214919 User submitted reviews online!!
Homer Spit Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (907) 235-8206
CGID7507

Homer Spit Campground

Camp Information
Sites
122
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$43



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   5   3   6   6   6   1   4   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$43
Pricey park on the spit. When we checked in they said that the "ocean view" row was the second one back from the beach, elevated and cost more. The front row was dry camping and the attendant said that normally the tent campers get those spots. As it ended up the front row was filled with Class C units that created a solid wall of RVs and blocked our ocean view. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$48
Electric hookups only, gravel lots, narrow in width. View of ocean is great, not a beach, but a shale shore with many rocks. Believe it or not this is a good deal price-wise for the area. But after seeing Homer once, we won't be back, really not much there other than a few shops and charter fishing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2013
$43
Waterfront sites with views of the mountains across the inlet, and a location near the shops of the Spit are the highlight of this camp. It is a gravel parking lot with relatively narrow sites that are barely level. Our site had neither water nor sewer hookups, but the electricity worked well. WiFi did not work at all. The bathrooms were always nice and clean, though they were old and dingy. Showers cost a dollar, but were unmetered and had plenty of hot water. Laundry facilities were convenient and well maintained. The dump station in a prominent place in the center of the campground was frequently busy this 4th of July weekend, many times with rental RVs whose drivers were not particularly careful about using it hygienically. Price was high for what we got, but everything in Alaska is expensive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$45
Nice view of the ocean, worker very polite. We only got electric but the view made up for it! Close to eating places to walk to. Being at end of the spit the traffic noise was not a problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$53
Had great views of the water, the quaint town was great, shopping and food good too. Activity at the fishing docks were interesting. In the campground the Wi-Fi was not so good! Pretty much the reason why we left for another RVP. Employees were very nice and accommodating for our early departure. Still would recommend it if you don't need internet connection or don't want to pay the high price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$42
This is a review for the TRUE Homer Spit Campground, almost at the end of Homer Spit, on the right, just past the Salty Dawg Saloon. If you want true Alaska campground, near the action on the Spit, then this is the place for you. Easy walking distance to restaurants (Finn's Pizza) and fishing charters. A menu of various prices for campsites is posted, ranging from tent / dry camping at $30 a night to waterfront sites for $52. We were in a non-waterfront, back-in site, across from the Alaska Marine Highway Ferry to Kodiak Island. You will track fine black gravel in your rig. There are no water hook-ups, so make sure your water tank is full. There is a dump station and a hose to fill your water tanks if needed. There are ample washrooms / toilets and unlimited showers for 1 dollar. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$42
This is to let others know this campground is not big rig friendly and does not have the hookups shown on the internet. We had made a reservation for a pull-through site for 3 nights based on information we'd read on the internet. This information said there were TV hookups, water, and electric- full hook-ups. When we went to check in we were told there was central water, a dump, and no TV for $42, and we were shown a spot which was so tight we doubted we could open our slide outs. The lady was very nice and after looking at the printed information I showed her she suggested we cancel our reservation and call Heritage if we wanted full hookups and cable. She said she was going to tell the owner about the incorrect information that had been posted on the web. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
The gravel parking was tight and the layout of the park was difficult to follow. The laundry facilities were good and clean. There is no shade in the park. It is conveniently located to the activities in Homer. One can walk to most places. Two dogs were left in an RV next to us whenever the owners left and they would bark when anybody or thing walked buy. A real nuisance in the early morning. The Halibut fishing was excellent. I thought it was a little on the expensive side. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
Gravel campground with great ocean and mountain views. Helpful, friendly staff. We ended up staying 10 days even though we only came for 3 and had to move and dump once. Short walk to shopping area and boat harbor. Picnic table and fire pit at every site. Excellent laundry room. Very clean shower rooms are cleaned twice a day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$22
Beautiful location, but not choice sites. A bit cramped and although clean, the grounds were pretty rough. Loved the access to all on the Spit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$39
This is a busy and often noisy place, reservations are a good idea. Campsites are small, picnic tables and some fire rings provided. Front row on the beach have no hookups. We had a site in the next row, slightly elevated, spectacular view over the tenters. Bathrooms were clean and kept filled with supplies including hand soap. Showers, $1, were excellent. This is an old campground and not spiffy, but the people are great and if you want electricity on the Spit, this is the place to go. We stayed here 2 weeks and were very happy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com