223426 User submitted reviews online!!
1000 Islands / Ivy Lea KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (613) 659-2817
CGID7474

1000 Islands / Ivy Lea KOA

Camp Information
Sites
136
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$85



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   8   9   6   6   9   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$85
This CG is great for couples such as ourselves, or families. Two pools and an adults only hot tub. Huge playground with one of those inflated bouncers that our grandkids love. Everything is first class, and very well maintained and managed. Plenty of friendly staff to look after everything. Big rigs may have to wiggle a bit, but they can fit on the designated sites. We had one of the patio sites with wrought iron table and chairs along with a parasol. Very nice. All sorts of activities organized for all ages. Wi-Fi was a little weak, but better than some we've seen. No cable, but some over-the-air channels and clear view to satellite. Price reflects our KOA discount. We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$81
We stopped here for one night on our way to Toronto. We paid $81 CDN including taxes for a good sized pull through site which was very close to the main building, store, pools, etc. Pretty pricey for us as we didn't use most of the stuff, but it was in a handy location for our trip. It looks like a great place for kids - lots of stuff for them to do. There are some fun waterfront bar/restaurants nearby. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$58
We enjoyed this park and would definitely go back. Our site was small so we were thankful it was a pull through. The bathrooms were clean and we were glad that there was lots of activities for the kids. It was an unusually hot weekend so being in the beautiful pools was a little scary at times with kids jumping in on top of other kids. Having the slide is great fun for the kids but a big dangerous when the pool is crowded and kids swim in front of it. Having a store on site is great in case you forgot anything. The park is awesome and the kids loved it. It's a bit pricey compared to other campgrounds and I'm sure that to some people it isn't worth paying the extra money to camp at this KOA. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$68
Kid and Adult friendly. They run activities all week, which is a huge plus. Love the treats with movies and the loser Bingo.Kids love the glow and water wagon rides. We always feel welcome. Great campground always improving it. Two pools one heated and a great Adult hot tub. Great with animals. Wish they had a fenced dog run but my family loves this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$74
This is a decent campground with lots of activities for kids and families. It is maintained well and the sites have reasonable space between them. That said, it is extremely crowded. Every possible place that could accommodate an RV has one, giving the campground a very crammed and crowded feel. We use KOAs a lot, but this is much too expensive for what is offered. I would look elsewhere if I was in this area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$70
Staff is very friendly, however steer clear of them helping you park your RV. They gave us directions on how to back our 37 ft 5th wheel (50 plus feet long w/ truck) in the back row - which proved rather difficult - since there was little room to do so. We watched them try to direct another 5th wheel into a corner lot (way too small for it) and that took them 40 min and 10 tries. They have fantastic activities for kids - and a beautiful play area. They have a deck near the pool thats pet friendly (a nice surprise). The roads are pretty narrow. The sites are much smaller than advertised (wide angle lens were clearly used in the images). When we arrived all the sites had picnic tables in the middle of the site, so me and my 83 yr old father in law had to carry it to the grass - not fun. Their are quite a few seasonals (mowing their grass and their neighbours for 2 hours on a Sunday morning; not something I really want to hear on my vacation). The camp store is decent. Their bathrooms are spotless and there is a nice rec area in the basement of the main building. Only washrooms are in main building - so a bit of a walk unless you are camped in the next street. Many puppy pick up stations and they claim they are adding a dog park. (We did not camp with our dogs this time). Wood was $7 a bag - and turned out to be off cuts of 2x4's!! that is not camp fire wood and a bit of a rip off. They do deliver the wood and the newspaper daily. All in all this place is way too expensive and we will likely stay somewhere else next time. If we had kids with us then i can see the value as they have definitely catered to the kids with activities etc. Some nights ran $80.00 A night. This place also wanted you to wear wristbands - but they stated as long as you had it with you that was fine (ie in your pocket to show) if you wanted to participate in events. Did not need them to enter park. (In fact park security is rather lax as we drove in several times forgetting to put the yellow mirror hanger up and we were not stopped). Lots of chipmunks :) Who are friendly. Overall, nice park, clean park, but overpriced for someone who is just camping to see the local sights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$68
Had a great time, staff very friendly and a 'make it happen' attitude. Pools are a little small for the amount of people. Lots of organized events, great for families. Most activities included with your stay. Quiet park in the evening. They escort you to your spot and ask if all is OK and if you need assistance in parking your unit. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$38
Dog park and more level site would make it perfect - beautiful campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$85
Overall we give this facility fairly high marks. The entire camp was clean and well maintained. There were lots of staff. Attention to detail was obvious, including daily delivery of newspapers to each site, delivery of firewood right to the fire pit (upon purchase), etc. This is an extremely 'family friendly' camp. On the negative side, its a bit pricey, even with KOA discount. Also, be aware that this facility is not handicap accessible. There are no washroom or shower facilities with wheelchair access. Inner roads are also not paved for those needing wheelchair accessibility. The on-site store has limited supplies - come fully stocked! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$72
We camped here for 5 days in mid July. The campground quickly filled by the weekend. The grounds are exceptionally well maintained. As each camper would leave, a crew would show up to empty the fire ring and pick up any trash left behind. The campground features some premium sites that feature upgraded landscape and patio furniture. I wasn't sure it was worth the extra fees, so I settled for a regular full service site. Lots are a good size. The camping Kabins are richly landscaped with bushes and flowers. They obviously spend a few dollars on landscaping in many areas. I found the pool to be well maintained but small for a campground that size. They sure could use a larger pool to accommodate more people. There is a limit of 40 people in and around the pool. Kids quickly take over and leave little room for adults. It was still nice to see the kids having fun. There are many planned activities for the kids. From movie nights with free popcorn, drive-by hay rides with water guns, free ice cream, hot dog feasts, etc. This campground is great for families with kids. WiFi is free with good coverage in most parts of the campground. Every morning, a free copy of the local newspaper is delivered to your door. Firewood is available but seemed to be made up mostly of construction cut-offs. For boaters, there are plenty of boat launches in the vicinity. The week we were here, they were building an outside gym. Never got to see it finished. At the entrance of the campground is a nice and safe bicycle path that goes on for miles. The village of Ivy Lea is a beautiful lake-side community featuring well kept homes with lush landscaping. In closing, I found the price way too high, but perhaps worth it for families with kids. I will certainly return to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$60
This ridiculous price includes the KOA discount and taxes, for a park without Cable and with three pools so small that adults don't have room to swim. My back-in site was so off-level that I couldn't use the sewer hookup because my tanks are forward of the dump valve, therefore on my site, downhill from it. Probably a blessing, as the portion of the sewer pipe above ground was loose and removable; could have been a disaster. For those with dump valves amid ships, bring a long sewer hose, as all I saw was rear hookups. The power/water post had been backed into and not repaired, but worked well. Very leaky tap at one of the dump stations. Lots of equipment and activities for the kids. Altogether an average KOA which charges 20 dollars too much. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$50
We camped here the last weekend in May, so the campground was less than half full. I found this overall to be a good campground for families. The pools were amazing, nicely landscaped. The entire pool area was surrounded by a glass-like fence which really helped keep the wind chill to a minimum. One of the pools has a kid-friendly hot tub which seemed to be quite popular with the younger folks. The trailer sites aren't very private but that seems to be the norm for a private campground. We booked an upgraded back-in 30 amp full hookup site that backed onto a field designated for dog walking. Nighttime we enjoyed listening to the frogs in the pond a bit further away. That part was good. The upgraded "patio", or decorative stone sitting area was a bit of a let-down to be honest. It consisted of reddish coloured gravel for the ground cover and a very small wrought iron table with 4 chairs and an umbrella. The wind level prevented us from using the umbrella, and the size of the table was too small for a family of 4 to sit down comfortably for a meal. I'd really have preferred a picnic table. The bathrooms were clean and they seemed to have recently installed new counter tops, sinks and hardware. The rest of the bathroom area looked a bit aged, albeit with a recent coat of paint. There seemed to be a bit of rejuvenation going on in the campground - they were in the process of redoing the front areas of the Kabins as well as setting the ground for new Lodges. The staff were always friendly. My kids really enjoyed the movie night with the free popcorn in the main office in the evenings. There didn't seem to be any other activities the weekend we were there with the exception of the movies and swimming, but that was most likely because it was early in the season. The tent sites in the back of the property were amazing - no services but the privacy and view seemed to be second-to-none (sites T24-26). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
It was OK. We have stayed in nicer KOA's. The pool area is great for kids but very crowded on a nice weekend. The bathrooms were OK but could be a bit dirty at times. The showers are in need of make over. The kids activities were very "lame" and are in need of improvement. I'm not sure why they would bother, they are so bad. We stayed at a rainy time and some of the lower(elevation) sites were flooded out. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$44
Very nice park, only one pool was open, splash pad was not turned on, play area needed some maintenance. Quiet campground, nice but small stes. Deserving of it's good reputation. Staff very helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$40
We loved this KOA. It is very family and pet friendly. What we really liked is that all activities, i.e. bingo, jumping castle, special bbq's, ice cream sundae socials etc, are all included with the nightly rate, no extra costs which are typical at KOA's. Owners are very friendly and make this a very welcoming place. Very new deluxe sites have wrought iron table and chairs, above ground fire pit, colored gravel and nice landscaping. Yes sites are close together but so are most KOA's. We will be spending many weekends here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$37
Great location in a nice area. Lots to see and do. We arrived here after a heavy rain and the dirt and gravel roads turned into a messy, muddy bog. Some attention to drainage is needed here. The owner however is making improvements as evidenced by some attractive landscaping around most of the campsites. I was somewhat ticked off by the fact I was unable to use my debit card. The owner nade some excuse that KOA being an American company were unable to sort out their banking tranzactions in Canada. Nonsense of course, there are many KOA's in Canada where debit cards can be used. He does, however, have an ATM in his lounge area. Enough said. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$45
The sites are small and most require leveling - some needing a great deal. I stayed in one of the patio sites and it was not worth the extra charge. The sites are narrow, there is no privacy and there is a drainage ditch located behind them. These appear to be newly developed and it would have been better to develop less sites and make them worth the charge. The pull through sites are grass and gravel. These required leveling as well. The pools are small and one was in desperate need of a good cleaning. The roads have big puddles after a rain which mixes with the exposed dirt to create muddy conditions. The owners and staff are very nice and the bathroom facilities were clean. I would consider other parks if returning to the area for comparison. I would stay here again if nothing else available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$42
We choose this park for its childrens activities and they were excellent covering a large age group. The sites were small, but service excellent on all parts. Only down side is pools are very small and unsupervised by both KOA and other parents an accident waiting to happen. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com