214866 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Manatee State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (941) 741-3028
CGID8182

Lake Manatee State Park

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   8   8   8   7   8   8   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
Sites are spacious and well-separated for a quiet, private stay. Cell phones worked well. It is convenient to activities in Sarasota. Staff was pleasant, even stopping to tell us not to rush to leave since no one was coming in. This was our second stay here, and we will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$22
Nice park - clean, safe and quiet park (we were not there during racetrack activities). More convenient for water activities like canoe, fishing, etc. Hiking trails are located on staff roads. There are not really bike trails in the park, but a lot around Bradenton. We would go back there for a short stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$25
We really enjoyed the quiet at this campground. Our site (#28) was very spacious, level and provided much privacy. Boating is permitted on the lake, there is a tiny beach and a nice sized park. It's a perfect place for a little r&r. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$10
There are probably a couple of sites that would accommodate a 40' RV and tow vehicle, but the one we booked wasn't one of them. The trees and the narrow winding road make it difficult for a big rig. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$11
We loved this campground; it is (almost) everything we look for in a good campground. Every site is wooded and private. There are other campers nearby, but they are not right on top of your site. The site was clean, had a fire pit, a picnic table and had 2 posts for us to set up our hammock. The bathrooms and showers were very clean, the shower water warm. Lake Manatee is a 3 minute walk and is a pretty lake, although we would not recommend swimming in it. The lake has a designated swimming area, but it was mucky, and there were alligator warning signs. The campground host was very friendly, and even drove up in the evening in his cart offering cheap firewood. This is a state park and so does not have a lot of the things you would find in a private resort such as pool, games, etc., but it had everything we look for in a park: peace, quiet, privacy, nature, and cleanliness. We strongly recommend this park to everyone looking for these things. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2012
$22
No full-hookup available and the sites are very tight. We hit several trees maneuvering to, into and out of our site. They really need to clean up the trees if they are going to allow 40' RV's to make reservations. Otherwise, great private feeling sites with fire ring & picnic table. They sell firewood at a reasonable price at the ranger station. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$22
Generally the 60 EW sites are large and secluded. All have fire pits. Beware of the squirrels. They chewed holes in my 2 new freshwater hoses. The rangers are aware of the problem, but apparently do not wish to resolve it. Placing a bowl of water next to the hose, as the rangers suggest, does not satisfy the squirrels thirst for water. There is no internet, cable, or laundry. While the park extends along three miles of Lake Manatee, swimming is not advised because of alligators. There is a boat launch and fishing dock, canoe and kayak rentals are available. The walking trails are rather boring. There is only one ranger led activity; a weekly evening owl walk. Unfortunately there there is a noisy racetrack a few miles up the road, so you may wish to inquire about race dates. Two miles down the road is the O’Brien Family farm where you can purchase fresh produce. As well the farm has a strawberry u-pick. No bending necessary as the berries are hydroponically grown. Despite some of the drawbacks, we thoroughly enjoyed our two week stay, especially nightly campfires and walks around the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$22
We had a great camping here. There are nice short trails. It was not crowded. It is refreshing swimming in the lake. It is very peaceful. The playground for the kids was great. The showers were very clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$12
This is a very nice and well laid out state park on Lake Manatee. Lake is 2,400 acres in size and around 12 feet deep, you can swim or fish here if you wish. You will find no Manatees in this lake due to a dam on west end. Park has two large rings with RV sites around the rings. A bathhouse sets in center of each ring. Sites are super size, hard packed gravel, level, wide, deep, clean, with good 30 amp power, water, fire ring, and a table. You feel like you are parked in the woods and have lots of trees and ground cover around the site. Hard to see other sites close by as you are over a 100 feet away from others. Playground equipment for the kids near lakeside. Staff was very helpful at check in. You have good roads and walkways in park. Bathhouses were all clean. Verizon cell and 3G card had five bars and was super fast here. You will hear a little road noise from Hwy 64 to the south of park, not bad. Park has dog clean up bags all over the park and I did not see any dog land mines on the ground to step on. Park has recycling cans for everything, use them. Dump station was super size, no problems to get in and out. Gates are locked at night and you have a code to get in. Rate was for FL Senior. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$22
Two shaded loops each have a central bath house. They are unheated which makes for some nippy showers on cold winter days, but plenty of hot water and always clean. Plenty of shade but room enough in almost spaces for our 33' fifth wheel and truck. The trees impact satellite reception in many sites, so we had to put our cube on top of the RV. We had good cell phone reception. The park is about 10 miles from most shopping, and it's a bit of a drive to the coast through a lot of city. Very quiet even though full every weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$27
Al thought the sites were sandy they were level and packed well for our 40' MH. Large sites with privacy from your neighbors. The restrooms were large, easily accessed and VERY clean thanks to the great hosts. We would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$15
Stayed on site 45. It was a level, roomy site with privacy. Has nice, clean restrooms. Was an easy hike to lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$18
We camped in site #46. Our site had standing water on it when we arrived in a rainstorm. Most sites around us did also but by the next morning the water had dried up. Most RV's could fit on any site in campground. All were deep and most were wide enough as well. Each had a fire ring/grill combo, picnic table, w/e, and poles to put laundry up to dry on. Park has hiking paths, boat ramp, a lakefront that swimming is allowed in, 20 hp limit for boats, and a playground in the day use area. Restrooms were clean when we checked at the beginning our our stay. Park host has a coffee get together on Saturday mornings for the campers. TV stations were numerous w/o a sat dish. Park has a small store in ranger station as well as sells firewood there. Most of the campers this time of year are snowbirds. We only saw one other camper from FL in the campground. So if you want to camp in winter book early since sites go fast. Everyday conveniences not too far away. We visited Gamble Plantation and De Soto National Monument which were withing 20 miles of Lake Manatee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$26
Loved this park. Very scenic with paved roads and brush is cleared away from road. Sites are sand, but very large with Florida palms and greenery barrier between each site for privacy. Restrooms/showers very nice - looked new. We had plenty of space on all sides. No trouble using my Verizon phone and connecting to internet with Verizon air card. Only stayed one night on way to FL, but already reserved for two night stay on our way back home the end of March. This is truly a FL state park that can accommodate large trailers/motorhomes. Not far from Bradenton and I-75. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$22
This is a beautiful park with spacious, private sites. We had a nice shady site with the only caveat being we had to take care backing in because of overhead branches. Our site was sandy and level. The staff at the office were helpful and had lots of information on things to do in the area including the best laundromats and where to shop. Although the park was full the bath houses, located in the center of each loop, were never busy and were clean. We had cellular service there even though we were nine miles off the interstate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$18
This is a beautiful campground. Every site is very private. The people in the office were very nice. I will definitely stay here again. No WiFi but an broadband EVDO signal on my Rev A. Verizon phone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$18
This is an excellent state park campground, huge sites, easily big enough for any size rig, set far apart, lots of privacy, modern, well kept, clean restrooms and showers. Easy access for satellite signal at almost every site. Hosts were excellent, had potluck lunches, community game days, coffee clutches. A nice pavilion is available for group picnics. Easy access to the lake for boats with a large parking lot for tow vehicles and trailers. Also has a beach for swimming, but not very nice, and anyhow, wonder about aligators??? Close to Lakewood Ranch which has every kind of store, cinemas, and a few restaurants. Already made reservation for next winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$20
Park is very friendly and has been making some positive changes for 2010. Some sites on the south side have freeway noise, we did not feel it was that bad, but others have asked to be put into another site where it is quieter. When room is available, management will honor the request. We would have rated this park a 10, except for this reason. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2008
$18
For a Florida State Park, this one was very bad. There was hardly anyone staying in the camp ground, and that was with one loop closed for repairs. Now I know why. There is nothing to do there. At the playground area they offered horse shoe game, but the grass was so high around the stakes you could not see them. They say they have swimming there (one of my main reasons for going there), but they do not. There is a fresh water lake there, but there is no access to it. When we were there the swimming area was closed due to high bacteria in the water. There were a lot of bugs and flys at the camp site, we were not happy there and will never go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$18
Great campground. Very convenient weekend getaway. Very tidy. I only wish they had sewer and 50 amp service. Otherwise this is a great place to spend any amount of time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$18
Very nice state park. Easy access, wide long sites that many work well with big rigs. All of our satellite systems worked at our site. We would definitely stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$20
The park is on Lake Manatee which is a dammed of river, popular with fishermen. There is a 20 HP limit on boat motors. Swimming beach is OK but alligator warnings are posted. Interior roads are paved; spacious 80 ft. (not paved) campsites each have a picnic table,fire ring and clothes line. Live oaks, pines, and saw palmetto cover the grounds. The picnic area has a large playground and there is a boat launch and fishing pier nearby. There is no laundry. Hiking trails are wide and easy to follow. Wildlife include armadillos, rabbits, deer, alligators and feral hogs. We did not see alligators or feral hogs. Campground hosts do much of the maintenance and they are friendly and helpful. There is a locked entry gate after 6:00 pm. The campground is quiet, evenings and early morning. It is 9 miles East of I-75 and about 10 miles East of shopping, gas, and similar services. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$20
If you want to camp here in the winter, you'd better make reservations! It's a bit far from everything, but this is a very beautiful place to camp. The park, on State Road 64 about 8 miles east of Interstate 75, offers camping, picnicking, boating, a fishing dock, nature trails, horse trails, canoeing and kayaking. There is a swimming beach, but DO NOT swim there. We saw many alligators in the lake, especially at sundown! SWIM AT YOUR OWN RISK! Campsites are clean, spacious, and easy to get in and out of. Camp hosts are nice and helpful. As stated in previous review, nice hiking! The fishing here is also great if you have a small boat. If you want to hit the beach, it takes about an hour in traffic to get to Coquina Beach and Bradenton Beach west on Hwy. 64. Tampa is about 45 minutes away north on I-75. There is only one bad thing about this park. Desoto Speedway across the highway. It is very loud when there are races! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com