221717 User submitted reviews online!!
Open Pond Recreation Area was rated 8 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (334) 222-2555
CGID8620

Open Pond Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   2   10   7   6   10   8   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$12
We have camped here several times in a pop-up camper and a Travel Trailer. We recommend fall or winter camping here as there are no water activities to do during the summer. There are walking trails, fishing, and paved roads for bike riding. It is great for families and group camping. There are open areas that accommodate group camping and there are more private areas that can accommodate privacy if desired. No reservations available for camp sites, so on long/holiday weekends be prepared for it to fill up quickly. Fire pits are great! Bathrooms are clean but are not in controlled temperatures. When extremely cold outside, sometimes the top is boarded up to help maintain heat. There are not stores close for those "last minute things" so make sure you have what you need. If you do not, you will have to travel about 15 miles to the closest Wal-Mart. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$12
We camp here once every few years, and it is still a great, clean campground. Water and electric worked fine. Sites spacious, fairly level to level. Trails are extensive and abundant. Excellent bicycling roads. Camp hosts friendly. Cannot beat the price. C-Spire phone service was one or two bars with back and forth 1x/3G service. Stargazing very good, easy to see the Milky Way, and galaxies looked bright in my telescope. Unlike a few years ago, the place has been discovered by residents of Pensacola, Fort Walton/Destin, Panama City, Montgomery, and Dothan, and is a packed weekend getaway. With no reservations available and a first come/serve campsite system, arriving early on Friday may be a must, or you might be dry camping in the A Loop, which would not be that bad in nice weather, and it would only be $6.00. About 70% of all campers left by noon on Sunday morning, causing a camper-jam at the only dump station. As an earlier reviewer noted, law enforcement does come through. An irritating part of this particular outing was people playing radios full blast while U of Alabama and Auburn U were playing football. The volume could have been a bit lower. Another nuisance is a handful of motorcyclists revving their motors for the sake of revving. More unnecessary noise. Nevertheless, the Great Horned Owls ruled the night. We will come again, but may take a weekday or two off to avoid the weekend crowds. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2013
$12
This is one of the best maintained camp grounds I have used. Access to each camp site is easy and the sites on the water side are superb. If you are an angler, try the fishing. I understand there is good bass fishing in the pond and the boat ramp is good. There are two small ponds just down the road that have even better fishing. I would have given this campground a much higher rating if not for the way I was treated by the Alabama State Highway Patrol (ASHP) and the USDA Forest Service. The ASHP patrols the campground around 9:30 PM and 8:30 AM and checks each campsite. If there is no clear evidence that someone is physically on your site the first night you stay in the campground, the ASHP will issue you a ticket in the name of the USDA Forest Service. I was out late having dinner with friends in Andalusia on my first night in the campground and left at sunrise to do photography at nearby Blue Lake. When I got back to my campsite, I found a citation attached to my travel trailer. Needless to say, it ruined my day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$12
The only developed campground in Conecuh National Forest, and it's a gem. Located near mile marker 8.5 off of AL 137 north of the Florida state line and Wing, AL. A Loop is no hookups, with water spigots and tent pads. If you want to dry camp in a small RV, you could do so for $6 per night, or $3 with a federal inter agency senior pass. The C and D loops have 40 and 25 Water and electric sites for $12 per night, or $8 with a senior pass. C and D Loop sites easily handle large RVs, back in only. Some sites are fully concrete, many others are fine gravel. There are waterfront sites and wooded sites. Wooded sites are quite private, while those on Open Pond or near it on the loops are more in the open. Space between sites is always ample. A and C loop bath houses are older, while the D loop bath house is newer and has private showers. Kept very clean. No sewer hookups, and one dump station. There are many hiking trails and bicycling the grounds is excellent. Bird watching opportunities are outstanding. Many people fish in Open Pond and other nearby sinkholes. No children's playground, so many parents bring bicycles for them. Two camp hosts on the C and D loops. Campground is dark at night and star gazing opportunities abound. AT&T service was spotty, but accessible. Only about 20% occupied. First come, first serve. If you need quiet and wind in the pine trees to unwind and relax, this is the place! We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$12
The campground has four loops of which two (c & d loops) are suitable for RVs. Sites near the pond are very open having less vegetation separating the camp sites. Campsites further from the pond have more vegetation separating sites and may offer a little more privacy. My site on the C loop had 50-amp electrical service. I had to pull out an extension to reach the breaker box but I parked a little further back in the site than needed. The bathhouse between the A and C loops is small and old containing a single shower. The newer bathhouse in the D loop had private individual shower rooms. We had weak but usable AT&T phone service. The park is first-come, first-served and takes no reservations, which seems like a gamble if you’re traveling very far. Grab an envelope at the entrance, select a site and then, drop the envelope and payment back in the drop box. Read the rules when you arrive. Alcohol is prohibited. We were asked to not park on the grass even though the grass had encroached on the campsite. Open Pond is a nice, clean park offering hiking/biking trails, fishing, and relaxing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2011
$12
The lake is a bit low but still beautiful and some fish still biting. The early show of the morning fog lifting was a site to see. The stars were the late show around the fire ring. The hiking is good and mostly flat, winding through lakes and pines. The blue hole would be much fun to swim in, in the summer. The creek would be an amazing paddle. Level, gravel, generous, spaces. Some lakeside, some private, some woodside. Fire rings, picnic table and two lantern poles per site. Electric service is new. Few lights used wisely is appreciated by me; I want the ability to see the stars and darkness. Verizon cell and internet service was spotty at best. Shower and bathrooms. I used the older bath house but a new one is available. Both seemed clean, and shower was warm enough. Not much around for shopping or restaurants so prepare to stay, cook, and enjoy nature. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$8
This is a beautiful campground in the pine trees! We had no trouble getting around the campground or finding a site for our 35' rig and saw several much larger rigs in the campground: fifth wheels, travel trailers and motorhomes. The roads are single lane in some areas but not a big issue. The road into the campground was fine: no issues with it being rough so perhaps it's been paved since the previous reviewer posted his complaint. The sites are large and well spaced for privacy. Each site has a large area next to the rig pad with picnic table, fire pit and two lantern poles. The D loop is the one that can easily handle larger rigs but it is the least private loop. We didn't find that a problem as the sites are so widely spaced out and large that you don't feel cramped plus we backed up to the pond which is a very pretty view! You cannot make reservations here as it's first come, first serve. It's also self pay but a ranger and a host check each campsite. We will definitely put this campground on our list to return to and stay longer! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$12
This campground is a really nice area. Has a mix of campsites that range from private with lots of shrubs around them to more open and close to the lake. Bath rooms are clean and in good shape. Lots of trails and several small ponds good for fishing. Some mountain biking trails as well. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$12
Another great trip to Open Pond. The camp host was very friendly. We had a great time, the park is clean and well maintained. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$12
As usual this park is a very nice place for a quiet get away. We recommend the D Loop because it has the newest bath house. The sites are level, rocked or concrete. Can't say enough of how much of a gem this little park is. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$12
Clean, pleasant campground with nice hiking and mountain biking trail connected. Very peaceful and quiet, with nice clean facilities. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$12
Great rural park with large sites and peaceful lake. No suggested for rigs over 40 ft. due to narrow access road but passable for all other RV's. Honor system for collection of fees. Good area around lake to walk, fish and just relax. Many campers from within 2 hours use park regularly but no long term stays. GPS not particular reliable but call park on way in and they will give directions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$12
Located in Conecuh National Forest, Open Pond is at mile marker 9 on SR 137, or about seven miles north of the town of Wing. It is well south and west of Andalusia. Pluses: Extremely well maintained and clean. Bathhouses are spotless. Good separation between sites. Most sites are leveled with gravel (in the "C" and "D" loops only). Several are concrete for disability access. A number of sites are water front and many more are water view, some are in the woodlands and very private. Picnic tables and lantern hangars at each site. Bicycling in the campground is exceptional. Quiet. Easy access from SR 137. Dump station at front of campground is new. Wildlife abundant. Electric motors only in the lake. Minuses: A small store is nearby with limited hours (about 2 miles away), but it closes early. Make sure you bring your supplies. NOTE: The "A" loop is primitive camping, and the "B" loop is for scout groups. We will be camping here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$16
A very nice camp ground. Some sites are very private and other are out in the open. It is a very pretty area with lots of hiking and biking trails. The lake is a level is low though but did not take away from it being nice. There is a small town store to get ice and what not if needed. We stayed in the D loop. Sites are level with gravel and there are a few concrete slabs also. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$12
This is a clean well kept campground that is out of the way and very quiet. Great stop off for a recharge after a long drive. There are four loops: A is for primitive camping, B is for groups and Boy Scouts, and C AND D are for RV's and tents. The comfort station on C loop has one shower per gender, whereas the one on D loop has two per gender and one for unisex. All the sites are nice, and level. There are a few that are fully concrete. You'll really enjoy this campground, try it on a trip through the area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$12
This is a National Forest Service park, located in the Conecuh National Forest. This is a wonderful park, within driving distance of Andalusia and Florala AL. The park is very clean, well maintained, and a great place to spend a quiet weekend camping. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com