220819 User submitted reviews online!!
Rambler's Rest RV was rated 6 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (941) 493-4354
CGID8341

Rambler's Rest RV

Camp Information
Sites
650
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$47



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   2   1   9   5   8   3   8   3   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$47
We have stayed her in past years while visiting friends in Venice. Very accommodating office help. PPA operator told us we could not get 50% rate, but park gave it to us. Only negative to this park: 1 - It is not set up for big rigs; 2 - roads require close attention to maneuvering, and 3 - appears subject to flooding in certain areas. We would highly recommend this park and will use in future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2014
$40
I drive a 40' motorhome and tow a small trailer for my motorcycle. I asked for a pull-through lot for a week. "We don't have them" was the reply. I subsequently found they had several, but that is another story. We reserved a place on line and checked in midday for a week. I knew when I had to ask someone where the office was we may have a problem. There were no signs directing visitors to the office building until well after we arrived. Payment was in advance via credit card. Problems arose right away. No one escorted me to my site. I had to follow a shaky line drawn on a map of the park. The roads within the park are one vehicle wide. Driving an 8' wide vehicle that is very heavy with a wide turning radius in these narrow streets lined with trees and palms was challenging. I got to my assigned site (C-58) and got parked by dropping my trailer on the street, and backing in to the space. I noted only a 30 amp connection on a rotted post even though I specifically asked for a 50 amp service. It was only then, after I had been hooked up to water and sewer and electrical that the wind shifted, and I discovered what the facility was across the street. It was the sewage treatment facility!!! Since there were campers in close proximity to me, I thought "How bad can it be?" "If they can take it, so can I." Then the sewage sucker trucks started to arrive. Huge sewage haul trucks sucked sewage from the facility day and night for the next 3 days making incredible noise, stench and dust. After the truck parade din started one morning at 0645 I complained to the office in person. I got a polite apology from the lady behind the desk who added I was welcome to find another spot for my coach. No offer to find a spot for me; no offer to refund my payment, no explanation of why it was necessary to subject the guest to this awful mess. No other campers are anywhere near me now. They have moved out over the past few days to other parks and destinations. The seasonal residents are not pleased with the situation either according to those I have spoken with on the street and in nearby yards. I suggest that until this facility gets its act together, transient or short term campers with motorhomes find other accommodations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2014
$71
When we arrived office was closed from 11 to 3 for training. Their whole power distribution system needs updated. We were having low voltage trip outs on our surge protector during cooler times. When maintenance was contacted said we could move but, it was happening all over the park and said it was Florida Power and Lights issue because of not providing enough power. When we did get to our site the 50 amp breaker would not reset. Also water was shut off and was not told at time of check in since office was closed. Roads are very narrow and hard to move around. When it did rain several roads flooded as along with some sites. Many extra charges for the price you pay monthly during peak season. For example a laundry card, on site post office box, cable, and WiFi. Also, you pay extra for electric if you stay longer than 30 days and we did not know that at time of check it until checking out. The dumpster kept jamming up and over flowing and instead of getting an extra dumpster they just used a wood sided wooded trailer and it over flowed several times with trash on ground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$53
Huge, excellent park. Some roads a little narrow, but passable with a big rig. Staff is excellent. Brand new pools and play area. Very convenient to I-75 and US-41. I would have given it a 10 but it's pretty expensive: price reflects Monthly rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2014
$63
We did not have a very good experience. We had booked 2 nights in a "standard" site, which put us in the older section of the park. The environment was pleasant. It was mostly permanent set ups with a few sites for transients like us. We ran into an issue the next morning that was (in my opinion) not handled well by any of the staff. Briefly, it got quite cold the first night. In the morning, I could hear our electrical management system cycling between shore power and battery because of a low voltage condition. The electrical infrastructure in that part of the park could not handle the demands from the residents firing up their heaters. The maintenance people first blamed me. It was painfully clear that they didn't know the difference between volts and amps, and the only solution the office could come up with was to move us to a premium site for an up charge. I just fired up the generator and endured the remaining time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$23
Rate reflects Passport America. We stayed here because it was close to friends we wanted to see. I specifically requested a pull -through site and was given a very large, easy to maneuver site. IF you choose this campground, understand that the bulk of sites are park models or small mobile homes, with permanent residents. All of them we met were friendly. The bathhouse we used was new and well maintained. Staff was VERY friendly and helpful. Our site was lovely and had lots of room. Those are all the Pluses. There are some negatives: The campground is laid out in concentric rings and has offshoots of other rings. That is good for infrastructure but can make it confusing to get around. Also, the roads ARE narrow, but if you have trouble driving your rig on these roads, maybe you should consider a smaller rig. Wi-Fi is free for 4 hours; but I couldn't pick it up. I asked at the office and they said others in the area got it. So they gave me an additional 8 hours of coupons for free Wi-Fi. However, that didn't mean I'd get hooked up, and I never did; I had to go to the office and sit on a park bench. Yes, trash and recycle are all at the front and no pick-up at your site. If you are far from the front, it is a long walk. Finally, our sewer was NOT raised up; it was actually sunk in the ground and I didn't see it until after we were parked. It was impossible to get the top unscrewed so we ended up driving to their dump station. That was equally bad; water in the drain to within 12" of the top. It created a "messy situation" when it backed up. All that said, we WOULD stay here again if visiting in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2013
$70
This is an old, old park. Very tight to get into and out of. Over priced with few amenities. No WiFi or cable. At least the roads were paved. Our site was grass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$36
This is a nice peaceful park. It has lots of trees (=lots of shade), smells a bit like you're in the forest. Most sites are indeed for longterm stays in mobile homes. RV sites are grass only. Yes, there are a few potholes but if your rig survived the potholes on the interstates at 65 mph, it'll also survive these here at 10 mph. Bath/restrooms are a bit old but clean. It has a beautiful riverfront and there are a couple of benches to sit and lurk for gators. Staff was friendly and helpful. Alternating activities are offered within the park (e.g. the time I've been here, one evening was karaoke night). Would stay here again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2012
$37
Not a bad park. There are many permanent sites, but all is kept up well. Park models and permanent mobile homes. The rv section is apart from others. Grass sites and level. We were in #128 which faced the woods so it was fairly "private." We used an Encore promo which had us pay for two nites and the 3rd was free. Without question we would stay there again when visiting relatives in Venice. The roads are paved, but get good directions to your site as the roads are tight in areas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2010
$54
We came to this RV park after a couple of others that we had checked with were full. We read the previous reviews and should have paid more attention to them. We just hoped that in a year it had improved. Well, it hasn't! The roads within the park are for one vehicle only; if you meet someone, one of you has to back up. The roads are poorly maintained, full of pot holes along with being quite narrow. The site we were on was fairly level, but also very tight to get into and out of. Had anyone been home across the way when we got there or left, we would have not made it. The sewer connections are all higher than normal, so as they say, it needs to flow up hill. A neighbor that is in a permanent told us they raised all the sewer connections to keep the ground water out. While we were there it rained and the park turns into a muddy swamp. The drainage is just non existent, so it stayed that way for several days. They have Wi-Fi & cable at an additional cost, but there was not any reception for the wifi at the site we were on. The park itself is very old with mostly permanents. We definitely would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$33
We had a great stay here. It is a real campground with shaded sites in a wooded environment. We canoed on the Myakka River and launched right from the boat ramp area at Ramblers. We saw all kinds of wildlife along the river and had time for a swim in the huge pool. It is a very quiet campground, which is just what we wanted. We would recommend this campground to anyone who is looking for a safe, friendly family environment. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2009
$50
We have stayed at Ramblers Rest many times for over 20 years and I must say that since Encore has taken possession, the conditions of the campground has gotten terrible. There is Black mold growing in the mens showers which the cleaning staff does not remove. Two of the sinks in the largest shower house (mens side) were clogged and running over and when that was reported the solution was to remove the handles instead of pour in a little drain cleaner. Others have reported on the electric, internet service and lack of security and I agree that it is bad. Another issue is the swimming pool. The heater is broken with no repairs in sight. A major concern is the water supply. Last week one of their well pumps broke and the park was without any water for over 12 hours. During that time I observed some of the repairs. The on site lay staff were required to re-plumb some of the water pipes in a dug hole with dirt getting in some of the pipes. There was NO requirement or NOTICE to boil the water before using. This was and is a dangerous condition I am sure the local health department would not be pleased with, had they known. If this is an example of how Encore operates their properties I do not know how they stay in business. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$20
Read the January 09 review as it is right on the mark. We add that we were here on a special Encore promo to meet with family and were given a 30 amp only site. The power box was really low to the ground and the sewer connection ( we needed 40 feet of hose ) was the strangest we have ever encountered. The sewer and power says that this is an old park with mostly park models. The trash was a lengthy walk from our site and not centrally located and they don't offer a morning trash pick up. We we under the trees and therefore our satellite dish on top wouldn't pick up. The sites are typical Encore - very narrow & tight. The exit route out of the park is very narrow and a driving challenge. The special rate because of our memberships made this an OK park but their normal rate would keep us out of this park. They should upgrade their wi-fi and just make it free as part of the fee. The park is 20-30 minutes from the beaches but for these and the other kids activities (except pool/volley ball/ping pong) one has to get in your vehicle and leave the park. You're a distance from shopping/dining. The back part of the park is on the Myakka River but while I watched nobody caught anything except branches and debris. We would stay here if we needed to visit family again, especially for the price. Every park resident and the staff was outgoing and friendly and that's a big plus. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$45
Lots to do!! Tons of activities, beautiful views of ponds and lakes. Great campground with very friendly staff. Kid friendly except for all of the alligators. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2009
$62
This is an big and friendly park. Some sections are beautiful, especially near the river. However, the park has some serious drainage problems, especially in the circular central area. Due to that, there are pot-holed roads and big puddles to drive through. As difficult as it is to wash an RV, you may not appreciate leaving with mud-covered tires and fenders, especially at $62 a night. With updating and road work, Rambler's Rest has the location and potential to be a 10. In my estimation, however, it rates a 6. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$70
Ramblers Rest RV (owned and operated by Encore) is located on a large area between North River Road and the Myakka River in Venice Florida. It is adequately staffed, and the grounds are very well maintained. Rates are negotiable and the longer the stay the better the discount. A camp store is practically non-existent and with the campground being quite far from any stores, should be better. The pool area is very clean, with plenty of lounge and upright chairs, and several umbrellaed tables with chairs. Lots of organized activities and field trips, dinners and entertainment. I wouldn't recommend for families with young children, as this is primarily a retirement park. Campground is comprised of around 80% permanent residents, with plenty of scattered over-night, -week, -month sites, many shaded and quite a few rental units for extended stays. They have a mail room and mail boxes, so they can and do handle forwarded mail. Security at night could be tighter as there were many cars broken into in February '09 and gps units, computers, cameras etc., stolen. I would have given them 10, except that the fee driven Wi-Fi vendor (Tengo Internet) they recommend is completely unreliable and connectivity is spotty and slow at best! Given the amount of online activity that snow-bird travel necessitates, and given that this is the unavoidable way of the future, this is a huge drawback for us, and will prevent us from staying here in the future. This saddens us because we really like our site, and the pace and atmosphere of this campground suits our lifestyle. If you don't need or care about internet access, then I highly recommend this campground. If you do need or want good internet access try to find a campground with a better wi-fi provider or have your own. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$38
Stayed two weeks. The park is a very clean well kept park with adequate rest rooms, showers and laundry facilities. Sites are mixed in with long term resident park models. Most sites are shaded and easy to get in and out of. Many sites are on or near small ponds and streams. Fishing is available on the Myakka River that runs along the rear boundary of the park. Has a few alligators in the park ponds. The only downside to the park is their wireless Internet which works on and off by the office and does not reach into the park. It is a corporation park and staff are not available after hours and on Sundays if you have problems. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2007
$23
Described in the Encore brochure as "A Premier RV Resort in Venice, FL". Huh? This is an old, run-down, shabby campground. Electric voltage is low. Running one air conditioner alone on 30 amp reduced voltage to 109. Running the microwave alone reduced voltage to 106. Office staff and other campers were friendly and helpful. Campground setting is out in the country. Streets are narrow for large rigs. Because of the electrical voltage and run-down appearance, we would not stay here again. Price indicated is the Passport America rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com