220693 User submitted reviews online!!
Denali Rainbow Village & RV Park (Privately Owned) was rated 3 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (907) 683-7777
CGID86

Denali Rainbow Village & RV Park (Privately Owned)

Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   1   3   3   7   1   2   3   7   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$40
This campground is just a narrow, tight parking lot. The wifi is almost none. Hard to connect and stay connected. Office staff is not friendly or helpful. We made reservations in January for August. Received confirmation for 2 sites with full hookups. About a month before arriving we received info that they made a mistake and they did not have full hookups for us. Our site was barely long enough for our rv and not even close to level. Turns out 6 rvs traveling together called and we were moved to other sites. When we come back we will not be staying here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2014
$42
We stayed here July 16, 2014. The lady that checked us in was very friendly. Quiet time is a joke. Sites are so tight that late arrivals wake neighbors up simply because of difficulty backing in and hooking up. Sites were entirely gravel and very narrow. Plus it was all muddy and severe potholes. Extremely tight everyone was just packed together. Barely 4' between vehicles. If you had your shades open your neighbor could wave to you, Conditions so tight. Wi-Fi did not work during the entire stay for anyone in our immediate area. The place is really dirty and it looks like people live in the out lying RV's. We will definitely not be staying here again. It is way over priced for being packed like sardines and it cost $4.00, each for a load of wash and dry.. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
A simple gravel parking lot with hookups. The advertised cable hook up did not work. The WiFi was difficult to connect to and if I was lucky enough to get connected; it was at a speed so slow it was nearly unusable. I clocked their internet at an average of 1.2mbs. When I spoke to them about this they admitted that the two 20mbs servers were not enough to support the 80+ sites. They thought that the guest shouldn't be using it so much and didn't think they needed to provide better service. I would leave but they will not refund me for early departure. I strongly recommend going elsewhere. This place will not be able to provide you with all services promised. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
We had reservations for two nights. Quiet time is a joke. Sites are so tight that late arrivals wake neighbors up simply because of difficulty backing in and hooking up. Sites were entirely gravel and very, very narrow. Barely 4' between vehicles. Conditions so tight we had no place to park our tow vehicle. When we asked staff about parking of tow vehicle and reported that WiFi was not working, we received sarcastic response with nasty attitude from female staff at desk. Said nothing can be done. Wi-Fi did not work during the entire stay for anyone in our immediate area. It appears that the focus of this park is on caravans of large motor homes. That half of park comprised of extra large sites and WiFi that worked. Would not stay here again. There are too many other RV Parks along the highway between Anchorage and Denali. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
Friendly staff, great location. Small spaces, no landscaping, weak Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
Ugh. What a dump. RVs crammed into a gravel parking lot behind a strip mall. Two bathroom stalls for the entire park, same with showers. We would have been better off parking on the side of the highway. We saw nicer looking parks as we left town. Once again, we were in a caravan and had no choice. Bummer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2013
$39
We signed up for three days (no refunds) when we arrived fairly early, before the crowds came. This is a gravel parking lot capable of having about 40 sites. But they had 85 sites cramped into it. Fortunately, we got there early in the day, so, although we had to wait for someone at the dump station to stop blocking one road, we were able to maneuver around the semi truck parked immediately behind our site delivering to the adjacent stores. And only one neighbor was already there. By moving tables and using caution, we were able to get our slide out. But the second and third days, there were adjacent pickup trucks that blocked our way out because they would not fit in their site and our toad was out in the park. We managed to squeeze the toad in, and simply waited until our neighbors left in the morning to get out. And if that was not tight enough, a caravan of bog rigs came in and blocked most of the two interior roads. WiFi and hookups worked; they had showers. Not much more to say. If you really, really love your neighbors, stay here. We won't again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
Dump says it all, poor location behind shops with rooms for rent above. Tight, tight, tight sites. Cable didn't work. Wi-Fi a joke 100 feet from the office. Some rental trailers occupied by employees are the junkiest sites in park. We were parked by one and had to move when they started a camp fire 5 feet from our RV. Won't return, even for a free site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
Park is the closest to Denali Nat'l park if you are to big for park. Staff was very friendly. Walking distance to a lot of shopping and eating. Very nice area, glad we were too big for park. Sites are close and EVERYTHING is dirt and dusty. Don't leave your windows open. Cable TV was all snow. When I asked about it, I was told it was normal and as good as it would get. Restrooms were very small and always full. Restrooms/showers were nothing to be desired. Would stay again due to the area, not the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
Terrible place to stay. Just a gravel/mud parking lot, behind a strip mall of shops. Rental units which border the campground were full of young kids who partied all night long. Very noisy. Do not stay here. Nice, quieter place about 5 or so miles down the road, and it is cheaper! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$42
Staying here is all about the location, not what the campground has to offer. The sites are narrow, barely wide enough to support dual side slides in side-by-side sites. Some sites aren't very level, off enough that my air leveling system could not level my coach. They have two water systems, one well and one trucked in water. Our water was just fine. A couple sites that they made full service should not have had sewer due to the length of the run. Our site was just fine. You are 1 mile from the national park, right next to the shops and eateries. This park is as good as the parks that are 10 miles away. I would stay here again, even with its short comings. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
We were here in a caravan, so I cannot be sure of the cost per night. Located right in the middle of the commercial area of Denali, this park is convenient to everything, but it is very tight. We had a 30 amp and water hook-up, no sewer. It is noisy, because it is behind a strip mall and next to a rafting company. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$42
Big feature is being located in town and being able to walk everywhere. Park is your basic "parking lot". Sites are tight for big rigs though manageable. Will need bottled water, but I heard water was poor everywhere in this area. Wi-Fi was fast, but signal was dropped frequently. Owner and staff were very friendly and appear to care about their park and customers. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$44
As full time RVers for seven years we have stayed in many campgrounds. We do not have a problem with primitive campgrounds or natural surroundings such as grass or gravel lots. This was the worst campground we have ever seen. Upon a recommendation from a stranger we made reservations sight unseen because the Denali Park campgrounds were full. We wedged our 38 foot motor home up against the back of the shopping center since that is where the full hookups were. Once you back into the site to be able to hook up to water and electric, the sewer is on the wrong side and near the front of the RV. I had to laugh when I saw that the picnic tables. Situated between the lots they had 2 numbers painted on them. You have to share a table with your neighbor. With about six feet between campers, a fire pit is placed beside the table. We didn't have the nerve to have a campfire that close to the RV. The water was unusable. It had been heavily chlorinated and then apparently baking soda added to try to counteract the bleach. It soured the coffee creamer and blew the top off a shaken protein mix drink. This was one of those laugh so you don't cry situations. Find a gravel pit to stay in, but save yourself the headache and the money. The price just added insult to injury! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$44
This was our third and fourth nights camping in Alaska and getting adjusted to paying for a gravel spot jammed up with other campers. We had good hookups but no internet, even though they claim to have internet, the signal is way too week to be picked up. The boardwalk of stores was literally behind our back bumper (great for access to tours and shops and activities). The water here was something else! A previous post on this site refers to the water ruining their coffee cream and they are NOT joking! What the heck is wrong with the water? We had to buy expensive bottled water here to use in cooking/ drinking. It quite literally curdled the coffee! Warning: before going to the Denali area, buy any and all possible things you may want because everything here was very expensive. The pay showers are very short timed. The host was very pleasant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$43
This is probably, without a doubt, one of THE worst parks we have ever stayed at. The spaces are FAR TOO SMALL. It's like they tried to cram an extra 20 spaces into a lot that didn't have room for it. We weren't even able to park in the spot we paid for (full hookups) because there wasn't enough room for our trailer to fit with the tip out extended. Because the other surrounding units had their tips out, we were left with not enough space to open ours (I've never been in a park where that has ever been an issue. Literally, there is less than 4 feet between units), so we were put in an elec/water only space (and weren't offered a refund for the difference). The showers you have to pay for (in addition to the 43 a night you are paying to look at garbage cans and the back of stores. The ONLY advantage of this park is that all the souvenir shops are 20 feet from your door. There is NOTHING for children, I actually consider it to be pretty dangerous for them as there is tons of through traffic, no place for pets to do their business (like I said, they tried to cram 20 extra spaces in this place when there wasn't room) other than in your RV spot or in the middle of the road and the water was AWFUL. I just took a shower in our RV (because I refused to pay for a 5 minute time limit shower) and I feel like my skin is going to crack from the water hardness. We've stayed at the one a couple miles up the road on the bluff and it was a million times better than this one. Even with the distance to "town" a much better deal and much better park in general. This one will be forever scratched off our list. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$39
This park has full hookups and 50 amp and free Wi-Fi. We elected to get 50 amp electricity and water but no sewer since they have a dump station. The sites are on dirt and gravel so it is a bit muddy when it rains. You get a picnic table and fire ring but there is hardly enough room between the sites for these. The water is pretty foul tasting but that is true throughout the area. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is great: especially for the women who might want to wander through the gift shops. You are only a mile from the entrance road to Denali. We would come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$41
Good access to shopping boardwalk. Water quality not good. Water curdled the cream in my morning coffee. Didn't use the showers as they require guests to pay for shower use. Good access for large RV's. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$44
I should have read the previous Reviews! The park is a parking lot behind stores on the Parks Highway. The views consist of garbage cans, retail store backs, and cars driving through the area thinking that they can get access to either the stores or the gas station at the south end of the "campground." There is no security and we found the water to be distasteful. A better choice would be 2 miles north to the Denali RV Park which sits right on the river. This has been an EXPENSIVE lesson teaching us to check this site before committing to a long stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2008
$42
A conveniently located park, but the setting is unimpressive; it is located on an open patch of dirt directly behind shops and restaurants. After paying more than $40 per night, we were quite surprised to find out that we had to pay extra for showers ($2 for one 7-minute token). The potable water was very, very hard and was periodically very tinted with iron (rust), so we didn't drink it. There are other parks in the area that may not be as close to "downtown" Denali, but are much better rated. We would not plan to stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
We stayed at this park for two weeks. We chose this park as it was the closest to Denali National Park. We where given a back in site which was large enough for our large 5er and MDT (water & Electric) . The problem is the Denali Raft Adventures is located to the north end of the RV park. This company tends to use the RV sites for their customer parking, and their large buses with raft trailers block in the RV sites. We asked the personnel working in the RV park office for help and they did nothing about it. If you stay at this RV park don't let them put anywhere near the Denali Raft Adventure company. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2008
$43
Had to use our water pump as the water pressure was so very low. Sites are not big enough for a big rig and they are so close together you can just about touch the rig next to you, and your tow vehicle sits out so far we were afraid of being hit. I would not recommend this to anyone. The Denali National Park has very nice sites but no hook ups but we wished we had dry camped rather than staying here and paying the outrageous price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
Take note of previous reviews. If you usually go for full hook-ups at this park it is advisable to forsake that option and go for water and electricity only. The "deluxe" sites offered are at the back of the shops. Sites too small for a 34ft motorhome and impossible for big-rigs. Also employees from the shops use this area at night to congregate after work to chat. I had to go out at midnight and ask them to be quiet as I couldn't sleep. Were booked in for 4 nights but left after two and wouldn't go back. Office staff unhelpful, had no information on area and when I asked if Fairbanks was a nice town was told "well, they've got a Wal-Mart"!!! There are no stores to speak of between Anchorage and Fairbanks so stock up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2008
$36
Best feature is closest to Denali Park. Right in the middle of the Denali Commercial District. One mile from Park entrance. Walkable in good weather or via free shuttle from hotel across highway. Park is all gravel. Showers are pay type with tokens. Hard to operate and each token was of short duration. Average shower probable would cost $3. I would think twice before returning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2007
$36
If you don't mind parking really close to another rv, then this is the park for you. The only thing this park has going for it is location and cable. Walk out your door and into the back door of the gift shops. The employees could be more customer friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2007
$19
This was a very crowded campground, they managed to squeeze us in but we felt like sardines. Overall the location of the park was good, the showers however were not. At $3 for a 6 minute cold shower, the value was not apparent. The lack of abundant bathroom facilities and the overflowing dumpsters are the main reasons I would not return to this park. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2006
$30
We were here with a big-rig rally: 27 of us. We all fit in, barely, around the huge boulders protecting the utility posts. All pull-throughs in our area, but we had to unhook first. Glad we had a parking committee! All side-by-side hookups, no 50 amp, nor water, nor sewer in our area. Close to walk to shops and tours. Our internet satellite worked, but the park has wireless. Showers cost $2; there were water hookups near the coaches, but one guy said there was no water. We like this type of open, graveled camp better than one tucked under the trees, but it wasn't great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2006
$36
Very poorly maintained. Our slide almost touched the slide of the motorhome beside us. Signs were misleading and most big rigs had to back up after going into the office to check in. Generally, it looked liked management just did't care. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2004
$34
This park is nothing but a construction site behind a mini mall! It was very noisy and we did not feel safe. People(construction workers, mall customers, etc)walked agmonst the RVs at all hours. There was hardly room to extend a slide out and no room for awnings, steps, etc. You shared a table and fire ring (tire rim) if there happen to be one at the your site. No place to walk your pet. Hose, wiring were on top of the ground, and trash put with construction debris. We reserved 2 nights, but left early after only 1 night. This park was the most expensive of 2 months trip! Don't waste your time or money! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com