223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Golden Pine RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (760) 648-7473
CGID8745

Golden Pine RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
24
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   1   6   4   8   9   9   10   5   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
Best RV Park in the area. Spotless bathrooms and showers. Camp Host was very nice. The "regulars" we met were very nice. Sites are small, gravel, and not very level. Close to Gull Lake and plenty to do and see in the area. Rumor has it the owner plans to sell. Will be disappointing if they close. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
There are several crotchety, bigoted and downright mean regulars here..it is like an old peoples home and the management caters to them hand and foot because they are such poor business people they need to keep every dime they get. They do not welcome newcomers. There are not many nice spots (maybe 5) otherwise you are cramped into less than 350 sq ft right up against your neighbors slide out just about. The office manager is real moody and just plain stupid listening to whatever her "regulars" say without any investigation on her part. My wife was deeply offended by there lack of helpfulness. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
This is a small RV Park located right in the town of June Lake. It's the third RV park I have tried on the June Lake Loop (the other 2 were Silver Lake Resort and Pine Cliff Resort), and to be honest, I don't think any of them are great, although the area is awesome. You are pretty much parked side by side on a gravel lot, with some trees to provide shade. WiFi is advertised, but the signal was so weak that it was unusable. But the hosts were, without doubt, the nicest I have ever encountered! And the park has a very friendly vibe of mostly retired folks, so that might make it attractive for some people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
This is a very small and very tightly packed RV park. There are many staying here that apparently live here during the summer season. Upon arrival the host insisted that he guide me into my site. (This is something that I prefer to do on my own, but he insisted.) He proceeded to direct me into a tree resulting in minor damage to my travel trailer. No apology and not impressive! Again, this is a tightly packed park and is not conducive to easily parking a large rig. In fact, it is probably the worst I have seen. While the park is "pet friendly", not all pets are friendly; they don't seem fazed by pets off-leash and our own dog was attacked while on leash in our site by a neighbor's larger dog. It's proximity to Gull Lake makes it attractive to fisherman as evidenced by all the fishermen present in the camp waking and making a lot of noise before 6 am. Wi-Fi is almost nonexistent but I did receive a 3G signal. I would never return to this park! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$32
I spent several nights at this park using it as a base to explore Mammoth and Mono Lakes plus the eastern portion of Yosemite. The park is located in a hollow below Highway 158. Be prepared to negotiate a short, but narrow and steep entry road when arriving and departing. As has been mentioned in previous reviews, the campground host made my visit to what is a nice, but ordinary park, a memorable event. He’s friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
The park host (PH) was great. He helped us get into our space with ease. The Wi-Fi was a little weak, hence the 9. We also had to pack out our car and camp each night to avoid bears being attracted to our camp. Very clean park as PH kept it clean and no trash allowed at camp because of attracting animals. Close to town and Gull lake. They have a fish cleaning station and a community deep-freeze if you want to freeze your catch. We would return here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
We stayed for 3 days in early June, before the summer season kicked in. The sites are a very good size and are clean and level. They are gravel, not grass, but the cleanliness outweighs the lack of grass for us. The bathrooms and showers were immaculate, with plenty of hot water. They are dog friendly, which is a VERY important feature for us. They don't have baggies or a separate dog area, though. But the attitude toward the dogs is very positive. There are a lot of people who are repeat visitors and who are there for an extended period of time. They all seemed very friendly and extended a warm welcome to us "weekenders". We've run into a lot of places where the long term residents are not very nice to the short timers. Here we felt like part of the gang immediately. It's a fairly small park: 24 spaces, without a lot of extras. There's a communal area with horseshoes, but no pool or kids' play area. But the reason to go to June Lake is not the RV park, it's the lakes and fishing and hiking. This park has easy access to all of these. It's within a block of Gull Lake and 3 blocks of June Lake. The town of June Lake is about 2 blocks away, too. So you can walk everywhere. We enjoyed the campground manager a lot. He's the type of guy who helps you park the rig and then hangs out to chat. If you're sitting around in the afternoon he'll drop by just to say hi. He was also a great resource on the best place to get pizza in town and made sure that we had the locals' 10% off coupon. Some people might feel that he was intrusive, but we thought he was fun. If we go back to this area we will certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
We have camped at this park for past couple of years and think it is a great place. The host, is super helpful and very friendly. The park is kept VERY clean. We personally disagree with ALL of the negative comments posted by the previous commenter from August 2011. We did not have any issues with noise and enjoyed the camaraderie of the other campers. The community campfires were fun and we enjoyed spending an evening by the fire. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$42
PROS: Family-owned with pride of ownership. Clean restrooms: showers with adequate hot water. Fish cleaning area, horse shoes, community fire pits and tables and a deep freeze for common use. Close to June Village and the Gull Lake Marina. Mature pines that offer shade to parts of most sites (however, only a few sites don't take the sun either A.M. or P.M.). Gravel covered sites and drives. Pet friendly. Many very nice happy campers. CONS: Very noisy around the office area & entire park due to loud camp manager. Selective dogs are allowed to roam off leash (and do their business where they will, with clean-up often missed). Quiet time is not always enforced before 7 A.M. and after 10 P.M. Particularly during campfire guitar sing-alongs in community area: which backs up to about six spaces. On occasion the noise went on until midnight. Campers are not always warned by the manager that this camp is in bear country and that no food, coolers with food, or trash should be left outside. And there are no warning signs posted. (Oh sure, it's in the rules and regulations, but when was the last time you read those when you checked in after a long day on the road? And how about if you are from another country and don't read English?) Due to many campers being unaware, there was a great deal of loud, bad-bear activity at the park in the middle of the night. It was sad as three bears have had to be shot this season in the area. The gravel is okay but some grass would be a nice addition. Many of the spaces are rented long term and a few of those people are very social, day & night, which means the camping sounds are clicking ice cubes, loud laughter, or yelling between camp sites, rather than the birds and squirrels. You can forget a quiet read or listening to your own music even inside your own rig. We have been camping here for a number of years and will not return until the current manager is replaced and the park gets quiet again. (And by the way, the noise of kids playing IS part of camping and we enjoy it. Some dog barking is expected as well.) In previous years with different camp hosts, I would have given Golden Pine a ten every time. This year I would give it a one. So I will split it down the middle and rate it a five. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
We stayed here a week in Site#1: probably best site at this park. Electric, sewer and water all good. The water pressure was TOO good, use your regulator. Cable TV with plenty of channels, we used a portable Dish to sight in DirecTV, some sites would allow Roof top dishes. A quick note: June and Gull Lakes are known for fishing so early morning traffic seems rather what someone might fully expect here. Although with that being said, we were on the street and the morning traffic was never even heard and I sleep with the bedroom window open! It's a quiet park with gravel sites. The host is always ready to help out and keep things running smoothly. Had a few near sightings during our stay but that's all part of the great outdoors. Let me also emphasize this: we normally have 4 small doggies, on this trip we had an additional larger dog that we babysit. This Park is extremely Dog Friendly, yet there are no issues with this feature (ie, excessive barking, surprise packages left behind). We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
Great place between Gull Lake and June Lake, a short walking distance from the Gull Lake marina and restaurants and shops in June Lake. The host was a great guy: helped us back into the spot, always greeted us by our names, and even invited us to sit around the campfire while he sang and played guitar. He was pretty good at it!! Will definitely consider staying here next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
We booked months ago, but got a little worried after seeing the last review. We knew there would be mosquitoes (being between two lakes in the Sierras) but were concerned about the other complaints. However, we found that there were only a few mosquitoes and used repellant, we had no problem getting our 32 ft trailer in, and the park staff was very helpful. They have 30 amp service, but not sure if they actually have 50 amp power. They don’t advertise that they do, so one can’t fault them for false expectations. Spaces were decent size and had a table and fire pit. We never heard anyone revving engines or making any other noise when leaving to go fishing. The campground was very quiet actually. Bathrooms/showers were spotless and there was a playground down the street by Gull Lake. Close to a couple shops, a swim beach, and a marina with boat rentals. Gas down the road and propane at a nearby campground (50% cheaper than at the gas station). Looked at nearby parks with hookups and we’ll definitely stay here again next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
In spite of what RV park reviews says, this park does not have pull through sites and is very limited for large rigs. In order to park our 40' motorhome here (in the largest spot which they had) we had to leave the park, go down the road, turn around, come in the exit and back into the site. It was really tight. This "largest spot" also did not have 50 amp service. But one thing it did have was lots of mosquitoes. It is basically a fisherman's paradise, and they are leaving day and night, revving up their engines and dragging away their boats. Peace and quiet it is not. We would not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$37
This was a great find in June Lake with Gull Lake just a short walk. The staff was very helpful with information on local events etc. Several places to eat and shop in town. The spaces are 28ft wide with a picnic bench and fire ring. Most of the sites have shade. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$37
What a great find in June Lake. This park is under new management. The staff was very helpful offering information on local events, places to eat, fish etc. The spaces are 28 ft wide and gravel. They now offer WiFi. I would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$39
This is the kind of park we like, but it is not for everyone. It isn't new, but the facilities are clean and so is the park. The sites are gravel with a little bit of grass. The sites are not overly large, but rigs with slideouts fit just fine. It is a small park, hidden from town and about a block from Gull Lake, and it is an easy walk to the lake. The manager and his daughter are helpful and guided us into our site with ease. We did look at other parks around June Lake after we arrived, and decided that on our next trip to the area, we will continue to make our reservations at Golden Pine RV Park. Don't let the looks of the park keep you from staying there. It was quiet at night, and we found it to be a very relaxing stay. We camped there for 5 nights over the 4th of July weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$20
Having lived in June Lake for 18 years and finding out we had sold our house we needed a place to stay. Since our motor home was too big to stay in our driveway, I started to think about an RV park that had full hookups. I had never been in Golden Pine RV Park but had passed by it numerous times. The park is located in the Village and a short walk to a bakery, deli, post office, restaurants and numerous other small businesses. At night the town rolls up and it’s very quiet although the Tiger Bar, Sierra Inn and the Double Eagle all have a bar if that‘s your thing. Gull lake is just down the road with a marina and store. In the mornings we sat outside to have coffee in the sun and plan our day. When the wind would come up we were tucked in by the trees and a small hill. It was a very comfortable spot, although the sites are close together there was enough room to open all of our slides and put out the awning. Our site wasn’t completely level but we had no problems leveling our MH. There’s a laundry room, bathroom and shower, but since we’re self contained we didn’t use them . Good water, power and sewer, no problems. It’s not a resort, but it had everything we needed to be comfortable. No pool here but June Lake has a beach and a swimming area that’s roped off. Most of the time the park was deserted during the day with people out fishing, hiking and sightseeing. The area we were in had gravel, a small picnic table and the park seemed to be well maintained. Friendly management and helpful. We opted to stay for a month at $600.00 since there wouldn’t be a bed tax added in. Verizon just put in a tower so we had cell and Aircard service. We were able to use our rooftop satellite which surprised us since there’s lots of trees. All in all this turned out to be a good choice. We’ll stay here again when we’re here to visit friends and do a little fishing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com