219079 User submitted reviews online!!
Golden Nugget RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 50 user reviews. Phone: (907) 333-2012
CGID84

Golden Nugget RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
215
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   8   6   7   10   7   6   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$42
Rate reflects weekly rate. Park is convenient to all of Anchorage but the surroundings are not the nicest. Some sites are tight and somewhat short. They squeezed 40' motorhomes into much smaller sites when a caravan arrived. Our site was not particularly level and was right next to a very busy road so was noisy during busy times of the day. Wi-Fi worked well for the most part. Over the air TV signals are abundant. A couple of hours after we arrived several police cars and police with guns drawn surrounded an RV and had a standoff with the occupant. He wound up going to jail and his RV was towed out of the park. At 3 AM the next morning I heard 8 rounds of gunshots from the neighboring trailer park and the SWAT team showed up for that one. A few days later, again at 3 AM a few more gunshots were heard from that area. Staff was great despite the neighborhood. Great shopping nearby for re-stocking your cabinets. Not too sure if we would return simply because of the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$43
The office staff was nice. Good location with shopping close. Took us 10 minutes to get into pull-through site with help from neighbor as roads are narrow and sites are not angled. We have a 41 foot motor home and this was the hardest site to access in 10 years of travel due to location of trees or very large rocks guarding utilities. As stated in past reviews, Internet was non-existent. We stayed one night instead of the five we planned. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$43
Tight spaces. In town park but pricey, as are all other parks in Alaska. Access gate is open and there are casual, non-registered drivers through the park at hours. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$43
This is supposedly the best park in Anchorage, which is not saying much. This is a 1960s park, so sites are short and narrow, and all the larger RVs don't fit well and hang out into the driveways. The park backs up to a mobile home park (noisy) or a busy street. Water pressure is a bit light. So what redeeming value does this park have? A decent laundry, good power, and it is close to the downtown action. This town needs a new RV park that caters to larger vehicles, until then polish your parking skills and plan to spend most of your time enjoying the city. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$48
Nice park. Downtown near stores. Long sites fits our 40 rig. Some noise at night from traffic but minimal. WiFi has problems - can not connect. You can get a night extra if you pay a week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$49
Terrific location, knowledgeable staff, and very clean restrooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$44
Location is good, right across the street from Costco, but the spaces are tight. Well maintained and clean. Poor Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$42
After researching the RV parks in Anchorage we selected this one. Once we got to Anchorage, I'm glad we selected this park. All of the other parks in Anchorage appeared less desirable. Although this park is in a busy area of Anchorage, it was OK for a day or two. The sites were a bit tight but doable. Most sites were back-in - which was not a problem, we just unhooked our tow by the front office. Next time we visit Anchorage, we would probably stay in the valley where there is more to choose from. If this is not an option, we would stay here again for a night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
I don't understand the negative reviews. We camped here with our caravan and found it very nice! I'm posting this with the park Wifi, so obviously it works. We have a back-in site that is wide enough to park our towed car beside it and put out the slides. Park is quiet at "night", and we felt safe. Very good laundromat! We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to our friends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
We read in the website that we would be getting large pull through sites. We did not. Booked 6 months in advance. As a party of 4 units we were spread all over the park instead of together. The neighbor unit is a picnic table width away. Very noisy with aircraft and residents of trailer park across the street. Lots of loud music. Only 1 shower in each bath house. Would not recommend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
On their website they claim the park is safe, quiet, and relaxing. Forget the quiet, the USAF takes care of that. F18s flying low and loud. Also a lot of civilian plane traffic. A lot of punks with loud boom boxes on Debarr Rd. right next door. Unfortunately, the park was crowded and school was out, so lots of people with kids, and of course, inconsiderate folks with barking dogs. This is the big city, so what can you expect? We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$43
This camp seemed to be the nicest in Anchorage that we came across, but that isn't saying much. No cable and satellite was not available in all spots and even then intermittent. The laundry room was none too clean, but there were a lot of machines. The sites were VERY narrow. Our tow car had to be parked right up against the RV door. People with pick ups had to relocate them when someone was arriving or leaving. Watching the 5th wheels try to park was our entertainment. It would take them 45 of jockeying back and forth with multiple other campground guests helping. The park is close to town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
We needed to stay in Anchorage for a week and this appeared to be our best option. It was better than we expected. Some effort has been made at landscaping, the bathrooms were utilitarian but clean, and it was a convenient location. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We used our Verizon Wi-Fi with no difficulty. It is not a very attractive place and is crowded but it was OK. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$43
Good location on north side of Anchorage for city access. Bad location for ease of access by run down trailer park residents who live to the north and east of the park. Both areas are owned by the same companies. No Cable, no Wi-Fi at site. Would look at other RV parks if we returned to area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
Decent enough park, close to the sights. The sites are very close to one another. Many long term residents too. The internet was okay when it was working. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$43
This park is very convenient to downtown and hidden on a side street so it’s not like a giant parking lot. We were near the laundromat so there was more traffic in and out beside our sight. The services were good and clean, although for the city, the TV channels were limited. Our wi-fi was good, and the neighbors are pretty close. I think if we had been put on the other side of the park we might not have felt the constant in and out. Good point for dog owners, a park across the street has an awesome path and field for them to run. We would stay here again if put away from the office. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$43
Narrow and mostly unlevel sites. Good electrical and water. WiFi is advertised, but never worked in the fours days we were here. Good location to visit Anchorage. Not very attractive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
We stayed here with a caravan, so I am not sure about the non-caravan price per night. The park managers were super friendly and helpful. It backs up to an older mobile home park and for that reason, it looks a little sketchy, but we left our rig and car for 3 days while we were away from Anchorage and nothing was bothered. It is not pretty, and sites are a bit tight for big rigs, but it is convenient to Costco and easy to locate and pretty typical for Alaska campgrounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$43
We stayed here because we needed to restock supplies before heading to Homer. And this was one of the best rated parks in the area, although I'm not sure why. The sites are extremely tight, and short. Our 35' coach barely fit into the spot we had up against the fence. The spot next to us was given to a 45' rig that had to park diagonally and stuck out in the street 5'. The neighborhood is a bit run down, and our site looked out on a old mobile home park that had activity going all night long. Not a lot of places to walk pets. Sadly, the other parks in the area are not rated as well as this one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$43
Site are narrow but hookups are good. WiFi was ok. Restrooms were clean. A very busy place, lots of caravan traffic. They offer entertainment some nights, though not when we were here. Staff was very helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$42
This park rates a 5 at best. The sites are very tight. We could not put down our awning because we have to park our truck very close to our rig. No water at each site as 4 sites have to share a water tree (4 outlets on 1 pipe). We were lucky in that our sewer connection was close to our rig, some had to run a 30 foot sewer hose. The sewer connections were not threaded or sealed in any way, so just stick your hose into it and hope it doesn't come out. No cable TV in the $42 price. The back-in sites are on the blind side for the driver. The location was good. A Costco is across the street. A supermarket is close by. The city paved trail system is 1/4 mile away. It's not far from tourist attractions. I would have picked a different RV park, if the reviews for Anchorage said there was something better. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$42
Golden Nugget RV Park is an excellent RV park to stay while visiting Anchorage. The staff was friendly and very helpful. There is a nice large laundry room and a good book exchange. The landscape in the front of the park was very nice. Most of the sites have grass on them and the sites are level, and there is a large paved road throughout the park. Our only complaint was the Internet service, it is not very strong. The park is close to shopping centers, which makes it convenient. We had a great time visiting the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$52
Never again, loud, tight, neighborhood and long term stay kids running around park at all hours. Woke up and two of our chairs were missing, so we will never stay there again. Highest price in Anchorage but not a good place to stay. Not a very friendly place and you must drive to everything in Anchorage. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$42
We stayed at Gold Nugget twice during our Alaska trek driving a 28' rental from Great Alaskan Holidays. Unlike a previous reviewer we had no trouble parking and pulling through. Office staff is very friendly and helpful. Park is quiet and clean. Considering how few RV parks there are to choose from, we were very happy with this one. It's on the north part of town and close to almost everything. Anchorage is not that big but finding a parking spot downtown was a bit of a challenge for the 28 footer. TIP: the downtown parking lot says no RV parking over 20' but I asked an employee I spotted and he said to use the far area closest to the train terminal (which down the hill from parking lot) and back in. Easy as pie and just $1/hr. Only problem is on Saturdays and Sundays they hold the Farmers Market there so not available. Anchorage Tourism could do a LOT better job of telling RVers where they can park downtown. The big downtown parking lot isn't even marked on most tourist maps I picked up, all the locals know where it is: "E" St and W. 3rd Ave. Look for the Hilton sign and you'll be close. Anchorage is a very enjoyable city to visit. Nice people who come up to strangers who look puzzled and ask if they can help. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40+
OK campground if you have to stay in Anchorage. Very noisy, but then again you're in the middle of a big city. Very friendly office staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$43
If your rig is over 30 feet be sure to request a pull-through as the turns are tight and the spaces very close to one another and short. They are very accommodating when you have trouble with your rig and need to stay longer than expected. They had a free BBQ with music that was nice one night. We would stay here again if we could have a pull through spot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$42
Spaces were very tight. This park IS NOT BIG RIG FRIENDLY as their website states. You can get a few big rigs in here and there but not a bunch. If there are a lot then it is VERY tight especially if there are 40+ motorhomes and large 5th wheels and their trucks. If they want to be considered big rig friendly they need to take some of the spots that back up to each other and make those one spot for the big rigs. If we ever come back to Anchorage we will not be staying here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$42
This is a conveniently located park in Anchorage. It has outstanding Wi-Fi service, an essential item for long term campers! The restrooms are very clean and there are non-metered showers. Although we were not there on an "entertainment" night - there is an attempt to have local and state-wide musicians to perform at the park. Probably the nicest place to stay in Anchorage. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$43
This campground was the first and the last campground we used on a three week trip through Alaska. During that time we learned that campgrounds in AK are generally designed for utilitarian purposes primarily and few are high on all conveniences and on landscaping. This one has good showers and a very good laundry. Spaces are very narrow. We had shade and a table and it was fairly quiet. We stayed in this location at two times and neither had internet signal that would work outside the laundry/office. They claimed they "were working on it" both times. Well, unless they get an outside antenna, it won't work. However, the worst complaint I have is that within two hours time on the evening of the 23rd June, the man working in the office talked trash about other customers! First he and the young woman in the office bashed another current camper (and used space number) to three of us who were registering, then later he bashed some nice people that had left unused/unopened food in a box marked "free" in the laundry room (they were turning in their rental and had no further use for perfectly good items including detergent, etc. He was very rude and crass. YES, we would probably camp there again even though high, because it beats the others in ANC. (We looked them over before the second night's stay). Just clean up customer service. They are a Good Sam park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$41
Short, very narrow sites. Unattractive. I heard that the WiFi didn't work well. $40.50/night ain't worth it, but in keeping with AK prices. Sadly other parks in Anchorage looked worse. "Port in a storm." We stayed one night, filled our larder at Freds and Costco, then moved on. Try Eagle River SRA 13 miles north, tho dry camping. Or dry camp at Fred Meyers, a few miles east of this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
A convenient park. Sites are small. A lot of pull through sites, but not a lot of room to swing for a 5th wheel. Watch when opening slides, that you don't hit the slide of the other unit next door. No privacy. Noise after the 10pm quiet time, but it did go away. Service was quick and professional, but it seemed hard for them to smile. No bad for a short stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
Staff was friendly even though some of the customers were a pain. Sites were a normal size for this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2009
$41
This park leaves much to be desired. What they call pull through sites are a joke. If you were driving a 20' motorhome and pulling a car you would not have to disconnect. With any rig longer than 30' you will have difficulty driving into the site. If you are lucky there will be an empty site behind you so you can back in and pull forward. I watched a caravan come in and they all had a difficult time getting into the "Pull-through" sites. No cable, TV stations only with a digital converter and the Wi-Fi is terrible at best. Lots of permanent residents making the place look junky. Best thing about this park is that it is across from Costco. Sams Club about 1 mile away. Wal-Mart is not a Supercenter and not one in Anchorage. If you check my other reviews you will see this is my first bad review. I will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
We could not get our 33 foot 5th wheel level and still have room for the truck with the first site we were given so we found another one and requested they change us. The more it rained the worse the sites got with many having standing water in them, the low spots in the roadways had large puddles, and deep potholes developed on one of the exit roads. There was no WiFi at our site but most of the time you could get on in the laundry room. The TV is by antenna but some of the stations would go off the air while we were watching them. The laundry charges were the most reasonable we have had but half of the washers were out of order and half of the dryers only worked on low heat. There were more long term residents here now and storage under and around their RVs tended to be unsightly. The park is in an older neighborhood with an old Mobile home park down the street. We did not hear of any problems in the park but did see police cars several times in the neighborhood the week we were there. We had stayed here twice before and knew that the sites are not very long nor wide but the park is clean and quiet except for occasional airplanes. We felt this park is the best choice in Anchorage so we’d stay here again but can’t rate it any higher. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
We camped here in our 45' coach. Extremely tight and sites are way too short. Also can be dusty. When you're the only game in town one can demand higher prices I suppose. We don't have slides, but if you did it could be problematic. Also not in the best part of town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
We stayed here for three nights. The best I can say is that this park is ok. Our 40' motorhome was parked three inches from the fence in the back and our mirrors were sticking out into the road about a foot. I don't know how you can rate a park anything above a four if it doesn't have cable, wi-fi or 50 amps at $45 a night. They do provide free hot dogs or soup and campground bands at night for entertainment. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
Stayed here for 8 days in June 2009. Nice camp ground pretty easy to find, quiet at night, back in sites were a little tight--width and length. We had a 34 foot 5th wheel. They had entertainment 6 nights-- live band -- and free dinner at 7:00 PM each day. Different food each evening. Overall nice campground and I would stay there again. We did attend the Sourdough Mining Co in Anchorage for lunch and it was quite expensive and the food was poor. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$45
I think the "best bet" for Anchorage. Great location. We came in with a 45' motorhome. If you are a big rig, the turn into their street is tight and the turn into the park is not well designed either (just take it wide and make sure there is no opposing traffic, it will not be an issue if you are patient). Also there was a lot of dog poo everywhere, so it would be nice if the owners would get their employees to clean up. There seemed to be a lot of employees there (it appears to be run by a large company), but it is difficult to walk and to avoid all the poo. Very nasty, but not uncommon with other parks. The price initially felt very high at $45 since it appeared on initial reaction to be somewhat of a dump, but it is not. The location is perfect and it works very well. We will return next time in Anchorage area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$45
The pavilion section of the park had just opened and was very nice. I had a couple questions that I asked of the staff and they were very responsive. The park was clean and the weather was great. Flowers were being planted at the time and I will have to come back when the flowers are all in bloom. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$45
Great place to call home base while passing through Anchorage. We stay twice, once on the way down to Homer and once on way back, each time 3 nights. Campground is clean, safe and welcomes pets. Staff was friendly and always helpful. There is local entertainment in the park on the weekends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$45
We were part of a caravan, and in a tight pull through site. Needed to tie back a branch in order to open one of our slides. Toads barely fit between sites. Old park in old part of Anchorage. Wifi was available in laundry room only which was a very busy place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2008
$45
The park was relatively convenient (about 15 minutes from downtown Anchorage) and offered decent amenities which were relatively clean. One nice perk for our family was a playground (not part of the RV park) that was located across the street. The staff were pleasant, but somewhat slow in registration. The showers had temperature limiters on them (good for safety) but the shower water was never really more than warm. We would stay again if strictly a matter of convenience, but not as part of a "enjoying nature" type of experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2008
$45
Large park with gravel sites, narrow roads and loads of permanent, run down residents. Wi-Fi didn't work, no cable. Rip off at $45 a night. Problem is, that there doesn't seem do be anything better in Anchorage. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2008
$45
This is the best campground in Anchorage, but it isn't great. It's crowded for a big rig, with little room to maneuver if you have to back into a site. They reserve the pull-through sites for caravans which means they are frequently not available for single reservations. We had requested specific sites because of the size of our rig and truck, but were told that e-mails go to a different person and they don't always pass the information to the reservations people. I believe this campground is under new management and perhaps they will improve their service, but we found the front desk people rude, uninformed and insensitive. The location is convenient but that's about all it has to recommend itself, at least to us. We'll stay outside Anchorage next time and drive in to shop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2008
$41
The best thing about this park is that it is located across the street from a Costco. The location is OK as it is a few miles from downtown. However, you had to go to the washroom to use the Wi-Fi. The sites were very close together, and there are many permanent RV's hanging around. The RV park is just a small slice of the overall mobile home park in the area so the neighborhood is not the best. For $40 a night, I did expect more. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$40
Graveled sites and close together, but the best campground in Anchorage. We paid $40.50 with Good Sams discount. Staff friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$45
It is in the city so room is scarce. It is tight but slide was out and had room to park my car. Pretty quiet where in the far end but probably could be noisy if near main road. I had problems with the wifi even when in the laundry room, the internet cafe, also problems with drops on my air card. Not sure if Anchorage was having a bad day or what as no problems before or after or the next morning. The showers have no hooks or chairs for towels or clothes, so bring your own chair. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$42
If you are going to stay in Anchorage, unfortunately, this is the best campground. It's all about location, location, location! The campground is very crowded, but there is enough room for slide-outs. It is definitely not a very pleasant campground, but it's very convenient to everything. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2007
$37
Unfortunately, currently the best in Anchorage. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2003
$27
This park has many permanent residents living in junky trailers with leaky sewer hoses, garbage piled around campsites, and children playing baseball right next to RV's. There was a drunk who played loud music and entertained friends all night living in a fifth wheel next to our camp-site. Trash from other trailers was piled so high it intruded into other camp-sites. Owner/manager is indifferent. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com