220367 User submitted reviews online!!
Big Lagoon State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 36 user reviews. Phone: (850) 492-1595
CGID773

Big Lagoon State Park

Camp Information
Sites
68
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   10   5   9   8   9   8   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$20
This was a nice park (especially if you have bikes and are interested in water sports or have children). The sites are small, but private and very quiet. The showers in our loop weren't working but the others were near by. There are nice bridges and walkways out near the water and we were able to view an alligator over one of the bridges. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$10
Always enjoy coming to this park but I have noticed that there are fewer sites available for our 40' motorhome and when I questioned the staff about it I learned that the park manager has decided to change the length of RV permitted in each site because he seems to think that will prevent folks from overhanging their site. I have found that no matter how small the RV or tent some folks always overhang their site into the roadway so now many people will find limited spaces when attempting to book a site at this park even though the site is capable of handling their rig. Sites formerly capable of accommodating our rig (since we've already stayed in them) are now not listed as large enough which I think is sad since it will limit our ability to reserve a site in the future. Park amenities are very nice, rest rooms/showers well maintained and pavilions are wonderful. Rate is Florida senior rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$22
This park is doing a great job for the public. The welcoming staff was friendly and helpful. Our site was spacious and also afforded some privacy. The Lagoon is beautiful, and the park supplies all kinds of boats and life jackets for rent. They even offer binoculars on loan for bird watching. The showers and restrooms were modern, clean, and comfortable. There is an observation tower from which you can see the Lagoon and Pensacola Bay. We would return here if we were in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
This park is not up to the standard that we have so far experienced in the Florida State Park system. Many of the sites were flooded (OK, there was a recent rain, but not a major one). Our site was so narrow, we could not put out our patio mat. To stay out of the standing water in the rear, I had to stay front too far to fit our car, so had to back that into the weeds. I also had to use blocks under the wheels and jacks to get level. It's not a "bad" park, just not as nice as the previous State Parks we have been to. It's also a lot smaller, so that may have something to do with it. There are nicer (and also worse) sites here. With a more knowledgeable pick of sites, this would be a nice, quiet, and out of the way park to stay. Good bike riding around the park roads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
Great SP. I guess a somewhat older park designed to accommodate RVs smaller than today's monsters. The site we were given required some vehicular gymnastics, but we stuffed in & once there had adequate room. Enjoyed the boardwalks & took in a few sights of the area. The Naval Air Station museum is a must see & exceeded expectations. Spent most of a day there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$10
Rate reflects Florida Senior Rate. The sites were fairly level, but mostly sand & shell. The water quality was great, as was the electric hook-up. There is a nice boardwalk through the lagoon area. The rest rooms were clean, but had stair access from certain parts of the campground. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$25
Nice state park near Pensacola and Perdido Key. Check in was easy; we were able to drive through to pick our site. Fairly level sites, close together with scrub brush vegetation between them. Great hikes nearby, access to lagoon and ocean near, lots of area restaurants and shopping in Pensacola. Bathhouses were older, but were cleaned daily. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$24
Thursday, February 28 - Big Lagoon State Park, Pensacola, Florida This is the last state park on the Panhandle before one enters AL. This park has 75 campsites with water and electricity, fire rings and picnic tables. One can swim, fish, boat, crabbing and hike in this park on 678 acres. Depending on the season there are guided walks, campfire programs and recreational skills programs. There are over five miles of hiking and nature trails that take you on roads, boardwalks, sand bars and marshes. There is an observation tower to view the park, the Intracoastal Waterway, Gulf Islands National Seashore and Perdido Key. This is the beginning of the Great Florida Birding Trail. Some sites are on cement and others on hard pack dirt and sand. Many campers were staying for an overnight but others stayed for one week or more. It did feel like it was Florida in its natural state except for seeing litter on some of the hiking trails and marshes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$23
This is a nice campground with a couple of hiking trails. We had a concrete pad at our site. Restroom/showers are very good and warm. It was quiet and peaceful on a winter's night... We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
Stayed there for 7 nights. Not the Hilton of campgrounds, but very friendly and quiet. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
This was an really nice campground. This was our first camping experience in the panhandle. The campsite was clean and easy to get into, and we have a 36 ft. travel trailer. It is a typical state park campground which is woodsy and plenty of surrounding vegitation. Our site, 50, did not have any trees, but a lot of foliage which acted as a buffer from the other sites. We enjoyed the wildlife in the area. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$12
Very nice state park with very clean, well maintained amenities. Example: the beachfront pavilions and rest rooms are all in very good condition and reflect the care given them. Wonderful waterfront views out over the Big Lagoon, scenic nature trails etc. Price reflects senior discount, we stayed 8 nights and would definitely return. Some sites are very sandy but that's Florida. Staff is excellent and went out of their way to assist in all areas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
We loved this place! Close to the ocean. Close to Pensacola. Close to the Naval air base where the Blue Angels call home. We saw them do one of their weekly shows for people that come to the base. Awesome! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
Very nice park near Naval Air Museum. Sites are compacted sand with some space between most sites. Park staff very friendly and know the area. Great boardwalk to beach area. Great bird watching. Will come back here without a doubt. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$22
This is a good state park but is showing it's age. The facilities are clean but feel worn out. There are nice boardwalks giving access to water. Kids were having a great time fishing. Good location for Naval Aviation Museum - a definite must see - and downtown Pensacola is an easy commute. Rules were not always enforced with dogs off leash at times. The sites vary in size and those located on the 'water' side are near marsh pools. Surprisingly the insects were not present but site always felt damp. Park is a great value for price paid and would stay again if in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$28
A nice FL state park, with sites well separated by bushes and dunes. Access to some is a challenge for longer rigs like our 30' Airstream with the long Henlsey hitch and big truck. We wiggled in and were delighted by the trail to the beach. We moved here after the Canopener at Topsail, so it was a marked contrast, of course. I'd come back to be close to the Naval Air Museum. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$22
This park is great! It has wonderful hiking trails, swimming beaches, and boardwalks. There were also numerous picnic areas. The campground had a very nice playground. Pets are not allowed on the beaches, but they are allowed on all of the hiking trails and boardwalks. In March the mosquitoes & bugs were not bad at all. Each site has a fire ring, picnic table, and posts for a laundry line. Numerous beach areas for swimming along the intercoastal waterway. The swimming areas were long narrow white sand areas, and there were plenty of shallow areas for wading and splashing around. Bathrooms were always clean. Firewood, ice, and soda machines available at the bathhouse areas and/ or the campground host areas. I would have given this park a 10 except for the fact that the campground lacks laundry facilities. No washers/ dryers anywhere in the park which was surprising since they offered every other amenity. Staff was nice and knowledgeable. Binoculars for birding (free for check-out), canoes, and kayaks for rent at the office. Great place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$22
Nice park, but do call to get the gate code if you are late arriving. We lucked out and got someone to open up for us after the office closed. Clean, safe, with a tropical feel and nice coastal views. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$20
This state park campground is located in a pine scrub environment. Sites are a bit small because of vegetation, but the vegetation also provides tremendous privacy between well spaced sites. Wildlife was abundant, and the trails were good for hiking. The perimeter road is good for bicycling and moonlit walks, too. Park is gated at night and a pass code is needed. Be sure to get it before you go if you plan on a late arrival after sundown. Great Horned Owl whoo'd all night long. Bathrooms and showers were spotless. Two downers: A. Jet noise from NAS Pensacola was annoying during the day; B. Unpaved sites kept us sweeping sand out of the camper often, even when we brushed our feet. These two factors cause a bit lower rating. Part of the Florida experience. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$11
Another of Florida's lovely state parks. Our site (#24) had 50 amp electric and was more than wide and long enough for our 40' motorhome. Reduced nightly rate is for Florida Senior Citizens and is a true bargain! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$22
Very nice park. We camp here often. Some sites are in direct sun and others are shady. No problems and we enjoy the stay winter or summer. National park for beach and fishing close by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$8
The time has come and gone for the management of this park to make some much needed repairs and updates. Even some basic sweat equity would really help bring this place back. We confirm the prior reviews which mention the small, sandy and overgrown sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$8
Price reflects Florida resident senior rate. This is a lovely park with only a handful of 50 amp sites. There are some trees & scrub oak to give a little privacy to sites. The sites are not huge but adequate for our motorhome & tow vehicle. The location of the park is superb. Don't miss the Naval Aviation Museum and the Blue Angels practice! The park has nice areas for swimming (although not a large beach) & picnicking, hiking, biking, walking, etc., and a playground for the kids. Ice and firewood available on the campground. We were especially pleased with the cleanliness and upkeep of the bathhouses. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$16
The site was fairly level but we did require a double stack of lynx levelers on one side. Sites are spaced apart well and separated by shrubs and trees. Bath houses are centrally located for each loop but the loop 3 bath house was closed for repairs (we were in loop 1). We lost 30A power at one time as did the site across from us but it was restored within the hour. No consolation in 99 degree heat, though. We also lost water pressure for about 2 hours one day. Ranger stated the park is 28 years old and never been upgraded but they are planning on it. Many sites are sandy and we even had to use our 4WD to pull out another camper who got stuck, we noticed a lot of sites were very uneven and some were very, very small. Large Class As might have an issue fitting in any of the sites, in fact, we didn't see any during our stay. Mostly tents, travel trailers and a few 5th wheels. Sign at the park said rates are going up to $20 per night in July 2009. Overall, it was a decent campground, close enough to visit everything yet far enough out to be away from traffic and congestion. We would stay here again if we had to but it wouldn't be our first choice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$16
This is our second trip to this campground. First time we had site 41 directly across from playground with 15 and 30 amp service. This time we had site 28 on the south side of loop one with 15 and 50 amp service only. I thought this was odd that 30 amp wasn't offered at the sites on the south side of loop 1 as most campers use 30 amp and the sites were too small for a large fifth wheel or motor coach. I had to pull out my 15 amp adapter to use the electric service and ended up blowing the breaker while using my microwave with all of the lights and TV on. Luckily it was cool enough that we didn't have to use the A/C or we would have been in the dark a lot. The staff was friendly but the campsites definitely need to be updated, leveled, and enlarged. The camp hosts were having to bring gravel in to fill sites that had been flooded and muddy due to recent heavy rains. The campground is convenient to the beaches and many nice restaurants. It is very family friendly but try to go for the sites on the north side of the campground if possible. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2009
$16
The park is really nice. It is fairly large and has lots of trails and boardwalks. The park roads and trails are great for walking, running and biking. They have several facilities and a tower along the beach. We saw a plenty of wildlife. The park is very quiet except for the occasional Navy trainer flying over. There are lots of sightseeing opportunities in the area plus the Naval Air Museum. I have been going to the museum for many years and I think it is one of the best in the nation. I highly recommend it. However, as nice as we thought the park was, we cannot say the same for the camping sites. The sites are very small, sandy, and uneven. Most will only accommodate the camper and one vehicle. A couple of the sites are big enough for a slide-out, an awning and the fire ring but not much more. The campground road is very narrow. Most everyone regardless of equipment size had trouble getting into their sites. The bathrooms and facilities were very clean but are older and in need of upgrading. They were working on one bathroom while we were there. There are no laundry facilities on site but the staff said there were some close by. Even though we loved the park, because of the condition of the campground sites and the availability of other nicer campgrounds in the Florida panhandle, we are not sure if we will be going back. We would love for them to improve the sites but I don’t think there are any plans to do. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2008
$16
We weren't crazy about this cp only because the sites are very sandy (that fine, white sand) surrounded by alot of unattractive bushes annd trees. Not very interesting. The rangers were very nice at checkin and the restrooms were clean, if not a little old. Overall a decent, quiet park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$22
Awesome place, trails to walk everywhere, incredible sights to see, can go right up to the water on walks. Lots of birds and lots of trees. Good steady crowd while not crowded at all. Really liked the place, will go back many times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2008
$25
Lots of nature walks, which were nice. Very shallow RV spaces if you have a larger (longer) rig. A bit overpriced for the actual spaces offered. Stayed for a day, but wouldn't have stayed longer. Why have 50 amp hookups if the site can't accommodate the kind of motorhome that needs 50 amps? Even in our rig, we had to move back and forth to use electricity, water, dump. Very strange. Even in a smaller rig, you would have to figure out your priorities: hook up electricity and water or dump hose, because you can't do all three. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2008
$16
There are 50 amp sites, but the State wasted their money by upgrading small sites that will not accommodate large rigs that use 50 amps. The road along the south side of the camp ground is very narrow and limits backing into the sites. We were given 46. No way I could get my 36 foot 5th wheel pulled by a Ford crew cab, long bed truck into the site. We changed to the north side where the road is wider and allowed more turning room. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$17
Nice state park, sites are spaced apart and offer good privacy. There are several walking trails with access to the water. The Navel Air Station is close by and has the museum which is free and very extensive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$16
Very nice park with lots of room to do and play on intercoastal waterway. Kind of tight when maneuvering with longer trailer. The sites were not narrow but not much width available for suitable trailer footprint. Very private and truly beautiful setting. Definitely warrants return visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$13
Beach access from Boardwalk. Nicely wooded areas around campsites. We really enjoyed the privacy, fire rings and picnic table. Campground hosts were very helpful. Only 30 amps in sites that will accommodate big rigs. Not many tall trees because of hurricane Ivan (9-04). Shower houses are not all heated. The first one is the best one, so you might get a site close to it. No shower curtains, so clothes in dressing area may get wet. No laundry but there is a great drop off service behind the Sherwin-Williams store: ask a host about it. I don't give this higher than an 8 because I like sewer service. But the dump station was easy to get to. We liked it so much we stayed here 5 nights after planning on only 2. Eat at the Shrimp Basket and visit the Naval Museum. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2006
$16
One of a few campsites in the Pensacola area that are available to the non military. The staff were extremely friendly, but unfortunately the sites were very poorly maintained. The patchy grass around the picnic table was over 2' tall, and the ragweed was everywhere. an extra 10' of camp site could have been obtained with judicious mowing. The site I was directed to (I have a 30 footer) was soft enough to allow my pickup to sink to its axles when trying to hook up when leaving. Help was available and as I said the staff was very helpful. Sorry to say, I will not be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2005
$20
Very nice state park close to the Gulf Of Mexico. Some of the sites are very short so pay close attention to the details. If you make your reservation on Reserveamerica, note some of the park is still closed due to the devastation from Ivan last year but it is slowly getting back to normal. They have a small beach on the lagoon and the Gulf is a 10 minute drive away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$18
A coastal state park in a sandy oak/pine scrub environment... almost desert-like. Sites are semi-shade. Access to campground is via paved road, leading to 75 back-in sites made of sand and packed shell. Each site has a fire ring. Sites might be considered small for larger campers. Bathrooms and showers are spotless and well kept. Campground staff and hosts are friendly. They sell ice and firewood onsite. Kids playground is well kept and well used, nice. In-park beaches are white sand and on the lagoon (not the Gulf of Mexico). Picnic pavillions and tables are at the beach. Beach is accessed via a nice boardwalk system from the campground. Gulf beaches must be accessed by leaving the park and crossing over to Perdido Key. No-See-Ums are present, especially at dusk. Quiet at night. We camped here in a Tent.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com