206485 User submitted reviews online!!
MacLeod's Beach Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (902) 258-2433
CGID9317

MacLeod's Beach Campground

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   8   8   9   10   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
This campground is a 9 for camping and a 4 for RVing. We were here nine years ago and it was beautiful. This time we arrived on a 3-day weekend and found a crowded campground with lots of tents. They said that there was only one site in the campground that would hold our 42-foot RV even if the campground were empty. That is probably due to the large percentage of sites that are seasonal. Fortunately we had reserved a site four months in advance. The available site was a 30-amp with no sewer. Wi-Fi here is nearly non existent. If it is available at all you need to go to the office. Some of the crowded tent areas looked like refugee camps. The large number of campers taxed the single shower facility of the campground. The setting for the campground is idyllic with a nice beach and beautiful coastline. Cape Breton in general is a beautiful spot to visit. However, we will look for another campground if we visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
Now, this is truly a destination park. Lots of room, lots of lawn/grass area, acres, and a sandy beach that is easily accessible and something out of a picture book. The washrooms are the second to the best that I have ever seen in over fifty parks I've camped in: immaculate, roomy, modern, and hot water included in the price. RV sites are roomy and so easy to get into. Tent sites are natural and very private. WiFi was fair but slow. Price was fair. We got 2 hazy English TV channels. We left a day early because when I went back to add a final day at the office, they had already booked it out from under us without asking us if we were going to stay, as I had told them I probably would when I initially came in. Well, so much for experience of both sides. In any case, I still recommend this park to any who may be curious. Oh, and if you have a dog, park well away from the office when you register, or the owner's unleashed dog will jump up and scratch your car while trying to get at your dog. The strict dog leash bylaw seems to be ignored by everybody. Go here and enjoy yourself, but book well in advance for the time you intend to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
This is a lovely campground. The GPS took us down a country gravel road using the co-ordinates from Trailer Life. We ended up turning around in a church driveway. Then when we got to the turn off, it was a very sharp turn off to the left from Hwy 19. Do not come Hwy 19 if your rig is long. Ours is a 34/39 Titanium and we were able to just make the corner. We were quoted 31.50 in three emails and two phone calls. We were charged $35. When we discussed it with the owner he said the prices are subject to change and Nova Scotia power forces the issue. Not good enough. All my arrangements were done in the last two weeks. He then blamed the person booking in Inverness. Dogs are supposed to be leashed with no exception. The owner's dog and many others were running free. It is a beautiful spot, but be aware of the above issues when booking. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Even though the weather was less than great, we had a great time staying at MacLeaod's Beach Campground. The people who run the campground are lovely - so friendly and helpful. The bathroom and shower facilities are immaculately clean, as is the laundry and office, which is also a store for essential items. The walk to the beach is utterly breathtaking. No matter how many picture we took, we just couldn't capture the magic of the grasses on the dunes not to mention the smell of the sea and wild roses. Even though it was cool and cloudy, we spent almost the whole day on the beach watching the terns diving into the water to catch fish. This beach was absolutely the best of our vacation for combing for stones. The star gazing that night was memorable. We wished our stay here was longer and this is a place we hope to return to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$27
This campground is truly amazing. The view is stunning, and we were lucky to get a site that was directly overlooking the beach (what a sunset view). We did have to trade electrical services for the unserviced site, but we just ran off propane and battery. The only reason for the 9 instead of 10 is that there isn't a lot of privacy between the sites (at least the ones we explored). But the previous poster was right on...clean everything, and friendly staff. You can't go wrong here, and the beach is pristine! Fantastic campgrounds...no wonder they're one of the best in Canada! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
Wow, what a find. This place is a slice of heaven. Our site was oceanfront, with a spectacular view. The oceanfront campsites have no services, but it was a trade off worth making. Serviced sites are set back a bit, but almost every campsite appears to have a view. It looks like the owners took pains to accomplish this. The grounds and surrounding area are beautiful, and immaculate. Everything about this park is well planned. The restrooms were clean, and the wifi worked great. There is a lot of green space for kids to play or to walk the dogs, and the beach is clean and easily accessible. The office staff was exceedingly nice, and very helpful, as were most of the campers we met. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
Rate includes HST tax and full hookups. Gorgeous setting with spacious sites, amazing views of the highlands, dunes, sandy beach and ocean. Lots of grassy mowed open space, as well as natural settings. The beach has a small brook running through it: perfect for child's play! Outdoor beach showers in addition to shower house. Clean. Lots of seasonal campers: their sites were tidy, and we found them to be friendly as well. Do not reply on GPS directions. Imperative that BIg Rigs use the north end of Broad Cove Marsh Road (loop off 19). Follow the signage from Route 19 and you'll be fine! It's just 1/2 mile off route 19. From this location we drove the Cabot Trail (in the toad) and also visited the famous Red Shoe Pub ( great food & music) and Glenora Distillery. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
This is a well maintained park in a beautiful setting. Some of the sites are oceanfront, while others offer a great ocean view. There is a good swimming and walking beach, as well as a terrific oceanside walk on a little-traveled gravel road. The sites are a little tight and many are side-by-side. But the views are wonderful, even of the surrounding countryside. We have stayed here twice and will return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com