223083 User submitted reviews online!!
Laura S. Walker State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (912) 287-4900
CGID950

Laura S. Walker State Park

Camp Information
Sites
44
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   8   10   6   8   9   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$26
My only complaint with this park was the lack of any net work TV signal. A basic cable connection would make this park a 10 or better. We stayed there 2 nights on our way from NC back to FL. The park was very well maintained, and there was a lot of space between the sites. All the utilities were good. I did not see how close one of those Georgia Pines was to the edge of the site until I had unhooked and realized I could not put my awning out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$22
Quiet and clean. Some sites more level than others but most are acceptable. Good water with good pressure. Good voltage. Not busy when we stayed in January. Would stay again. Great place to get away. Nature trails give a feel for nearby Okeefanokee. Cost reflects Friends of GA Parks discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$23
A very nice small, quiet park. We had a water front site. Level sites with a lot of distance between them. We went to the Okefenokee Swamp Park for the day and it was great. The park is a little confusing to find as you can get to it off 177 from the East or West end. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$21
Senior rate of $26 less 20%, $20.80 tax included. Nice SP and it was our second visit. Verizon cell and broadband were very good, TV via batwingman was poor. 6 stations, very good reception, but 3 Ion's and 3 other PBS type, no networks (abc, cbs, nbc or fox). So we had no news or weather. The golf course is very nice and the discount if staying in the CG is nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
This was our last stop for Spring Break 2012! And I must say we saved the best for last. We loved it here. The sites were very roomy. They have two bath houses, One is new and very nice and the older one was just fine. In fact that is the one we used because it was right by us. We enjoyed riding our bikes here. There is a lot to see and do close by. We wished this park was closer to home so we could camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2011
$25
The price of the state parks are the biggest downfall. I enjoyed the nature trail. The new bathhouse is nice but the showers are poorly designed and the entire floor space gets wet, so its a hassle to get dressed. Sad since its a new facility. Campground is nice. Lake is pretty and area is quiet with lots of trees on sites not by the lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
Very clean park. Camp hosts and rangers were very friendly and helpful. We had a beautiful lakefront site which was very large. Very nice trails for hiking and biking. All in all a very peaceful place. We would stay here again for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
A great Georgia State Park campground with 2 loops in one. The outer loop offers a few large pull through sites, most have a lake view, 3 sites are lakefront. The inner loop offers some large back in sites closer to the bathhouses. The inner loop can be a challenge to maneuver large RVs due to the roof of one bathhouse right next to the loop's paved road. Many campers have tried to take the roof off that bathhouse. Most sites are gravel and grass with some having a timbered border. All have water, 30 amp electric with lamp post and fire ring. Ants can be a problem at Laura Walker so be sure to spray everything that touches the ground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$24
This is a nice place and very clean and wide open. You select your site after you get here. The lake is beautiful and accessable also. The biggest draw back to this park is there is no TV. Even if your set shows you get 3 stations, you don't. If the park had cable TV, it would be a favorite. Town is about a 15 minute drive, and like others have said, relaxing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
This is a nice little GA campground that is a wonderful place to set back a relax. It fills up on weekends and there is not much of anything to do at the campground except relax, fish, walk or bike. The TV reception is not good and no cable so bring your DISH or some DVD's if your into TV. You are about 11 miles from Waycross which has everything and anything you would want from WallyWorld to movie houses and a Mall. If we are in the area again we would stay here. Just a note here the State has picked a few campgrounds that had swimming pools to close them this year and to bad this is one of the parks that has closed the pool so the kids will have no place to swim or play in the water during the HOT summer months. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$23
Another sterling Georgia State Park. Lakeside sites are available, with spacious level sites with tables and fire pits. There is a nice laundry room with two washers and dryers. It is excellent value for the economy minded. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$21
This was our second stay here... Everything and everyone was great... Very nice and quiet park... Power was good, water pressure was great and site was fairly level... Nice place to relax... We will stay again if in the area... We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
This is a very beautiful, little park. The lake is very peaceful and even has some gators in it lazily swimming around. When we got there, the park was nearly full and it looks a little like "trailer city" but after almost everyone left after the weekend, it was beautiful. The hosts are very nice. The Okefenokee Swamp Park is very close and worth visiting. Waycross is just 10 minutes away (Wal-Mart, etc.) There are washers and dryers in the central restroom building. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2008
$23
Very nice campsite overall, pleasant and with several sites on the lake, one of which we had. Toilets, showers, laundry were clean and functional. Would have given this perhaps 8/10...except that some nitwit in the parks system decided to allow motorboats on the lake. As a result, all Saturday afternoon we heard nothing but boats and jetskis racing up and down the lake. Great fun for the few people in the boats, I'm sure, but a huge source of aggravation for the dozens of people camped close by. Really too bad that a boneheaded decision to allow motorboats on the lake effectively spoils this as a campground, at least on the weekends. We would only come back on a weekday, and would stay away from the lakefront. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$15
This was our first visit to any State Park. The site was gravel and semi-level. The view was fantastic. We stayed right on the water. Roof mounted satellite worked great. 30 amp on power. Wife was told on phone when making reservations that it was 50 amp, oh well. Water pressure was great. Ants were terrible, this was our first for them as well. The office sold ant spray. The dump station is located on the way out with water for flush systems. Overall, this is a very nice park. If we come back to the Waycross area, we will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2005
$20
Absolutely beautiful campground in a beautiful setting very near the Okefenokee Swamp. Several sites are right on the lake, and all of them are clean and well maintained. This is one of the nicest campgrounds we have found, and planned on staying two days, but extended by an additional week, and would have stayed longer if we could. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2005
$19
Campground was clean and the staff was friendly. There were a few noisy campers but the park ranger handled the situation well. The location was close to the swamp park (which was the main reason for our stay here). Was a quiet campground at night and had nice clean bath houses. On the negitive side of things the premium sites were right on the lake, but fishing was impossible due to heavy weed growth on the waters edge (all along all the camping area). Even if you could have gotten to the lake the speed boats, water skiers, jet skies were just too much to deal with. There was a nice swimming pool a short walk from the campground but stayed very crowded with non-campers. The same held true for the picnic areas. I'm sure some people would enjoy this campground: it just wasn't for us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2004
$19
We stayed here two nights during the week after Christmas. The campground is situated among the trees (I think there were lots of pine trees). The sites are gravel and fairly level. The camping area is pretty open, so don't expect much privacy here. Still, the campground was very clean and quiet. The sites are not real close together. The surrounding scenery, including the lake and the nearby Okefenokee Swamp, were great. The park itself is very secluded from town. I would definitely recommend this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2004
$20
Great weekend getaway or stop over park. Nice and clean, friendly staff, beautiful park. We go here every year in October for the fall festival. The staff organize arts and crafts, carnival type games,hay rides and Ghost stories during this weekend each year. Clean restrooms and showers. Right across US1 from Okefenokee Swamp Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2004
$19
We spent an idyllic week here in January, on our way to the Gulf coast. At least in the off-season the place is quiet. Nice pine woods bordering on a lake, and the lakefront sites cost only $2 extra. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com