223488 User submitted reviews online!!
Suwannee River Hideaway Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (352) 542-7800
CGID757

Suwannee River Hideaway Campground

Camp Information
Sites
44
Date of Stay
March 2013
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   1   10   8   7   10   9   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$17
Rate reflected Passport America rate for full hookups. This park was somewhat rustic but a pleasant change from the manicured sites we had been accustomed to. The park was clean and tidy with a pleasant small activity building. There were lots of paths and trails to walk and a paved bicycle trail was 4 miles away. The cable TV was marginal and we opted to use our antennae which provided a few more channels and a better picture. The water pressure was very low and we ended up using our RV water pump when showering. The park has 2 washing machines and 2 dryers. The dryer took 2 full cycles (on high) and the clothes were still damp so plan to wash on a day when the clothes can be hung out to dry. The pool was not heated. Wi-Fi was OK at the park hot spot. The staff were friendly and pleasant to deal with. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$26
This is a rustic park. In our case, rustic is good. Sites are not paved. Water, electric, sewer all worked as expected. Cable TV left something to be desired. Management was very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2012
$55
The pool closed at 6 pm. The river was 1/4 of a mile through the woods to reach a floating dock that was about 4 ft wide and maybe 8 ft long. Nothing for the kids to do at all. We stayed one night We will not be back. This is a park for the older folks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$15
We have traveled all the way from Montana to Florida and have stayed an campgrounds all the way down to the Florida keys. This is by far the nicest, quietest, and most private of all. We have enjoyed the grounds and the wildlife immensely. All the facilities are clean and the owners have obviously invested a lot of time and money making this a wonderful place to stay. I plan on making this my favorite campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$25
We stay here every time we go through this area. Friendly staff, courtesy service to sites. Bathrooms are rustic, but clean. Beautiful location. They really have put a lot into building trails along the Suwanee River and woods, and continue to work on the campground. Easy in/out, large sites, friendly campers. It's worth the trip, time, and camping fee. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$19
They advertise 2000 feet of Suwannee River frontage, but you must walk on a boardwalk close to 1/2 mile to even see the river. The owners seem quite nice and even bring you to your campsite. There are a lot of rules (16 written). They show a $15 rate for P/A members, but by the time you add sewer and fairly mandatory 50 amp power it is $19 plus tax. If you don't buy sewer hook up, you can dump for $2. The campground is very quiet; access by about a mile of dirt road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$28
This is a nice, quiet park to get away from it all. Great views, nice owners and good services. There are ponds, walking trails and a boardwalk to the river that is stunningly beautiful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$28
Clean park. We stayed for 2 nights. Located out in the country and was very quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2010
$13
Water supply is on a well and the park is near the river, we ruined our central water filter due to rust and junk in the water. Not a show stopper but be sure to have a filter, I went to Wal-Mart and got a cheap external until I could replace our central filter. Park is laid back, quiet and out of the way, not much to do but lay back. Would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$17
We decided on this park basically because of the previous reviews. However, we were not prepared for the extremely unlevel site that was assigned to us. Because we were only overnighting, I requested only water and electric. But, because our motorhome is over “33 feet”, we had to pay for 50A at an additional $2. We could have sufficed with 30A for the evening. Our site was basically a utility post at the edge of the road, no distinct site at all. In order to level, our back tires were off the ground!!!! Most all of the other sites in the park looked a whole lot more level than ours. The wi-fi was good, but it wasn’t available at the site. The “hotspot” is on the porch of the clubhouse. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$18
Very nice campground. Showers, laundry, restrooms, were all very clean. Pet friendly, but there was no place to throw a ball for our dogs. Boardwalk was amazing and the dogs did take a swim in the river. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$19
This is a decent place. This is a “Good Sam” park but that is an overrating. The office people were friendly and took us to our campsite. Our site was on grass, I think all of them are, with some trees around us. Sandy roads inside the campground but with no overhanging branches to catch the unwary. There is a 1500 foot boardwalk to the Suwannee River. You can swim in the Suwannee if you want but there are no lifeguards. The campground has a mix of snowbirds and overnighters. I didn't notice any “permanent” residents. Odd cable TV with the three old networks plus Fox, TV Land and Fix News. NBC came from New York of all places and it seemed like ABC was coming out of California. PBS on the antenna. Full hook-ups but low water pressure. WiFi at a hot spot in the clubhouse. There is a tent camping area in the woods near the boardwalk. This is a very quiet area, well off the main roads. The entrance road is 0.6 mile (not 1.5 miles as someone else has said) bumpy mystery pavement with sand and gravel over the top. The paved road out front is fairly narrow. Two Class A units meeting would probably have to slow down and pass carefully. The Nature Coast Trail, a 32 mile paved biking, hiking, and equestrian trail is 5 miles away in Old Town. We stayed here in a 31 foot Class C for 5 nights and payed $95 with a Passport America discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$22
Suwannee River Hideaway has a unique office and store with lots of reading material. The staff are friendly and welcome you as friends. It is set in beautiful surroundings with a modern clubhouse. The rustic facilities are adequate and very clean. There is an awesome boardwalk to the Suwannee with deck and dock on the River. If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle to peace and quiet this is the place to go! We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2009
$22
We paid the PA rate. This campground has a lot of potential, but it has some major flaws. The pros: remote, very quiet, boardwalk to the Suwannee River, wide sites, friendly staff. Cons: extra charge for 50-amp, county roads leading to the park entrance very narrow, road from park entranced unpaved, rutted and dusty, power went out twice during our overnight stay. After we got set up, we started to read the campground handout and found out that they require wooden blocks under all leveling jacks. As my wife said, “Not after we are set up.” We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2009
$36
This park was not what we were expecting after reading about it in Woodalls. The staff were all friendly and helpful but the park itself was a disappointment. After driving down a 1 1/2 mile unpaved washboard road, we arrived at a campground with no paved roads, no concrete pads, or landscaping. I can't imagine what the parking sites are like when it rains. The restrooms were clean, but old, unheated, and covered with a screen door. If the outside temps are low, the showers will be cold. Water pressure is minimal. They do have Wi-Fi, as advertised, but it is available only if you take your laptop to the office or clubhouse. The cable TV consisted of 6 channels and the picture was adequate. If you have a roof top satellite, you may have to search around for a site where you can get a good signal without interference from the trees. The park is a "natural" landscaped park with nothing but dirt roads and mowed grass/weeds to park your unit on. We camped there in a motorhome. I would stay here again only if there were no other vacancies in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2008
$16
The campsites are 32 ft. wide, on grassy lawns, served by dirt connecting roads. Only about half of the sites have sewer hook-up. Tent sites are secluded and beautiful. A 1/2 mile scenic boardwalk takes one through a cypress swamp to the banks of the Suwannee River, where there is a deck for observaion and a dock for fishing boats. Not every site has a picnic table and there are only 3 community fire rings for the whole park. There is a laundry, horse shoe pitching area, and a small camp store. The staff is helpful and the park is clean and well-maintained. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2008
$16
Activities limited to a walk on the boardwalk to the river. It was interesting to see the swamp flora on the way. Roomy sites. Sewer is extra, 33ft is extra, 50 amp extra. Clubhouse closes at 4PM! Office closes at sundown. NO lights at night. About 6 channels of snow on "cable" TV. Very low water pressure. Sign in shower room "do not remove shower head. It will only reduce pressure for others". Old wooden bench in shower stall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$21
What a lovely park staffed by lovely people. If you’re looking for serenity, this is the place. The 1500’ boardwalk to the river is mesmerizing, and the park is so far away from the lights and sounds of civilization, the star-gazing is the best I’ve seen since Yellowstone. The fence, gate, and remote location make this the safest-feeling park in the area. This is not a park for children (or adults for that matter) who can’t entertain themselves. The cable TV only has 6 channels and most sites are not close enough to the office to pick up the wifi signal. But if you take the pleasant stroll up to the office, you find the wifi works very well, and the office cat may even keep you company. The clubhouse is nice. The laundry is small, but functional. The restrooms are completely without frills, but are clean. Sites vary in size. The Old Town area offers little to do, but twenty minutes away, there’s a great little restaurant (inside a quilt shop) in Trenton. Cedar Key is an hour or so away, but well worth the drive for anyone interested in local art, and state parks and recreation areas highlight the natural beauty of the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$16
Passport park and reasonable. No bugs or ants and that was a relief from the last campground we were at. The staff was very cordial. Very limited cable and my dish could see out from site E-9. Board walk out to river was very interesting. Quiet and very shady. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$16
Passport America park which was very clean. Owner was very friendly and helpful. Very relaxing. Not filled with old permanents. Boardwalk to river was nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2006
$14
This is a very nice park in a quiet, peaceful area. Sites not that big but roomy enough, we have a 30 ft class A. Staff on check-in extremely friendly and helpful. Passport America and Good Sam park. Cable TV consists of six channels. Bathhouses are simple with no paper towels or a shelf or bench in the shower to set your stuff on but very clean and well maintained. Laundry is also very clean and organized but allows cold water washing only. The boardwalk leading to the Suwannee river is a neat feature; interesting birds and plants in the swamp leading to the river and a very nice view of the river at the end of the boardwalk. Dump station is easy to access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2006
$22
This is our second visit to this campground, so that we can visit old friends. The owners are great. Very helpful and friendly. The campsites are large and level, with the hookups easily accessible. There is not much to do there, but relax, walk on their boardwalk to the river, which is remarkable in the way it was constructed. It is a pleasant experience. Although this year we did not do it, by all means get a firepot brought to your site for a little more than $5, you can have the best campfire that lasts a long time and does not smoke, nor spit sparks, but provides lots of heat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$22
This is a Passport park. Hosts extremely nice. Club house is under construction. Very remote and quiet. 1500' boardwalk through cyprus swamp to shore of Suwannee River. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2004
$17
This is a great park to "get away from it all", hard to find in Florida. The owners are the most friendly hosts you will find in a campground. The sites are large and the grounds are very well maintained. The owners personally built the 1500' boardwalk to the river and it is an amazing piece of work. Take your coffee to the dock and enjoy the morning. We are told they put on a great Halloween party in the fall and "survivor" weekend in the spring. Call for dates. We came for a night and stayed for a week. We will be back. (Contrary to a previous post this was never a KOA - perhaps it was confused with another in Old Town) We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2004
$18
Very nice ,quiet and clean. Not much to do around the area but very relaxing and alot of space. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$20
This is a fairly new campground, with wonderful owners. The boardwalk to the Suwannee River is awesome and must have been difficult to build. Although they don't allow open fires at the sites, for $5 they rent you a fire pot, filled with wood. It is absolutely a great gadget and puts out so much heat. The sites were level and roomy and not crowded at all. A very nice campground We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$25
Very nice campground . Owners are very nice , and helpful people. The campground has only been open since last year so they are still expanding. It was such a pleasure to stay at a campground where you hear frogs and crickets not cars and trucks! We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$20
No longer KOA, a beautiful spot! Much deferred maintenance, temporary manager told us owner a widow and she and her son have been running it for 5 years. Roads and sites are sand, a few potholes, but we truly enjoyed it. We were given the KOA discount anyway. It is only 1.5 miles off the main highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$18
1500' wooden cat walk through a beautiful wet swampy area to Suwannee River. Owners very friendly and accommodating 108 acres of land with future expansion to 100 sites and a club house. Groups welcome. Worth the trip just to see the catwalk. This is a very quiet natural area of the Nature Coast of Florida. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com