223422 User submitted reviews online!!
Stephen Foster Folk Culture Center State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 80 user reviews. Phone: (386) 397-2733
CGID843

Stephen Foster Folk Culture Center State Park

Camp Information
Sites
45
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   8   8   9   9   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$22
Beautiful place - highly recommended. Huge, shaded campsites with excellent water/electric utilities and beautiful views. Incredibly quiet. Only thing that keeps it from a 10 is no sewer but there is a dump station. The museum is fascinating if small, and the store/craft demonstrations are fun. Don't miss the views of the historic Suwanee River. Lots of beautiful hiking trails and canoes/bikes for rent at the store. We'll stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$11
Our favorite spot in north Florida. Beautiful grounds, lots of shade, dependable utilities. Just lacks sewer hookups. We continue to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$14
Very nice sites with lots of space between RVs. Clean and spacious bathrooms and showers. Nice museum and gift shop. Lots of hiking trails. We would definitely visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$22
2nd stay here this year. Clean, level, spacious sites. Some have more privacy than others. Bells ring the quarter hours and concerts daily. Nice playground, walking and bicycling trails. Crafters doing demos most days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
Spacious treed sites located on three loops with paved road and level gravel sites with camp hosts available. Clean bathhouses with laundry facilities had heat lamps over the dressing area in the showers. One can sit and hear the Stephen Foster Memorial carillon play his most famous tunes at 10-12-2 and 4. Museum and campanile are open with exhibits, store with gift items and snacks is adjacent to craft village with artisans demonstrating their craft: weaving, pottery, blacksmith, jewelry. Suwanee River runs past the park with overlooks and original bathhouse to visit. Adjacent to the historic town which is walkable and easily accessible by bicycle for churches, a couple restaurants and convenience stores with a Dollar General providing a grocery line. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
This was our first experience with a state park in Florida and I will have to say its one of the nicest places we have ever stayed. If all of them are like this Florida is a lucky state. Sites were large and even though I had a back in site, I had no difficulties of any kind with my 44 foot motorhome. Roads were wide and sites were well laid out with plenty of privacy between each on. lots of walking trails though the woods and along the river. Wildlife galore. it rained most of the time we were there but still had little to no standing water on our site. We will stay here again as we have already made returning reservations for next fall. You have to reserve long in advance for this park and its easy to see why. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$22
Wonderful state park, they call this the "real" Florida and I believe it, beautiful scenery in an old south setting. Check in was fairly quick, interior roads are paved, site pads are gravel/dirt which are no problem unless it rains which it did. Had to do some work to level the trailer, 30 amp was good, water pressure was ok. Verizon signal is strong, over the air TV signal was fair, about 5 channels. Sites are very well spaced out, lots of privacy. Lots of on site stuff to check out. Very nice park. We'll be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$22
Shaded sites available, big pull throughs, privacy between sites and close proximity to highway. Only downside was that some areas on sites had high grass/weeds. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$11
We stopped here on a Monday and there were about 5 campers. It was hot and not much activity during the week when it is hot (91) and humid. Nice wide sites on fairly level gravel. The roads are all paved and the trees are well trimmed. There are two very clean shower houses and each have two washers and dryers. There is a nice playground and since the park is mainly level, it is great for kids to ride their bikes. It is a couple of miles off the Interstate 75. That is good, as it is very quiet at night, but it is a short drive. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$22
Wow! Totally Florida panhandle experience on the Suwanee river (way down upon the...)! Backed in, great spot, lots of walking trails, exhibits, and totally quiet! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$22
What a great little find; a nice campground with spacious sites. Weak Sprint signal. The museum and history was great. We enjoyed the sound of the Carillon bells. We did not paddle on the Suwanee river though. There are a multitude of hiking trails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$22
Great park with paved roads and gravel sites. The sites are large and roomy and not on top of the next one. The bathrooms have great hot water and pressure and were very clean. Verizon and Mifi worked very well here. We were here while they were setting up for the parade of lights at the end of Nov. The do a great job on the lights and it's well worth seeing. But make sure you book early if you want to get a spot over opening weekend. The whole state park is built as a tribute to Stephen C Foster who memorialized the Suwanee River in his "Old Folks back home" song. In fact it became the state song of Florida. However Mr. Foster had never been to Florida and picked the name out of an atlas because it rhymed with the other words. Go figure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$22
We stayed here in 2011 around Christmas and immediately made reservations to return this year. The lights they put up are awesome, sites are spotless and the bathrooms are wonderful, spacious and clean. One of the hosts also worked at the gift shop and she was wonderful and helped the kids make an ornament. We come from New York every year heading to Tampa and this is now a favorite stop on our list. All of the staff is wonderful and we highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$25
This was our fourth visit to this park. The campground is small but some sites are huge and the park is beautiful especially when the Christmas lights are on. One drawback to this park is that it is remote (20 minutes) from shopping. Don't let that fact deter you. Hiking and biking both in the park and at Big/Little Shoals are outstanding. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$22
Great state park! First time we have stayed here, but we will be back. Nice large sites with a picnic table and a fire ring. One of the most well maintained parks we have ever stayed in and we have stayed in a lot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
This is a beautiful State park and well maintained. I stayed in site 5, a back-in. Site was very level and shaded. Sites 1-15 seem to be all level and 4-5 are pull throughs. This is a very quiet park which is what I wanted. Not much going on when I was there. Stayed a week and visited several nearby locations. No real grocery store, and only one place to eat out in White Springs, but Lake City is only about 12 miles away. Roads into park and in campground were paved and wide and easy to get around. No cable or over air TV. Peace and quiet abounds. We will be back. Only reason for no 10 rating is lack of sewer and cable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
Beautiful park with Museum, Belltower, shops and craft center, Swanee River access, and nice biking and hiking trails. Sites are level and mostly shaded. We found sites 5 through 9 to be exceptionally nice. We camped in 24 and it was fine. We only stayed one night and wished we could have stayed another. Easy access to I-75. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$22
Our camping club has a Rally here every spring and we always have enjoyed our stay here. Lots of trails to ride the golf cart on along the Suwanee river. The park is very well kept and the bathrooms were clean and modern. No cable or Wi-Fi but we are usually to busy for that anyway. We will be back next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$10
This is one of our favorite Florida State parks. The park closed for a week after we stayed in order to get ready for a "Cultural Week end". This is an annual June event and is well worth traveling to see. Unfortunately only vendors, workers and performers get to camp in the park that week. The campground is away from the busy activity at the Cultural center and is very quiet at night. The showers are clean and there is plenty of hot water. The spaces are easy to get into and suitable for both large and small RVs. You can have a tent on the site with your RV. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$12
Rate is for 65 plus Florida resident. This is a very clean park and staff is good. Park is quiet and there are very nice pea gravel sites for the most part. Sites are large and shaded for the most part. The only bad thing is no TV, and satellite will not work on a lot of sites. It is around 14 miles to a large grocery store. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$22
This would definitely be a 10 if there was sewer. Great campground and state park. There is a museum there and a bell tower that chimes on the quarter hour, and on the hour and plays Stephen foster tunes at 10,12, 2, and 4. Washers and dryers are nice sized and clean. The park host in our loop was and older couple and far from friendly. Would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$26
Steven Foster is one of the very nicest state campgrounds in Florida. Very clean, tidy with beautiful amenities & scenery right by the Suwanee River. Enjoyed the Carillon performance at 2:00 and 4:00 PM. Interesting Steven Foster museum by the tower. Convenient to I-75. Would definitely stay again. Limited Wi-Fi and broadcast TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
The only item that would make this park a 10 is sewer connection. There is only one dump site so the line was long in the morning. The park has great trails to walk/ride and access to the river - although it's a bit limited. The folk center had a good showing of artisans for the azalea weekend celebration in town and they were all very interesting. The town is very small with no grocery store but there is access about 10 miles down the road. Nice little town to walk around. The ticks were pretty bad - but that's to be expected. Great Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$22
Exceptional park honoring Stephen Foster and his songs, with a large beautiful museum center and a tall carillon tower playing his works on tubular bells, with exhibits showing how the bells are made and played. Right by the Suwannee river (which is at a very low stage due to the drought) with canoe put ins. Good paved roads. The large deep sites are widely spaced with large trees, no brush clutter, but are sandy-gravel. Bathhouses good but a bit dated. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$22
We've spent a delightful ten days in this campground. The staff is friendly and helpful. The sites are large and you have your choice of very private or more open. Lots of things to do and see here including a not to be missed Stephen Foster Museum. We enjoyed the last night of the Christmas Light Festival and the Stephen Foster Day activities. Plenty of walking trails and bicycling roads, including an easy ride into White Springs from the park. Very limited shopping in White Springs, most needs require a trip to Lake City, 14 miles south. There's a very nice laundromat in White Springs very close to the park though the bathhouses have a couple of washers and dryers each. Easy access from Interstate 10 and 75 but the sign to the park does not indicate that the campground is located there. Just turn in where it says Stephen Foster Cultural Center Park and the ranger there will direct you to the campground after you check in. There's ample RV parking at the gate. We would return here, especially for the Light Festival! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$25
WOW, where do I start? This has to be one of the finest parks in Florida. I always rate campgrounds on the condition of the bathrooms, and these are wonderful. Always spotless. Park is beautiful,nice walking or riding areas. Don't miss the two local restaurants, Fat Bellys (known for huge servings) and the buffet at the Telford Motel. We rate this park a ten, but reserve early around Christmas due to Festival of Lights. Cool craft shop, too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$22
We stayed in site #44 a pull through site. We had fire ring/grill and picnic table, 30A, site was hard crushed gravel. Very long and wide with bushes along roadway for privacy. This was our 3rd stay, we came for the Christmas lights. Enjoyed the festival both nights we were here. All craft houses except blacksmith's were open and selling their wares. Main store was giving out cookies and hot chocolate. There was free popcorn, marshmallow roasts, movies, snow and Santa visits. Lights were great, kudos to the volunteers who spend their time installing them. Dump station has been rebuilt since we were here last. TV reception is still extremely poor w/o a SAT dish. Carillon was playing Christmas tunes instead of SF's music. Bathhouses were very clean and all volunteers were friendly. We ventured into Lake City and they had a Winter Festival that was totally free for all the activities. Also a great homemade, homegrown farmer's market is set up near the lake downtown every Saturday. We didn't get to the trails as we did on our last visit, but neighbors of ours said they were in good shape. The springhouse is getting a new roof so it was closed to the public. Not much going on in the town of White Springs, Lake City is where you would need to go shopping. Wi-Fi is available at main store if needed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$20
This was our third visit to Stephen Foster and it continues to be a gem. The park is large, manicured, and has beautiful-looking buildings including a very high carillon. There is a craft village and gift store right in the park. There are lots of long hiking and biking trails. White Springs is quite small but Lake City is only about 20 minutes away and has all your shopping and dining needs. While we were at SF this time, the Christmas lights were being set up. They had a practice run one night and the buildings and trees were lit up in a spectacular fashion. In summary, there is not tons to do in this park but a few days here can be wonderful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$11
This might be the primo state park in Florida for the atmosphere and unique amenities. The museum and carillon are a nice walk from the campground. There is a small area for handicraft demonstrations and artisans do some teaching. There is cultural value for all ages. Although there is no swimming pool, there is a nice playground adjacent to the campground. The sites are well separated and shaded by trees and vegetation. Unfortunately, the Suwanee River as been greatly affected by drought, so there is no kayaking or swimming in the river. This is our second stay and we love it. There is a nice buffet at the Telford Hotel, within walking distance outside the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$11
The rate is for Florida residents 65+. This is a very nice park. Only thing missing is sewer hook up but what do you want for the price? The staff here are outstanding and the park is very well kept up. The sights are hard packed pea gravel and in good shape and level. There is a gift shop with Wi-Fi and the bell tower plus the history of Steven Foster.There are a lot of places to ride bikes with some hills plus you can ride in the town of White Oak on the side streets and some side walks. There is a new Dollar Store and a mom & pop BBQ place that is not too bad. The not so good is the only stores are convenience stores, with a main food store being in Live Oak or Lake City. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
This was a wonderful camping experience. We camped here with our Airstream owners club. The park staff gave us a tour of the Carillon Tower house, the Stephen Foster diorama museum and the craft center. We also visited the Telford Inn adjacent to the park for a wonderful evening meal. The sites were level and well maintained. The showers and bathrooms were well equipped and very clean. This is one of the best state parks in the United States. We hope to return many times in the future. There were 45 people in our party. Everyone had a good time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$22
We truly enjoyed this state park, and we usually don't chose state parks because we like having sewer connection. But this park was recommended by friends and we found our pull thru site to be very spacious. The back in sites also appeared roomy and offered a great deal of privacy. This park is very well laid out and is absolutely beautiful. We found the museum and bell tower interesting and it was lovely to hear the Stephen Foster tunes ringing from the bell tower several times a day. Restrooms and showers were immaculate. If you want a few days of peace and serenity, this is the place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$22
This is a perfect stopover from I-10 or I-75. Campground roads are wide and paved. Sites are extra large, level, gravel with some grass. Most sites have at least some shade. The grounds are well kept and have easy biking or walking to the various areas in the park. There is a museum (Stephen Foster), a bell tower that rings the hours and plays Stephen Foster melodies, an activity area when you can see quilters, weavers, stained glass makers, blacksmiths, and other crafty exhibits. Not all are active every day but certainly enough to keep you occupied. The gift shop is better than most. There is only one drawback and that is there is no water recreation available in the park. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
Another terrific Florida State Park. They have all been amazing. Some pull-through sites laid out quite nicely. Very spacious sites. Many have plenty of room for a large RV as well as a tent and your towed car. Apparently a quite popular place in December due to a Christmas light show. The only big drawback for us was this was our first encounter at the state parks with the tiniest of ticks. They were everywhere and both our dogs and ourselves ended up with them. Yuck! They had evidently just hatched. Now we don't know whether to return or not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$22
This is one of our favorite Florida State Parks. The sites are large, level, and clean. There is enough shade to get some relief from the Florida sun, but yet enough open space that many campers can use their dish antennas for TV reception. There is a lot to see and do right within the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
We had been to this park a few years ago, but this was the first time we camped. We liked our spot (26) as it backed up to the trails and was very quiet. Not much in town. We did have lunch at Fat Belly's and the prices were reasonable. WIFI worked good down at the gift shop. We biked close by at Little Shoals State Park. If was just a short distance away. Overall, nice stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$11
Nice, peaceful, clean, with many trees and vegetation. Picnic table and fire ring at each site. Some sites have foliage between them for privacy. The entire park is beautiful and well maintained. Nothing in the town of White Springs except a Dollar General store and a small restaurant. The nearest grocery store and restaurants are in Live Oak or Lake City. Campground check in time is 3 PM and checkout is 1 PM. The road leading out of the campground was backed up around 12:30 PM with a line of RVs waiting to use the dump station. AT&T had a two bar connection (HSDPA). Verizon air card worked fine. No TV reception. No Wi-Fi. No sewer hookup. We really liked this park and will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$22
We stayed here two years ago and were delighted to return to this wonderful campground. Every site is a winner. There is not a bad site here. Few sites have 50 amp service but it is available. Free Wi-Fi is now available at the gift shop. All sites are spacious and well manicured. There are nice hiking trails, craft shops, a museum and a carillon. Our biggest regret was that we could only stay three days. Will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$22
We went at Christmas to see the lights, it was beautiful. Rangers were the nicest I've seen. Nice paved roads for bike riding. Big wooded spots. Clean restrooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$15
We have stayed here twice this year and will go back again. There are a limited number (6) of big rig pull thru sites with 50 AMP electric. All the sites are partially or fully wooded. The roads are paved and the sites are crushed stone and very level. There is a lot to do here with an excellent store and several craft houses. There is a museum devoted to Stephen Foster and an excellent bell tower. The park has numerous well attended activities throughout the year. We find there is always something new. We spent 3 beautiful days here in the Fall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$20
Wonderful Florida State Park ! Check in was easy. Spotless. Wonderful campground hosts were very helpful and nice ! Went to open mike night in the Coffee House and had a wonderful Sat. evening; very entertaining . We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
What a nice campground. You cannot go wrong with a Florida State campground usually. This one is exceptional. Not only are the campgrounds nice and private, they also have a wonderful Stephen Foster museum, a Carrillion that plays his music a couple of times a day on the bells. Many special weekends of arts and crafts and music and dancing. Well worth the price of admission. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
This is a wonderful state park with easy access from I-75. The sites are large, clean and level. The landscaping is pretty and there are lots of things to do in the park: including access to the Suwannee River, a museum on Stephen Foster, and chime concerts 4 times a day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$26
Do you like shopping, television, flea markets, Wal-mart, big city night life, and sight seeing? If so this is not the place you want to go to. The biggest store is a Dollar General and the best restaurant is a little place called The Fat Pig. The park itself is beautiful and has a small tourist area that sells stuff. The tower is beautiful and the museum is very interesting. The sites are open for the most part, and the place is clean. For a nice quiet place to spend a few days, this is a good spot. Bring your Direct TV as there is NO TV reception at the park. We would stay again when in the area, or if there is a festival to attend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$22
This was one of the most beautiful state parks we have been in during our travels of the U.S. Was well maintained, clean, quiet, and had large lots. We traveled here for the Wanee Festival, which is held at the Spirit of the Suwanee park. This particular park holds many festivals that are a lot of fun. There is also the Stephen Foster Festival that is a lot of fun. You may have to find another campsite for that festival as the slots go to venders and entertainers first. However, there are a couple of campsites nearby: Lee's/Kelly's/Suwanne River. I would choose Lee's first since I have a big rig and I just need a base camp without frills, but clean. We will be going back to Stephen Foster's! (Note: there's a lot of kayaking on the Suwanee River.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
Stephen Foster State Park is one beautiful place to be in the Spring time. The azaleas were blooming and perfuming the air. There is a carillon that chimes and plays music every hour during the day time. None of the campers around us were playing loud music or were rowdy. People were out walking and enjoying the beautiful weather. There is a craft and souvenir shop in the park within easy walking distance of the camping area. There are no sewer hookups but there is a dump station at the front of the camping area. There is a playground for the children and the park sponsored an Easter egg hunt for the children while we were there. We will definitely be going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$20
Very clean well kept park. Sites are very large and private. We camp there every year for a week and really enjoy it. Boat launch on the Suwanee River. Small village shops within the park as well as buildings with history of Stephen Foster. Plenty of room to walk or bike. Nice quiet park. There are other parks in the White Springs area but this is the best. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$22
Truly lovely state park campground. Very large sites, private, lovely trees and shade. Entire park is lovely, quiet. Verizon air card coverage good. Small lovely town nearby. Beautiful walking/biking areas, near river. 30/50amp, no sewer, but dump station available. A top state park experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$20
What a gem? Each site is a mixture of pea-gravel and sand. Most sites drain really well during our Florida rainstorms. Sites are large, spaced apart as much as 50 feet and are easy to get into. Voltage seems to be good during peak summer A/C season. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$22
Nice park with large spaces. This Park has 2 good museums. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$22
Who knew Stephen Foster wrote the state songs for Florida and Kentucky and the Compton Races? I hadn't until we stayed at this campground / Culture Center. There is a Clarion that plays Stephen Foster Music at 10, 12, 2 and 4 during the day which is a nicer then expected bonus to the stay. It's loud enough to be heard clearly in the campground but not loud enough you can't continue a conversation while it's playing. The sites were very private, good size, with lots of room for a 34 foot fifth wheel and a 22 foot truck. Enough privacy that you didn't really notice your neighbors sitting out around their campfires, as you sat out next to yours. There was a lot of rain when we were here, but the sites are sand and gravel with good drainage so it wasn't a worry at all. The river was flooding so we couldn't go on the hike next to it. We will be back here in years to come as we travel down away from the weather in winter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$22
A very nice state park. The RV pads are hard pack dirt and gravel. The museum is nice, but rather small. Various small crafts shops, but most were not open during our stay. The gift shop was open however, and now has Wi-Fi available. Lack of sewer hook ups inhibit the length of stay. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$16
This was our second stay here and what peace and quiet! We did not even unhook the car. Our site was great and we were even able to get satellite TV...an extra bonus for my football fan husband. The grounds are very pretty and are being decorated for the holidays. The rate reflects a prepay from months ago and the current rate is $20 a night plus tax. Well worth the money. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$23
This was our second stay at SF. I love the look of the park which includes a variety of terrain. The park includes open grassy areas, wooded trails for hiking or biking, an area of shops (mostly rural artisan) , a carillon, a museum and more. Campsites are very large, neat and clean. Washrooms are spotless. If you hit the park when there is a scheduled activity, there is more to do e.g. coffee houses (open mic, once a month). Otherwise enjoy a beautiful, quiet, peaceful, serene RV experience. Canoes and kayaks can be rented to cruise the Suwannee River. We didn’t get to Big Shoals bike trail yet but we will be back. Fast, free Wi-Fi is now available at the Gift Shop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$8
This is an absolutely gorgeous campground with over-sized campsites, trees for shade, lots of open space, and only a few 50 amp sites. We just needed a place for one night and stumbled into this one. We would definitely return for a place for peace and quiet for a few days. We were in between the artisans and would come back when they were in camp. The price of $8 is the Florida senior rate (50% off). Once again, Florida has shown itself to have great state parks! We had a pull through site that accommodated everything. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$16
We have always found most state parks to be excellent. Florida is no exception. The Stephen Foster Cultural Center State Park was lovely with great bathhouse, large shaded sites, lots of space between sites, and plenty to do. (Well, maybe not for kids other than the playground.) They have a museum dedicated to Stephen Foster and a large carillon that chimes the quarter hour and 3-4 times a day plays about 10 minutes of Stephen Foster tunes. We sat on a bench under trees and listened to one concert of bells. The first weekend of each month is Artists month and the cultural center had blacksmiths, wood carvers, potters, painters, jewelers and musicians. We had no problem with bugs and our son was able to put his tent on our pull through site at no additional cost. If you can get in, this is a great spot to stay and see the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$17
I would give this campground a 10, but I prefer sewer hookups. We stopped here on our way to Disney. A very nice and quiet campground. Please see my Disney Camp Wilderness review. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$16
Stayed on site #15 a PT. There are only 4 sites with 50A(2,4,6,11) book early if needed. This was our second stay that I have reviewed so I won't go into basics again. Sites are mostly larger than average with plenty of shade. Bathrooms clean. No TV even with digital converter. Better have a satellite if you can't miss a show. We usually just watch news at night but couldn't even get that. We keep missing out on all the craftspeople. We tend to come between festivals and they are not always there in their cottages. The store is awesome though. Lots of great things to buy and most are handmade. We tried the trails this time and they are very easy to hike or bike. Basically grass road beds so no wondering where the path is. We also went to FL Nature and Tourism Center which is right outside the park. This is a great place to get info on any state park in FL. Workers were very helpful, and even called another park to answer a question we had. Toured Big Shoals and Olustee parks which are very close by(w/i 15 mi). Found out that there are no rangers programs at SF even though the website says there are. Ranger told us it's because they have so many festivals during the year. Definitely want to stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$16
Very nice as stated in other reviews. We were only able to stay one night so we will need to go back again. Not sure about the 50 amp hookups. Dump station was in a good location, but we did not bother. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$16
Beautiful campground. Sites could have some more privacy, but that is all that is lacking. Sites are absolutely flat. Electric and water hookups only. There are many pull-throughs. Reservations are recommended if you want a particular site. We just drove up, on a Monday in February, and were lucky to get in. Price is $16 plus sales and lodging tax, making it $17.60. Would definitely stay here again, and for several days. There is much to do in the immediate area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$16
If you can deal with the lack of sewer and internet, this place may be the best campground you will ever see. The sites are huge, and gorgeous, the park is beautiful, and the rangers and crafts people are friendly and helpful. There is no cable, but broadcast TV is good. We stayed 3 nights, and would go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$16
This is a beautiful park. We stopped here on our way to southwest Florida since it is not very far from I-10 and I-75. It is situated amongst live oaks full of Spanish moss. The sites are extremely private and the park is very quiet. The park is excellent for walking and is on the banks of the Suwanee River which is a very popular kayaking spot. We had a long pull through site and there was no need to disconnect the toad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$8
This is a outstanding top rated FL state park. Looks like a small town park with RV parking. All roads are asphalt. Sites are super size with gravel. One we had was 30' wide X 200' long with 50 amps, water, table and fire ring. Lots of room from site to site with trees. Park sets on Suwannee River and is beautiful. One could live here all the time and never move. In all our years of RV life this tops them all for state parks. Bathrooms are new and state of art. Park people work all the time to keep up everything. Stephen Foster museum, carillon bell tower with music at 10-2-4 on the hour with Stephens songs, he wrote 200 songs. You have Nelly Bty's kitchen, cabins, and trails to walk on. Park has tons of oak trees. DTV will pick up channel 5 at times. Verizon cell phone works here. Dump station was great and layout was correct. Staff was nice at check in plus everyone we talked to in park. Gates are locked at 10:00 pm. Playground equipment in park but not in RV side. We will return anytime we move up and down I-75. Rates are for age 65 and we live in FL. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$16
Wonderful place. I could stay here forever: perfect and beautiful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$18
What a nice surprise. This park is very beautiful. Wish we had more time to spend here. Love the Fl state parks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$16
This is a beautiful park. Large sites. Both pull through and back in. Wonderful places to walk with large moss draped trees. White Springs is a quaint little town within walking distance from the park. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$16
This is one of our favorite places to stay. It is wonderful to listen to the Carillon as it plays during the day. The museums, both in the carillon and the separate building are wonderful. In spring, beautiful flowers are everywhere. The river was swollen while we were there. It was good to see after last year's drought. This stay we were fortunate enough to catch the shops at Craft Square open. Very nice. Camp sites are so nice and large and roomy. They are dirt but nice and level. Bathhouse is clean and in good running order. It is an easy walk from the campground to the carillon, museum, craft shops and river. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$16
Quiet, beautiful, secluded campground tucked among oak trees. This folk culture campground honors composer Stephen Foster with museums, cultural events and educational programs. We had a spacious, long pull-through site with ample space for our big rig. We walked into the Stephen Foster museum, located at the campground, just before closing and the museum attendant gracefully gave us a tour. There is also a nice gift shop. There are several state parks to visit in the area. Make reservations for camping or cabins at Reserveamerica. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2008
$16
Stayed 2 nights and wish we could have stayed longer.Loved this park. Spacious private sites. Very clean and well kept.Great place to just relax. We will be back... We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$16
We camped here for six nights in November 2007. For us, this campground lived up to its rave reviews. It is neat and clean with very large, level sites which have easy access. The park is the home of a giant folk festival each year but public camping is not allowed during the festival. The top features for us include the beauty of the park, the hiking trails, the museum, the craft village and the carillon which plays Stephen Foster songs every two hours. The Suwannee River is right beside the park. You can see this famous river from the hiking trails or from a canoe or kayak, rented nearby. For those who want a wild time, choose another park. This is a fantastic place to go to relax. We will definitely go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$16
We were in site #4 which was a large PT (about 80 ft long). We visited between the Folk festival, which had been rescheduled from earlier due to fires and a New Healing Arts festival. Therefore our visit was very quiet. There were no artisans there during the week. The craft store was still open and had many very nice crafts from the area. There are 2 museums on the premises and several buildings used for festivals. There is a nice playground close to the cabin and craft area, though none in the camping area. There is no swimming in the park. Canoing is available from an outside vendor, who will bring the canoes into the park and set you up. The bathhouses were the cleanest I have ever seen and I believe they are also brand new. The campground host was concerned if anything was not right and said he would make sure to fix it if it wasn't. There is a carillon that plays notes every 15 min. and at 10, 12, 2, and 4 plays SF's songs. It was very relaxing to sit outside and hear them. The carillon only plays between 8 am-6 pm. There is 1 dump station at the beginning of the camping area, but it is very large and easy to maneuver through. All sites have a table, fire ring with grill and w/e. The town of White Springs is very close by although we did not go into town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$17
Wonderful clean exceptional park. Large very private sites, very quiet and clean park.Staff very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2007
$16
Very nice park. Large private sites. Very clean. Lots to do at the park. Had the best lunch at an old hotel right in town. Stayed 2 nights. Would stay here again for sure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$18
We stayed here for 2 nights as a "layover" on our trip to Georgia. This park is very nice with much to see and do right inside. The Suwannee River runs through and there are places to fish including a floating dock. Canoe rentals are nearby but we didn't have a chance to get on the river. The huge bell tower plays beautiful music several times each day. The entire park is immaculate. Campsites were mostly large and fairly private. Staff very helpful. Next time we will stay longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$17
This is one of the most beautiful state parks we have camped at. Big rig access was great unlike some Florida State Parks. We plan to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$12
Very nice state park. Lots to do here. The Stephen Foster Center has a lot of info on the songwriter. the CG itself is wonderful. Large, open sites. You are not crammed in next to your neighbor. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$18
This park has beautiful grounds and a very interesting museum. We were very happy with site #7; a long, level, back-in site with good landscaping for some privacy. All of the sites in this loop seemed spacious except for 1 and 3 which were quite close together. We have a 30 ft class A. Bathhouses were very clean and modern with one washer and dryer outside. Television reception was marginal for us. Except for the pleasant sound of the Carillon bells playing Stephen Foster tunes this park was remarkably quiet even though it looked full every evening. Dump station was easy to access. A visit to the Olustee Battlefield NM is an easy, worthwhile side trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$17
This campground is only a few miles from two major interstates (I-75 near I-10). Still, the park was very quiet. The only noise comes from the large bell tower that plays some of Stephen Foster’s music during regular business hours, even on the weekend. We walked over to the museum, bell tower, and craft areas. We also strolled down to the Suwannee River. Some of the campsites are in an open area that is mostly covered by very large trees containing Spanish Moss. Other campsites are amongst dense foliage. All the campsites are gravel. Some of very large and would almost hold two campers. Overall, a very nice park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2005
$17
First time here. Beautiful park. Has a museum and bell tower which plays Stephen Foster songs. You can rent canoes just outside park & we did for a 9 mile trip. About $35 for a couple-you can take your dog also! We road bikes allover, had washer/dryer if needed at bathhouse. Has a gift shop and people who show you how to make items from back in the day. I bought a walking stick while there as it was a few days before the Folk Festival! (Too bad we didn't know it was coming) We will definitely go back. Large sites, some up to 100' deep. Level, fire rings, we had no bugs but lots of fire flies at night. It was a pleasure to be in such a beautiful state park. Also has a small diner on the premises which is not open every day though. We will definitely go back. It is definitely a 10! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$16
This 888 acre park features a newly renovated campground with 45 oak-shaded sites. Interior roads are paved. Sites are level, gravel, and very private with plenty of trees and scrub between them. The park has a craft shop, gift store and museum. it is located on the banks of the Suwannee river. Activities include fishing, canoeing, on and off-road bicycling, and relaxing. The town of White Springs, with a post office, grocery and small restaurant, is within walking distance. The park gate is locked at sunset with combination provided to campers. Enjoy We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com