219004 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Sawyer RV Resort was rated 5 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (360) 886-2244
CGID7300

Lake Sawyer RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
115
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   1   1   1   6   7   6   6   6   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2014
$15
This has gone so far downhill it is now down right dangerous. It is the only park close to relatives. They had 8 coaches on one - 100 amp circuit. 96 degree heat meant NO ONE had power. Owners could care less, they were trying to put more rigs into the same area! Sewer system is a joke. Town of Black Diamond won't approve any upgrades as they are trying to force them out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2014
$10
We used to really enjoy this park and as a Sunrise Resorts member looked forward to returning to it but that is not the case any longer. First of all the full time residents are given preference and occupy all of the larger sites. They then proceed to trash them with their junk strewn all over and they do not keep their units clean. They are covered with tree debris, mold and mildew. Were given a narrow back in site. Due to trees and a narrow road we had a very difficult time getting our 33' fifth wheel into the site. We actually had to unhook, maneuver the truck and reconnect in order to get fairly straight on the site. Since the park has sewer available on only some of their sites and the full timers are all on sewer sites, that leaves only a small number of sewer sites for the rest of the campers. We wanted to extend our stay but are denied because of lack of a sewer site. Another problem is the electrical service. They advertise that they are a 30 amp park but it is rarely 30 amp into the unit. They need to update their service but are not putting any money into utility upkeep. There is also a problem with their sewer service. They are having to pump out on a weekly basis. Evidently there is a problem with their leach field. The rate is based on our Sunrise resort membership. We will not return to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2013
$13
As noted in other reviews, the electric is poor, many of the sites do not have sewer. There is no cable TV at the sites, you have to go to the Adult Lounge to watch the cable TV. They charge for internet service. Roads and sites are narrow. We were charged a $15 fee to dump, even though we did not need to dump (received a lecture on the fact that everyone should dump before they travel). We are full timers and only dump when necessary. Site fee is $13 for RPI, which included the activity fee. No activities while we were there. Laundry was inexpensive at $1.50 to wash and $1.00 to dry, but only 2 washers and 2 dryers. The drive into the park is long and narrow from I-5 (16 miles), coming from the north. A better route is Hwy.18 from the south. We will not return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2013
$10
The rate is Coast to Coast. There is an additional $3 per day "resort fee." It is on a lake, one site may have a water view, they rent boats, but otherwise there are no resort amenities. The sites, as previously posted, are very tight, no room even for awnings. The roads are narrow, making most of the sites hard to get into if there are rigs on either side, even the "pull in sites." We were put in the water and electric only sites even though there were sites available with sewer connections. As a previous poster noted, not all of them work. The electricity on our site was so low, it was awful. There was only one other coach on our row and it was stored for the weekend while the owner was away. It is good we did not need the A/C, we would have been out of luck. If we had not had an EMS system, we would probably have burned up at least a small appliance from the low voltage. Only a small portion of the sites can get satellite reception. The cable system is basic, but is does work. The park is clean, in a nice location, quiet and the office staff are friendly enough, although they refused to admit the the problems with the electrical system. Too bad there has not been any upgrades in many, many years. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$10
We stayed here for 7 nights. The accommodations are OK. The rate cited is the RPI member rate, but RPI members also pay an additional $3/day resort fee. The resort buildings are clean but rundown. The sites are very close together and have no room for your tow vehicle except in a separate parking area. Many of the sites no longer have sewer hookup, ours included. Wi-Fi is available - for a fee. Most sites don't have a line of site for a satellite signal. Electric heaters are forbidden. The staff are very nice and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$60
We generally stay in one of the six water front cabins. Very nice view from all of them. They recently remodeled them and they are quite, nice. 2 bdrm., good sized living room and kitchen, small bathrooms. Always VERY clean. The office and maintenance staff are very friendly and accommodating. I no longer use the RV park because electrical is too low and the spaces in the middle are not good for a 40 ft. rig. If you can get a back-in along the fence sites; they are much wider. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$10
We stayws here for 4 nights. The accommodations are OK. The rate is Coast to Coast. There is also a $3/day resort fee. This resort needs updating. The sites are very close together and have no room for your tow vehicle except in a separate parking area. The two employees we met were very nice and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$13
As others say the sites are very tight, they are mostly back to back and very narrow. Only one site for 40+ footer. Nice lake. Poor 30 Amp in warm weather. Lots with no sewer. Nice staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$13
Stayed here for a few days. The sites are very close together. I would say less then 15' wide. They put us in the area with only two way hookup: water and electric. This may have been since we were here through Coast 2 Coast. Office staff seemed very friendly. An older campground which was good before slides were put on rigs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$14
Low voltage is an issue at this campground. And, as other reviewers have noted, the sites are narrow. Some have picnic tables, Roads and sites are gravel with adequate space to maneuver. The lake is pleasant to look at with a grassy lawn instead of a beach. The campground fills on weekends and is much quieter midweek. There is some shade at most sites. Sewer hookups cost extra. Restrooms were clean enough, but they felt shabby. There were two showers; one was small and cramped whereas the other was designed for handicap use. They shared a spacious dressing area. Rate is for AOR and includes resort fee and tax. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$1
Stayed here as a member of Sunrise Resorts. The sites are fairly level, but close together. We had a triangle shaped spot in a corner that gave us more room but we noticed other spaces had marginal room with open slides. Office staff was very friendly. There is a lot of night traffic noise if you're parked by the main road. Great lake views with benches and picnic tables. Stayed here for a week and will stay again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$15
Very little room between sites. Don't stay in spaces 48-52 as there are issues with the septic. Yuck! The hosts were very nice though and found us another site as soon as we complained. Pretty lake. Wish there were more of a "beach" for going in the water. Not sure we would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$1
Staff is friendly and helpful. Old park from days of smaller rigs. Sites are barely big enough to put your slides out and we couldn't even park our car near our MH. Only weak 30 amp service. Bathroom and shower was OK. Some sites are satellite friendly. We stayed at member rate because it was convenient location to our activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$10
This is a very pleasant park but it does have a few drawbacks. The water pressure is terrible. We always have to turn on our pump and run from our fresh water tank when taking showers or doing dishes. Not a deal breaker but inconvenient. The sites are narrow and most times we do not have enough room to open our awning. Also, there are several long timers with filthy RV's which downgrades the look of the park. I am surprised they are allowed to stay. Friendly staff, though the lady in the office is rather ditzy, but very friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$14
This park is located on Lake Sawyer in Black Diamond. The main roads are black topped but the sites are gravel. The is grass between the sites and most of them have picnic tables. Water pressure is fairly good. Many of the sites do not have sewer at them and they are 30 amp. You are not allowed to use electric heaters here. Person checking us in was friendly and helpful. Because of the lack of sewer and 50 amp service, I have scored this park an 8. I would stay here again but only for 1 night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
We stayed there using our Passport America card. The grassy sites were a little tight and the hookups did not have sewer. They do have a dump station, which is a little tight for a motorhome. They charge extra for cable & Wi-Fi. The park is right on Lake Sawyer with docks and on a clear day you can see Mt. Rainier. The grounds are well kept and they also have cabins for rent. It's a great location and nice and quiet. We would have given a higher rating if the hookups included sewer, Wi-Fi and were a little more spacious. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
We stayed here for seven days and found the staff to be very friendly. It is on a beautiful lakefront (sites are not) but it is an older park. Many things need to be updated. Sites are small and it was hard for a large motorhome like we have. We were lucky to have a site near cabins which was better for us. Good pancake breakfast and playground was great for kids even tho we did not see many here. We would stay here again since it is close to our family in the Seattle area. We are not Coast to Coast or Passport members. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2010
$10
We are Coast to Coast members and we were not given a full hookup site. In addition, to use their dump site is a $10 charge! There is no way we could use our satellite dish due to the tall trees, however, though they say they have cable, it has a VERY LIMITED number of channels. They also didn't have pull through access for C-to-C members. This is only the 3rd campground in 5 years that I will never stay in again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$19
Rate is for Passport America. For some reason this park hasn't been reviewed in almost 3 years. When we checked in we asked for a site with grass. She said there was no grass, however there were some grassy sites, so I found that kind of annoying. I hate being nickeled and dimed, so it bothered me that they up-charged: an extra $2 for cable, and an extra $2.50 for sewer. Antennae doesn't work out here, so opt for the cable if you are going to be bored. They say they have wifi, but you can only get on for 1 hour per day, and if you log on for 1 minute once, you're done for the day. The laundry area is basically outside (can you say gross AND cold?) and there are only 2 washers and 2 dryers. The bathrooms and showers are really old. We did not use them, so I didn't pay too much attention to cleanliness. If you decide to stay an extra day, make sure you get to the office before checkout time or she'll be knocking on your door. The good news is, this park is only about 25 miles from the Space Needle and downtown Seattle. I'm sure it's also more fun when it's warmer. They have canoe and row boat rentals for a minimal charge. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2009
$35
This park needs some maintenance. The sites have a very rustic feel, with trees between some sites, and only partially paved. There is a playground for the kids, and a lot of nice features like a dock and a few gazebos. The only problem is lack of maintenance. The bathrooms are clean, but ugly, with nothing matching, and with a lot of old parts and pieces. The dock ramp was rotting, and hopefully has been fixed by now. The recreation building was unusable by our family, because of a mold smell in the air that was very strong. The laundry facility was small for a park of this size, and you have to queue up. On the plus side, the park was affordable, and kid-friendly. It was quiet at night on most nights. There are a fair number of long term campers here, but they seem like nice people. The lake looks beautiful, but you need a boat to enjoy it, because of the weeds coming right in to shore. It is reasonably close to Seattle, making an easy day trip to the city and has no freeway noise as it is a little out of the way. I will possibly stay here again, but I might try a few other sites in the area first. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$8
Nice older campground on small lake. Small lots just big enough for 1 slide. Most lots for Coast-to-Coast were very small, some shade and not good for the Internet dish and no sewers. Wireless was not good from our site. Glad we did not pay full price. Would only return for the 8.00 price. There are sewers but with C2C we did not get one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com