223488 User submitted reviews online!!
Craters of the Moon National Monument/Lava Flow Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (208) 527-1335
CGID8687

Craters of the Moon National Monument/Lava Flow Campground

Camp Information
Sites
51
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   9   10   7   10   7   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2014
$10
Regarding the campground itself, I can't add much to what's already been covered in previous reviews. It's definitely a strangely beautiful place and worth a stop if you don't mind dry camping. We stayed here for two nights and enjoyed the quiet after traffic on the highway died down in the evening. We didn't hear any generators running. We noticed the best / largest campsites were empty before noon and taken again by about 1-2 PM each day, so definitely come early if you need lots of room. During our stay in the fall on weekdays, the campground was maybe 50% filled. An AT&T wireless signal was nonexistent. Verizon data was slow and intermittent even when using an external antenna and a signal booster. I wouldn't come here planning to stay connected. Come here to unplug and relax. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$5
$5 (that’s a 50% senior discount with our Golden Age Passport) per night was for a primitive site in a level cinder area (some sites are very un-level) with a picnic table and pedestal BBQ unit. No wood burning is allowed but charcoal and propane grill units are allowed. The campground is in the high desert setting surrounded by the ancient volcanoes. Bicycles are permitted on park roads only. There are trails (you can walk up to the top of some cones) to many areas and caves (free permit needed) in the park. The campground is located not far off ID route 93 but there is very little traffic noise. The visitor center has two videos and a very nicely done exhibit about volcanic action in the area. Cell phone service and internet access at the campground is weak at best unless you have boosters. The night sky is brilliant with stars. The nearest town of Arco is 12 miles NE and offers good cell phone reception. It’s a small town with a nice park (where we sat at a table under the pavilion for internet access) and not much else. There is a dump station S of town. The town’s claim to fame is that it was the first town in the USA online with nuclear generated power. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$5
Our site was level and big rig friendly. Staff was helpful and scenery was outstandingly unusual. We made a short stop here and glad we did. Very unique facility with interesting geologic history. We would definitely stay here again! Price reflects Golden Age card discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
Your only chance to camp on the moon. Unique environment, camping in the lave flows. The rangers did interesting nightly programs in the campground amphitheater. This is a small/remote park. Don't expect to be able to do shopping once you arrive. Come with your holding tanks empty, because there is no dump station either (though nearby towns have free ones). Big rigs / trailers need to be very careful. It's a tight campground and the big rocks are unforgiving. Saw a travel trailer dragged over a boulder as the campers were driving through looking at spots. There were a few big rigs, but parking/positioning them is not for amateurs here. We enjoyed the unique setting so much that we stayed an extra night. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$10
Nice campground at entrance to the park. No services available. No hot water or showers. Very little shade, but there are some sites with a single tree that can provide some shade. I was in #11 - nice pull thru - relatively close to the recycle area. Flies were a bit pesky, so if you are outside you will need a good swatter or spray. Great campground to see the park with. Allow at least 1 and half day to see all of the park. Make sure you get your cave permit before you leave the visitor center. Caves are easy hikes and worth it. Campground was very quiet and the two nights I was there only about 20% full. Would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$10
In my top "3" campgrounds, this place rocks (no pun intended)! A beautiful, eerie and yet serene campground, each site is clean and provides a view of the lava works. Super friendly rangers; take advantage of the various activities posted on boards throughout the campground. The hikes are fantastic and bicycling is perfect. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$10
Nice campground. Not much shade. Lots of small flying bugs (need Deet). Close open sites. Good price. Right at the Monument. One night is plenty. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$15
This is a really cool campground inside Craters of the Moon Park. We stayed one night, could have stayed one more. Hiking trails, visitor center museum, very good ranger talk program at night (try to go, there's a slide show, campfire, very entertaining, kids will like too-you'll be glad you went, only about 40 minutes). Water at the campground comes out of a hand pump faucet. Fun time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$5
Camping here is a unique and memorable experience. Amenities are few, but it is what it is. We took the circle tour first thing in the morning and had the park to ourselves. The displays in the visitors center are excellent and the personnel are gracious. We recommend going to the ranger-led evening program. We have a much better idea now why Idaho looks the way it does. If you're looking for swimming pools, swing sets and cable TV this is not for you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$5
Dry camping at its best. You're in a lava field. Lots of black gritty things.Could have used the gen set but didn't. Neither did anyone else. Just didn't want to disturb the serenity of this place. Great staff, and interesting programs. This place rocks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$5
What a pleasant surprise! We used our Golden Age Passport to have the entrance fee waived and to cut in half the daily camping rate of $10. Our three days here cost us $15! This National Monument is well maintained. We rode our bikes around the scenic loop, and hiked several trails. It was pitch dark at nigh, and very, very quiet. The Rangers were friendly, and very helpful. There are four large pull through sites. We are 62 foot long with our coach and trailer, and found site #7 perfect for us! Will stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
Basic national monument campground. a little tight would not take a big rig into this campground...only one pull thru site (#43). Fascinating monument but next time I will try to use it as a day use only. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$10
Nice campground, clean, well-maintained. Restrooms with flush toilets, sinks, outdoor water faucet. No hookups, no showers, no dump station. One-way, one-lane road through campground, with care we had no trouble pulling our 30-foot travel trailer, but anything much bigger would be very tight. Few tall trees, but rock piles along road and a tight turning radius through campground. I counted about 5 spaces that would accommodate a big rig, most fairly spacious pull-throughs. Incredible landscape. Our aircard (Sprint) worked some of the time, very slow. Very weak Verizon cell signal. I would stay here again, a very quiet, pleasant experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$10
This is a very good National Park Service Campground. The campground is somewhat tight for RV's larger than 30 foot in length. However, if you like beautiful scenery and the great blue skies of the mountain west, this is the place. The main attraction of the National Monument is a setting carved and landscaped by repeated volcanic eruptions beginning 15,000 years ago. It's hard to describe the natural beauty the molten lava, green scrub pines, wild flowers and sagebrush have created. It's a must see and the campground provides a nice place to stay overnight and begin the drive tour/hikes around the unusual volcanic landscape. Make sure you go out at night to see the breathtaking clear look at our universe. The stars are unbelievable as seen through the clear mountain air. Bring your own fresh water and empty holding tanks as there are no hookups and no dump station. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com