223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Colorado National Monument - Saddlehorn Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (970) 858-3617
CGID9459

Colorado National Monument - Saddlehorn Campground

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   10   6   9   7   8   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$10
Very nice campground. Tent loop has larger sites and more privacy than RV loop. This campground rarely fills up, but RVs should have a reservation for weekends--its a long way down if you can't find a site. I was in my trusty tent and had no trouble finding a site on a Saturday evening. Beautiful setting. Nice hosts were highly visible. I would certainly camp there again if I was in my tent. Probably wouldn't take my trailer there. We camped here in a Tent.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$10
A great value with spectacular views and a friendly camp host. No reservations and it can get hot in summer, but weather was perfect in late September. Rate reflects senior discount. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$10
For boondocking this is the most magnificent, best kept secret on the road. There are no reservations, so get in early or off season. Pay attention to the trailer length restrictions. There were only a few sites which could take our 30' Airstream. Drive the loop, take the trails, see the sights. This is our third stay there and we will be back. Rate reflect Sr. Pass. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
This is a clean campground with occasional distant train noise. Sites are dirt and gravel, not level, with many small trees and some shade. Roads are asphalt, somewhat narrow, in good condition. Verizon data service is sometimes moderately fast, but usually slow. Credit cards are accepted. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$27
Great park to stop over at or visit the area. Located along the Colorado River with nice walking trail. Very nice sites both pull throughs and back ins. Very easy on and off the interstate. We always stop here for a couple of days when going through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$10
Normally $20 a night but with the Senior rate it was $10. A beautiful National Park service campground. Up high on the ridge, the drive to it was spectacular. Adjacent to the Visitor Center. The ideal spaces were on the B loop, backside, because they overlooked the valley below. The restrooms were very modern and clean, 1 per loop. Enjoy the absolute silence, you could hear a pin drop miles away. Bring your food, it is a ways down to town. Water available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$10
Beautiful location. Sites aren't very level, but do-able. Scenery is outstanding. The drive from the highway is exciting, even for an ol' mountaineer like myself. Campground host never did show himself, but was there, I presume. I'd go back, if even just to see get more "red-rock therapy." We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$23
Campground was comfortable. Weather was a bit rainy and windy so we were unable to get out much. Restrooms and showers were OK. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$10
This is the only campground available inside the Colorado National Monument. It is situated on top of a plateau at approximately 5,700'. Short strolls from here will take you to stunning views of the city of Grand Junction and the Colorado River far below. The easiest access to the park is from the West (Fruita) entrance. From there it is about 4 miles to the campground. From the East (Grand Junction) entrance it is about a 19 mile drive to the campground. Both routes involve going through narrow tunnels with a minimum height of 11'5" at the edges and a maximum height of 16'1" near the center. The road in from the East entrance, which we used, is particularly narrow and winding with very few places to pull over and steep drop-offs. Be warned: if you do not like heights you will not like this road! The campground itself can accommodate RVs up to 32'. There are no hook-ups and I don't think there is a dump station, but water and flush toilets are available. Generator hours are 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM. The scenery is great! We probably won't bring our motorhome here again, but would definitely tent camp or come in a smaller rig. The monument has beautiful scenery and lots of hiking trails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com