about the low voltage I was noticing on my meter. He then came unglued and called the meter a "$1.50 piece of crap". He then told me I had 5 minutes to leave his park before his office closed, because he could foresee me being nothing but trouble. I wasn't about to move my family at night without reservations, so I went inside my RV and avoided him at all cost. This owner has rejected all standard KOA amenities as worthless. He said he didn't want to see "kids with stupid paint on their faces eating ice cream". He also said he doesn't have "fat ladies in the pool at 10:00 in the morning." I assume he was talking about water aerobics. I could go on, but in short, this park and this owner are not representative of what we have come to know and love about KOA. I would doubt that I am the first or the last to complain. Good luck. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$50
A mostly flat campground with some shade trees. Good, easy access to Montreal from here, so it is a perfect place to use as a base for exploring Montreal or as a stopover for travel to Qu├ębec City or points further. It is about 1 km from the main highway, so there is not road noise, and maybe one or two freight trains per night at over a quarter mile distance. There are several tent sections available, one really nice one on a lower portion near a little brook. After strong rains there can be a few puddles left, as the soil in this part of the province does not drain well. Some of the sites can take even the largest oversized motorhomes without unhooking the toad. Wi-Fi is free but only usable in the early morning even though the park was filled barely to 50% capacity when we were there. Trying to use the Wi-Fi in the evening is about as much fun as canoeing in molasses. The other problem with this park is that I find it overpriced by about 20%. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
The tent village is along a nice babbling brook. Only drawback is that there were no fire rings in the tent village which made it hard to start a fire and keep it contained. The uphill climb was a great workout for getting to the bathrooms and other areas of the grounds. Positives include the access to area's freeways and the commuter rail station. Make sure you check out some of the mead factories south of town: bring a French dictionary, a few of them don't speak English. Make sure you check out the underground in Montreal, there is lots of interesting stuff down there and the Metro is the only way to do Montreal. Old Port parking is pricey. There are a few places that can do street parking near a metro stop. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$34
This campground is across the river from Montreal in a rural area. It is quiet, has wonderful big trees, and yet is only 5 minutes from a shopping center. It is about a 20-minute drive to downtown Montreal on a weekend. We took the metro from a station 15 minutes away from the campground to get to Montreal during the week. The sites are wide, grassy and well shaded. The owners provided really good printed instructions to get to public transportation and shopping. They were very helpful and friendly. We would go again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$46
Campground is clean but very plain. No real attempts at any landscaping. It is at least a 30-minute drive into lower Montreal without traffic. There is nothing in the local area at all. The local "shuttle service" they offer is ridiculous. It is offered only once a day and it took two hours to make the 15-mile ride back from Montreal because they also service the other campground on the other side of Montreal. I've heard that the Laval campsite is beautiful. I wouldn't recommend this one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$48
Front office staff is not as informative as I would like to see when coming in with reservations. I asked about Wi-Fi and was told simply that only 15 minutes each hour was available. After siting and logging onto Wi-Fi, we discovered that we could pay a weekly fee for additional time. Which meant another trip to the front office. We were sited at the rear due to the 7-lb dog (non-negotiable). To review a campground for their grounds is not fair with as much rain as there has been in the area, suffice to say that the sites are grass/gravel. Need a mat outside door to defray mud from coming into units. We prefer to be near the front of parks for laundry, etc. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$55
Extremely disappointed with service and cancellation policy. We cancelled our reservation when our father/father in-law's health became worse and he was on his death bed. The campground would not honour our (KAO) Value Kard discount or points. Honouring the Value Kard discount and points seemed like a no-brainer, instead of charging us the highest rate for a site even when we were unable to make it to the campground. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$48
My husband and I stayed at KOA Montreal South Campground for three days on a Full Hook Up Site. The campground is very clean and the staff friendly. The staff was very helpful in giving us information on Montreal and directions to get there. This is a family run campground and you are made very welcome. The washrooms are very clean and plenty of hot water in the showers. This was our second stay at this campground and will most definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
Well kept KOA with nice managers. I stayed here for 2 weeks and stored my coach for 2 weeks while I traveled back home. They were very accommodating and had lots of information about the area. Even helped me get a cab for the airport and tell the cabbie where to take me. 20 minute drive to subway and 5 minutes to train. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$48
This park was easy to find and was very clean and well run. This was our first visit to Canada. We found the staff as well as the campground owners (husband and wife team) to be bi-linqual and very fluent in English. All staff members were extremely helpful. We have a 40' Motorhome and found the sites to be very easy to access and big enough for the RV and tow vehicle. We will return to this campground when we are in this area again. We recommend it to anyone traveling in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$44
The campground is very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. All the RV sites are pull through and there is no difficulty for large motorhomes towing vehicles. The washroom facilities are modern with free hot showers in both bath houses. The pool is clean and there is a mini putt which is free, along with other outside activities. There are very few seasonal campers which is more pleasant for overnighters. Montreal is only 25 minutes away and directions and information provided by the staff is excellent. We most definitely will stay at this campground again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com