223424 User submitted reviews online!!
Pokagon State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (260) 833-2012
CGID7630

Pokagon State Park

Camp Information
Sites
273
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   8   7   3   10   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$20
Generally nice campground in a State Park with lots of family-oriented amenities and activities. Roads are paved. The gravel sites range from open and sunny to shaded with good privacy, and were mostly level. Note that not all loops have electric hookups, so pay attention when choosing your site. Only one modern bathhouse was open this early in the season. The restroom facilities were as clean as could be expected given their age, but the showers were rather grim with lukewarm water at best. The shower curtain appeared to be from last season, which is odd, as you would expect that to be one of the first things they would replace when preparing for the new year. Otherwise, we had a very pleasant, restful stay for one night. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$26
We were reserved in the 100 loop - (Site 111). The restrooms in this loop were sketchy. When we got to our site, we were only able to pull into our site by using the site across from us. Once we got into it, we discovered that the only electricity available was at either of the neighboring sites. Our cord needed to be three times longer, so we were in trouble, as the temperature was going to get down to 39 degrees that night. We left our site and went up to the check in. They sent up a DNR guy to help us. Meanwhile, the people in the site across from us arrived and had to use our site to pull in. The DNR saw all our problems and very nicely put us into the 500 loop. The 500 loop is flat and easy to get into and out of. The bathroom is clean and nice. The 100 loop was much more interesting and rustic, but we were just as happy to switch. All of the DNR people we spoke to were the nicest people. BUT there is no hot water in the showers. It would be better to install pay showers and get hot water. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$26
We stayed in the 500 loop again. Fewer sites in this small loop so the restrooms stay cleaner. There was a NO hot water Saturday. But otherwise a great trip. We enjoyed the bike trail and nature center. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
We stayed in the 500 loop. It was a challenge maneuvering our 30' travel trailer, but worth the extra work pulling in as the sites were very private and spacious. This is one of the smaller loops so the comfort station serviced fewer campsites and was always clean. Our kids enjoyed crafts at the Potawatomi Inn. I recommend trail 7. Two dump stations available, but both are in rather strange places in the middle of the 300 and 400 loops rather than on the way out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
Pokagon State Park is a great park with lots of activities. It has a nice bike trail, nature center with helpful staff (the summer months there are lots of activities for kids, including feeding the critters that live at the center), saddle barn and bridle trails, beach on Lake James, and miles of hiking trails. The bathrooms are only okay, but the campsites are for the most part great: good sized and well shaded. We did have to come in the wrong way on what was marked as a one-way street; the only way to angle our trailer into the site. The Potawatomi Inn is very nice and has a restaurant and pool, and the park has a Toboggan slide in the winter. Close access to the Indiana Toll Road and I-69 are pluses. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$24
We made reservations on the state park site; the site location and information stated that the site was 50' long. On arrival (and paying an additional $7 entry fee) we drove through the park and when entering the campground loop were confronted by 180 degree turns with poles and trees close to the road, along with park cars. The site itself was heavily treed and too small for our coach; even if we could fit it would have required pulling into and backing out due to trees on each side and narrow access road. It was not level and was not wide enough to allow slideouts on both sides, let alone an awning. After a tortuous attempt and slow escape from the loop, we requested and received a refund with the comment from the park ranger that "I guess we'll have to measure those sites someday". The park itself is very extensive and beautifully maintained; however it IS NOT easily assessable for a 40' motor home and tow - I would not recommend for anything over 36'. We'll have to pass on this otherwise beautiful park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$17
Very good state park. Heavily treed, very quiet during the week. Lots of sites fairly well spaced, although we were given a pull through that was fairly close to the ones on either side of us. Many of the back-in sites were quite large and well separated from their neighboring sites. We were only passing through on a long trip so we were only interested in a quiet place to stop overnight and we were not disappointed. We are planning a return visit later this season, and may well stay there again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
Pokagon has so much to offer, from bike paths to horseback riding. The trailride is a little pricey and the mosquitos were terrible, but it was still a great weekend. The beach is excellent, although a hike down a hill to get to it, so carrying your gear is a pain (especially back up). We were in loop 4. The kids liked riding their bikes down the hilly roads. The roads are paved, but narrow, and most are one-way. Loop 3 had pull through sites, and two shower houses. The shower/toilet facilities are all pretty dated, but they were always clean. What's nice it the location. Very convenient to the highway, but not so close that you hear it at night. Angola has a Meijers and a Menards within a 10 minute drive which is very convenient for purchasing supplies. The downside is the majority of the sites are not shareable, they aren't very deep and it would be difficult for more than 1 family per site, and the park limits 1 car per site, and overflow parking is kind of far away. Compared to the large sites at Potato Creek in Indiana, where sharing would be a breeze, I wouldn't recommend it here. I will definitely return! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
Nice camp ground. Sites were a bit too open for our taste. Some areas were kind of cramped. We liked loop 5 the best. Very wooded with lots of nature trails. Access to Lake George from Campground. Horseback riding and hayrides available for additional fee. Also had boat rentals. Nature center on site and indoor tobbagon run in winter. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com