214403 User submitted reviews online!!
San Elijo State Beach was rated 8 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (760) 753-5091
CGID8335

San Elijo State Beach

Camp Information
Sites
171
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$56



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   10   8   9   9   10   5   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$56
This is popular campground overlooking the Pacific Ocean and fills up fast. There are restaurants and fast food dining near by. The sharp "S" turn to get into the check-in kiosk is tricky. If you are not paying close attention you can rip the roof off the kiosk with your rig. Bull Taco has some excellent cuisine. The convenience market is well stocked. Showers and restrooms are clean; showers require a token that can be purchased at the ranger office. The laundry facility is located next to Bull Taco. The WiFi wasn’t available during our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2014
$50
This is a decent State Beach with good vistas, but it is a bit pricey for what you get. The sharp "S" turn to get into the check in kiosk is tricky. If you are not paying close attention you can rip the roof off the kiosk with your rig. We went through with a 36' RV and just barely made the turns. It is also dry camping with a dump station so bring water with you. The dump station is a little tight as well, but doable. For the price I would probably stay at a different beach campground next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$50
A fabulous place to spend a week. We thoroughly enjoyed or stay here. This campground was our favorite place to stay on a two week, three stop vacation traveling across seven states. The beach is great, surfers out surfing the waves dawn until dusk, sunset was awesome and just a neat clean park. Keep your food stuff picked up and stowed as there are many little ground squirrels running around more than happy to take food off your picnic table. The campground entrance is a bit of a tight squeeze getting in and the camp site was a bit tight getting into but we managed well enough. There is a busy highway not more than 20 feet from the east edge of the campground and a commuter train on the other side of the highway that runs about every 30-60 minutes day and night. Neither the highway nor the train was bothersome. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$65
Oceanfront hookup sites are pretty short. Our 29 footer barely fit. No wonder it’s labeled as a 24 foot site. Lots of locals use this place for quick getaways to relax and party. The noise dies down at about 10 PM. Great dog beach at the south end. Bull Taco has excellent food. Good market. This is my wife’s new favorite campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$65
Great location overlooking the ocean. Easy beach access. The only complaint would be with the ants. They invaded out trailer the first night and stayed the whole time. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
Very spacious sites for a State Beach campground. Some sites had up to 3 RV/Trailers on one site! Stayed in site 93, backs to Coast Hwy but very nice. Definitely prefer the South end of the campground with walk out access to Beach rather than the bluffs of the North end of campground. Dogs permitted on beach "on leash only" south of LG Tower 16. Showers were always hot, token operated, which are purchased at campground office. Only upgrade I would like is to have POWER at every site. Some sites have full hookups but are hard to get. Just to have power would be a great upgrade. Get your chairs and umbrellas on the beach early to secure your spot for the day, can get crowded on weekends. Public crosses through campground for beach access, so can get busy. For SoCal State Beach camping this is one of the best experiences for our family. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$65
Sites here are very difficult to book. I was lucky enough to secure a beach facing site #21 and we all have a great time at this camp site. This site is right next to the stairs leading down to the beach (the campsites are located on a bluff overlooking the beach) so it's convenient, but you do lose a bit of privacy and the beach/sea view is slightly obstructed by the stairs. The full hookups at this site was a pleasant change to the primitive sites at a lot of the state beaches. The toilets were reasonably clean, but don't expect too much. Sites were spacious and quite well separated with some level of privacy for most. The beach itself affords a very pleasant walk. We were very excited to see wave after wave of pelicans flying in formation right next to the campsites. It was a sight to behold. My guess is that this is a seasonal phenomenon. We will certainly be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2011
$35
The park is nice with wide sites. Like all CA state parks, the cost is way up ($50 for a bluff site, $65 for hookups). I did not see the camp hosts at all during our stay (3 day weekend). There was a homeless person hanging around the bathrooms for most of the day. There were also homeless people sleeping just behind the inland row which is right next to a busy road. We had our Honda generator stolen while we were asleep - it was locked with a large lock but their bolt cutters were larger. We didn't feels safe and left early. Sadly, we won't be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$65
Waterfront sites are on a bluff above the beach accessable by stairs. Absolutely wonderful views. The beach is very long and deep especially at low tide. Dogs are allowed on the beach as long as you are below tower #16. There is a store and a taco shop in the campground and also a surf school for beginners. This is a major surfing beach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$35
Was a very nice setting. Some traffic noise but the ocean view made up for everything. Ocean sites are expensive. We would return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
We love this campground. We were there for the 4th of July- lots and lots of kids! The Rangers organized a patriotic hat contest on the evening of the 4th. Nice dog beach, but be aware they were giving tickets to those not on a leash (over $300) Bluff sites are best, but overall a really nice park. They do have snack bar on site near the camp store with such interesting offering as duck tacos, food there is good but it can take a long time to be prepared. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
We stayed at San Elijo State Beach for Memorial weekend. We LOVE this campground. It's big enough that there are plenty of sites to choose from but small enough that you can enjoy a leisurely walk around the park. The south side of the park is level with the beach while the north side is on a cliff (although not as bad as Carlsbad State Beach). The campground does offer full hookup sites and although they state maximum length is 24', we've seen many RVs parked in these spots that were 30' and longer. Good clean campground with a nice beach at your fingertips. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$35
Location is fantastic with great beach access and ocean views. Most sites have generous space about 40' deep and 30' wide. ONLY A FEW SITES HAVE HOOKUPS!. Each space has a fire pit and sturdy picnic table. Reservations are made through ReserveAmerica and there is a $7.50 "transaction fee." Reserve the premium ocean side site vs the standard inland sites. Inland sites back up right next to the busy Coast Highway. Passenger trains are heard and seen about hourly during the day and a few freight trains at night. Tracks are inland of the Coast Highway. We weren't bothered by this, but another reason to reserve the premium ocean sites. Also frequent military and civilian helicopters flying low just off shore. Restrooms are individual toilet/sink rooms in good, clean condition except floors were wet and muddy (not unusual for a beach site). Showers require tokens purchased at camp office. On site store was nicely stocked with everything you could possibly need. Parking one tow vehicle on site is allowed, however if you drive in a vehicle it will cost you $10 per day to park on your site. Free parking on the higway was readily available. Wireless internet is available for additional fee. Park is frequently patrolled by Rangers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$23
We enjoyed this state beach campground. The temperature was perfect. We felt like we were in paradise. However, there were mosquitoes at dusk. We can't wait to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com