220689 User submitted reviews online!!
Bald Ridge Creek COE was rated 9 out of 10 based on 36 user reviews. Phone: (770) 889-1591
CGID879

Bald Ridge Creek COE

Camp Information
Sites
82
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$13



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   9   9   10   10   9   10   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$13
We arrived the first day of the season. The grounds are beautiful and each of the sites, with very few exceptions, are flat with paved pads, packed gravel for the table area plus charcoal grill and lantern post. Most are in view of Lake Lanier, if not directly on the lake. Great shady sites. There is a small swimming beach area in the middle of the campground area which is open to the public as well as the campers. When the site closes at 10:30 pm, campers are inside until the park reopens the next morning. This campground is quiet and personnel are very nice. When we were there, though, we had problems with the water at our site, which may have been due to non-use during the park's winter closure. There was mud and a silt-like debris in the water at our site. The central bathhouse also had problems with water. When toilets were flushed, water backed up from the floor drain between the toilet stalls, spewing water and dirt over the floor. Again, this may be due to winter non-use and the need for seasonal maintenance but it was a nasty surprise nonetheless. The negatives were not enough to keep us from returning in the future, though, since the campground really is a beautiful location with well maintained grounds. The rate reflects a Senior discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
All sites here appeared to be back in. Ours was spacious, with a concrete pad for the rig, and a crushed gravel area for living. It came complete with a picnic table, hook for a lantern, and fire ring. We were lakefront, though it was a bit of a walk through the woods to the edge. There was a nice little beach area across the road. The sites are wooded with a lot of space between you and your neighbor. The lake is used by all sorts of motorized water vessels, and it was little loud at times. The bath house was very clean, and nice, if a little dark at night. The gate staff was nice. There is NO store or ice available on site. The access to the park was a little strange, taking you through a residential subdivision to get there. Signage was minimal, but the GPS found it just fine. They close the gates at 8 pm. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$32
We have camped here three times now and have camped at two other corps of engineer campgrounds. They are all excellent. Bald Ridge has a large section of very wooded sites that are right next to the water. Sites are well spaced. CG is always quiet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$16
Huge, private, level sites on lake. Outstanding views. Spotless grounds. Rate reflects senior discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$32
Outstanding CG, with huge level sites, many right on the water or with great views, and lots of space between them. Some sites have better view of water than others. Good roads for easy maneuvering. The shade was great, but not for satellite reception. Very nice staff and the CG is very well-run. I reluctantly entered this review as I thought I'd like to keep it a secret! Can't wait to come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$24
Awesome...wonderful campground. Wish they had sewer we would have stayed 2 weeks. Lots are spacious and private. Waterfront lots are really nice. One section is very wooded for tent camping. We were in a 40' motor home and picked a larger lot that was not as shady. Quiet. My MiFi card was slow. Hosts are super. Nice dock and ramp. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
This campground is very clean and well maintained. The camper spaces are large and spread out. You are not arranged in rows; not on top of each other. Our space was shaded most all day except 1-3:30pm. Our lot was very level - all we had to do was disconnect from the truck and support with the jacks. Most all camper spots have paved/concrete driveway and pads for the camper and vehicle. (Please use the campground website to see photos of each site. The photos represent the sites well.) Our camping picnic area was level and surfaced with fine crushed gravel. We liked it, but does require rugs and sweeping out of the camper regularly. We had plenty of space to set up games, roll out our awning, tie out the doggie, and enjoy ourselves. The campground itself is very quiet and peaceful. Also, the campground is mostly level, so it is enjoyable for bicycles and kids. Most of the noise came from the boaters on the lake. The lake level is down, but that didn't stop us from fishing. The bathhouse was clean and had a wonderful shower system with stainless walls and adjustable pressurized showerheads. The bathhouse can get a little steamy in the late evening, but understandable at the end of a hot day. We enjoyed our visit and will definitely camp here again in the near future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$16
LOVE this Army Corps Engineer CG located off Exit 16, GA-400N, Cumming GA area. Golden Age Senior rate if $16/night. We stayed 2-nights this trip. All sites are either adjacent to water or have view of water. Very easy access, paved roads, paved pad for MH, and compacted gravel for patio area. We've been here 3-times in past 13-months. Three different sites...all of which have been wonderful. Only sad part of this is early closing of park this year on Sep. 8th. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$24
A very quiet and beautiful park with many large, level, and shaded sites with almost all having a view of the lake. This is by far the cleanest COE park we've visited. The hosts were friendly and accommodating. The only reason this park doesn't get a 10 rating is because of the lack of sewer connections, although it does have a dump station. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$16
This place would get a 10 IF the lake was up. I can imagine how much nicer it would have been if the lake didn't shrink, allowing lots of red clay/mud to enter into the fantastic view and mess up me and my kayak. We stay at lots of COE campgrounds, and this is one of the nicest as far as design and utilities. The sites are very large and mostly heavily treed, and Uncle Sam is actually mowing the grass here! Senior rate of $16 is higher than most COE parks, but is still worth the $32 regular rate. The only negative other than the lake level is no sewer, which is pretty standard where the grounds can get flooded. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
This campground has been a family favorite of ours for more than twenty years. In 1990 we paid $18/day and pitched tents on really nice tent pads with access to water and electricity. Now, in 2012 it is $32/day, 50amp service and a pull through site with a 5th wheel. If this CG had sewer hook ups I would rate it a ten. Sites are level, several have steep driveways that cause all but the shortest rigs to drag. Spacing between sites is very comfortable. Trees and brush are so thick that privacy is really nice. Shade is heavy for most sites, a clear shot to pick up satellite signals are hard to come by in two of the three loops. The one loop with the boat ramp has most of the pull throughs and these have little to no shade. No matter how you come at it, this is one of the COE's crown jewels. It is a shame they close for the winter, the demand for this campground is so great it would stay full even in the dead of winter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$26
Very nice level/concrete sites. No sewer. Plenty of space between sites. Nice views of Lake Lanier. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$14
This is a very nice Federal Park that we continue to visit after many years. The sites are generous, the grounds are well kept and all the people who work here are friendly and helpful. This facility is very strict about quiet hour, and no alcohol consumption. The gate is locked from 10pm until 7am. There is a new playground for the kids. The only negative is that the low water in Lake Lanier makes the sandy beach useless. The campground usually clears out on Sunday and is fairly unpopulated until Friday. It is open only for the Summer months. A reservation is recommended for the weekends. Each site has water and electricity. There is a pull through dump and several clean shower houses. The washers and dryers are very reasonably priced. We camped here for 2 weeks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$32
This COE is our family favorite. Virtually not a "bad" site in the campground. All sites have been upgraded to 50 amp service. When the lake is not down due to drought, the swimming beach with its St. Augustine grass lawn area and thick, soft sand beach are really nice. Shade trees are abundant but there is one section (big rig pull through sites) that are open and 'satellite ready'. I would have rated this campground at least a 9 if it were not for the new rates of $32/night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
It is a beautiful place to camp for the weekend with lots of shade trees and easy site access. There is no sewer, but I knew that going in. The lake was very low due to drought, but it is still a wonderful place to go. Top of my return list. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$32
After deciding last minute on Wednesday to go camping this weekend, I found that this place was the only place with 1 site left to reserve within 200 miles. So, I booked it. I took my daughter (8) on Friday night after work and my wife was to join me on Saturday afternoon after soccer games with the other kids. The campground is amazing! Very nice and clean. The sites were filled with families enjoying their weekends! Kids making new friends and playing together and grown ups swapping stories about life. HOWEVER, as it seems to be the case more often than not lately around the Corps of Engineer campgrounds, the "Campground Hosts" are a couple of battle axes that have the personalities of a freshly kicked badger. They were the talk of the campers in our loop...one guy had a large group of family with him and the host REFUSED to rent him a site to expand to because he "already had a site in his name". This site and about 4 others on our loop alone remained EMPTY all weekend. At $32/night, they are already expensive, but to have someone wanting to rent a site for the weekend and be refused??? Only to keep it empty all weekend? After the camper expressed his feelings on the situation, it became the hosts priority to harass this guy all weekend...constantly driving by his site, looking for anything to hound him about...1 tire of the six on his vehicle/boat trailer was off the paved drive and on the dirt...key word dirt. The host called a park ranger 2 days later to make sure he was ticketed. (The Park Ranger only wrote a warning, though). Constant harassment about where he could park his boat, his family's vehicles (site limit is 3, so we allowed one to stay on our site). Mind you, he TRIED to get another site to better accommodate his group and was REFUSED. We'll stay there again, and make sure the "Gate Nazi" has a job for the season, but the Corps really needs to screen these people. THE HOST chose this career path, if he doesn't like it, go do something else!!! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$16
I agree, this campground is awesome in every respect. Restrooms and showers are very clean. My wife even like the bathrooms and showers and she is picky. With the senior pass, the rate was discounted 50%. We had a back in site right on the water and had an easy time navigating around the campground with our 45' motorhome. Our Verizon MiFi worked pretty well. We will definitely come again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$16
Awesome in every respect. Has senior national park rate. Definitely will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$15
This is a great park, especially with a senior national park pass. You get half price rates, as this is a USACE site. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$26
Camped here as a shake out of our newly purchased motorhome. Was pleasantly surprised by the large sites, well kept grounds, and pleasant staff. All sites are on the lake and paved and level. There is a beach and hiking trails as well as boat access and fishing piers. Would have given a higher rating but as with the COE campgrounds around Lake Lanier, no sewer or cable hookup. It is a beautiful place to camp for the weekend with lots of shade trees and easy site access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$33
Have not camped here in years. Park just as clean as it was years ago and camp host very friendly. Will stay here more often. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
We have camped in many COE Parks around the country and this is one of the nicest we have ever stayed in. The campsites are large, level, convenient to the 3 bathhouses. The bathrooms were clean with a washer and dryer at each one. Most sites have a view of the lake. We stayed in #58. I did not want to leave, the trees were just changing and the sunrise over the lake was just pretty. Wish I was back in #58. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$14
Wonderful campground. Large, well spaced out paved sites. Our site was level, although some within the campground were not. Price reflects Golden Age 50% off (price is $27 - $13.50 for Golden Age pass holder.) Quiet. This is our second stay at this campground. We would definitely stay here again when we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
We go to this campground several times a year and love it. It is a great place for kids to ride bikes, play on the playgrounds, and swim in the lake. Most sites are large, wooded, and have view of the lake. The bath houses are typical for state parks. Clean but not air conditioned and a bit buggy. It is just a few miles to a ton of shopping and dining. I only gave a 8 because of lack of sewer hookup, WiFi, and cable TV. We will continue to go here for years to come. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$27
One of our very favorite campgrounds. Has gorgeous lake views in a beautiful wooded setting. Campground fills quickly, so make reservations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$27
This is a great campground. It has large sites, some that are right on Lake Lanier. Very close to many shopping centers and restaurants. We take our boat and have a great time. Nice for weekend getaways. The only downfall is no sewer connection or cable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
We loved this campground. We spent a week in site #43 which is a pull through with the patio on the lake. Park roads and sites are paved. Sites have 30 amp and water but no sewer. There are 3 loops, each one has a comfort station with restrooms, showers and a washer/dryer ( .75 cents each). The only garbage collection station is at the park entrance, sort of a pain but it prevents the garbage truck from coming through the campground. Atlanta is about 35 miles south. Plan on sitting in traffic if you go during the week. The town of Cumming with any and all needed shopping, etc., is one exit south. This is a great park and we will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
We camped here and it was very windy, cold, and it snowed. We had fun. Very nice and clean camp site with lots of space. Down side, no heat in bath house, lack of hot water, and a trash can at the end of site would be very nice for long stays. Those are the 3 reasons I rate this an 8. Please visit, it is a very nice camp park. You will go back, I'm sure of it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2009
$28
All in all, this was a nice park. Our chief complaints were that the wash house near our site had neither heat nor hot water (the daytime temps were in the 50s, cold enough to make a person forget what they went into the wash house for in the first place). In addition, a camper in a much site at the other end of the lake had his music turned up so loud that it sounded like it was next door...and it was like that for most of the day. On the plus side, there were no city lights, no traffic noises, and each site seemed to have a good view of the lake. We had a pull-thru site, but would opt for the back-ins next time as they are shaded by trees and more directly on the lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
This is an excellent park. Large sites, well kept, clean and relaxing. Sewers would warrant a 10. Southern drought equals a low lake, but well worth the trip. Personnel were very personable and quite helpful. Park is not far (less than 5 miles) from major shopping and restaurants. Too bad federal funding forces early closure, I could have stayed here longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$26
We frequent this park and things have not changed. Beautiful sites on or near Lake Lanier. Some but not all the sites have 50 amp, but none have sewer or cable. Campground hosts were pleasant. The restrooms are outdated, but clean. Many attractions and restaurants are within a 10 to 15 minute drive. Not much to do in campground except the lake. There is a small beach, bike riding is easy since campground is relatively flat. Childrens playground is small. Most sites are big rig friendly especially the ones near the boat ramp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$22
This is our favorite park. We live nearby and come here as often as we can since it is big rig friendly at most sites. As far as we are concerned, this is the best campground we have ever gone to and we have been camping for 12 years in various equipment. I would give it a 10 if it had sewer hookups and if we haven't had repeated problems with letting guests in who come to visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$22
Wonderful park with breathtaking views of the lake. All facilities were very clean. Concrete pads at all sites. Rangers strictly enforce all rules which makes for a pleasant stay. Two campsites near us had dogs that were left all day in the heat while their owners were on the lake and the rangers dealt with that quickly to protect the dogs. Just wish it had sewer connections! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2005
$22
We stopped off here one evening on our way to north Georgia. We had made reservations on a back-in site. We got there just after dark. The park attendant recommended another site that was a big pull-thru since we said we were going to be leaving the next morning. We didn't even have to unhook or use leveling blocks as the concrete pad was very long and very level. Setting up the satellite dish was very easy. Our site was in the open. However, there are plenty of sites in the shade. Most sites face the water and just about every site has some view of the water. This is a very nice campground and we will definitely go back here. The only reason it didn't get a 10 was because it didn't have sewage. For me, a 9 means excellent! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$22
We loved this Army Corps of Engineers campground. Our first trip in our new TT for more than 2 nights and we were here 2 nights on our journey. Nice beach area for swimming-assuming it is warm. We saw the large, beautiful lake and all the leaves were changing on the trees. Many bring their boats and jet skis as there is a dock right in the park. Large sites, all have BBQ, fire ring and picnic table. All are paved & level sites. Most beautiful views ever. We would love to go back here again. We were here October 2004 in a hybrid TT. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$22
This is a US Army Corps of Engineers Park and is our favorite place to stay. It is best to book early, they fill up quick. They do have some first come first serve sites, but the fill up also. The restrooms are cleaned constantly along with the grounds being maintained daily. Many of the sites are very shady and private. We have enjoyed every stay at this campground. The attendants are on top of any issue you bring to their attention. There is a dump station available but no sewer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com