218915 User submitted reviews online!!
Parry Sound KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (705) 378-2721
CGID8286

Parry Sound KOA

Camp Information
Sites
108
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$49



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   4   9   7   8   8   7   7   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$49
Our site was a gravel mostly level back-in. Noticed some soft ground nearby where wheel ruts had developed. The electric and water worked fine. No cable TV, but found a couple of channels off the antenna. Wi-Fi worked well enough to write this review. Lots of trains running every hour. I probably wouldn't come back as they had no full hookups, the train noise and rate is expensive for what we got. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2014
$56
We have never stayed at a KOA in all our RVing years and now I know why. Way overpriced for what you get, particularly at this one. $56/night for 30 amp back-in site with no sewer, cable TV and marginal Wi-Fi is just ridiculous. The 30 amp power was poor and would not run out rooftop air/heat without a struggle. Had we not been so tired and unable to find other options in the area we would not have stopped at all and I know we would definitely not return at these rates. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$51
This an excellent park with a very friendly and helpful staff. It is well shaded and well kept. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$50
This was our first stay at a KOA. We arrived in a downpour, which later turned to a Thunder Storm. However, when I went inside to check-in, I was greeted by the most wonderful French woman who was so cheerful that I was happy to be there! That alone will make me consider going back. The second thing that goes a long way is that the gentleman who escorted us to our site also backed us in. Any time I don't have to guide the trailer in is a huge stress reliever and very appreciated! The woman who welcomed us informed us that there is WiFi throughout the park; however two days before, the tower where we were staying was struck by lightning and was currently not working. She offered to check on another site for us where the WiFi was working, and was able to change our accommodations. As we were setting up it was pouring. Our site ended up being a complete and utter mud pit. There seems to be drainage issues in many parts of the campground as there is "Big O" throughout. However, at our new site we were lucky enough to be at the bottom of a hill, so we got it all. We stayed for 3 days, and although the rain soon stopped, our site never did dry up. This made for a very dirty trailer most times. The sites are very close together but luckily no one had booked beside us after our first day, so we weren't too bad. The free pump out service (if staying for 3 days) was appreciated as there is no sewer service and gray water fills up quickly. The scenery was lovely, and the chipmunks come right up on your hand and in your lap. Something tells me they're used to getting snacks! We did not use the facilities (we day-tripped into Parry Sound) though the pool area and children's play area looked very appealing and there were always kids enjoying both. There is a nearby train that is louder; however, I did not find this to be an issue. You soon get used to hearing it and it becomes very easy to tune it out at night. Will stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$70
Very nice campsite, but a little tight for a 40 ft. motorhome. Way overpriced compared to any campground we have stayed at during out trip across Canada. Lots of things to do for kids (we didn't have any), but our experience is that the KOA's are overpriced anywhere. Good for an overnight stay, but we wouldn't pay $70 a night for water and power with no sewer hookup again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$50
Family owned & operated with friendly staff willing to help. Stayed early in year when things were getting ready for season. Excellent Wi-Fi, good gravel interior roads. Easy to find and convenient to visit Barrie, etc. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$53
This is an average park. Some treed sites, some in the open. Site landscaping could be improved. WQe found the nightly fee excessive considering the lack of sewer hookups and general park appearance. Staff were friendly and helpful though. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
This is not a bad campsite, but isn't overly accessible for big rigs. While the KOA computer was down we went into a pull thru that was 47'; we're 45' but it worked out ok. If the computer hadn't had a problem we would have been in a back-in that would have really been difficult to get into. Wi-Fi was intermittent. There was a good rainstorm, but the campground drained well. No sewer at sites, but dump station is convenient on exit. Lots of ATV folks. The campground is a good 15 miles from Parry Sound. Would stay here again in a big rig but only if we had to. The ease of booking online keeps us going to KOAs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$43
A nice wooded campground, with some problems. WiFi is sporadic at best. Many of the sites, particularly on the periphery, are not level at all. Pretty quiet, except for a rail line with occasional trains that need to blow horns because of a blind crossing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$32
Small campground with friendly people running it. Sewer pump out available included in the cost because no sewers available anywhere on the grounds. Washrooms were old but clean, showers were small but clean.The beach they advertise is a joke. It is nothing but a boat launch. They have a very good trail system if you are into ATV's which a lot of people are who use this campground. We would definitely go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com